DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to amendments and remarks filed on 11/17/2025. The examiner notes the following adjustments to the claims by the applicant:
Claim 16 is amended.
Therefore, Claims 1, 6-13, 15-17 and 21 are pending examination, in which Claims 1, 11 and 16 are independent claims.
In light of the instant amendments and arguments:
Further examination resulted in a new rejection of Claims 1, 6-13, 15-17 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as detailed below.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant presents the following arguments regarding the previous office action [examiner’s comments are bolded]:
The Office Action relies on Mylaraswamy as allegedly teaching "identifying the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly." In particular, the Office Action cites Mylaraswamy's disclosure that "at least a portion of the sensor data taken during engine spin down is formatted into an appropriate sensor data matrix," that "the portion of sensor data is preferably selected to be that portion that is most indicative of anomalies in the turbine engine," and that "the portion can be defined as a selected set of sensor data taken from each engine over a range of rotational speeds." (Office Action, p. 7; Mylaraswamy, col. 5, ll. 1-12). Applicant respectfully submits that this disclosure does not teach or suggest the claimed limitation. Claim 1 does not merely recite selecting data over a limited speed range. Claim 1 recites "identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly by comparing the rotational parameter to the identification threshold for the rotational parameter."
[Examiner’s Comment-A: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant is arguing that every reference cited by the applicant must include the same limitations as the primary reference of Thirumalasetty. As detailed in Claim 1 below, Thirumalasetty teaches of identifying rubbing (e.g., the “core rubbing diagnostic system”, see at least Col. 6, Lns. 53-64). Thirumalasetty also teaches of comparing an rubbing indicator associated with turbine engine to a threshold (see at least Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Lns. 4-9).
The purpose of introducing Mylaraswamy was to identify a teaching that considers a subset rotational speeds when evaluating a potential issue (i.e., anomalies detected from sensor data for a limited range of rotational speeds taught in Col. 5, Lns. 1-12). The examiner notes that evaluating a subset of rotational speeds versus an entire range of rotational speeds, is representative of skills possessed by one skilled in the art, and does not represent an inventive step.]
Mylaraswamy does not disclose identifying a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for that selected range. Mylaraswamy also does not define an "anomaly" as a rubbing condition and does not mention rubbing. Instead, Mylaraswamy is directed to detecting "anomalies in turbine engines emanating from the main shaft and/or main shaft bearings." (Mylaraswamy, Abstract; col. 1, ll. 62-65). Consistent with that disclosure, Mylaraswamy explains that "defects in the shaft and/or bearings can cause severe performance problems in the turbine engines." (Mylaraswamy, col. 1, ll. 49-52). Mylaraswamy further explains that using speed data when "the main shaft rotation is between 40% of full speed to 10% of full speed" is "especially effective in detecting anomalies in the main shaft and bearings." (Mylaraswamy, col. 3, ll. 10-22).
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant continues the same line of argument addressed above. Please see Comment-A above.]
Mylaraswamy's selected speed range is therefore tied to a matrix-based main- shaft/bearing anomaly analysis, not to identifying the presence or absence of a rubbing condition. Mylaraswamy explains that the selected data are formatted into a matrix, and that a singular value analysis is performed on the matrix to determine whether "a problem is developing in the main shaft and/or associated bearings." (Mylaraswamy, col. 3, ll. 43-65; 1-17). Mylaraswamy further explains that the analysis includes "calculating the singular values and comparing at least one of the singular values to a threshold value" that is indicative of "problems in the main shaft and/or bearings." (Mylaraswamy, col. 4, ll. 40- 47). Thus, Mylaraswamy may disclose selecting spin-down data over a limited rotational- speed range for singular-value anomaly detection, but it does not disclose identifying "a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range" as required by claim 1.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant continues the same line of argument addressed above. Please see Comment-A above.]
Nor has the Office Action provided an adequate reason why one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Thirumalasetty's rub-detection system using Mylaraswamy's limited spin-down, matrix-analysis technique to arrive at the claimed rub-identification process.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant continues the same line of argument addressed above. Please see Comment-A above.]
Mylaraswamy's selected speed range is not disclosed as a generally applicable rub-detection window. It is disclosed as part of a specific spin-down data selection process for singular-value analysis of main-shaft and bearing anomalies.
Accordingly, even if Mylaraswamy's selected spin-down range were combined with Thirumalasetty, the proposed combination would not teach or suggest identifying the presence or absence of a rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range by comparing the claimed rotational parameter to the claimed identification threshold.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner has provided adequate motivation for combining Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy. They are in the same field of technology – i.e., they both deal with identifying turbine engine anomalies – and combining Mylaraswamy with Thirumalasetty aids minimizing the chance of falsely identifying an engine anomaly.]
