DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed on 9/25/2023 and 1/23/2024 are under compliance and have been accepted.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 1/13/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application number #18/638681 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 5, 10- 11, 16- 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0121314 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a method performed by a wireless device (see Abstract; UE as a wireless device; further see Fig. 1 [0050]; UE ), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the first RRC message comprises one or more capability parameters (see [0329] ….the UE may indicate whether the UE supports/prefers the RA-SDT (configuration), CG-SDT (configuration), and/or SDT to the NW (i.e. represents base station) via the UE capability information and/or the UE assistance information (i.e. first RRC message can be capability/assistance information…; further see [0336] The proposed signaling may be transmitted to the serving RAN via SRB1 (e.g., via UEAssistanceInformation/UECapabilityInformation) or SRB3 (e.g., via UEAssistanceInformation) if secondary node/secondary cell group(s) is configured to the UE as part of multi-RAT configuration in the UE side..);
receiving, from the base station and via a first cell (see [0058]…table 1 serving cell for small data transmissions configured with supplementary uplink as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.331), a second RRC message that causes an RRC state transition, wherein the second RRC message comprises first configuration information for small data transmission (SDT) (see [0051] The UE may be in an RRC_INACTIVE state when the illustrated SDT procedure is initiated. Additionally, the UE may be configured with SDT configurations (e.g., via an information element (IE), such as the IE sdt-Config and/or the IE sdt-ConfigCommon). The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (i.e. second RRC message) (and/or via a suspend configuration message), and/or via system information (e.g., SIB). The configuration(s) for SDT may include a RACH configuration (e.g., configured via the IE ra-SDT-config), a CG configuration (e.g., configured via the IE cg-SDT-config), configuration(s) for SRB/DRB used for SDT, DRB list (e.g., configured via the IE sdt-DRBList), and/or an SRB indication (e.g., configured via the IE SRB2Indication) );
transitioning, based on the second RRC message, to an RRC inactive state (After receiving RRC Release message, UE changes its state to RRC_INACTIVE (see [0051] and FIG. 3 step S314 and S316); and
while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state (see [0051] The UE may be in an RRC_INACTIVE state when the illustrated SDT procedure is initiated…):
initiating a first SDT procedure (see [0054]: In action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG)) associated with a second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell, … . After the UL carrier selection, the UE may perform the SDT procedure on the selected UL carrier (e.g., either UL or SUL);further refer to [0058]: if the Serving Cell for Small Data Transmission is configured with supplementary uplink as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.331; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2));
transmitting, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) and based on a first random access resource, a first random access preamble associated with the first SDT procedure (see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different);
transmitting, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), a third RRC message requesting a first RRC connection resumption (see [0073]: In action S214, after transmitting the RA preamble, the UE 201 may transmit an RRC message (e.g., a CCCH message), … The RRC message may be an RRCResumeRequest message (i.e. third RRC message)) , wherein a resume cause field of the third RRC message is set to a first value of a plurality of resume cause field values (see [0064]: The timer may also be (re)started upon transmission of small data, or upon transmission of an RRC resume request; …When the timer expires, the UE may perform the actions upon going to the RRC_IDLE state (e.g., with a specific RRC resume cause); further refer to [0090]: The UL message may include an RRC resume request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest, RRCResumeRequest1, and/or a CCCH message for SDT; Note: specific RRC resume cause is inherently set in one of the fields of the RRCResumeRequest message);
transmitting, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), data associated with the first SDT procedure (see [0075]: In action S218, once the RA procedure for SDT is successfully completed, the UE 201 may monitor a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI) on a specific search space for subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be the transmission of multiple UL and/or DL data packets as part of the SDT procedure without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., while the UE 201 may still be in the RRC_INACTIVE state));
initiating a second SDT procedure (see [0054]: In action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG); further see [0336]: the UE may indicate whether the UE supports/prefers repetition for SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure; see Fig. 1 steps 106- 114) (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE state) to the NW via the UE capability information and/or the UE) assistance information) associated with the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2));
transmitting, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) and based on a second random access resource, a second random access preamble (see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different);
