DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed on 6/1/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18, 20, 21 and including all the depending claims 2-7, 9-13, 16-17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, 20 recite “the first and second regions are one body”. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because the specification does not clearly describe two regions as one body, further the specification does not clearly define that two regions are parts of one body structure. Claim 1 recites “the first region is connected to the second region”; these limitations contradicting the applicant’s argument and the new amended regarding “one body” limitation. Further, there is no criticality claimed regarding “one body”. Apparatus claim is based on structural limitations, rather than how the structure is formed, or the shape of the structure, or how the structure is integrated. Nowhere in the specification indicated any criticality for having two regions as one body. At best, in paragraph [93] of the application disclosed that the second region formed by drawing a portion of the first region. More clarification is required.
Claim 21 recites “the first and second regions are materially continuous with each other”. The bolded phrase makes the claimed limitations indefinite, because the specification does not clearly define two regions are materially continuous with each other, or they are “one body”. At best in paragraph [76] discloses the regions are continuously or intermittently formed. Nowhere in the specification does not describe that the two regions are made of the same material. More clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-13, 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terayama (US 2017/0045316 A1).
Claim 1: Terayama discloses a heat exchanger (i.e., FIG.5), comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) through which refrigerant flows (i.e., intended use);
a fin (i.e., 5) disposed between adjacent refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) to conduct heat (i.e., functional language); and
a sacrificial sheet (i.e., sacrificial material layer 2) provided between a refrigerant tube of the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) and
the fin (i.e., 5) and configured such that a first surface (i.e., inherent) thereof contacts the refrigerant tube and a second surface (i.e., inherent) thereof (i.e., paragraph [64]: sacrificial material layer 2 side is exposed to external environment that is outer surface of the tube 4; to clarify, since each tube is between two fins, therefore the sacrificial material layer 2 being on the outer surface of the tube is between the tube and the fin) contacts the fin (i.e., 5), wherein a corrosion potential (i.e., paragraph [53]: corrosion resistance improved by sacrificial layer material) of the sacrificial sheet is lower than a corrosion potential of the refrigerant tube (i.e., to clarify, as disclosed sacrificial material layer 2 to improve corrosion resistance therefore corrosion potential of sacrificial layer is lower than the tube), wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) comprises:
a first region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together); and
a second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) with a step (i.e., one region overlaps the other one making a step between the two regions; see FIG.2) between the first region and the second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2), wherein the first region is connected to the second region (paragraph [64]: material layer 2 and cladding the other surface thereof with a brazing filler metal layer 3 is formed into a tube material; therefore layer 3 and layer 2 as shown in FIG.2 are joined together by brazing process, further to clarify, apparatus claim, it requires structures, not the process of making it), wherein the first and second regions (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) wherein a thickness of the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2; sheet inherently has a thickness) a thickness of the fin (i.e., 5; fin inherently has a thickness), and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4; tube inherently has a thickness).
Terayama discloses the claimed limitations in claim 1, except for a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet.
Apparatus claims rely on the structures, and Terayama discloses all the limitations claimed in claim 1 and including the thickness and diameters of the tubes in paragraph [5] and other paragraphs, but lack relations between the thicknesses of the sheet, the fin, and the tube comparing the sizes to one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet in order to improve the corrosion resistance (paragraph [2]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Further, concerning the limitations “the first and second regions are one body”. See FIG.2 is the assembled structure; in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)-citations omitted. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claims 1, 18, 20, wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “one body” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention. Note that there is criticality claimed regarding the limitations “one body”.
Claim 2: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but is silent concerning wherein the corrosion potential of the sacrificial sheet is lower than a corrosion potential of the fin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include the corrosion potential of the sacrificial sheet is lower than a corrosion potential of the fin in order to improve corrosion resistance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 3: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but is silent concerning wherein a corrosion potential of the fin is lower than the corrosion potential of the refrigerant tube. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include a corrosion potential of the fin is lower than the corrosion potential of the refrigerant tube in order to improve corrosion resistance, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B).
Claim 4: Terayama discloses as modified the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) comprises zinc or an alloy of zinc and aluminum (i.e., paragraph [19]: sacrificial material layer comprises aluminum alloy and Zn).
Claim 5: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the fin (i.e., 5) comprises at least one of aluminum (i.e., paragraph [127]: aluminum used for tube and fin materials), copper, or an aluminum alloy.