The Office Action relies on Altieri for the claimed "rate of change of acceleration values." In particular, the Office Action states that Altieri discloses "use of accelerometers to determine a rub event," and quotes Altieri as disclosing "measure the acceleration at or local to the blade clearance sensor to detect a rub event." (Office Action, p. 7; Altieri, col. 2, ll. 23-34). The Office Action also quotes Altieri as disclosing that "detecting wear on the abradable layer includes using an accelerometer sensor embed in or near the blade clearance sensor," that "[t]he high local acceleration from a rub occurrence can trigger a rub detection using standard signal processing and thresholding techniques," and that "[t]he rub detection is then used adjust the calibration of the sensor." (Office Action, pp. 7- 8; Altieri, col. 7, ll. 52-60).
[Examiner’s Comment-B: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes Thirumalasetty’s “predictive core rub diagnostics” (Abstract, and see at least, Col. 20, Ln. 48 – Col. 22, Ln. 51) takes into account all relevant engine parameters (i.e., “temperatures, pressures, voltages, currents, air mass flow rates, fuel mass flow rates, air speeds, stresses/strains, rotational speeds, vibration amplitudes, accelerations, and so on”, Col. 6, Lns. 44-50), which includes the use of an accelerometer for determining angular acceleration (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64). From which the "rate of change of acceleration values” is readily calculable by one skilled in the art. The examiner, however, simply chose to bring another piece of prior art to teach identifying and using the rate-of-acceleration.]
Applicant respectfully submits that the cited portions of Altieri do not teach or suggest the claimed features. Altieri's cited disclosure is directed to measuring "acceleration at or local to the blade clearance sensor" and using "[t]he high local acceleration from a rub occurrence" to trigger rub detection. Claim 1 is different. Claim 1 requires that "the rotational parameter is determined using the measured rotation speed from the rotation speed sensor" that "an acceleration of the rotational assembly" is determined "using the measured rotation speed," and that "the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly." The Office Action does not identify any disclosure in Altieri of determining a rotational parameter from measured rotation speed, determining acceleration from measured rotation speed, or comparing a speed-derived rate-of-change-of-acceleration value to an identification threshold that is also a rate-of-change-of-acceleration value.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant appears to be arguing that Altieri must include all the feature and limitations attributed by the examiner to Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy. Altieri is brought in to teach the aspect described in Comment-B above.]
This distinction is not merely a matter of terminology. Altieri's cited accelerometer disclosure concerns local acceleration measured by an accelerometer at or near a blade clearance sensor. By contrast, claim 1 requires use of "a rotation speed sensor" configured to "measure a rotation speed of the rotational assembly," requires that "the rotational parameter is determined using the measured rotation speed from the rotation speed sensor," and requires that "an acceleration of the rotational assembly" is determined "using the measured rotation speed." The claimed acceleration is therefore a rotational acceleration of the rotational assembly derived from measured rotation speed, not a local linear acceleration measured by an accelerometer at or near a blade clearance sensor.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. Again the applicant ignores the aspects taught by Thirumalasetty described above in Comment-B; specifically, the use of an accelerometer to determine a rotational acceleration. Altieri is brought in to teach the aspect described in Comment-B above.]
Altieri's accelerometer-based rub detection does not teach or suggest determining the claimed rotational parameter from measured rotation speed or using a speed-derived rate-of-change-of-acceleration value in the claimed threshold comparison.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant appears to be arguing that Altieri must include all the feature and limitations attributed by the examiner to Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy. Altieri is brought in to teach the aspect described in Comment-B above.]
The Office Action further states that "one skilled in the art will appreciate that the voltage output from an accelerometer may be used to determine the rate-of-change of acceleration by dividing the output voltage by the sensitivity of the accelerometer." (Office Action, p. 8). This assertion does not cure the deficiencies of the rejection. Even assuming, for the sake of argument, that a rate of change of acceleration value could be calculated from an accelerometer output, the cited portions of Altieri do not disclose calculating that value, comparing that value to a rate-of-change-of-acceleration threshold, or using that value to identify a rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range. Claim 1 does not merely require data from which some other value might be calculated. Claim 1 requires that "the rotational parameter is determined using the measured rotation speed from the rotation speed sensor," that "an acceleration of the rotational assembly" is determined "using the measured rotation speed," that the controller "determine an identification threshold by selecting the identification threshold from a plurality of identification thresholds stored in memory based on the determined acceleration," and that "the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly." The Office Action's assertion that one could calculate a rate of change of acceleration from an accelerometer output is not a disclosure of these claimed operations and is not an articulated reason why one of ordinary skill in the art would have modified Thirumalasetty or Mylaraswamy to perform these claimed operations.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant appears to be arguing that Altieri must include all the feature and limitations attributed by the examiner to Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy. The examiner is satisfied that one skilled in the art can evaluate the slope of a graph of acceleration versus time.]