transmitting, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), a fourth RRC message requesting a second RRC connection resumption (see [0073]: In action S214, after transmitting the RA preamble, the UE 201 may transmit an RRC message (e.g., a CCCH message), … The RRC message may be an RRCResumeRequest message (i.e. fourth RRC message))), wherein a resume cause field of the fourth RRC message is set to a second value, and wherein the second value indicates that the second RRC connection resumption is (see [0064]: The timer may also be (re)started upon transmission of small data, or upon transmission of an RRC resume request; …When the timer expires, the UE may perform the actions upon going to the RRC_IDLE state (e.g., with a specific RRC resume cause);further refer to [0090]: The UL message may include an RRC resume request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest, RRCResumeRequest1, and/or a CCCH message for SDT; Note: specific RRC resume cause is inherently set in one of the fields of the RRCResumeRequest message) for the second SDT procedure (see [0072]: when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data); and
receiving, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), data associated with the second SDT procedure ( see [0075]: In action S218, once the RA procedure for SDT is successfully completed, the UE 201 may monitor a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI) on a specific search space for subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be the transmission of multiple UL and/or DL data packets as part of the SDT procedure without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., while the UE 201 may still be in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, further comprising: receiving system information, of the second cell, indicating: the first random access resource; and the second random access resource; as discussed above in [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) ; now refer to [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different. Now refer to [0047] regarding SDT procedure may be configured to either take place on the RACH (e.g., RA-based SDT, and configured via system information) or via type 1 CG resources (e.g., CG-based SDT, and configured via dedicated signaling in RRC Release message). The SDT resources may be configured on the initial BWP or for CG, additionally, on a dedicated BWP. For RACH, the network may also configure whether the 2-step or 4-step RA types can be used. When both the 2-step and 4-step RA types can be used, the UE may select the RA type. When only the 2-step RA can be used, the SDT may only be initiated if the criteria to select a 2-step RA type is also met; same way refer to [0375].
Regarding claim 3, Tsai teaches as per claim 2, wherein: the first random access resource is a random access resource configured for SDT; and the second random access resource is a non-SDT random access resource that is not configured for SDT; see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different); now refer to Fig. 1 and [0054]... action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG), or initiate a non-SDT procedure (e.g., an RRC connection resume procedure) 116, (e.g., by initiating an RA procedure for a CCCH logical channel). The UE may determine whether to initiate an SDT procedure 106 or initiate a non-SDT procedure 116 based on one or more criteria (e.g., DRB/SRB, data volume, and/or RSRP).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, wherein the initiating the first SDT procedure associated with the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) is based on: pending uplink data being mapped to radio bearers configured for SDT; a data volume of the pending uplink data across all radio bearers configured for SDT is less than or equal to a data volume threshold; and system information of the second cell comprising second configuration information for SDT; further in context with [0072 and [0139] (i.e. system information) refer to [0192] data volume may be calculated based on the data volume of the pending UL data across all the logical channels configured for SDT (e.g., associated with the RBs configured for SDT) based on a data volume calculation procedure (e.g., as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.322 and TS 38.323, and where the size of the RLC headers and MAC subheaders are not considered in the data volume computation.) The threshold may be configured in the SDT configuration (i.e. second configuration; further see Fig. 1 106 for SDT procedures) and/or the RA configuration for SDT. The data volume may be referred to as the sdt-DataVolumeThreshold; further refer to [0308].
Regarding claim 5, Tsai teaches as per claim 4, wherein the second configuration information for SDT comprises:
a downlink threshold for the first SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…);
a downlink threshold for the second SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…); and
a data volume threshold for the first SDT procedure (see [0192]… all the logical channels configured for SDT (e.g., associated with the RBs configured for SDT) based on a data volume calculation procedure (e.g., as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.322 and TS 38.323, and where the size of the RLC headers and MAC subheaders are not considered in the data volume computation.) The threshold may be configured in the SDT configuration).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, wherein: the initiating the first SDT procedure associated with the second cell is based on at least one parameter of the first configuration information for SDT; and the initiating the second SDT procedure associated with the second cell is based on at least one parameter of the first configuration information for SDT; see Fig. 1 #110, 112 and 114 wherein #112 as a first SDT procedure and #114 as a second SDT procedure and [0059]… the UE may determine whether a CG resource/configuration is valid (during the SDT procedure) based on one or more of the following criteria.
