DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, in the second to last line, it appears that --the-- should be inserted before “engagement slot” for grammatical purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chimenti et al. (US 6,739,487).
With respect to claim 17, Chimenti et al. disclose a cargo securing system capable of use with a vehicle having a cargo area, the cargo area having a first wall and an opposing second wall, the cargo securing system comprises: a tie down 18 capable of attaching to a side wall of a vehicle (via track 11), the tie down 18 comprises a base 19, two upright portions, and a handle 22 extending between the two upright portions as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 5 of Chimenti et al.:
a support foot 32, the support foot comprises a latch 60, the latch 60 comprises a finger 76 that pivots or rotates about an axle to move the finger between a latched position and an unlatched position (Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 50-52), wherein in the latched position, the finger 76 engages the handle 22 of the tie down 18 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Chimenti et al.), and
wherein the claimed device is capable of use with a first rail including a rail engagement slot, a horizontal portion configured to fit over a top portion of the first wall and a vertical portion configured to fit along a side portion of the first wall (note: the first rail is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention).
With respect to claim 18, Chimenti et al. disclose a cross member 12 configured to connect to the support foot 18, wherein the cross member 12 is capable of extending along a length of the first wall or the second wall, or the cross member is capable of extending between the first wall and the second wall.
With respect to claim 19, Chimenti et al. disclose that the support foot 32 comprises a button 46, and movement of the button causes the finger 76 to move into the unlatched position where the finger 76 disengages the handle 22 of the tie down 18 to separate or remove the support foot 32 from the tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 59-65 and col. 8, lines 62-64; Figs. 2-3).
With respect to claim 20, Chimenti et al. disclose that the latch 60 comprises a spring 42 or bias member, the spring 42 or bias member is configured to move the finger 76 into the latched position in a steady state configuration (“A resilient biasing mechanism 40 in the form of a spring 42 is utilized to urge the latch body 60 toward the latching configuration,” Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 62-64; Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-10, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiessen et al. (US 7,497,793) in view of Chimenti (US 6,739,487).
With respect to claim 1, Thiessen et al. disclose the claimed cargo securing system except for the two tie downs wherein a first support foot of the two support feet is attached to the first tie down, and a second support foot of the two support feet is attached to the second tie down. Thiessen et al. disclose a cargo securing system for a vehicle having a cargo area, the cargo area having a first wall 120 and an opposing second wall 130, the cargo securing system comprises:
two securing rails 150 and 140 including a first securing rail 150 attached to the first wall 120 and a second securing rail 160 attached to the second wall 130 (as shown in in Fig. 1 of Thiessen et al.);
two support feet 160 and 160 (as shown in Figs. 1 and 4 of Thiessen et al.);
and a cross member 170 configured to connect to the two support feet 160/160 and extend across the cargo area (as shown in Fig. 1 of Thiessen et al.);
wherein the first securing rail 150 and the second securing rail 120 each include a rail engagement slot 230 (as shown in Fig. 3 of Thiessen et al.), a horizontal portion configured to fit over a top portion of the respective first and second walls 150/120 and a vertical portion configured to fit along a side portion of the respective first and second walls 150/120 as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 14 of Thiessen et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (distal end)][AltContent: textbox (proximal end)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (slot)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (horizontal portion)][AltContent: textbox (vertical portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
and wherein the horizontal portion has a proximal end at the engagement slot and a distal end spaced from engagement slot, and wherein the vertical portion depends from the distal end of the horizontal portion (as indicated above).
Chimenti et al. teach a similar cargo securing system including two tie downs 18 and 18, wherein a first tie down 18 of the two tie downs is attached to a first securing rail 11, and a second tie down 18 of the two tie downs is attached to the second securing rail 11 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Chimenti et al.);
wherein a first support foot 32 is attached to the first tie down 18, and a second support foot 32 of the two support feet is attached to the second tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 1-4);
wherein the first support foot 32 comprises a latch 60 that is con figured to engage the first tie down 18 to attach the first support foot 32 to the first tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 1-16).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Chimenti et al. with the cargo securing system disclosed by Thiessen et al. for the advantage of the removable support feet allowing the securing system to be used as a tie down system in addition to a cross member attachment system.
