DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the correspondence received on 6/23/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s elected without traverse Species A in the reply filed on 6/3/2024. Therefore, Fig 12 is elected (Figs 14-18 are non-elected species).
Applicant stated claims 1, 2, 4-10, 13-17 and 26-30 cover Species A on reply filed on 6/3/2024.
Claims 2-3, 11-12, 18-20, 23-26, 33 are cancelled.
Claims 21-22, 31-32 are non-elected species.
Claims 1, 4-10, 13-16, 17, 27-30, 34 are examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 34 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation “maintain the ammonia therein at a pressures of at least 20 atm” is believed to be in error for – maintain the ammonia therein at a pressure of at least 20 atm --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8: in “the second gaseous product is mixed with air being drawn into the engine and supplied to the combustor”, it is unclear if “air” is related to “air” in line 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 7, 14, 16-17, 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400 and Johnson 3313103 and further in view of McMahan 20110247341.
Regarding claim 1, Medina teaches:
A power system for a vehicle (marine, aerospace and train, [0001]), said power system comprising:
a storage tank containing ammonia in liquid form (“liquid ammonia fuel, which is the second fuel, is pumped from the fuel tank” [0123]; a desired storage state for the second fuel (e.g. liquid) [0054]);
an engine supported on the vehicle ([0001]), said engine being configured to operate using hydrogen as fuel ([0025, 0047]);
wherein the engine is a turbine engine (3) having a first turbine (10) driving a first compressor (7), said first compressor compressing air that is provided to a combustor chamber (9) of the turbine engine wherein combustion of the hydrogen proceeds (see 9 in Fig. 7);
a conversion device receiving the gaseous ammonia; and
the conversion device including a tube that extends along (“a first channel within the cracker to thereby chemically decompose the first cracker fluid into two or more chemical species. By positioning the cracker inside the combustion chamber” [0047]), said tube having an interior surface defining an interior passage connecting between a first end of the tube and a second end of the tube (a channel [0047]), the interior surface having a catalyst configured to aid in cracking of ammonia to yield hydrogen (ammonia crackers have a catalyst that would have a surface exposed to the ammonia);
the tube (first channel [0047]) receiving the gaseous ammonia at the first end thereof (first cracker fluid may be ammonia [0047]), cracking the gaseous ammonia in the interior passage with heat from the combustion in the combustor chamber (“a cracker is located within the combustion chamber arranged to provide thermal contact between combusting fluid in the combustion chamber and a first cracker fluid undergoing a first process passing through a first channel within the cracker to thereby chemically decompose the first cracker fluid into two or more chemical species. By positioning the cracker inside the combustion chamber, the necessary heat for the decomposition may be generated within the cracker” [0047) so as to produce a gas product mix containing hydrogen gas (the first cracker fluid may be ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047]), and outputting the gas product mix at the second end thereof (“The products of the decomposition may be useful and in particular may be useful in producing one or more of the constituents of the first and/or second injection fluids, e.g. the first fuel and/or other fluids used in the system. […] hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber in the secondary combustion zone” [0047], “The first fuel of the first injection fluid may be delivered from the cracker via an outlet of the first channel” [0048]);
wherein the second end of the tube supplies the gas product mix to a separation unit that separates the hydrogen gas from the gas product mix output by the conversion device (“The first fuel of the first injection fluid may be delivered from the cracker via an outlet of the first channel and may be separated from the one or more other chemical species in an intermediate stage (e.g. a molecular sieve). A molecular sieve may be suitable for separating hydrogen and nitrogen gases decomposed in the cracker from ammonia” [0048]), and said hydrogen gas is supplied to the combustor chamber wherein combustion of said hydrogen gas takes place (“The hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber” [0047]), producing energy that drives said engine so as to move the vehicle (“The disclosures may be particularly applicable to combustors used in gas turbine engines or boilers for use in the field of power generation, though they also are relevant to other fields (e.g. marine, aerospace and train applications)” [0001]).