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, wherein the first RRC message comprises: an information element regarding support of random access-based SDT; and an information element regarding support of configured grant (CG)-based SDT; see Abstract.. in response to receiving the UE capability enquiry message, a content of a UE capability information message (i.e. first RRC message) to indicate whether the UE supports random access (RA)-SDT;..; further see [0007].. the method further includes setting the content of the UE capability information message to further indicate whether the UE supports configured grant (CG)-SDT.
Regarding claim 16, Tsai teaches a wireless device comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a controller coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the controller is configured to cause the wireless device to (see Abstract; UE as a wireless device; further see Fig. 1 [0050]; UE ), the method comprising:
transmit, to a base station, a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the first RRC message comprises one or more capability parameters (see [0329] ….the UE may indicate whether the UE supports/prefers the RA-SDT (configuration), CG-SDT (configuration), and/or SDT to the NW (i.e. represents base station) via the UE capability information and/or the UE assistance information (i.e. first RRC message can be capability/assistance information…; further see [0336] The proposed signaling may be transmitted to the serving RAN via SRB1 (e.g., via UEAssistanceInformation/UECapabilityInformation) or SRB3 (e.g., via UEAssistanceInformation) if secondary node/secondary cell group(s) is configured to the UE as part of multi-RAT configuration in the UE side..);
receive, from the base station and via a first cell (see [0058]…table 1 serving cell for small data transmissions configured with supplementary uplink as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.331), a second RRC message that causes an RRC state transition, wherein the second RRC message comprises first configuration information for small data transmission (SDT) (see [0051] The UE may be in an RRC_INACTIVE state when the illustrated SDT procedure is initiated. Additionally, the UE may be configured with SDT configurations (e.g., via an information element (IE), such as the IE sdt-Config and/or the IE sdt-ConfigCommon). The SDT configurations may be configured via an RRC release message (i.e. second RRC message) (and/or via a suspend configuration message), and/or via system information (e.g., SIB). The configuration(s) for SDT may include a RACH configuration (e.g., configured via the IE ra-SDT-config), a CG configuration (e.g., configured via the IE cg-SDT-config), configuration(s) for SRB/DRB used for SDT, DRB list (e.g., configured via the IE sdt-DRBList), and/or an SRB indication (e.g., configured via the IE SRB2Indication) );
transition, based on the second RRC message, to an RRC inactive state (After receiving RRC Release message, UE changes its state to RRC_INACTIVE (see [0051] and FIG. 3 step S314 and S316); and
while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state (see [0051] The UE may be in an RRC_INACTIVE state when the illustrated SDT procedure is initiated…):
initiate a first SDT procedure (see [0054]: In action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG)) associated with a second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell, … . After the UL carrier selection, the UE may perform the SDT procedure on the selected UL carrier (e.g., either UL or SUL);further refer to [0058]: if the Serving Cell for Small Data Transmission is configured with supplementary uplink as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.331; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2));
transmit, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) and based on a first random access resource, a first random access preamble associated with the first SDT procedure (see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different);
transmit, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), a third RRC message requesting a first RRC connection resumption (see [0073]: In action S214, after transmitting the RA preamble, the UE 201 may transmit an RRC message (e.g., a CCCH message), … The RRC message may be an RRCResumeRequest message (i.e. third RRC message)) , wherein a resume cause field of the third RRC message is set to a first value of a plurality of resume cause field values (see [0064]: The timer may also be (re)started upon transmission of small data, or upon transmission of an RRC resume request; …When the timer expires, the UE may perform the actions upon going to the RRC_IDLE state (e.g., with a specific RRC resume cause); further refer to [0090]: The UL message may include an RRC resume request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest, RRCResumeRequest1, and/or a CCCH message for SDT; Note: specific RRC resume cause is inherently set in one of the fields of the RRCResumeRequest message);
