DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 10-12 and 17-20 in the reply filed on 4/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 13-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (Exploring beyond palladium: Catalytic reduction of aqueous oxyanion pollutants…, Chemical Engineering Journal, 2017) in view of Wu et al (Recent progress in the structure control of Pd-Ru bimetallic nanomaterials, Science and Technology of Advanced Materials, 2016).
Chen teaches various methods of treating aqueous contaminant oxyanions using platinum-group catalysts including Ru-based catalysts; such catalysts may be in situ reduced on a suitable support such as a carbon or alumina support [pgs. 746-747, Sec. 2.2.4; Abs]. The species treated including ClO3- (which is reduced to Cl-) [pg. 748, sec. 3.2] and nitrate (which is reduced at least in part of NH4+) [pg. 748, sec. 3.3]. Experiments are carried out both at low pH and at pH at least about 7.0 (i.e. around 7.2) [Table 2]. Chen thus teaches e.g. Ru/C catalysts and treatment of the species as claimed under conditions as claimed. Chen essentially differs from the instant claims in that Chen is silent to the use of bimetallic catalysts i.e. employing Ru0 in combination with another metal such as Pd0.
However, it is known in the art of catalyst chemistry that platinum group metal catalysts such as Ru and Pd may be beneficially used together to at times improve performance of the catalysts. Wu examines the state of the art for such combinations [Abs] and identifies from literature known benefits such as the ability of the combined catalysts to demonstrate lower surface deactivation, or enhanced durability and the like [pg. 4, Sec. 3, both columns].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the process of Chen to employ a bimetallic catalyst combining Ru with Pd because, as in Wu and as known broadly in the art, Pd and Ru in combination may have improved properties as catalysts and synergistic benefits e.g. lower surface deactivation, durability, and the like.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al in view of Wu et al, further in view of Santen et al (US 6,270,682 B2).
Chen and Wu teach as above but are silent to treatment of streams which also contain sulfates.
However, Santen teaches methods of treating chlorate-containing streams using supported noble metal catalysts [Abs] and teaches that it is effective to remove the chlorates even in the presence of anionic co-adsorbates, which may include sulfates [Col. 1 lines 64-67; Col. 2 line 61-Col. 3 line 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the catalytic treatment process of Chen on aqueous systems which include co-adsorbates such as sulfates because, as in Santen, supported noble metal catalysts (of which the modified catalysts of Chen and Wu would be analogous) are capable of effectively reducing chlorate species even when sulfates or similar co-adsorbates are present.
Conclusion
/BRADLEY R SPIES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777