DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/372,488 filed on September 25, 2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1-3,5, 6, 8, 9, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected.
Claims 4, 7, 10-14, 16 and 18 are objected to.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 19, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 8, Claim 8 recites the limitation "the potential coordination benefit value" in Line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 8 depends upon Claim 5 and independent Claim 1. Claim 1 and Claim 5 make no mention of a potential coordination benefit value. It is not clear what the limitation of the potential coordination benefit is in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5, 6, 8, 9, 15, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gittleman U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0255039, hereinafter Gittleman, in view of Perras et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0219116, hereinafter Perras.
Regarding Claim 1, Gittleman discloses a method for distributed coordination between L2 nodes (Abstract; Figure 1-3 and 5; Networking nodes implementing the radio resource allocation functionality), the method comprising:
detecting, by a first L2-node, an occurrence of a triggering condition (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Various different types of triggering events including different predefined and predetermined conditions and events);
determining, by the first L2-node, a plurality of message recipients, wherein each message recipient of the plurality of recipients is another L2-node (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040] Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters);
determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Detection of trigger condition and determination of recipients as well as various parameters to determine a message type including contact parameters, location parameters and priority);
and transmitting, by the first L2-node, a message of the determined message type to each of the plurality of message recipients (340 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040-0041] In step 330, social messaging module 216 accesses the parameters for the trigger type encountered. For example, social messaging module 216 will access the notification list 422, message details 424 (if present), global trigger event filters (if present) 426, and update intervals (if present) for the trigger type. Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters. In step 340, messages are sent to the list of recipients determined in step 330).
Gittleman discloses a method for distributed coordination between L2 nodes and discloses occurrence of a triggering condition, determination of a plurality of message receipents and various parameters for transmitting the message of a determined type to each of the plurality of message recipients but may not go into specific detail regarding a message type and determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients.
However, Perras more specifically teaches determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (Figure 4; Paragraph [0072-0088] Various message type parameters utilized based on the trigger condition and the determined plurality of message recipients (group); Platooning related parameters may be configured onto the UE 402a. These platooning related parameters may be pre-configured or received at startup and may be updated at any time by a V2X CF (or PCF) and/or a V2X AS. For example, at step 406, the UE 402a may receive, from a V2X CF 455 (or PCF) or a V2X AS 450, a V2X provisioning message that includes such parameters related to the V2X platooning. These parameters may be received by the V2X application 405 and/or V2X layer (also referred to as higher layer 410) running on the V2X device (i.e. UE 402a). These parameters may be a list of V2X application identifiers that the device is authorized to run. For each application identifier, these parameters may include a list of V2X group identifiers for which the device is a member. For each group identifier, the parameters may include, but are not limited to, a role (e.g. platoon leader or follower) or the like. The parameters such as the maximum number of members allowed, transmission profile, priority, validity timer, validity location or the like may be configured on the selected leader only and/or for each group. The parameters such as a range mapping table and/or mapping of coverage to range may be configured on the selected leader only. The UE 402 may locally store and/or maintain these parameters including the transmission profile. The transmission profile that includes QoS parameters (e.g., transmission rate, maximum end-to-end latency, etc.) may be extended with V2X specific parameters that are used to determine the range to be configured at the AS layer 415; Multiple V2X applications may run on a device and for each of these applications, many multicast groups (i.e. group identifiers) may exist, concurrently. Each group may have a different configuration and the communication layer (i.e. PC5 in this case) may adapt its behavior to such configuration on a per packet basis; Paragraph [0045, 0110-0113 and 0134-0138] Various triggering events and periodic communications in which recipients are updated and messages delivered occurring to message type parameters the trigger and the message recipients).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gittleman with the teachings of Perras. Perras provides a solution for context-aware cooperation, this would improve vehicle safety as well as efficiency of the road use because it allows vehicles to be aware of the location and direction of other vehicles in the vicinity. Platoon members (e.g., vehicles) within a same platoon may communicate with each other over PC5 interface, which is handled by an access stratum (AS) layer. The AS layer may need to be configured with a specific range based on platoon specific events and/or characteristics (e.g., a number of platoon members, type of devices, etc.). Thus, in order for the platoon members to join and/or leave the platoon at any moment, methods and apparatuses that dynamically adapt the configuration of PC5 communication are needed (Perras Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003]).
