DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/25/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Interpretation
the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”
the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are as follows:
Claim 4: an anti-satellite diffuser adapted to prevent the recirculation of fine powders
Claim 17: an anti-satellite diffuser adapted to prevent the recirculation of fine powders
Claim 49: an anti-satellite diffuser adapted to prevent the recirculation of fine powders
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8, 14-21, and 51-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the particles" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the supersonic stream" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the recirculation of fine powders" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “fine powders” in claims 4, 17, and 49 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “fine” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the arc between the two wires" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the single wire and one electrode" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the particles" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “the supersonic stream” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the recirculation of fine powders" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the arc between the two wires" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the single wire and one electrode" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the wire arc” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation “the wire arc” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation the “parallel power supplies” in line 2.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the arc between the two wires" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 51 recites the limitation "the single wire and one electrode" in lines 2 and 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 52 recites the limitation “the wire arc” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 53 recites the limitation “the wire arc” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims dependent on any of the rejected claims are likewise rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/011900 A1.
WO 2017/011900 A1 (WO ‘900) teaches a plasma atomization metal powder manufacturing process (abstract) as represented below in the annotated drawing:
The metal source may be a metal wire [0039]. An electric arc may be formed between the electrode and the metal source [00107]. The plasma source includes at least one plasma torch [0086]. The atomizing system feeds a cold gas [0088] to form spheroidal powders [0089]. Wu et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO ‘900.
WO ‘900 teaches a plasma atomization metal powder manufacturing process (abstract) as represented above in the annotated drawing. The plasma source includes at least one plasma torch [0086]. The wire may be continuously fed [00127]. The metal source may be a metal wire [0039]. An electric arc may be formed between the electrode and the metal source [00107]. The atomizing system feeds a cold gas [0088] to form spheroidal powders [0089]. Wu et al anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 9835760 A1.
WO 9835760 A1 (WO ‘760) teaches a plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray method as represented below in the annotated drawing:
An electric potential differential is between the wire feedstock and cathode (page 7, lines 17-20). In prior plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray systems, it was necessary to feed the wire feedstock into the plasma transferred arc at a transverse angle such that no portion of the wire is closer to the plasma transferred-arc than the leading edge of the wire feedstock in the feeding direction. Thus, the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock was generally perpendicular to the constricted plasma arc. The molten atomized feedstock wire particles would then bounce directly back to the apparatus since the angles of incidence and reflection were 90°. This problem may also be eliminated with WO ‘760 because the wire feedstock and nozzle have the same electrical potential. WO ‘760 teaches the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock defines an angle of less than 90° to the plasma transferred arc, such that the angle of reflection of the atomized particles or bounce back from the surface being coated is greater than 90°, eliminating this problem. Therefore, WO ‘760 teaches preventing recirculation of fine powders and reads on being capable of performing as an “anti-satellite diffuser.” WO ‘760 anticipates the claimed invention.
Claims 50-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO ‘760.
WO ‘760 teaches a plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray method as represented above in the annotated drawing. The plasma torch is 51, the wire is 56, and droplets are molten metal particles. WO ‘760 anticipates the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 51, WO ‘760 teaches parallel power supplies as represented in the annotated drawing above.
Regarding Claim 52, WO ‘760 teaches voltage power supply 61b (page 17, lines 13-17).
Regarding Claim 53, WO ‘760 teaches current power supply 61a (page 17, lines 13-17).
Regarding Claim 54, WO ‘760 teaches current power supply 61a and voltage power supply 61b in parallel (page 17, lines 13-17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘900 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boulos et al (US 2016/0175936 A1).
WO ‘900 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO ‘900 does not teach the nozzle [0058] is a supersonic nozzle as in Claim 2 or the electric arc is transferred with a supersonic stream as in Claim 3.
Boulos et al teaches for producing powder particles by atomization of a feed material in the form of a member such as a wire that is introduced in a plasma torch (abstract). The plasma jet is supersonic. The forward end or tip of the feed material is exposed to the supersonic jet [0027]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plasma jet of Boulos et al in the process of WO ‘900, since Boulos et al teaches allowing the material to heat to a temperature as close as possible to its melting point while avoiding premature melting thereof within the plasma torch [0027].
Claims 4, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘900 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of WO ‘760.
WO ‘900 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO ‘900 does not teach atomized meal droplets pass through an anti-satellite diffuser adapted to prevent the recirculation of fine powders as in Claim 4, two power supplies or more are used in parallel as in Claim 5, or parallel power supplies are used in a combination of voltage control and current control as in Claim 8.