Moreover, Applicant respectfully submits that the Office Action's assertion is technically incorrect. Dividing an accelerometer voltage output by accelerometer sensitivity provides an acceleration value, not a rate of change of acceleration value. A rate of change of acceleration value would require determining a change in acceleration over time, such as by differentiating acceleration with respect to time or determining a finite difference between acceleration values over a time interval. In any event, an accelerometer output would concern acceleration measured by the accelerometer, not rotational acceleration determined using measured rotation speed from the claimed rotation speed sensor. The cited portion of Altieri describes measuring acceleration "at or local to the blade clearance sensor" and using "[t]he high local acceleration from a rub occurrence" to trigger rub detection. That disclosure concerns measured local acceleration at or near a blade clearance sensor. It does not disclose a rotational parameter determined from measured rotation speed, does not disclose a rate of change of acceleration value determined from measured rotation speed, and does not disclose an identification threshold that is also a rate of change of acceleration value.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant appears to be arguing that Altieri must include all the feature and limitations attributed by the examiner to Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy. The examiner is satisfied that one skilled in the art can evaluate the slope of a graph of acceleration versus time.]
The rejection is also deficient with respect to the claimed threshold selection. Claim 1 requires the controller to "determine an identification threshold by selecting the identification threshold from a plurality of identification thresholds stored in memory based on the determined acceleration." The Office Action appears to rely on Thirumalasetty's "rub limit 902" for "determine the identification threshold," memory 304/Fig. 5 for the "plurality of identification thresholds stored in memory," and Thirumalasetty's "mode placement analysis 114," "blade passing frequency analysis 116," "operation parameter analysis 118," and operational parameters including "rotational speeds and accelerations" for selection "based on the determined acceleration." (Office Action, pp. 5-6). But the cited portions of Thirumalasetty do not disclose selecting an identification threshold from a plurality of stored identification thresholds based on the determined acceleration. A "rub limit 902" is not a selection from a plurality of stored thresholds based on determined acceleration. Similarly, "mode placement analysis 114," "blade passing frequency analysis 116," and "operation parameter analysis 118" are analyses. They are not stored rate-of-change-of- acceleration thresholds selected based on acceleration.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. Thirumalasetty provides multiple techniques to identify rubbing and the degree of rubbing (use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51), and see at least, Col. 20, Ln. 48 – Col. 22, Ln. 51)). The examiner finds the applicants arguments to be subtle differences that are within the capability of one skilled in the art.]
Claim 11 is patentable over the cited combination for reasoning substantially similar to that discussed above with respect to claim 1. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claim 11 should be withdrawn.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains the rejection provided below.]
Claim 16 is patentable over the cited combination for reasoning substantially similar to that discussed above with respect to claim 1. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claim 16 should be withdrawn.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees, and maintains the rejection, provided below.]
Claim 16 is also patentable because the cited combination does not teach or suggest the recited operations involving the first and second rotational assemblies. In particular, claim 16 requires the controller to "identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly by comparing the first rotational parameter to the first identification threshold," to "identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly by comparing the second rotational parameter to the second identification threshold" and to "identify a cause of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly using the identified presence or absence of the rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly and the identified presence or absence of the rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly."
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. Thirumalasetty teaches of an engine with two rotational assemblies (Col. 4, Lns. 45-62) and an using engine sensor data to determine the location and severity of rubbing: “particular type, location, and severity of rub”, Col. 26, Lns. 2-8].
The Office Action also appears to rely on Fig. 9B and the asserted use of "the slope of the rub indicator over time" to identify "a significant issue related to parts rubbing together." (Office Action, pp. 17-18; Thirumalasetty, col. 7, ll. 4-6; col. 21, ll. 4-9). Those cited disclosures do not teach or suggest identifying a cause of a rubbing condition using the identified presence or absence of a rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly and the identified presence or absence of a rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly. At most, the cited portions of Thirumalasetty describe a rub indicator, a rub limit, and a slope of the rub indicator over time. The Office Action does not identify any disclosure in Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy, or Altieri of determining the claimed cause using the two presence-or-absence determinations recited in claim 16.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. Thirumalasetty teaches of an engine with two rotational assemblies (Col. 4, Lns. 45-62) and an using engine sensor data to determine the location and severity of rubbing: “particular type, location, and severity of rub”, Col. 26, Lns. 2-8. The examiner further notes that applicant is simply relying on duplicate measurements – of which only one is used to identify rubbing. This type of duplication falls under MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B, and thus cannot be used to argue an inventive step.]
Claim 16 also requires the controller to "generate . . . a warning signal indicating" both "the identification of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly" and "the cause of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly." Because the cited combination does not teach or suggest identifying the claimed cause using the claimed presence-or-absence determinations for the first and second rotational assemblies, the cited combination also does not teach or suggest generating a warning signal indicating that claimed cause. Accordingly, the cited combination does not teach or suggest the limitations of independent claim 16. For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claim 16 should be withdrawn.
[The examiner respectfully disagrees. The applicant continues to argue that the examiner should not combine references in examining their invention, should not apply the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim limitations, and should not take into account the skills of one-skilled-in-the-art in examining their invention.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-13, 15-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Thirumalasetty et al. (US 11,639,670 B2, henceforth Thirumalasetty) and Mylaraswamy et al. (US 7,369,965 B2, henceforth Mylaraswamy), and Altieri (US 12,025,013 B2, henceforth Altieri).