Regarding Claim 2, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 1. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the triggering condition is a preconfigured period or a particular triggering event, and wherein the determined plurality of message recipients are L2-nodes within the same neighborhood as the first L2-node (Gittleman Paragraph [0030] Various trigger events and preconfigured periods; Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the same neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 3, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 2. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the particular triggering event can include one of a change of UE state or a novel UE connecting to at least one of the L2-nodes (Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the same neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 5, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 1. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the triggering condition is a preconfigured period or a particular triggering event, and wherein the determined plurality of message recipients are L2-nodes within a same extended neighborhood as the first L2-node (Gittleman Paragraph [0030] Various trigger events and preconfigured periods; Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the extended neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 6, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 5. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the particular triggering event can include a change of UE state or a novel UE joined the extended neighborhood (Gittleman Paragraph [0030] Various trigger events and preconfigured periods; Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the extended neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 9, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 1. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the triggering condition is a (i) a preconfigured period at L2 nodes with a lowest order value or (ii) a predetermined event, and wherein the determined plurality of message recipients are L2-nodes that are leaders and followers in a same neighborhood as the first L2-node (Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the same neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 15, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 1. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the triggering condition is every predefined scheduling period, and wherein the determined plurality of message recipients is the indicated leader node of the first L2-node (Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the same neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 17, Gittleman in view of Perras disclose the method of Claim 1. Gittleman in view of Perras further disclose wherein the triggering condition is every predefined scheduling period, and wherein the determined plurality of message recipients are (i) each follower node within the same neighborhood or (ii) the entire neighborhood of the each follower (Perras Paragraph [0110-0113] Periodic preconfigured periods for triggering condition where the leader and update parameters for communication with devices in the same neighborhood as the first leader L2-node; Paragraph [0130-0138] Various triggers including events of members joining and leaving the group as well as range determined by the platoon leader for its followers).
Regarding Claim 19, Gittleman discloses one or more processors comprising circuitry to execute one or more instructions that, when executed, cause an L2-node to perform the operations (Abstract; Figure 1-3 and 5; Networking nodes implementing the radio resource allocation functionality) comprising:
detecting, by a first L2-node, an occurrence of a triggering condition (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Various different types of triggering events including different predefined and predetermined conditions and events);
determining, by the first L2-node, a plurality of message recipients, wherein each message recipient of the plurality of recipients is another L2-node (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040] Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters);
determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Detection of trigger condition and determination of recipients as well as various parameters to determine a message type including contact parameters, location parameters and priority);
and transmitting, by the first L2-node, a message of the determined message type to each of the plurality of message recipients (340 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040-0041] In step 330, social messaging module 216 accesses the parameters for the trigger type encountered. For example, social messaging module 216 will access the notification list 422, message details 424 (if present), global trigger event filters (if present) 426, and update intervals (if present) for the trigger type. Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters. In step 340, messages are sent to the list of recipients determined in step 330).
Gittleman discloses a method for distributed coordination between L2 nodes and discloses occurrence of a triggering condition, determination of a plurality of message receipents and various parameters for transmitting the message of a determined type to each of the plurality of message recipients but may not go into specific detail regarding a message type and determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients.