Medina is silent about:
wherein the turbine engine has a second compressor compressing the air before compression by the first compressor, and
wherein heat derived from the air compressed by the second compressor is applied to change the ammonia in liquid form from the storage tank to gaseous ammonia;
However, Callas teaches:
the turbine engine has a second compressor (12a) compressing the air before compression by the first compressor (12b)
wherein heat derived from the air compressed by the second compressor is applied to change ammonia in liquid form from the storage tank (via 38, “may change states from a liquid state to gaseous state within heat exchanger 38 “ [0017]);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina with Callas' structure discussed above in order to “further pressurize the air to a second pressure level” as taught by Callas [0012], so” Each fuel nozzle may inject or otherwise deliver one or both of liquid and gaseous fuel into the flow of compressed air from HPS 12b for ignition within combustion chamber 26. As the fuel/air mixture combusts, heated molecules may expand and move at high speed into turbine section 16 by way of a passage 28”, producing more power as taught by Callas [0013], because higher pressures lead to more power production and efficiency in a gas turbine.
Medina in view of Callas teaches the combustion of hydrogen gas as discussed above, but Medina in view of Callas does not explicitly teach:
the combustor chamber of the turbine engine having a liner wall surrounding an interior space in which the combustion of the hydrogen gas takes place;
However, Johnson teaches a gas turbine (title) and gaseous partially cracked ammonia then being fed to the pilot combustion chamber 32 (col. 3 ll. 1-3):
the combustor chamber (combustion chamber 28, Fig. 1) of the turbine engine (Fig. 1) having a liner wall surrounding an interior space (liner 31, Figs 1, 4) in which the combustion of the hydrogen gas takes place (“the ammonia is cracked prior to introduction into the main combustor 28” Col 3 ll. 26-37);
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas with Johnson’s structure discussed above in order to provide an arrangement where tubes can be mounted (col 2 ll. 1-15) where “there is sufficient heat in this region of the main combustion chamber 28 in which the J-tubes 30 are disposed to crack a portion of the evaporated ammonia within the J-tubes 30 into the dissociation products ammonia” as taught by Johnson Col 3 ll. 12-18, providing a “relatively hot region adjacent the pilot combustor 32 so that the ammonia burns upon egress from the J-shaped tubes” Col 3 ll. 5-18, taking advantage of the heat and increasing system efficiency.
Medina in view of Callas Johnson teaches the conversion device including tubes as discussed above, but is silent about:
[at least one tube that extends along] a surface of the liner wall or inside the liner wall,
However, McMahan teaches a combustor with a liner with upstream and downstream end portion and comprising channels (abstract), and:
[at least one tube (channels 56, Figs. 3-5) that extends along] a surface of the liner wall or inside the liner wall (inside 34).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas and Johnson with McMahan's structure discussed above in order to provide a structure through which “heat may be transferred away” as taught by McMahan [0036], using the fuel to provide cooling for the combustor liner.
Regarding claim 4, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1. Medina further teaches:
wherein the turbine engine has:
a heat exchanger deriving the heat that is applied to change the ammonia in liquid form to the gaseous ammonia from cooling the air (a fuel heat exchanger arranged to bring into thermal contact at least part of an air flow travelling into a compressor [0054])
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, as discussed so far, is silent about the heat exchanger cooling the air compressed by the second compressor as claimed.
However, Callas teaches:
heat exchanger cooling the air compressed by the second compressor (38, [0017]),
Regarding claim 5, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, teaches the invention as discussed for claim 4. Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, as discussed so far, is silent about:
The turbine engine has a second turbine driving the second compressor
However, Callas teaches:
the turbine engine has a second turbine driving the second compressor (LPS 16a, Fig 1, [0014, 0019]).
Regarding claim 7, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1.
Medina further teaches:
Wherein the separation unit receives the gas product mix and separates the gas product mix into (“The first fuel of the first injection fluid may be delivered from the cracker via an outlet of the first channel and may be separated from the one or more other chemical species in an intermediate stage (e.g. a molecular sieve). A molecular sieve may be suitable for separating hydrogen and nitrogen gases decomposed in the cracker from ammonia” [0048]),
a first gaseous product that is mostly the hydrogen gas, and that is supplied to the engine to be combusted (the first cracker fluid may be ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047] “hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber in the secondary combustion zone” [0047]” [0047]),
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the gaseous product containing hydrogen, nitrogen, but although one would expect a residual partion of ammonia to be present in the gaseous product due to imperfections in the cracking process, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan does not explicitly teach the second gaseous product containing ammonia gas:
a second gaseous product that contains hydrogen, nitrogen and ammonia gas.