transmit, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), data associated with the first SDT procedure (see [0075]: In action S218, once the RA procedure for SDT is successfully completed, the UE 201 may monitor a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI) on a specific search space for subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be the transmission of multiple UL and/or DL data packets as part of the SDT procedure without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., while the UE 201 may still be in the RRC_INACTIVE state));
initiate a second SDT procedure (see [0054]: In action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG); further see [0336]: the UE may indicate whether the UE supports/prefers repetition for SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure; see Fig. 1 steps 106- 114) (e.g., in the RRC_INACTIVE state) to the NW via the UE capability information and/or the UE) assistance information) associated with the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2));
transmit, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) and based on a second random access resource, a second random access preamble (see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different);
transmit, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), a fourth RRC message requesting a second RRC connection resumption (see [0073]: In action S214, after transmitting the RA preamble, the UE 201 may transmit an RRC message (e.g., a CCCH message), … The RRC message may be an RRCResumeRequest message (i.e. fourth RRC message))), wherein a resume cause field of the fourth RRC message is set to a second value, and wherein the second value indicates that the second RRC connection resumption is (see [0064]: The timer may also be (re)started upon transmission of small data, or upon transmission of an RRC resume request; …When the timer expires, the UE may perform the actions upon going to the RRC_IDLE state (e.g., with a specific RRC resume cause);further refer to [0090]: The UL message may include an RRC resume request message (e.g., RRCResumeRequest, RRCResumeRequest1, and/or a CCCH message for SDT; Note: specific RRC resume cause is inherently set in one of the fields of the RRCResumeRequest message) for the second SDT procedure (see [0072]: when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data); and
receive, via the second cell (see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)), data associated with the second SDT procedure ( see [0075]: In action S218, once the RA procedure for SDT is successfully completed, the UE 201 may monitor a specific RNTI (e.g., C-RNTI) on a specific search space for subsequent data transmission. The subsequent data transmission may be the transmission of multiple UL and/or DL data packets as part of the SDT procedure without transitioning to the RRC_CONNECTED state (e.g., while the UE 201 may still be in the RRC_INACTIVE state).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches as per claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to cause the wireless device to:
receive system information, of the second cell, indicating: the first random access resource; and the second random access resource (as discussed above in [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)) ; now refer to [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different. Now refer to [0047] regarding SDT procedure may be configured to either take place on the RACH (e.g., RA-based SDT, and configured via system information) or via type 1 CG resources (e.g., CG-based SDT, and configured via dedicated signaling in RRC Release message). The SDT resources may be configured on the initial BWP or for CG, additionally, on a dedicated BWP. For RACH, the network may also configure whether the 2-step or 4-step RA types can be used. When both the 2-step and 4-step RA types can be used, the UE may select the RA type. When only the 2-step RA can be used, the SDT may only be initiated if the criteria to select a 2-step RA type is also met; same way refer to [0375]),
wherein the first random access resource is a random access resource configured for SDT; and wherein the second random access resource is a non-SDT random access resource that is not configured for SDT (see [0072]: in action S212, when the UE 201, in the RRC_INACTIVE state, has UL data available for transmission and/or an SDT procedure has been initiated, the UE 201 may initiate an RA-based SDT procedure for the transmission of the UL data … The preamble/PRACH resource for the RA-based SDT procedure (e.g., RA preamble/PRACH resource configured for SDT) and the normal RA procedure (e.g., RA preamble not configured for SDT) may be different); now refer to Fig. 1 and [0054]... action 104, the UE may determine whether to start an SDT procedure 106 (e.g., initiate the SDT procedure, initiate an RA procedure for SDT, and/or initiate an SDT procedure with CG), or initiate a non-SDT procedure (e.g., an RRC connection resume procedure) 116, (e.g., by initiating an RA procedure for a CCCH logical channel). The UE may determine whether to initiate an SDT procedure 106 or initiate a non-SDT procedure 116 based on one or more criteria (e.g., DRB/SRB, data volume, and/or RSRP)).