Regarding Claim 1, Thirumalasetty explicitly teaches the limitations: an assembly for an aircraft propulsion system {system and techniques for predicting rubbing, Abstract}, the assembly comprising: an engine {fielded engine 104, Figs. 1&3} including a rotational assembly {gas turbine engine, Col. 4, Ln. 36}, and the rotational assembly includes a bladed turbine rotor and a shaft configured for rotation about a rotational axis {rotor of gas turbine engine, Col. 4, Lns. 36-41}; a rotation speed sensor disposed at the rotational assembly, and the rotation speed sensor is configured to measure a rotation speed of the rotational assembly {multiple types of sensors used to monitor engine conditions, including rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}, and a controller {the core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 12, and engine 104 with digital engine control logic, Col. 25, Lns. 55-62} including a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed by the processor, cause the processor {core rub diagnostic system 102 with processor 302, a computer-readable memory 304 and computer-executable instructions, Col. 13, Lns. 10-24} to: monitor a rotational parameter of the rotational assembly while the rotational assembly is rotating {sensor component 108 of core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 2, includes multiple sensors including rotational sensors, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}, and the rotational parameter is determined using the measured rotation speed from the rotation speed sensor {rotational speed sensors (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64) used to identify “abnormal rotational speed measurements” (Col. 1, Ln. 33) via analysis component 112, Fig. 1}; determine an acceleration of the rotational assembly using the measured rotation speed {comparison of measured fielded engine data and (no rubbing) baseline engine data 106 is described in Col. 12, Ln. 60 - Col. 13, Ln. 9, which includes rotational speed; with the full range of data, including rotational speeds and accelerations, being described in Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}; determine the identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows that rubbing has been identified above a fixed value (i.e., the rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9), whereas Fig. 9B shows that rubbing has been identified at three different times due to an upward sloping trend, with a high slope (high rub indicator slopes 906, Col. 21, Lns. 33-47), wherein these rub indicator thresholds include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A & 8B, respectively} by selecting the identification threshold from a plurality of identification thresholds {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B} stored in memory {304, Fig. 5} based on the determined acceleration {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B are based on “comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}; identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} for the rotational assembly by comparing the rotational parameter to an identification threshold for the rotational parameter {“Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46}, and the presence of the rubbing condition is identified where the rotational parameter exceeds the identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows rub indicator values exceeding rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9, wherein the rub indicator values include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A&8B, respectively, corresponding, in part, to the output from “a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”. Col. 7, Lns. 4-6}; wherein the rotational parameter {multiple types of sensors used to monitor engine conditions, including rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64} and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values {under the broadest reasonable interpretation, rate-of-change-of-acceleration is simply a calculated parameter extending from a measured engine parameter – the acceleration, well known to one skilled in the art. The examiner has chosen to a subsequent reference to deal with an acceleration threshold more explicitly} for the rotational assembly {use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51) via a rub limit (Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Ln. 53 – Col. 22, Ln. 32), high rub indicator slope (Fig. 9B and Col. 22, Ln. 33 – Col. 23, Ln. 5) and high rub indicator variability (Fig. 9C and Col. 23, Lns. 6-25)}.
Thirumalasetty does not appear to explicitly recite the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly; and wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values.
However, Mylaraswamy explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly {anomalies detected from sensor data for a limited range of rotational speeds, Col. 5, Lns. 1-12}.
Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy are analogous art because they both deal with identifying turbine engine anomalies.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy before them, to modify the teachings of Thirumalasetty to include the teachings of Mylaraswamy to minimize the chance of false positives {Col. 4, Lns. 34-61}.
The combination of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose the limitation: wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values.
However, Altieri explicitly recites limitation: wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values {use of accelerometers to determine a rub event: “2) measure the acceleration at or local to the blade clearance sensor to detect a rub event.”, Col. 2, Lns. 23-34, and “detecting wear on the abradable layer includes using an accelerometer sensor embed in or near the blade clearance sensor. FIG. 18”, Col. 7, Lns. 52-60; one skilled in the art will appreciate that the voltage output from an accelerometer may be used to determine the rate-of-change of acceleration by dividing the output voltage by the sensitivity of the accelerometer, or simply evaluated from the slope of an acceleration versus time plot}.