However, McMahan teaches:
a second gaseous product that contains nitrogen and ammonia gas (“when about 28% of the ammonia is cracked prior to introduction into the main combustor 28. Thus with about 28% cracking, a conventional gas turbine configuration is capable of operation on ammonia” Col 3 ll. 35-40)
Regarding claim 14, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention of claim 1. Medina further teaches:
The power system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is a marine vessel or a train locomotive (marine, aerospace and train applications [0001])
Regarding claim 16, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention of claim 1. Medina further teaches:
The power system of claim 1, wherein the heat supplied to the conversion device is produced by the combustion of the hydrogen gas (as the second cracker fluid, the ammonia undergoes the second process of having its thermal energy further increased via heat exchange with the combusting fluid in the combustion chamber 13 [0123], and hydrogen is used as fuel: “The hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber” [0047]) .
Regarding claim 17, Medina teaches:
A method of using ammonia (liquid ammonia fuel, [0123]) for providing hydrogen fuel (hydrogen [0124]) for an engine of an aircraft (marine, aerospace and train, [0001]), said method comprising:
supplying liquid ammonia to a tank on said aircraft and storing the liquid ammonia therein (liquid ammonia fuel, which is the second fuel, is pumped from the fuel tank [0123]);
converting said liquid ammonia to gaseous ammonia (a fuel heat exchanger arranged to bring into thermal contact at least part of an air flow travelling into a compressor of the gas turbine engine and a flow of the second fuel […] produce a state change from a desired storage state for the second fuel (e.g. liquid) to a desired combustion state (e.g. gas) [0077]);
cracking the gaseous ammonia by an endothermic cracking process in a catalytic cracking component so as to dissociate the gaseous ammonia into a gas mixture containing hydrogen gas and a gas containing nitrogen (By positioning the cracker inside the combustion chamber, the necessary heat for the decomposition may be generated within the cracker […] ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047]);
driving a compressor (7) that compresses air received from outside (“air” bottom left o Fig. 7, and “cold air” from 77 to 7) the aircraft (aerospace applications [0001]) so as to increase a temperature thereof (compression adds energy into the system and causes temperature to increase); and
burning the hydrogen gas in a combustion chamber of the engine of the aircraft (The hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber in the secondary combustion zone [0047]) so as to drive the engine and provide thrust to the aircraft (aircraft, discussed above, are known to be powered by an engine, and thrust is generated to provide propulsion to the aircraft);
wherein the cracking of the gaseous ammonia comprises supplying the gaseous ammonia (ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047])to the catalytic cracking component wherein the catalytic cracking component comprises a tube (a channel [0047]) having an interior surface having catalyst material (ammonia crackers have a catalyst that would have a surface exposed to the ammonia) and defining a passage in the tube (a channel [0047])
the tube receives heat from the combustion chamber from the burning of the hydrogen gas (“The hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber” [0047]) and uses said heat to dissociate the ammonia into the gas mixture therein (“By positioning the cracker inside the combustion chamber, the necessary heat for the decomposition may be generated within the cracker” [0047], the first cracker fluid may be ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047]); and
the method further including
transmitting the gas mixture from the tubes to a separating apparatus (“delivered from the cracker via an outlet of the first channel and may be separated from the one or more other chemical species in an intermediate stage (e.g. a molecular sieve)” [0048]);
separating the gas mixture into a hydrogen gas fraction containing at least a portion of the hydrogen gas and a second gas mixture containing at least a portion of the nitrogen gas and at least a portion of the gaseous ammonia using said separating apparatus (“The first fuel of the first injection fluid may be delivered from the cracker via an outlet of the first channel and may be separated from the one or more other chemical species in an intermediate stage (e.g. a molecular sieve). A molecular sieve may be suitable for separating hydrogen and nitrogen gases decomposed in the cracker from ammonia” [0048]); and
supplying the hydrogen gas fraction to the combustion chamber of the engine and burning said hydrogen gas fraction therein (“The hydrogen may be the first fuel and the nitrogen may be delivered to the combustion chamber” [0047]).