With respect to claim 2, Chimenti et al. disclose that the first tie down 18 comprises a base 19, two upright portions, and a handle 22 extending between the two upright portions as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 5 of Chimenti et al.:
a handle extending between the two upright portions wherein the latch 60 comprises a finger 76 that engages the handle 22 (as shown in Fig. 2 of Chimenti et al.).
With respect to claim 4, Chimenti et al. disclose that the first tie down 18 comprises a securing part 30/21 that is configured to engage an engagement slot in the first rail 11 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Chimenti et al.).
With respect to claim 5, Chimenti et al. disclose that the securing part 30/21 comprises a moveable securing plate 30 that is configured to be moved to sandwich a region of the engagement slot between the moveable securing plate 30 and the base 19 of the first tie down (as shown in Figs. 1-2 of Chimenti et al.).
With respect to claim 6, Chimenti et al .disclose that the finger 76 is configured to pivot or rotate about an axle to move the finger 76 between a latched position and an unlatched position (Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 36-41 and col. 9, lines 17-28, wherein in the latched position, the finger 76 engages the handle 22 of the first tie down 18.
With respect to claim 7, Chimenti et al. disclose that the latch 60 comprises a button 46 and movement of the button causes the finger 76 to move into the unlatched position where the finger 76 disengages the handle 22 of the first tie down 15 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 59-665; Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 8, Chimenti et al. disclose that the latch 60 comprises a spring 42 or bias member, the spring 42 or bias member is configured to move the finger 76 into the latched position after the button 46 is released (“A resilient biasing mechanism 40 in the form of a spring 42 is utilized to urge the latch body 60 toward the latching configuration,” Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 62-64; Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 9, Chimenti et al. disclose that the first support foot 32 comprises a lock 48 for locking a position of the finger 76 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 66-67 and col. 10, lines 1-8).
With respect to claim 10, Chimenti et al. disclose that the first support foot 32 has a generally L-shape (as shown in Fig. 1 of Chimenti et al.).
With respect to claim 15, Thiessen et al. disclose the claimed cargo securing system except for the two tie downs, the first support foot of the two support feet being attached to the first tie down, and a second support foot of the two support feet being attached to the second tie down, the first support foot comprising a latch, the latch comprising a finger that pivots or rotates about an axle to move the finger between a latched position and an unlatched position, wherein in the latched position, the finger engages the handle of the first tie down. Thiessen et al. disclose a cargo securing system for a vehicle having a cargo area, the cargo area having a first wall 120 and an opposing second wall 130, the cargo securing system comprises:
two securing rails 150 and 140, wherein a first rail 150 of the two securing rails is attached to the first wall 120 of the cargo area, and a second rail 140 of the two securing rails is attached to the second wall 130 of the cargo area (as show in Fig. 1 of Thiessen et al.);
two support feet 160 (as shown in Figs. 1 and 4 of Thiessen et al.);
a cross member 170 configured to connect to the two support feet 160/160 and extend across the cargo area (as shown in Fig. 1 of Thiessen et al.), wherein the first rail 150 and the second rail 120 each include a rail engagement slot 230 (as shown in Fig. 3 of Thiessen et al.), a horizontal portion configured to fit over a top portion of the respective first and second walls 120/130 and a vertical portion configured to fit along a side portion of the respective first and second walls, and wherein the horizontal portion has a proximal end at the engagement slot and a distal end spaced from engagement slot, and wherein the vertical portion depends from the distal end of the horizontal portion as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 14 of Thiessen et al.:
[AltContent: textbox (distal end)][AltContent: textbox (proximal end)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (slot)][AltContent: ][AltContent: textbox (horizontal portion)][AltContent: textbox (vertical portion)][AltContent: ][AltContent: ]
Chimenti et al. teach a similar cargo securing system including two tie downs 18 and 18, wherein a first tie down 18 of the two tie downs is attached to a first rail 11, and a second tie down 18 of the two tie downs is attached to the second rail 11 (as shown in Fig. 1 of Chimenti et al.); the first tie down 18 comprises a base 19, two upright portions, and a handle 22 extending between the two upright portions as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 5 of Chimenti et al.:
wherein a first support foot 32 is attached to the first tie down 18, and a second support foot 32 of the two support feet is attached to the second tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 1-4);
wherein a first support foot 32 is attached to the first tie down 18, and a second support foot 32 of the two support feet is attached to the second tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 1-4); the first support foot 32 comprises a latch 60, the latch comprises a finger 76 that pivots or rotates about an axle to move the finger between a latched position and an unlatched position (Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 50-52), wherein in the latched position 76, the finger engages the handle 22 of the first tie down 18; and a cross member 12 configured to connect to the two support feet 32/32 and extend across the cargo area (as shown in Fig. 4 of Chimenti et al.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to combine the teaching of Chimenti et al. with the cargo securing system disclosed by Thiessen et al. for the advantage of the removable support feet allowing the securing system to be used as a tie down system in addition to a cross member attachment system.