The combination of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy along with Altieri are analogous art because they detect turbine engine rubbing events.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri before them, to modify the teachings of the combination of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy to include the teachings of Altieri to provide real-time wear and/or rub detection {Col. 2, Lns. 27-28}.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 1, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitations: the engine includes a second rotational assembly, and the second rotational assembly includes a bladed second turbine rotor and a second shaft configured for rotation about the rotational axis {two distinct rotational assemblies associated with the same engine: Col. 4, Lns. 45-62 teaches of potential rubbing between annular shaft and central shaft, which is described in Col. 4, Lns. 40-41 as rotor-to-rotor rubbing}; the assembly further comprises a second rotation speed sensor disposed at the second rotational assembly, and the second rotation speed sensor {duplication of parts, MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B} is configured to measure a second rotation speed of the second rotational assembly {the various sensors associated with the core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 1, described in Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, are aimed for detecting various types of rubbing and the location of the rubbing, including the axial and radial rubbing, aforementioned: “the rub indicator can identify and/or designate that the fielded engine 104 has a particular type, location, and severity of rub, which rub can make such acceleration risky and/or dangerous (e.g., accelerating at the intended rate can exacerbate the existing rub and/or otherwise cause damage to the fielded engine 104, and so on).”, Col. 26, Lns. 2-8}; and the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to: monitor a second rotational parameter of the second rotational assembly while the second rotational assembly is rotating, and the second rotational parameter is determined using the measured second rotation speed from the second rotation speed sensor {rotational speed sensors and accelerometers (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64) capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations (Col. 6, Ln. 44-50) which factor into determining a rub indicator (Col 5, Lns. 43-46) that is evaluated multiple ways to identify rubbing and rubbing degree (Col 5, Lns. 43-46)};
determine a second identification threshold for the second rotational parameter {choice of a second fixed threshold as in Fig. 9A (duplication of parts, MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B), slope based threshold as in Fig. 9B or a differential indication of rub as in Fig. 9C}; and identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} for the second rotational assembly by comparing the second rotational parameter to the second identification threshold {multiple techniques to identify rubbing: use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51) via a rub limit (Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Ln. 53 – Col. 22, Ln. 32), high rub indicator slope (Fig. 9B and Col. 22, Ln. 33 – Col. 23, Ln. 5) and high rub indicator variability (Fig. 9C and Col. 23, Lns. 6-25)}, and the presence of the rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly is identified where the second rotational parameter exceeds the second identification threshold {Fig. 9B shows high levels of rubbing being identified via slope based approach [using the “core rub indicator” (Col. 2, Lns. 25-60), which is based in part on “operation parameter analysis 118” (Col. 7, Lns. 4-6)], for which a high slope indicates a higher degree of rubbing, Col. 21, Lns. 33-67}.
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 6, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the shaft and the second shaft are concentric {“A rub can be categorized as axial (e.g., rubbing of the rotor's annular shaft with other components on the engine's central shaft, and so on)”, Col. 4, Lns. 54-57}.
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 6, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify a cause of the presence of the rubbing condition for one or both of the rotational assembly and the second rotational assembly {“the rub indicator can identify and/or designate that the fielded engine 104 has a particular type, location, and severity of rub, which rub can make such acceleration risky and/or dangerous (e.g., accelerating at the intended rate can exacerbate the existing rub and/or otherwise cause damage to the fielded engine 104, and so on).”, Col. 26, Lns. 2-8}.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 8, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the cause as a shaft-to-shaft rubbing condition where the presence of the rubbing condition is identified for both of the rotational assembly and the second rotational assembly {“such tight clearances can increase the risk of rotor-to-stator and/or rotor-to-rotor rubs.”, Col. 4, Lns. 40-41, and “A gas turbine engine can experience different types, categories, and/or severities of rubs….A rub can be categorized as axial (e.g., rubbing of the rotor's annular shaft with other components on the engine's central shaft, and so on), radial (e.g., rubbing of the rotor's blade tips with the sidewall of the engine's casing and/or with stator blades protruding radially inward from the sidewall of the engine's casing, and so on), or a combination of the two.”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62}.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 8, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the cause as a shaft-to-structure rubbing condition where the presence of the rubbing condition is identified for only one of the rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly {“such tight clearances can increase the risk of rotor-to-stator and/or rotor-to-rotor rubs.”, Col. 4, Lns. 40-41, and “A gas turbine engine can experience different types, categories, and/or severities of rubs….A rub can be categorized as axial (e.g., rubbing of the rotor's annular shaft with other components on the engine's central shaft, and so on), radial (e.g., rubbing of the rotor's blade tips with the sidewall of the engine's casing and/or with stator blades protruding radially inward from the sidewall of the engine's casing, and so on), or a combination of the two.”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62}.
Regarding Claim 11, Thirumalasetty explicitly teaches the limitations: a method for identifying a rubbing condition for a rotational assembly of an engine for an aircraft {system and techniques for predicting rubbing, Abstract}, the method comprising: monitoring a rotational parameter of the rotational assembly while the rotational assembly is rotating {sensor component 108 of core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 2, includes multiple sensors including rotational sensors, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64} by measuring a rotation speed of the rotational assembly {rotational speed sensors (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64) used to identify “abnormal rotational speed measurements” (Col. 1, Ln. 33) via analysis component 112, Fig. 1} and determining the rotational parameter using the measured rotation speed {comparison of measured fielded engine data and (no rubbing) baseline engine data 106 is described in Col. 12, Ln. 60 - Col. 13, Ln. 9, which includes rotational speed; with the full range of data, including rotational speeds and accelerations, being described in Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}; determining an identification threshold for the rotational parameter {Fig. 9A shows that rubbing has been identified above a fixed value (i.e., the rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9), whereas Fig. 9B shows that rubbing has been identified at three different times due to an upward sloping trend, with a high slope (high rub indicator slopes 906, Col. 21, Lns. 33-47), wherein these rub indicator thresholds include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A & 8B, respectively} using an acceleration of the rotational assembly {rubbing thresholds in Figs. 9A-9B are based on engine data (Col. 4, Lns. 45-62), including the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64) to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations (Col. 6, Ln. 44-50), which are combined into an overall rub indicator (Col 5, Lns. 43-46)}; and identifying a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} for the rotational assembly by comparing the rotational parameter to the identification threshold {“Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46}, and the presence of the rubbing condition is identified where the rotational parameter exceeds the identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows rub indicator values exceeding rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9, wherein the rub indicator values include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A&8B, respectively, corresponding, in part, to the output from “a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”. Col. 7, Lns. 4-6}; wherein the rotational parameter {multiple types of sensors used to monitor engine conditions, including rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}, and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values {under the broadest reasonable interpretation, rate-of-change-of-acceleration is simply a calculated parameter extending from a measured engine parameter – the acceleration, well known to one skilled in the art. The examiner has chosen to a subsequent reference to deal with an acceleration threshold more explicitly} for the rotational assembly {use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51) via a rub limit (Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Ln. 53 – Col. 22, Ln. 32), high rub indicator slope (Fig. 9B and Col. 22, Ln. 33 – Col. 23, Ln. 5) and high rub indicator variability (Fig. 9C and Col. 23, Lns. 6-25)}.