Medina is silent about:
wherein the compressor comprises a low pressure compressor and a high pressure compressor in series; and
wherein the low pressure compressor compresses and heats air from outside the aircraft, and wherein the converting the liquid ammonia to the gaseous ammonia includes cooling the air compressed by the low pressure compressor with the liquid ammonia such that the liquid ammonia becomes gaseous;
wherein the catalytic cracking component outputs a gas mixture containing hydrogen gas, nitrogen gas, and ammonia,
However, Callas teaches:
wherein the compressor comprises a low pressure compressor (12a) and a high pressure compressor (12b) in series (Fig. 1); and
wherein the low pressure compressor compresses and heats air from outside the aircraft (“air in”, Fig. 1, (compression adds energy into the system and causes temperature to increase) and wherein the converting the liquid ammonia to the gaseous ammonia includes cooling the air compressed by the low pressure compressor with the liquid ammonia (via 38) such that the liquid ammonia becomes gaseous (via 38, “may change states from a liquid state to gaseous state within heat exchanger 38 “ [0017]);
wherein the catalytic cracking component outputs a gas mixture containing hydrogen gas, nitrogen gas, and ammonia (the first cracker fluid may be ammonia, which may be decomposed inside the cracker into nitrogen and hydrogen [0047]),
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina with Callas' structure discussed above in order to “further pressurize the air to a second pressure level” as taught by Callas [0012] so” Each fuel nozzle may inject or otherwise deliver one or both of liquid and gaseous fuel into the flow of compressed air from HPS 12b for ignition within combustion chamber 26. As the fuel/air mixture combusts, heated molecules may expand and move at high speed into turbine section 16 by way of a passage 28”, producing more power as taught by Callas [0013], because higher pressures lead to more power production and efficiency in a gas turbine.
Medina in view of Callas teaches the combustion of hydrogen gas as discussed above, but Medina in view of Callas does not explicitly teach:
a liner wall of a combustion chamber of the engine
the combustor chamber of the turbine engine having a liner wall surrounding an interior space in which the combustion of the hydrogen gas takes place;
However, Johnson teaches a gas turbine (title) and gaseous partially cracked ammonia then being fed to the pilot combustion chamber 32 (col. 3 ll. 1-3):
a liner wall (liner 31, Figs 1, 4) of a combustion chamber (28) of the engine (gas turbine “the ammonia is cracked prior to introduction into the main combustor 28” Col 3 ll. 26-37)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas with Johnson’s structure discussed above in order to provide an arrangement where tubes can be mounted (col 2 ll. 1-15), such that the liner wall of a combustion chamber of the engine such that the tube receives “there is sufficient heat in this region of the main combustion chamber 28 in which the J-tubes 30 are disposed to crack a portion of the evaporated ammonia within the J-tubes 30 into the dissociation products ammonia” as taught by Johnson Col 3 ll. 12-18, providing a “relatively hot region adjacent the pilot combustor 32 so that the ammonia burns upon egress from the J-shaped tubes” Col 3 ll. 5-18, taking advantage of the heat and increasing system efficiency.
Medina in view of Callas and Johnson teaches tubes receiving heat from the combustion chamber, as discussed above, but is silent about:
said tube extending along or inside of a liner wall of a combustion chamber of the engine
However, McMahan teaches a combustor with a liner with upstream and downstream end portion and comprising channels (abstract), and:
tube (channels 56, Figs. 3-5) extending along or inside of a liner wall of a combustion chamber of the engine (inside 34) such that the tube receives heat from the combustion chamber (“flows into and through the channels 56, heat may be transferred away from the downstream end portion 52 of the combustor liner 34” [0036])
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas and Johnson with McMahan's structure discussed above in order to provide a structure through which “heat may be transferred away” as taught by McMahan [0036], using the fuel to provide cooling for the combustor liner.
Regarding claim 27, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1.
