DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-48 and 67-84 are pending with Claims 1-48 having been non-elected/withdrawn. Claims 67-84 are considered in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 9/27/2023 have been acknowledged.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner. The initialed and dated copies of Applicant’s IDS form 1449 is attached to the instant Office action.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1-48 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-48 have been non-elected/withdrawn by Applicant.
Applicant's election without traverse of the non-elected Claims in the reply filed on 5//29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 67-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 67 is directed to “dynamically allocate, reallocate, or prioritize the plurality of community resources across one or more production, storage, distribution, or consumption processes based on the predicted future resource demand”. This dynamically allocation/reallocation/prioritization is not supported in the specification as there is no mention as to what makes a value “dynamically allocat[ed], reallocat[ed], or prioritiz[ed] vs. just allocated, reallocated, or prioritized. For instance, the Specification states:
“Such dynamic reallocation could also be done after projections of how many more claustrophobia cases would be likely in the next growing cycle, likelihood of increase/decrease in current sufferers, and other potential uses of these medicinal herbs (for example also in certain meal recipes), etc. Current stocks of those medicinal herbs could be dynamically reallocated depending on those factors and even projections as to what consumables current users will need-and in what amounts/dosages/timing -until new crops/production becomes available, and potentially reducing/reallocating current allocations (perhaps being partially replaced by a placebo component so the reduction is not visible to the sufferer).”
Which states that there is a dynamic reallocation based on factors, but not what would make these specifically dynamically reallocated. The Specification makes no mention of what a dynamic allocation, reallocation, or prioritization is or what any would be. To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that a patent must describe the technology; the requirement serves both to satisfy the inventor’s obligation to disclose the technologic knowledge upon which the patent is based, and to demonstrate that the patentee was in possession of the invention that is claimed." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1084 (Fed. Cir. 2005). The dependent Claims inherit the deficiencies of the independent claims and thus are similarly rejected.
Therefore, the claims and their dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), written description, as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Alice – Claims 67-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 67 is directed at limitations to measure/receive physical, environmental, biological, and operational conditions associated with consumable and non-consumable resources within the off-Earth community (Collecting Information, an Observation, a Mental Process; Managing Human Activity, i.e. allocation of resources; a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), to determine current availability, allocation, and consumption of a plurality of community resources comprising at least one of food, water, energy, soil, regolith-derived materials, nutrients, labor, equipment, or environmental control capacity (Analyzing the Information, an Evaluation, a Mental Process; Managing Human Activity, i.e. allocation of resources; a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), assess present and projected needs of a plurality of entities within the off-Earth community based on at least one of physiological state, mental health indicators, activity context, behavioral data, and demographic classification (Analyzing the Information, an Evaluation, a Mental Process; Managing Human Activity, i.e. allocation of resources; a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), predict future resource demand using historical consumption data, sensed context data, and predictive modeling (Analyzing the Information, an Evaluation, a Mental Process; Managing Human Activity, i.e. allocation of resources; a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), and dynamically allocate, reallocate, or prioritize the plurality of community resources across one or more production, storage, distribution, or consumption processes based on the predicted future resource demand (Transmitting the Analyzed Information, an Evaluation and Judgment, a Mental Process; Managing Human Activity, i.e. allocation of resources; a Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity), which under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind for the purposes of allocating and reallocating community resources, Managing Human Activity, but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting one or more sensors, one or more processors operably coupled to the one or more sensors, a non-transitory computer-readable medium and that the system is configured to operate under constrained import conditions characteristic of an off-Earth environment, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed or read into the mind for the purposes of Managing Human Activity. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas, an observation, evaluation, and judgment. Further, as described above, the claims recite limitations for Managing Human Activity, a “Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity”. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the above stated additional elements to perform the abstract limitations as above. The system, processors, sensors, and memory,medium are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic software/module performing a generic computer function of storing, retrieving, sending, and processing data) such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Even if taken as an additional element, the receiving and transmitting steps above are insignificant extra-solution activity as these are receiving, storing, and transmitting data as per the MPEP 2106.05(d). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, when considered both individually and as an ordered combination. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element being used to perform the abstract limitations stated above amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic computer components cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Applicant’s Specification states:
“[00208] Exemplary embodiments may include one or more computing devices, such as one or more servers, workstations, personal computers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, person digital assistants (PDAs), etc.”
Which states that any type of computing device with a processor and memory can be used to perform the abstract limitations, such as a laptop, desktop, cell phone, etc., and from this interpretation, one would reasonably deduce the aforementioned steps are all functions that can be done on generic components, and thus application of an abstract idea on a generic computer, as per the Alice decision and not requiring further analysis under Berkheimer, but for edification the Applicant’s specification has been used as above satisfying any such requirement. This is “Applying It” by utilizing current technologies. For the receiving steps that were considered extra-solution activity in Step 2A above, if they were to be considered additional elements, they have been re-evaluated in Step 2B and determined to be well-understood, routine, conventional, activity in the field. The background does not provide any indication that the additional elements, such as the system, sensors, processors, medium, etc., nor the receiving and transmitting steps as above, are anything other than a generic, and the MPEP Section 2106.05(d) indicates that mere collection or receipt, storing, or transmission of data is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). For these reasons, there is no inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Dependent Claims 68-84 contain the identified abstract ideas, further narrowing them, with no additional elements to be considered as part of a practical application or under prong 2 of the Alice analysis of the MPEP, thus not integrated into a practical application, nor are they significantly more for the same reasons and rationale as above.