Thirumalasetty does not appear to explicitly recite the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly; and wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly.
However, Mylaraswamy explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the identifying the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition comprises identifying the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the rotational assembly {anomalies detected from sensor data for a limited range of rotational speeds, Col. 5, Lns. 1-12}.
The combination of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose the limitation: wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly.
However, Altieri explicitly recites limitation: wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly
{use of accelerometers to determine a rub event: “2) measure the acceleration at or local to the blade clearance sensor to detect a rub event.”, Col. 2, Lns. 23-34, and “detecting wear on the abradable layer includes using an accelerometer sensor embed in or near the blade clearance sensor. FIG. 18”, Col. 7, Lns. 52-60; one skilled in the art will appreciate that the voltage output from an accelerometer may be used to determine the rate-of-change of acceleration by dividing the output voltage by the sensitivity of the accelerometer, or simply evaluated from the slope of an acceleration versus time plot}.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 11, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein determining the identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows rub indicator values exceeding rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9, wherein the rub indicator values include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A&8B, respectively, corresponding, in part, to the output from “a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”. Col. 7, Lns. 4-6; additionally, Fig. 9B shows that the slope of the rub indicator over time can be used as an to identify a significant issue related to parts rubbing together} for the rotational parameter {comparison of measured fielded engine data and (no rubbing) baseline engine data 106 is described in Col. 12, Ln. 60 through Col. 13, Ln. 9, which includes rotational speed; with the full range of data, including rotational speeds and accelerations, being described in Col. 6, Ln. 44-50} includes selecting the identification threshold from a plurality of identification thresholds stored in memory {304, Fig. 5} based on the acceleration {“the core rub diagnostic system 102 can, via an analysis component 112, perform a three-pronged analysis to detect and/or predict rubs in the fielded engine 104, by comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106. More specifically, in one or more embodiments, the analysis component 112 can perform a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 12, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the plurality of identification thresholds includes at least a first identification threshold and a second identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows rub indicator values exceeding rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9, wherein the rub indicator values include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A&8B, respectively, corresponding, in part, to the output from “a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”. Col. 7, Lns. 4-6, and Fig. 9B shows that the slope of the rub indicator over time can be used to identify a significant issue related to parts rubbing together}, the determined identification threshold is the first identification threshold for a first range of values of the acceleration, the determined identification threshold is the second identification threshold for a second range of values of the acceleration {“the core rub diagnostic system 102 can, via an analysis component 112, perform a three-pronged analysis to detect and/or predict rubs in the fielded engine 104, by comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106. More specifically, in one or more embodiments, the analysis component 112 can perform a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}, and the first range of values is different than the second range of values {the rub indicator threshold in Fig. 9A, is comprised of “a mode placement analysis 114, a blade passing frequency analysis 116, and/or an operation parameter analysis 118”. Col. 7, Lns. 4-6, wherein 114, 116 and 118, or any combination of the three, can be additional thresholds, as appreciate by one skilled in the art}.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 13, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the first identification threshold has a first rate of change of acceleration value {per Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, the “one or more sensors” may be an accelerometer, and, one skilled in the art will appreciate that the voltage output from an accelerometer may be used to determine the rate-of-change of acceleration by dividing the output voltage by the sensitivity of the accelerometer}, the second identification threshold has a second rate of change of acceleration value, and the first rate of change of acceleration value is different than the second rate of change of acceleration value {comparison of measured fielded engine data and (no rubbing) baseline engine data 106 is described in Col. 12, Ln. 60 through Col. 13, Ln. 9, which includes rotational speed; with the full range of data for analysis, including rotational speeds and accelerations, being described in Col. 6, Ln. 44-50; core rub diagnostic system 102, Figs. 1&7, includes a data analysis component 112 (which includes, respectively, an operation parameter analysis/component, 118/702) that receives the sensor data (including the aforementioned rotational speeds and accelerations) “to detect and/or predict rubs in the fielded engine 104, by comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106”, Col. 6, Ln. 67 through Col. 7, Ln. 2}.