With respect to claim 16, Chimenti et al. disclose that the latch 60 comprises a button 46 and movement of the button causes the finger 76 to move into the unlatched position where the finger 76 disengages the handle 22 of the first tie down 18 (Chimenti et al., col. 9, lines 59-665; Fig. 3), and the latch 60 comprises a spring 42 or bias member, the spring 42 or bias member is configured to move the finger 76 into the latched position after the button 46 is released (“A resilient biasing mechanism 40 in the form of a spring 42 is utilized to urge the latch body 60 toward the latching configuration,” Chimenti et al., col. 8, lines 62-64; Fig. 2).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thiessen et al. (US 7,497,793) in view of Chimenti (US 6,739,487), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of JP 2021-528297.
With respect to claim 11, Thiessen et al, as modified, disclose the claimed cargo securing system except for the support foot comprising a securing part configured to engage an engagement slot in the cross member. However, JP 2021-528297 teaches a similar cargo securing system including a first support foot 10 and a securing part 111/112 configured to engage an engagement slot in a cross member 800 as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 1 of JP 2021-528297:
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, with a reasonable expectation of success, to replace the teaching of Thiessen et al., as modified, with the securing part taught by JP 2021-528297 for the reduction of parts. The securing part of Chimenti et al. includes at least P four parts 90/86/88/92 for securing the cross member to the first support foot and JP 2021 528297 teaches a securing system with only two parts 111/112.
With respect to claim 12, JP 2021-528297 teaches that the securing part 111/112 of the first support foot comprises a stationary securing plate and a moveable securing plate that is configured to be moved relative to the stationary securing plate to sandwich a region of the engagement slot of the cross member between the moveable securing plate and the stationary securing plate as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 2 of JP 2021-528297:
With respect to claim 13, JP 2021-528297 teaches that the cross member 800 comprises the engagement slot and a second engagement slot (as shown at the top of cross member 800 in Fig. 1 of JP 2021-528297.
With respect to claim 14, JP 2021-528297 teach that the engagement slot and/or the second engagement slot comprises a pair of opposing walls and a pair of inwardly turned fingers to define a cross section having a C- or U-shape as shown below in the image taken from Fig. 1 of JP 2021-528297:
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/5/2026 with respect to claims 17-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive of any error in the above rejection.
Regarding claims 17-20, Applicant has amended claim 17 to further limit the first rial. However, Applicant never recites the first rial as part of the claimed invention. Instead, Applicant recites “a tie down attached to a first rail.” This language is interpreted as a statement of intended use.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2 and 4-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. As outlined above, new reference to Thiessen et al. is relied upon for teaching the newly added limitations regarding the horizontal portion and the vertical portion.
Much of Applicant’s arguments revolve around the use of a tonneau cover. For example, on pg. 8 of Applicant’s remarks Applicant states that, “The tonneau cover may be opened and closed without interference from the tie downs.” However, it is noted that the claims do not recite this limitation, nor do the claim recite a tonneau cover at all.
/Daniel J Colilla/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612