WO ‘760 teaches a plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray method that can be used to produce free-standing near-net-shapes (page 1, lines 4-10) as represented above in the annotated drawing.
Regarding Claim 4, WO ‘760 teaches in prior plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray systems, it was necessary to feed the wire feedstock into the plasma transferred arc at a transverse angle such that no portion of the wire is closer to the plasma transferred-arc than the leading edge of the wire feedstock in the feeding direction. Thus, the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock was generally perpendicular to the constricted plasma arc. The molten atomized feedstock wire particles would then bounce directly back to the apparatus since the angles of incidence and reflection were 90°. This problem may also be eliminated with WO ‘760 because the wire feedstock and nozzle have the same electrical potential. WO ‘760 teaches the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock defines an angle of less than 90° to the plasma transferred arc, such that the angle of reflection of the atomized particles or bounce back from the surface being coated is greater than 90°, eliminating this problem. Therefore, WO ‘760 teaches preventing recirculation of fine powders and reads on being capable of performing as an “anti-satellite diffuser.”
Regarding Claim 5, WO ‘760 teaches parallel power supplies as represented in the annotated drawing above.
Regarding Claim 8, WO ‘760 teaches current power supply 61a and voltage power supply 61b (page 17, lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray process of WO ‘760 to produce the metal particles in WO ‘900, since WO ‘760 teaches an apparatus with simple construction and may be operated at relatively low gas consumption and is relatively maintenance-free (page 8, lines 10-13).
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘900 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Boulos et al.
WO ‘900 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO ‘900 does not teach the nozzle [0058] is a supersonic nozzle as in Claim 15 or the electric arc is transferred with a supersonic stream as in Claim 16.
Boulos et al is applied as discussed above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plasma jet of Boulos et al in the process of WO ‘900, since Boulos et al teaches allowing the material to heat to a temperature as close as possible to its melting point while avoiding premature melting thereof within the plasma torch [0027].
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘900 as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of WO ‘760.
WO ‘900 discloses the invention substantially as claimed. However, WO ‘900 does not teach atomized meal droplets pass through an anti-satellite diffuser adapted to prevent the recirculation of fine powders as in Claim 17, at least one power supply is voltage-controlled as in Claim 19, at least one power supply is current-controlled as in Clam 20, or parallel power supplies are used as in Claim 21.
WO ‘760 teaches a plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray method that can be used to produce free-standing near-net-shapes (page 1, lines 4-10) as represented above in the annotated drawing.
Regarding Claim 17, WO ‘760 teaches in prior plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray systems, it was necessary to feed the wire feedstock into the plasma transferred arc at a transverse angle such that no portion of the wire is closer to the plasma transferred-arc than the leading edge of the wire feedstock in the feeding direction. Thus, the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock was generally perpendicular to the constricted plasma arc. The molten atomized feedstock wire particles would then bounce directly back to the apparatus since the angles of incidence and reflection were 90°. This problem may also be eliminated with WO ‘760 because the wire feedstock and nozzle have the same electrical potential. WO ‘760 teaches the longitudinal axis of the wire feedstock defines an angle of less than 90° to the plasma transferred arc, such that the angle of reflection of the atomized particles or bounce back from the surface being coated is greater than 90°, eliminating this problem. Therefore, WO ‘760 teaches preventing recirculation of fine powders and reads on being capable of performing as an “anti-satellite diffuser.”
Regarding Claim 18, WO ‘760 teaches parallel power supplies as represented in the annotated drawing above.
Regarding Claim 19, WO ‘760 teaches voltage power supply 61b (page 17, lines 13-17).
Regarding Claim 20, WO ‘760 teaches current power supply 61a (page 17, lines 13-17).
Regarding Claim 21, WO ‘760 teaches current power supply 61a and voltage power supply 61b in parallel (page 17, lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the plasma transferred wire arc thermal spray process of WO ‘760 to produce the metal particles in WO ‘900, since WO ‘760 teaches an apparatus with simple construction and may be operated at relatively low gas consumption and is relatively maintenance-free (page 8, lines 10-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wu et al (US 2003/0102207 A1). Wu et al teaches producing nano powder using a plasma arc zone through which un-vaporized melt droplets dripped out of the ionized arc will have another chance to get vaporized [0066].
Tima M. McGuthry-Banks
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/TIMA M. MCGUTHRY-BANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733