As already discussed for claim 1, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches:
tube each being supported on and extending along the surface of the liner wall or in the liner wall (as discussed for claim 1),
tube having a respective interior surface defining a respective interior passage (as discussed for claim 1), and having thereon a catalyst (ammonia crackers have a catalyst that would have a surface exposed to the ammonia; catalyst already discussed for claim 1) configured to aid in cracking of ammonia to yield hydrogen (as already discussed for claim 1), of the tubes receiving gaseous ammonia at a respective first end thereof, cracking the gaseous ammonia in the interior passage with heat from the combustion in the combustor chamber (as already discussed for claim 1; “By positioning the cracker inside the combustion chamber, the necessary heat for the decomposition” [0047]) so as to produce a respective gas product mix containing a respective amount of hydrogen gas, and outputting the gas product mix at an opposite second end thereof(as already discussed for claim 1) so as to flow to the separation unit (separation unit as already discussed for claim 1).
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches at least one tube, as discussed above, but does not explicitly teach:
wherein the conversion device further includes a plurality of additional tubes in addition to the tube.
However, Johnson teaches:
wherein the conversion device further includes a plurality of additional tubes (multiple tubes seen in Fig. 1) in addition to the tube (multiple additional tubes, in addition to what was already discussed). Furthermore, McMahan teaches a plurality of additional tubes (channels 56) placed in the liner wall (McMahan Fig. 3, 5)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with Johnson's teachings discussed above in order to increase the exposure of ammonia to be cracked to the surface of the tubes and the heat, because “the amount of ammonia which will be cracked will depend upon the length of the tubes and the energy level of the combustion taking place in the main combustor” Col 3 ll. 15-25, where an increase the number of tubes provides an increase in surface where the ammonia is exposed to the catalyst and heat.
Regarding claim 28, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 27. Medina further teaches:
gaseous ammonia being derived from stored liquid ammonia (liquid ammonia fuel, which is the second fuel, is pumped from the fuel tank [0123]) exposed to heat in a heat exchanger apparatus in the engine ([0054]).
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, as discussed so far, is silent about:
a manifold connects the first ends of the tube and of the additional tubes of the conversion device with a line supplying the gaseous ammonia
However, Johnson further teaches:
a manifold (36, Fig. 1, Col 2 ll. 50-55) connects the first ends of the tube and of the additional tubes of the conversion device (tubes as discussed above, Fig 1 shows 36 connecting to the multiple tubes) with a line supplying the gaseous ammonia (“ammonia from the fuel supply has also been delivered through the pilot supply tube 36” Col 2 ll. 50-55).
Medina in view of Callas, Cocks and Johnson teaches the second compressor as already discussed, teaches:
said gaseous ammonia being derived from the stored liquid ammonia by exposing said liquid ammonia to heat derived from the second compressor using a heat exchanger apparatus associated with the low pressure compressor (as already discussed, Callas teaches second compressor (12a, Fig. 1) wherein heat from second compressor is applied to changein liquid form via 38, “may change states from a liquid state to gaseous state within heat exchanger 38 “ [0017]);
Regarding claim 29, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 27. Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan, as discussed so far, is silent about:
wherein the tube and the additional tubes each extend in a respective pathway on or in the liner wall between the ends of said tube, said pathway being partly or completely circumferential about a circumference of the combustor liner wall or axially of the combustor liner.
However, Johnson teaches:
wherein the tube and the additional tubes (30) each extend in a respective pathway on the liner wall between the ends of said tube (Fig 1), said pathway being partly or completely axially of the liner wall (Fig 1).
Regarding claim 30, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 29. Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan is silent about:
wherein the tube and the additional tubes are embedded within the liner wall of the combustor liner
However, McMahan teaches:
wherein the tube and the additional tubes (56, Fig 3-5) are embedded within the liner wall of the combustor liner (34).
Claim(s) 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400, Johnson 3313103 and McMahan 20110247341 and further in view of HØJLUND NIELSEN 20230383420.
Regarding claim 6, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1. Medina further teaches:
wherein the gas product mixture contains the hydrogen gas, nitrogen supplied thereto ([0047]).
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan as discussed so far, is silent about some of the ammonia supplied thereto as claimed.