Claim 6: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) comprises at least one of aluminum (i.e., paragraph [127]: aluminum used for tube and fin materials), copper, or an aluminum alloy.
Claim 7: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) is positioned at each of upper and lower surfaces (i.e., paragraph [40]: in general for a tube material is assembled by brazing a cladding material obtained by alloys as a core material with a sacrificial material layer, three layer material having sacrificial material provided on both surfaces of core material) of each of the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4).
Claim 9: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second region is formed by protruding a portion of the first region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 one region formed by protruding from filler layer of one region, based on broadest reasonable interpretation, formed protruding portion from outer surface of one region to other region).
Claim 10: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second region protrudes toward (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, boundary of the regions are circular shapes therefore an arbitrary point on the perimeter can be toward the tube) the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) contacting the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2).
Claim 11: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, but is silent concerning wherein the second region is formed by recessing a portion of the first region (i.e., in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in claim 11, wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “recessing a portion” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention).
Claim 12: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the refrigerant tube comprises a matching portion corresponding to the second region (i.e., based on broadest reasonable interpretation, a common portion between the regions is outer surface of filler layer 3 and outer surface of sacrificial layer 2 forming a matching portion).
Claim 13: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein a width (i.e., widths inherent; shown in FIG.2 width of one region is greater than a width of the other region) of the first region is greater than a width of the second region (i.e., FIG.2).
Claim 17: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 11, further comprising: a header (i.e., 8) coupled to first ends (i.e., inherent) of the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) to supply the refrigerant into the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., intended use/functional language).
Claim 18: Terayama discloses a heat exchanger, comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) through which a refrigerant flows; a fin (i.e., 5) disposed between adjacent refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) to conduct heat; and a sacrificial sheet (i.e., sacrificial material layer 2) provided between a refrigerant tube of the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) and the fin (i.e., 5) and configured such that a first surface (i.e., inherent) thereof contacts the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) and a second surface (i.e., inherent) thereof contacts the fin (i.e., 5), wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) comprises zinc (i.e., paragraph [19]: sacrificial material layer comprises aluminum alloy and Zn), wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) comprises:
a first region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together); and
a second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) with a step (i.e., one region overlaps the other one making a step between the two regions; see FIG.2) between the first region and the second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2),
wherein the first region is connected to the second region (paragraph [64]: material layer 2 and cladding the other surface thereof with a brazing filler metal layer 3 is formed into a tube material; therefore layer 3 and layer 2 as shown in FIG.2 are joined together by brazing process, further to clarify, apparatus claim, it requires structures, not the process of making it),
wherein the first and second regions (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) are formed as one body (i.e., see FIG.2 is the assembled structure; in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)-citations omitted. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claim 18, wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “formed as one body” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention),
wherein a thickness of the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2; sheet inherently has a thickness) a thickness of the fin (i.e., 5; fin inherently has a thickness), and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4; tube inherently has a thickness).
Terayama discloses the claimed limitations in claim 18, except for a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet.
Apparatus claims rely on the structures, and Terayama discloses all the limitations claimed in claim 18 and including the thickness and diameters of the tubes in paragraph [5] and other paragraphs, but lack relations between the thicknesses of the sheet, the fin, and the tube comparing the sizes to one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet in order to improve the corrosion resistance (paragraph [2]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Further, concerning the limitations “the first and second regions are one body”. See FIG.2 is the assembled structure; in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)-citations omitted. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claim 18 wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “one body” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention. Note that there is criticality claimed regarding the limitations “one body”.
Claim 19: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) and the fin (i.e., 5) comprise at least one of aluminum (i.e., paragraph [127]: aluminum used for tube and fin materials), copper, or an aluminum alloy.