Regarding Claim 16, Thirumalasetty explicitly teaches the limitations: an assembly for an aircraft propulsion system {system and techniques for predicting rubbing, Abstract}, the assembly comprising: an engine {fielded engine 104, Figs. 1&3; gas turbine engine, Col. 4, Ln. 36} including a first rotational assembly and a second rotational assembly {“the fielded engine 104 can be any suitable type of gas turbine engine (e.g., P20, LEAP, jet engines, turbofan engines, and so on)”, Col. 6, Lns. 32-34}, and the first rotational assembly and the second rotational assembly are concentric and configured for rotation about a rotational axis {Col. 4, Lns. 45-62 teaches of potential rubbing between annular shaft and central shaft, which is described in Col. 4, Lns. 40-41 as rotor-to-rotor rubbing}; a first rotation speed sensor disposed at the first rotational assembly, and the first rotation speed sensor is configured to measure a first rotation speed of the first rotational assembly {multiple types of sensors used to monitor engine conditions, including rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}; a second rotation speed sensor disposed at the second rotational assembly {duplication of parts, MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B}, and the second rotation speed sensor is configured to measure a second rotation speed of the second rotational assembly {the various sensors associated with the core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 1, described in Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, are aimed for detecting various types of rubbing and the location of the rubbing, including the axial and radial rubbing, aforementioned: “the rub indicator can identify and/or designate that the fielded engine 104 has a particular type, location, and severity of rub, which rub can make such acceleration risky and/or dangerous (e.g., accelerating at the intended rate can exacerbate the existing rub and/or otherwise cause damage to the fielded engine 104, and so on).”, Col. 26, Lns. 2-8}; a controller {the core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 12, and engine 104 with digital engine control logic, Col. 25, Lns. 55-62} including a processor in communication with a non-transitory memory storing instructions, which instructions when executed by the processor, cause the processor {core rub diagnostic system 102 with processor 302, a computer-readable memory 304 and computer-executable instructions, Col. 13, Lns. 10-24} to: monitor a first rotational parameter of the first rotational assembly and a second rotational parameter of the second rotational assembly using the first rotation speed sensor and the second rotation speed sensor, respectively {sensor component 108 of core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 2, includes multiple sensors including rotational sensors, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}; determine a first identification threshold {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B} for the first rotational parameter using a first acceleration of the first rotational assembly {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B are based on “comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}, and the first acceleration is determined using the first rotation speed sensor {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B are based on “comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}; monitor a rotational parameter of the rotational assembly while the rotational assembly is rotating, and the rotational parameter is determined using the measured rotation speed from the rotation speed sensor {sensor component 108 of core rub diagnostic system 102, Fig. 2, includes multiple sensors including rotational sensors, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64}; determine a second identification threshold {choice of a second fixed threshold as in Fig. 9A (duplication of parts, MPEP § 2144.04.VI.B), slope based threshold as in Fig. 9B or a differential indication of rub as in Fig. 9C} for the second rotational parameter using a second acceleration of the second rotational assembly , and the second acceleration is determined using the second rotation speed sensor {rotational speed sensors and accelerometers (Col. 6, Lns. 53-64) capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations (Col. 6, Ln. 44-50) which factor into determining a rub indicator (Col 5, Lns. 43-46) that is evaluated multiple ways to identify rubbing and rubbing degree (Col 5, Lns. 43-46); identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} for the first rotational assembly by comparing the first rotational parameter to the first identification threshold {“Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46}; identify a presence or an absence of a rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} by comparing the second rotational parameter to the second identification threshold {Fig. 9B shows high levels of rubbing being identified via slope based approach [using the “core rub indicator” (Col. 2, Lns. 25-60), which is based in part on “operation parameter analysis 118” (Col. 7, Lns. 4-6)], for which a high slope indicates a higher degree of rubbing, Col. 21, Lns. 33-67}; and identify a cause of the rubbing condition {detect and/or predict rub, Col. 6, Ln. 65 - Col. 7, Ln. 6; see also, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62} for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly using the identified presence or absence of the rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly {multiple techniques to identify rubbing: use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51) via a rub limit (Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Ln. 53 – Col. 22, Ln. 32), high rub indicator slope (Fig. 9B and Col. 22, Ln. 33 – Col. 23, Ln. 5) and high rub indicator variability (Fig. 9C and Col. 23, Lns. 6-25)} and the identified presence or absence of the rubbing condition for the second rotational assembly {Fig. 9B shows high levels of rubbing being identified via slope based approach [using the “core rub indicator” (Col. 2, Lns. 25-60), which is based in part on “operation parameter analysis 118” (Col. 7, Lns. 4-6)], for which a high slope indicates a higher degree of rubbing, Col. 21, Lns. 33-67}; and generate, in a state in which the presence of the rubbing condition for one of or both the first rotational assembly and the second rotational assembly, a warning signal indicating: the identification of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly; and the cause of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly {“the on-ground digital twin component 1102 can monitor performance of the fielded engine 104 (e.g., monitoring the rub indicator, rub classification report, and/or fielded engine data 110, and so on). In various embodiments, the on-ground digital twin component 1102 can recommend corrective, preventative, and/or ameliorative actions to the fielded engine 104 (e.g., to the FADEC logic controlling the fielded engine 104) and/or to human operators of the fielded engine 104, based on the rub indicator, rub classification report, and/or fielded engine data 110, and so on.”, Col. 23, Lns. 26-36}; wherein the first rotational parameter and the first identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values {under the broadest reasonable interpretation, rate-of-change-of-acceleration is simply a calculated parameter extending from a measured engine parameter – the acceleration, well known to one skilled in the art. The examiner has chosen to a subsequent reference to deal with an acceleration threshold more explicitly} for the first rotational assembly {use of threshold analysis, slope analysis, variability analysis to identify rubbing and/or degree of rubbing (Col. 20, Lns. 48-51) via a rub limit (Fig. 9A and Col. 21, Ln. 53 – Col. 22, Ln. 32), high rub indicator slope (Fig. 9B and Col. 22, Ln. 33 – Col. 23, Ln. 5) and high rub indicator variability (Fig. 9C and Col. 23, Lns. 6-25)}.