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches as per claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to cause the wireless device to initiate the first SDT procedure associated with the second cell on(see [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)): pending uplink data being mapped to radio bearers configured for SDT; a data volume of the pending uplink data across all radio bearers configured for SDT is less than or equal to a data volume threshold; and system information of the second cell comprising second configuration information for SDT; further in context with [0072 and [0139] (i.e. system information) refer to [0192] data volume may be calculated based on the data volume of the pending UL data across all the logical channels configured for SDT (e.g., associated with the RBs configured for SDT) based on a data volume calculation procedure (e.g., as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.322 and TS 38.323, and where the size of the RLC headers and MAC subheaders are not considered in the data volume computation.) The threshold may be configured in the SDT configuration (i.e. second configuration; further see Fig. 1 106 for SDT procedures) and/or the RA configuration for SDT. The data volume may be referred to as the sdt-DataVolumeThreshold; further refer to [0308]); and system information of the second cell comprising: a downlink threshold for the first SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…); and
a data volume threshold for the first SDT procedure (see [0192]… all the logical channels configured for SDT (e.g., associated with the RBs configured for SDT) based on a data volume calculation procedure (e.g., as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.322 and TS 38.323, and where the size of the RLC headers and MAC subheaders are not considered in the data volume computation.) The threshold may be configured in the SDT configuration).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6- 7, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0121314 A1) in view of Chen (US Pub. No. 2024/0023042 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, wherein the initiating the second SDT procedure associated with the second cell is based on (already discussed above as discussed above in [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)); also refer to Fig. 1 step 106 regarding SDT procedures (i.e. first and second based on valid CG) as discussed above); system information of the second cell comprising second configuration information for SDT (refer to [0047] regarding SDT procedure may be configured to either take place on the RACH (e.g., RA-based SDT, and configured via system information) or via type 1 CG resources (e.g., CG-based SDT ) but fails to state about a paging message received via the second cell while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state; the paging message comprising information relating to SDT.
However Chen teaches in Fig. 10 regarding UE as in RRC_INACTIVE and receives SDT paging; see [0111]… After entering RRC_INACTIVE state, a SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE as specified in FIG. 4 can be transmitted along with MAC header of SDT paging…. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Tsai to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about a paging message received via the second cell while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state; the paging message comprising information relating to SDT; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Regarding claim 7, Tsai in view of Chen teaches as per claim 1, wherein Tsai teaches the second configuration information for SDT comprises:
a downlink threshold for the first SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…);
a downlink threshold for the second SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…); and
a data volume threshold for the first SDT procedure (see [0192]… all the logical channels configured for SDT (e.g., associated with the RBs configured for SDT) based on a data volume calculation procedure (e.g., as specified in the 3GPP TS 38.322 and TS 38.323, and where the size of the RLC headers and MAC subheaders are not considered in the data volume computation.) The threshold may be configured in the SDT configuration).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai teaches as per claim 16, wherein the controller is configured to cause the wireless device to initiate the second SDT procedure associated with the second cell is based on (already discussed above as discussed above in [0057]: the UE may perform UL carrier selection (e.g., if SUL is configured in the cell; Note: Instant specification discloses “first cell and the second cell can be the same or different” (page 19, line 2)); also refer to Fig. 1 step 106 regarding SDT procedures (i.e. first and second based on valid CG) as discussed above); system information of the second cell comprising second configuration information for SDT (refer to [0047] regarding SDT procedure may be configured to either take place on the RACH (e.g., RA-based SDT, and configured via system information) or via type 1 CG resources (e.g., CG-based SDT ) but fails to state about a paging message received via the second cell while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state; the paging message comprising information relating to SDT; and system information of the second cell comprising: a downlink threshold for the second SDT procedure.