After considering all claim elements, both individually and in combination, Examiner has determined that the claims are directed to the above abstract ideas and do not amount to significantly more. Therefore, the claims and dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, No. 13–298.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 67-69, 71-72, 74, 76-79, 81, and 83-84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai (U.S. Publication No. 2021/007,3699) in view of Marc (NPL – The cis-lunar ecosystem—A systems model and scenarios of the resource industry and its impact).
Regarding Claim 67, Cai, a system and method for cognitive enabled blockchain based resource prediction, teaches a system for resource management and allocation in a community, the system comprising:
one or more sensors configured to measure physical, environmental, biological, and operational conditions associated with consumable and non-consumable resources within the community ([0018] sensors to take sensor readings in physical, environmental, biological, operations conditions);
one or more processors operably coupled to the one or more sensors; and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors ([0099-100] medium with processor and memory in a system to carry out the methods), cause the system to:
determine current availability, allocation, and consumption of a plurality of community resources comprising at least one of food, water, energy, soil, regolith-derived materials, nutrients, labor, equipment, or environmental control capacity ([0016] food consumption and allocation are determined, [0028] availability of the food, [0036] soil is tracked);
assess present and projected needs of a plurality of entities within the off-Earth community based on at least one of physiological state, mental health indicators, activity context, behavioral data, and demographic classification ([0013] present needs are determined by records and historical data from a blockchain which are related to [0017] resource allocation, and this is based on [0028] activity patterns/context of the population);
predict future resource demand using historical consumption data, sensed context data, and predictive modeling ([0039] estimated/predicted resource demand from [0037] based on needs from historical data as in [0017], [0037] learning models which are predictive as in [0039] and [0018] sensor data); and
dynamically allocate, reallocate, or prioritize the plurality of community resources across one or more production, storage, distribution, or consumption processes based on the predicted future resource demand ([0031] machine learning model predicts demand to manage production, [0037] predict resource allocation, [0038] food consumption, again based on [0039] estimated demand for resource allocation as in [0097])
Although Cai teaches management and allocation of resources as above, it does not explicitly teach this is an off-earth community or habitat.
Marc, non-patent literature teaching sustaining a community in space, teaches an off-earth environment being considered for resource allocation (p. 555 – resource allocation in a moon colonization environment) and specialized equipment for the conditions of an off-Earth environment as in p. 552.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for allocating resources based on modeling of demand of Cai with the modeling of demand and resource allocation of Marc as they are both analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions in resource management, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve production and the overall community as taught on p. 555 of Marc.
Regarding Claim 68, The combination of Cai and Marc teaches management and allocation of resources off-Earth as above, Cai does not explicitly state a lunar habitat.
Marc, non-patent literature teaching sustaining a community in space, teaches a lunar habitat (p. 551 – lunar/moon base) and Mars base p. 551.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for allocating resources based on modeling of demand of Cai with the modeling of demand and resource allocation of Marc as they are both analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions in resource management, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve production and the overall community as taught on p. 555 of Marc.
Regarding Claim 69, Cai teaches wherein the plurality of community resources includes in-situ resource utilization (ISRU) resources derived from regolith, atmospheric gases, ice, or waste by-products ([0015] [0033] and [0035] waste by product and minimization of waste)
Regarding Claim 71, Cai teaches wherein the predictive modeling comprises machine-learning models trained on prior off-Earth operational data and context-specific environmental variables ([0056] operational and environmental blockchain data are used with [0020] machine learning models.
Cai does not explicitly teach this is an off-earth community or habitat.
Marc teaches an off-earth environment being considered for resource allocation (p. 555 – resource allocation in a moon colonization environment) and specialized equipment for the conditions of an off-Earth environment as in p. 552.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for allocating resources based on modeling of demand of Cai with the modeling of demand and resource allocation of Marc as they are both analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions in resource management, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve production and the overall community as taught on p. 555 of Marc.
Regarding Claim 72, Cai teaches further configured to assign priority weights to resource allocation decisions based on at least one of contribution to community sustainability, role criticality, health risk, or mission objective ([0017] allocation of resources is based on [0028] health patterns/risk of population)
Regarding Claim 74, Cai teaches allocating and reallocation of production as in [0031] but not based on a predicted shortfall.
Marc teaches wherein the system reallocates production capacity from one consumable category to another in advance of a predicted shortfall based on production lead times as in p.547 where there is a shortage based on prediction.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for allocating resources based on modeling of demand of Cai with the modeling of demand and resource allocation of Marc as they are both analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions in resource management, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve production and the overall community as taught on p. 555 of Marc.