However, Perras more specifically teaches determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (Figure 4; Paragraph [0072-0088] Various message type parameters utilized based on the trigger condition and the determined plurality of message recipients (group); Platooning related parameters may be configured onto the UE 402a. These platooning related parameters may be pre-configured or received at startup and may be updated at any time by a V2X CF (or PCF) and/or a V2X AS. For example, at step 406, the UE 402a may receive, from a V2X CF 455 (or PCF) or a V2X AS 450, a V2X provisioning message that includes such parameters related to the V2X platooning. These parameters may be received by the V2X application 405 and/or V2X layer (also referred to as higher layer 410) running on the V2X device (i.e. UE 402a). These parameters may be a list of V2X application identifiers that the device is authorized to run. For each application identifier, these parameters may include a list of V2X group identifiers for which the device is a member. For each group identifier, the parameters may include, but are not limited to, a role (e.g. platoon leader or follower) or the like. The parameters such as the maximum number of members allowed, transmission profile, priority, validity timer, validity location or the like may be configured on the selected leader only and/or for each group. The parameters such as a range mapping table and/or mapping of coverage to range may be configured on the selected leader only. The UE 402 may locally store and/or maintain these parameters including the transmission profile. The transmission profile that includes QoS parameters (e.g., transmission rate, maximum end-to-end latency, etc.) may be extended with V2X specific parameters that are used to determine the range to be configured at the AS layer 415; Multiple V2X applications may run on a device and for each of these applications, many multicast groups (i.e. group identifiers) may exist, concurrently. Each group may have a different configuration and the communication layer (i.e. PC5 in this case) may adapt its behavior to such configuration on a per packet basis; Paragraph [0045, 0110-0113 and 0134-0138] Various triggering events and periodic communications in which recipients are updated and messages delivered occurring to message type parameters the trigger and the message recipients).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gittleman with the teachings of Perras. Perras provides a solution for context-aware cooperation, this would improve vehicle safety as well as efficiency of the road use because it allows vehicles to be aware of the location and direction of other vehicles in the vicinity. Platoon members (e.g., vehicles) within a same platoon may communicate with each other over PC5 interface, which is handled by an access stratum (AS) layer. The AS layer may need to be configured with a specific range based on platoon specific events and/or characteristics (e.g., a number of platoon members, type of devices, etc.). Thus, in order for the platoon members to join and/or leave the platoon at any moment, methods and apparatuses that dynamically adapt the configuration of PC5 communication are needed (Perras Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003]).
Regarding Claim 20, Gittleman discloses an L2-node comprising: one or more processors; and one or more memory devices storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform the operations (Abstract; Figure 1-3 and 5; Networking nodes implementing the radio resource allocation functionality) comprising:
detecting, by a first L2-node, an occurrence of a triggering condition (320 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Various different types of triggering events including different predefined and predetermined conditions and events);
determining, by the first L2-node, a plurality of message recipients, wherein each message recipient of the plurality of recipients is another L2-node (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040] Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters);
determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (330 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0029-0040] Detection of trigger condition and determination of recipients as well as various parameters to determine a message type including contact parameters, location parameters and priority);
and transmitting, by the first L2-node, a message of the determined message type to each of the plurality of message recipients (340 of Figure 3; Paragraph [0040-0041] In step 330, social messaging module 216 accesses the parameters for the trigger type encountered. For example, social messaging module 216 will access the notification list 422, message details 424 (if present), global trigger event filters (if present) 426, and update intervals (if present) for the trigger type. Social messaging module 216 will further access the contact parameters 470 for each contact listed on notification list 422. Additionally, in step 330, social messaging module 216 determines the set of recipients for the notification message and the contact details for each recipient based on the parameters. In step 340, messages are sent to the list of recipients determined in step 330).
Gittleman discloses a method for distributed coordination between L2 nodes and discloses occurrence of a triggering condition, determination of a plurality of message receipents and various parameters for transmitting the message of a determined type to each of the plurality of message recipients but may not go into specific detail regarding a message type and determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients.