However Chen teaches in Fig. 10 regarding UE as in RRC_INACTIVE and receives SDT paging; see [0111]… After entering RRC_INACTIVE state, a SDT Timing Advance Command MAC CE as specified in FIG. 4 can be transmitted along with MAC header of SDT paging….. Further Chen teaches about system information of the second cell comprising: a downlink threshold for the second SDT procedure (in context with Fig. 1 #106 SDT procedure (RA-based SDT (i.e. first SDT procedure) and CG-based SDT (i.e. second SDT procedure)) refer to table 1 [0058] if the data volume of the pending UL data across all logical channels configured for Small Data Transmission is less or equal than sdt-DataVolumeThreshold… ..2>if the RSRP of the downlink pathloss reference is higher than sdt-RSRP-Threshold, if configured: 3> if configured grant type 1 is configured for Small Data Transmission…). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Chen with the teachings of Tsai to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism about a paging message received via the second cell while the wireless device is in the RRC inactive state; the paging message comprising information relating to SDT; and system information of the second cell comprising: a downlink threshold for the second SDT procedure; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0121314 A1) in view of Wu (US Pub. No. 2025/0142665 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the first configuration information for SDT comprises: a list of data radio bearer (DRB) identities indicating DRBs configured for SDT; and an indicator relating to signaling radio bearer2 (SRB2) indicating that SRB2 is configured for SDT; however Wu states in [0127] regarding the SDT configuration can include a DRB list, a SRB2 indication, a DRB ROHC continue indication, and/or a data volume threshold for SDT. The DRB list includes one or more DRB identities indicating one or more DRBs qualifying for SDT. The SRB2 indication indicates that a SRB2 qualifies for SDT. The DRB ROHC continue indication indicates that ROHC protocol continues for the one or more DRBs when the UE initiates SDT. The data volume threshold specifies a data volume that the UE uses to determine whether SDT can be initiated. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Tsai to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first configuration information for SDT comprises: a list of data radio bearer (DRB) identities indicating DRBs configured for SDT; and an indicator relating to signaling radio bearer2 (SRB2) indicating that SRB2 is configured for SDT; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0121314 A1) in view of Wu (US Pub. No. 2025/0142665 A1) and in further view of Park et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0031199 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Tsai in view of Wu teaches as per claim 8, but Tsai is silent about wherein the first configuration information for SDT further comprises: configuration information for configured grant-small data transmission (CG-SDT) for normal uplink; and configuration information for CG-SDT for supplementary uplink; and a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI); however Park teaches in [0096] regarding ..The C-RNTI may be previously configured in RRC connects. A cell specific RNTI (CS-RNTI)-based dynamic retransmission mechanism can be reused for CG-SDT. UE 520 may start a window after CG/DG transmission for CG-SDT. The UE 520 may support multiple hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes for uplink CG-SDT. CG-SDT resources can be configured both on NUL and SUL. UL carrier selection is performed before CG-SDT selection. The UE 520 may release CG-SDT resources when SDT TA timer (TAT-SDT) expires in RRC inactive. The UE 520 should release CG-SDT resource (if stored) when the UE 520 initiates RRC resume procedure from another cell which is different from the cell in which the RRCRelease is received. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Park with the teachings of Tsai in view of Wu to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the first configuration information for SDT further comprises: configuration information for configured grant-small data transmission (CG-SDT) for normal uplink; and configuration information for CG-SDT for supplementary uplink; and a configured scheduling-radio network temporary identifier (CS-RNTI); greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0121314 A1) in view of Sedin et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0106811 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches as per claim 1, but fails to state about wherein the first SDT procedure is for uplink SDT transmission, wherein the first value is selected from a first set of predetermined values, wherein the first set of predetermined values comprises mt-Access, mo-Signaling, and mo-Data, and wherein the first set of predetermined values does not comprise the second value. However Sedin teaches in [0073- 0074] regarding RRCConnectionResumeRequest message as a third RRC message here now refer to Table regarding set of predetermined values mt-Access, mo-Signaling, and mo-Data , which don’t comprise the second value. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sedin with the teachings of Tsai to make system more standardized. Having a mechanism wherein the first SDT procedure is for uplink SDT transmission, wherein the first value is selected from a first set of predetermined values, wherein the first set of predetermined values comprises mt-Access, mo-Signaling, and mo-Data, and wherein the first set of predetermined values does not comprise the second value; greater way a standardized approach can be carried out in the communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12- 14 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479