However, HØJLUND NIELSEN teaches:
some of the gaseous ammonia supplied to the conversion device (The resulting gas mixture is composed of hydrogen and nitrogen in the proportion 3:1 (75% of H.sub.2 and 25% of N.sub.2) with very little amount (20-100 ppm) of residual undissociated ammonia with dew point −60° F. to −20° F. (−51° C. to −29° C.). When performed under the conditions of the present invention, catalysts are preferably Fe-based and the process is performed at lower temperatures, between approximately 300-700° C [0039]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with HØJLUND NIELSEN 's structure discussed above in order to account for residual undissociated ammonia and provide a “process is performed at lower temperatures, between approximately 300-700° C” as taught by HØJLUND NIELSEN [0039], providing a way to “improve efficiency and reduce costs of ammonia decomposition or cracking at low temperatures, while increasing the total yield of produced hydrogen” [0001].
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400, Johnson 3313103 and McMahan 20110247341 and further in view of Cocks 20220162999.
Regarding claim 9, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 7. Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan is silent about:
wherein the first gaseous product is supplied to the combustor chamber, and the first gaseous product supplied to the combustor chamber contains
30% to 70% by volume of the hydrogen gas; and
30% to 70% by volume of ammonia.
However, Cocks teaches “the decomposition or conversion process of ammonia into component parts of hydrogen and nitrogen can reach an equilibrium point shown at 22 based on a temperature indicated at 24 and pressure indicated by lines 26, 28, 30 and 32“ [0038] and seen in Fig 2. Cocks teaches “The degree of conversion decreases as the pressure of the ammonia fuel increases, as is shown by graph 20. At pressures of around 68 atm (1000 psi), the degree of conversion is reduced to below 70% at 400° C” [0039]. Therefore, Cocks teaches and the gas mixture supplied to the combustor chamber contains 30% to 70% by volume of hydrogen gas; and 30% to 70% by volume of ammonia.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with Cocks’ teachings discussed above in order to provide and account for the amount of hydrogen and ammonia in the gas mixture depending on the temperature and pressure in the system.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400, Cocks 20220162999, Johnson 3313103 and HØJLUND NIELSEN 20230383420 further in view of Wiedenhoefer 20220128310.
Regarding claim 10, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1. As already discussed, Medina teaches:
wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (as already discussed and taught by Medina, the invention can be used in Aerospace vehicles [0001]).
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan is silent about engine has an exhaust area as claimed.
the engine has an exhaust area through which products of the combustion are expelled, said exhaust area having an additional heat exchanger extracting heat from the exhaust, and wherein the aircraft has a supercritical CO2 (sCO2) system receiving the extracted heat and converting said heat to electrical current supplied to the aircraft.
However, Wiedenhoefer teaches:
the vehicle is an aircraft (aircraft [0085]) and the engine has an exhaust area through which products of the combustion are expelled (Fig 30), said exhaust area having a heat exchanger extracting heat from the exhaust (20), and the aircraft has a supercritical CO2 (sCO2) system (The first flowpath 900 is a leg of a supercritical CO.sub.2 (sCO.sub.2) bottoming Brayton cycle (referred to herein as the waste heat recovery system 801) [0087]) receiving the extracted heat ([0087, Fig 30) and converting said heat to electrical current supplied to the aircraft (the heat exchanger 20 is connected to transfer heat from the turbine exhaust to the waste heat recovery system 801, and the waste heat recovery system 801 converts the heat into rotational work (which may be used for various purposes such as driving an electrical generator (not shown) to power aircraft systems) [0087]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with Wiedenhoefer 's structure discussed above in order to “convert[s] the heat into rotational work (which may be used for various purposes such as driving an electrical generator […] to power aircraft systems)” as taught by Wiedenhoefer [0087]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400, Johnson 3313103 and McMahan 20110247341 and further in view of Ford 4473537.
Regarding claim 13, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention as discussed for claim 1. As discussed above for claim 1, Medina teaches:
wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (as already discussed and taught by Medina, the invention can be used in Aerospace vehicles [0001]).
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan is silent about:
and the engine has an exhaust area through which products of the combustion are expelled, the exhaust area including a catalyst screen and spray device spraying ammonia into the exhaust so as to reduce NOX in the products of the combustion.