However, Perras more specifically teaches determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients (Figure 4; Paragraph [0072-0088] Various message type parameters utilized based on the trigger condition and the determined plurality of message recipients (group); Platooning related parameters may be configured onto the UE 402a. These platooning related parameters may be pre-configured or received at startup and may be updated at any time by a V2X CF (or PCF) and/or a V2X AS. For example, at step 406, the UE 402a may receive, from a V2X CF 455 (or PCF) or a V2X AS 450, a V2X provisioning message that includes such parameters related to the V2X platooning. These parameters may be received by the V2X application 405 and/or V2X layer (also referred to as higher layer 410) running on the V2X device (i.e. UE 402a). These parameters may be a list of V2X application identifiers that the device is authorized to run. For each application identifier, these parameters may include a list of V2X group identifiers for which the device is a member. For each group identifier, the parameters may include, but are not limited to, a role (e.g. platoon leader or follower) or the like. The parameters such as the maximum number of members allowed, transmission profile, priority, validity timer, validity location or the like may be configured on the selected leader only and/or for each group. The parameters such as a range mapping table and/or mapping of coverage to range may be configured on the selected leader only. The UE 402 may locally store and/or maintain these parameters including the transmission profile. The transmission profile that includes QoS parameters (e.g., transmission rate, maximum end-to-end latency, etc.) may be extended with V2X specific parameters that are used to determine the range to be configured at the AS layer 415; Multiple V2X applications may run on a device and for each of these applications, many multicast groups (i.e. group identifiers) may exist, concurrently. Each group may have a different configuration and the communication layer (i.e. PC5 in this case) may adapt its behavior to such configuration on a per packet basis; Paragraph [0045, 0110-0113 and 0134-0138] Various triggering events and periodic communications in which recipients are updated and messages delivered occurring to message type parameters the trigger and the message recipients).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Gittleman with the teachings of Perras. Perras provides a solution for context-aware cooperation, this would improve vehicle safety as well as efficiency of the road use because it allows vehicles to be aware of the location and direction of other vehicles in the vicinity. Platoon members (e.g., vehicles) within a same platoon may communicate with each other over PC5 interface, which is handled by an access stratum (AS) layer. The AS layer may need to be configured with a specific range based on platoon specific events and/or characteristics (e.g., a number of platoon members, type of devices, etc.). Thus, in order for the platoon members to join and/or leave the platoon at any moment, methods and apparatuses that dynamically adapt the configuration of PC5 communication are needed (Perras Abstract; Paragraph [0002-0003]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 10-14, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 4, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients comprises: selecting a message type that indicates information about active UEs within the neighborhood, wherein the information indicated by the selected message type comprises one or more of the following types of information: a list of connected UEs, RRC state, SRS-based channel measurement information or the estimated covariance matrix of the channel for UEs in RRC active state, an RLC buffer status for UEs in RRC active state, HARQ processes information, a scheduling priority for UEs in RRC active state, link adaptation offsets for UEs in RRC active state, a CQI for UEs in RRC active state, and a list of RLC PDU IDs or a hash function result of RLC PDU data for the selected UEs.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 7, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients comprises: selecting a message type that indicates information about active UEs within the neighborhood, wherein the information indicated by the selected message type comprises one or more of the following types of information: an L2-node order value, a list of L2-nodes in the neighborhood, and a potential coordination benefit value.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 10, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein the predetermined event is after receipt of a particular message type from every L2-node in the extended neighborhood of the first L2-node with a lower order value than the order value of the first L2-node.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 11 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated allowable base claim.
Regarding Claim 12, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients comprises: selecting a message type that indicates information about active UEs within the neighborhood, wherein the information indicated by the selected message type comprises one or more of the following types of information: indication of the leader and follower status for each node in the neighborhood and the considered node itself, and for each follower node in the neighborhood, an indication of its leader node.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 13, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein leaders and followers are selected based on a coordinate benefit value provided by another message type.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Claim 14 would also be allowable since they depend upon indicated allowable base claim.
Regarding Claim 16, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients comprises: selecting a message type that indicates information about active UEs within the neighborhood, wherein the information indicated by the selected message type comprises one or more of the following types of information: a list of connected UEs, RRC state, an RLC buffer status for UEs in RRC active state, a HARQ processes information, a scheduling priority for UEs in RRC active state, a link adaptation offsets for UEs in RRC active state, and a relevant CSI information.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Regarding Claim 18, the prior art fail to disclose alone, or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claims, “wherein determining, by the first L2-node, a message type based on (i) the detected occurrence of the triggering condition and (ii) the determined plurality of message recipients comprises: selecting a message type that indicates information about active UEs within the neighborhood, wherein the information indicated by the selected message type comprises one or more of the following types of information: resource allocation, rank, MCS for each UE, and a HARQ process indication if HARQ retransmission is scheduled.”
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409