Claim 20: Terayama discloses a heat exchanger comprising:
a plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) through which a refrigerant flows; a fin (i.e., 5) disposed between adjacent refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) to conduct heat; and a sacrificial sheet (i.e., sacrificial material layer 2) provided between a refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) of the plurality of refrigerant tubes (i.e., 4) and the fin (i.e., 5) and configured such that a first surface thereof contacts the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4) and a second surface thereof contacts the fin (i.e., 5), wherein a material of the sacrificial sheet is different from a material (i.e., paragraph [55]: variety of different materials used as core material depending on need for improvement) of the fin and the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4), wherein the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2) comprises:
a first region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together); and
a second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) with a step (i.e., one region overlaps the other one making a step between the two regions; see FIG.2) between the first region and the second region (i.e., shown in FIG.2),
wherein the first region is connected to the second region (paragraph [64]: material layer 2 and cladding the other surface thereof with a brazing filler metal layer 3 is formed into a tube material; therefore layer 3 and layer 2 as shown in FIG.2 are joined together by brazing process, further to clarify, apparatus claim, it requires structures, not the process of making it), wherein the first and second regions (i.e., shown in FIG.2 two regions connected together) are formed as one body (i.e., see FIG.2 is the assembled structure; in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)-citations omitted. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claim 20, wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “formed as one body” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention), wherein a thickness of the sacrificial sheet (i.e., 2; sheet inherently has a thickness) a thickness of the fin (i.e., 5; fin inherently has a thickness), and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube (i.e., 4; tube inherently has a thickness).
Terayama discloses the claimed limitations in claim 20, except for a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet.
Apparatus claims rely on the structures, and Terayama discloses all the limitations claimed in claim 20 and including the thickness and diameters of the tubes in paragraph [5] and other paragraphs, but lack relations between the thicknesses of the sheet, the fin, and the tube comparing the sizes to one another. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet in order to improve the corrosion resistance (paragraph [2]), since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art - Optimum value: MPEP 2144.05 II-B.
Further, concerning the limitations “the first and second regions are one body”. See FIG.2 is the assembled structure; in product-by-process claim, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985)-citations omitted. The combination of previous references meets the structural limitations put forth in Claim 20 wherein the final product existing after fabrication is compared to prior art for the purposes of patentability. The limitations regarding “one body” are drawn to method of production and not the structural aspects of the instant invention. Note that there is criticality claimed regarding the limitations “one body”.
Claim 21: Terayama as modified discloses the apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first and second regions are materially continuous with each other (to clarify, material layer 2 is made of aluminum; see paragraph [68]: material layer of aluminum).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Terayama (US 2017/0045316 A1), in view of Campbell (US 2016/0288279 A1).
Claim 16: Terayama as modified further fails to disclose wherein each of the refrigerant tubes comprises a plurality of micro channels therein.
However, Campbell teaches a plurality of micro channels therein (i.e., paragraph [43]: microchannels used in heat exchanger) for the purpose of providing a larger heat transfer area and improving thermal performance (paragraph [43]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify the apparatus of Terayama to include a plurality of micro channels as taught by Campbell in order to provide a larger heat transfer area and to improve thermal performance.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to all the claims under Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103 have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments: “wherein the first and second regions are one body, wherein a thickness of the sacrificial sheet is thicker than a thickness of the fin, and wherein a thickness of the refrigerant tube is thicker than the thickness of the sacrificial sheet. Terayama does not disclose or suggest at least such claimed features”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees: apparatus claims rely on the structures, and Terayama discloses all the limitations in claims 1, 18, 20, and including the thickness and the diameters of the tubes in paragraph [5] and other paragraphs, but lack relations between the thicknesses of the sheet, the fin, and the tube comparing the sizes to one another, it is obvious to optimize the size of the thickness of the tube, fin, and sheet in order to improve the corrosion resistance, since Terayama considering corrosion resistance for different materials and the relations of corrosion with diameters of the tubes in paragraph [14] and other paragraph. Therefore, it is obvious for Terayama to also recognizing sheet and fin thickness in relation with corrosion resistance. Further, it is known in “Heat and Mass Transfer” length, thickness, or radius of materials improves heat transfer rate, therefore improves heat exchange within structure.
Further, nowhere in the specification indicated any criticality for having two regions as one body. At best, in paragraph [93] of the application disclosed that the second region formed by drawing a portion of the first region. There is no indication of two regions as one body in the specification, thus the specification does not clearly disclose that two regions are parts of one body structure. Further, claim 1 recites “the first region is connected to the second region”; these limitations contradicting the applicant’s argument and the new amended regarding “one body” limitation. Further, there is no criticality claimed regarding “one body”. Apparatus claim is based on structural limitations, rather than how the structure is formed, or the shape of the structure, or how the structure is integrated.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAMRAN TAVAKOLDAVANI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 /LEN TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763