However, Ford teaches:
the engine has an exhaust area through which products of the combustion are expelled (inter alia, 32, 34), the exhaust area including a catalyst screen (50, Col 10 ll. 24-49) and spray device spraying ammonia (ammonia is added in spray elements 56 Col 10 ll. 24-49) into the exhaust so as to reduce NOX in the products of the combustion (Title).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with Ford's structure discussed above in order “to react injected ammonia with NO.sub.x from the combustor of the gas turbine to reduce atmospheric emission of NO.sub.x from the system” as taught by Ford (Abstract).
Claim(s) 15, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Medina 20240060645 in view of Callas 20090133400, Johnson 3313103 and McMahan 20110247341 and further in view of Ravikumar 20090304574.
Regarding claim 15, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan teaches the invention of claim 1. Medina further teaches:
The power system of claim 1, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (marine, aerospace and train applications [0001]), and
the storage tank storing the ammonia and is configured to maintain the ammonia in said liquid form (a desired storage state for the second fuel (e.g. liquid) [0054]) at all environmental temperatures of the aircraft (second fuel may be warmed prior to combustion which may improve efficiency and/or produce a state change from a desired storage state for the second fuel (e.g. liquid) to a desired combustion state (e.g. gas) [0077], teaching the fuel remains in liquid form until ready for combustion),
Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan is silent about the tank pressure as claimed.
However, Ravikumar taches:
the storage tank being configured to maintain the ammonia therein at a pressures of at least 15 atm (the ammonia storage tank where the liquefied ammonia is preferably stored at a pressure of at least 20 atm [0008]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Medina in view of Callas, Johnson and McMahan with Ravikumar 's structure discussed above in order to store undissociated ammonia in a liquefied state, as taught by Ravikumar [0008]
Regarding claim 34, Medina in view of Callas, Johnson, McMahan and Ravikumar teaches the invention of claim 15.
Ravikumar further teaches:
The power system of claim 15, wherein the storage tank is configured to maintain the ammonia therein at a pressures of at least 20 atm (the ammonia storage tank where the liquefied ammonia is preferably stored at a pressure of at least 20 atm [0008]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 USC § 112 as discussed above, but it may contain allowable subject matter if the issues discussed in the 112(b) rejection can be addressed. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the second gaseous product is supplied to the second compressor wherein the second gaseous product is mixed with air being drawn into the engine and supplied to the combustor.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments have been considered, but they are not persuasive. However, to the extent possible, applicant’s arguments have been addressed in the body of the rejections above, at the appropriate location.
Applicant argues on page 13:
Examiner’s response: the limitations “a tube that extends along a surface of the liner wall or inside the liner wall” was taught in the combination by a McMahan, as discussed in the rejection.
Applicant argues on page 14:
Examiner’s response: Callas is relevant prior art that teaches a gas turbine and also includes a catalytic cracker, however Callas was only applied to the combination to teach:
As discussed in the rejection. The prior art teaches the limitations discussed above and was not intended to teach features mentioned by applicant in the remarks.
Applicant argues on page 15:
Examiner’s response: As discussed in the rejection, Johnson is applied to the combination to teach:
as discussed in the office action, not to teach the features mentioned in applicant’s remarks above.
Applicant argues on page 15:
Examiner’s response: The catalyst lining and transport of fuel or gas for cracking are discussed earlier in the rejection and taught by the base reference. McMahan is only applied to the combination to teach at least one tube that extends along a surface of the liner wall or inside the wall liner, as discussed in the rejection.
Additionally, regarding the arguments above:
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., Inc., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Where a rejection of a claim is based on two or more references, a reply that is limited to what a subset of the applied references teaches or fails to teach, or that fails to address the combined teaching of the applied references may be considered to be an argument that attacks the reference(s) individually. Where an applicant’s reply establishes that each of the applied references fails to teach a limitation and addresses the combined teachings and/or suggestions of the applied prior art, the reply as a whole does not attack the references individually as the phrase is used in Keller and reliance on Keller would not be appropriate. This is because “[T]he test for obviousness is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to [a PHOSITA].” In re Mouttet, 686 F.3d 1322, 1333, 103 USPQ2d 1219, 1226 (Fed. Cir. 2012). MPEP 2145 (IV).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/ROBERTO TOSHIHARU IGUE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/PHUTTHIWAT WONGWIAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741