Regarding Claim 76, Cai teaches wherein the plurality of entities includes one or more of humans, animals, plants, robotic systems, or computational agents ([0032] robots, computing devices/agents, and plants as in [0035])
Regarding Claim 77, Cai teaches wherein the dynamic allocation comprises coordinating human labor, robotic labor, or autonomous system operation based on current resource constraints ([0038] parameters/constraints of resources such as shipment timing, food crop timing, manufacturing and robots are coordinated as in [0032] and [0047].
Regarding Claim 78, Cai teaches wherein the system modifies environmental control parameters comprising lighting, temperature, gravity simulation, or electromagnetic exposure in response to predicted resource-linked behavioral or health outcomes ([0017] temperature is used for modeling and prediction, [0028] health patterns)
Regarding Claim 79, Cai teaches further comprising a scoring system that evaluates resource usage efficiency at an individual, group, or community level and influences subsequent allocation decisions ([0034] usage efficiency of resources is taken into account to remove waste for allocations as above)
Regarding Claim 81, Cai teaches wherein the system forecasts cascading impacts of a resource allocation change across multiple interdependent production and consumption subsystem ([0035-36] prediction of resources for multiple different interdependent production/consumption subsystems such as soil, seeds, equipment, and labor)
Regarding Claim 83, Cai teaches wherein the system generates actionable recommendations for modifying resource production, consumption behaviors, or community workflows to mitigate predicted shortages ([0042] recommendation of production values for the production and consumption as in Claim 67 above)
Regarding Claim 84, Cai teaches wherein resource allocation decisions are recorded in a system of record comprising a distributed ledger or blockchain to enable traceability and accountability within the off-Earth community ([0031] resource allocation uses AI and blockchain information)
Cai does not explicitly teach this is an off-earth community or habitat.
Marc teaches an off-earth environment being considered for resource allocation (p. 555 – resource allocation in a moon colonization environment) and specialized equipment for the conditions of an off-Earth environment as in p. 552.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for allocating resources based on modeling of demand of Cai with the modeling of demand and resource allocation of Marc as they are both analogous art along with the claimed invention which teach solutions in resource management, and the combination would lead to an improved system which would improve production and the overall community as taught on p. 555 of Marc.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 70, 73, 75, 80, and 82 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if the independent claim was amended in such a way as to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210208547 A1
Burroughs; John H. et al.
CENTRAL PLANT CONTROL SYSTEM WITH MULTI-LEVEL NON-GRANULAR ASSET ALLOCATION
US 20210073699 A1
Cai; Zhuo et al.
COGNITIVE ENABLED BLOCKCHAIN BASED RESOURCE PREDICTION
US 20210014662 A1
Loehr; Joachim et al.
RESOURCE ALLOCATION FOR D2D DISCOVERY TRANSMISSION
US 20200363776 A1
Burroughs; John H. et al.
CENTRAL PLANT CONTROL SYSTEM WITH MULTI-LEVEL NON-GRANULAR ASSET ALLOCATION
US 20250046436 A1
ZAK; Aaron S. et al.
HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AI-OPTIMIZATION SYSTEMS AND METHODS
US 20240007538 A1
Orbach; Tuvi
NEEDS-MATCHING NAVIGATOR SYSTEM
US 20230069177 A1
Albright; Ryan et al.
DATA CENTER SELF-HEALING
US 20220305728 A1
Ballard; Jason D. et al.
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DEPLOYING, HARVESTING, AND IN-SITU THREE-DIMENSIONAL PRINTING OF STRUCTURES IN AN EXTRATERRESTRIAL ENVIRONMENT
US 20210320769 A1
Cha; Hyunsu et al.
METHOD FOR TRANSMITTING AND RECEIVING POSITIONING REFERENCE SIGNAL AND APPARATUS THEREFOR
US 20210248692 A1
Nyota; Timothy et al.
MANAGING TRANSBOUNDARY WATER USE USING A DISTRIBUTED LEDGER AND MACHINE LEARNING
US 20210212097 A1
Loehr; Joachim et al.
SCHEDULING REQUEST PROCEDURE FOR D2D COMMUNICATION
US 20200348205 A1
Santarone; Michael S. et al.
MONITORING A CONDITION WITHIN A STRUCTURE
US 20200311635 A1
Emig; Joshua James et al.
PROVIDING PHYSICAL SPACES, RESOURCES, AND INFORMATION TO USERS AND MANAGERS WITHIN A WORKSPACE, SUCH AS VIA A MEMBER APP
US 20200187018 A1
Hoffberg; Steven M.
MULTIFACTORIAL OPTIMIZATION SYSTEM AND METHOD
US 20190066409 A1
Moreira da Mota; Eduardo da Cruz Antunes
METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR MEASURING PERFORMANCE OF FLEETS OF AUTONOMOUS VEHICLES
US 20180218057 A1
Beckham; Tammy et al.
SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR MONITORING AND ANALYZING ANIMAL RELATED DATA
US 20120215829 A1
Naphade; Milind et al.
METHOD AND APPARATUS FOR EFFICIENT AND ACCURATE ANALYTICS WITH CROSS-DOMAIN CORRELATION
/JOSEPH M WAESCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625B 8/24/2026