Thirumalasetty does not appear to explicitly recite the limitation: wherein the first rotational parameter and the first identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the first rotational assembly; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the first rotational assembly.
However, Mylaraswamy explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to identify the presence or the absence of the rubbing condition for the first rotational assembly for only a subset of a rotation speed range of the first rotational assembly {anomalies detected from sensor data for a limited range of rotational speeds, Col. 5, Lns. 1-12}.
The combination of Thirumalasetty and Mylaraswamy does not appear to explicitly disclose the limitation: wherein the first rotational parameter and the first identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the first rotational assembly.
However, Altieri explicitly recites limitation: wherein the rotational parameter and the identification threshold are rate of change of acceleration values for the rotational assembly {use of accelerometers to determine a rub event: “2) measure the acceleration at or local to the blade clearance sensor to detect a rub event.”, Col. 2, Lns. 23-34, and “detecting wear on the abradable layer includes using an accelerometer sensor embed in or near the blade clearance sensor. FIG. 18”, Col. 7, Lns. 52-60; one skilled in the art will appreciate that the voltage output from an accelerometer may be used to determine the rate-of-change of acceleration by dividing the output voltage by the sensitivity of the accelerometer, or simply evaluated from the slope of an acceleration versus time plot}.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 16, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein determining the first identification threshold {Fig. 9A shows that rubbing has been identified above a fixed value (i.e., the rub limit 902, Col. 21, Lns. 4-9), whereas Fig. 9B shows that rubbing has been identified at three different times due to an upward sloping trend, with a high slope (high rub indicator slopes 906, Col. 21, Lns. 33-47), wherein these rub indicator thresholds include factoring in the vibrational and operational parameter data in Figs. 3A & 8B, respectively} for the first rotational parameter {comparison of measured fielded engine data and (no rubbing) baseline engine data 106 is described in Col. 12, Ln. 60 through Col. 13, Ln. 9, which includes rotational speed; with the full range of data, including rotational speeds and accelerations, being described in Col. 6, Ln. 44-50} includes selecting the first identification threshold from a plurality of first identification thresholds stored in memory {304, Fig. 5} based on the acceleration {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and variable thresholds in Fig. 9B} stored in memory {304, Fig. 5} based on the determined acceleration {fixed threshold in Fig. 9A and slope based threshold in Fig. 9B are based on “comparing the fielded engine data 110 with the baseline engine data 106”, Col. 4, Lns. 45-62, which can be combined into an overall rub indicator: “Based on these comparisons, a rub indicator (e.g., continuous scalar value) can be generated, which can be used to detect, predict, and/or characterize engine rubs”, Col 5, Lns. 43-46, and includes the use of rotational speed sensors and accelerometers, Col. 6, Lns. 53-64, to capture operational parameters, including rotational speeds and accelerations, Col. 6, Ln. 44-50}.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Thirumalasetty, Mylaraswamy and Altieri discloses all the limitations of Claim 16, as discussed supra. In addition, Thirumalasetty explicitly recites the limitation: wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to initiate a shutdown of the engine in response to identification of the presence of the rubbing condition for one or both of the first rotational assembly or the second rotational assembly {damage assessment by the system can lead to an appropriate action to protect the engine from damage, Col. 26, Lns. 2-26}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
EP 4308797 B1 - Detection of synchronous rubbing in a turbine using at least two rotor vibration sensors arranged on a turbine stator.
Prosvirin, Alexander E., Farzin Piltan, and Jong-Myon Kim. "Blade rub-impact fault identification using autoencoder-based nonlinear function approximation and a deep neural network." Sensors 20.21 (2020): 6265. [Framework for blade rubbing fault identification.]
/R.E.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/CHRISTIAN CHACE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665