DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on February 13, 2026 for the application filed September 26, 2023. Claims 1-20 are canceled. Claims 21-40 are newly added. Claims 21-40 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21, 27, 28, 30, 36, 37, 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US2022/0256586A1) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US2022/0376844A1).
Regarding claim 21, Zeng teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising: a transmitter; a receiver; and a processor; wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are configured to: (Paragraph [0023]: an embodiment of this application further provides a terminal, where the terminal includes a processor, a memory, and a computer program stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor. Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0082]: Step 203: Generate, based on the determined N second DAIs, a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of the N PDSCH groups.
receive control signaling that (i) indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks; (Paragraph [0069]: Dynamically scheduled PDSCHs are explicitly grouped, and in scheduling DCI, a group corresponding to a scheduled PDSCH is indicated, where HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to one PDSCH group are all carried on one PUCCH. Paragraph [0072]: One piece of DCI may request a HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more PDSCH groups to be transmitted on the same PUCCH. Typically, by default, one piece of downlink scheduling DCI requests a HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH group corresponding to a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI. The DCI may further additionally trigger a HARQ-ACK feedback for another PDSCH group to be transmitted on the PUCCH indicated by the DCI. Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0080]: Step 202: Determine, based on the first DAI, a second DAI corresponding to each of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, where N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0081]: The second DAI corresponding to each PDSCH group is used for determining a HARQ-ACK bit sequence of the PDSCH group. Paragraph [0106]: Each PDSCH group includes at least one PDSCH. Each PDSCH corresponds to one piece of DCI used for scheduling the PDSCH for transmission. Paragraph [0231]: Optionally, in a case that N is greater than 1, the first DAI corresponds to the N PDSCH groups, or the first DAI corresponds to the first PDSCH group of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0277]: As shown in FIG. 4, the N PDSCH groups include a PDSCH group 0 and a PDSCH group 1. The PDSCH group 0 includes two PDSCHs: D1 and D2. In addition, the UE detects only D1 but not D2. The PDSCH group 1 includes four PDSCHs: D3, D4, D5, and D6. In addition, the UE detects only D3, D4, and D5 but not D6.)
(ii) indicates a time-domain offset (Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0247]: The UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the enhanced dynamic codebook is transmitted.)
and (iii) includes configuration information for a plurality of physical channels, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of occupied time-domain resources, occupied frequency-domain resources, (Paragraph [0004]: A HARQ-ACK codebook is usually conveyed by a PUCCH transmission. However, when the PUCCH transmission overlaps with a PUSCH transmission in time domain, some or all of UCI carried on the PUCCH transmission is multiplexed in the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0065]: The HARQ-ACK codebook is usually transmitted on a PUCCH. Time-domain and frequency-domain information of the PUCCH is indicated in DCI.)
and receive, on each physical channel of the plurality of physical channels, a corresponding bit block of the plurality of bit blocks, wherein the plurality of physical channels are mapped to one or more transport channels of a same type (Paragraph [0069]: Dynamically scheduled PDSCHs are explicitly grouped, and in scheduling DCI, a group corresponding to a scheduled PDSCH is indicated, where HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to one PDSCH group are all carried on one PUCCH. Paragraph [0072]: One piece of DCI may request a HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more PDSCH groups to be transmitted on the same PUCCH. Typically, by default, one piece of downlink scheduling DCI requests a HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH group corresponding to a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI. The DCI may further additionally trigger a HARQ-ACK feedback for another PDSCH group to be transmitted on the PUCCH indicated by the DCI. Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0080]: Step 202: Determine, based on the first DAI, a second DAI corresponding to each of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, where N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0081]: The second DAI corresponding to each PDSCH group is used for determining a HARQ-ACK bit sequence of the PDSCH group. Paragraph [0106]: Each PDSCH group includes at least one PDSCH. Each PDSCH corresponds to one piece of DCI used for scheduling the PDSCH for transmission. Paragraph [0231]: Optionally, in a case that N is greater than 1, the first DAI corresponds to the N PDSCH groups, or the first DAI corresponds to the first PDSCH group of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0277]: As shown in FIG. 4, the N PDSCH groups include a PDSCH group 0 and a PDSCH group 1. The PDSCH group 0 includes two PDSCHs: D1 and D2. In addition, the UE detects only D1 but not D2. The PDSCH group 1 includes four PDSCHs: D3, D4, D5, and D6. In addition, the UE detects only D3, D4, and D5 but not D6.)
and transmit, in a target time unit, an uplink transmission carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) bit block used to indicate whether each bit block in the subset of bit blocks is correctly received (Paragraph [0003]: When a UE organizes a HARQ-ACK bit sequence that needs to be reported at a specific feedback occasion, the UE determines a correspondence between each physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rule(s) and based on scheduled PDSCH transmission(s) on one or more carriers, for each of which the corresponding HARQ-ACK needs to be reported at the feedback occasion. This operation is referred to as constructing a HARQ-ACK codebook. Paragraph [0004]: A HARQ-ACK codebook is usually conveyed by a PUCCH transmission. However, when the PUCCH transmission overlaps with a PUSCH transmission in time domain, some or all of UCI carried on the PUCCH transmission is multiplexed in the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0082]: Step 203: Generate, based on the determined N second DAIs, a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0084]: determining a HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups based on the determined N second DAIs; and Paragraph [0085]: generating the dynamic codebook based on the HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer.)
and wherein the target time unit is determined using the time-domain offset together with a latest physical channel, in time domain, among the plurality of physical channels that accommodates at least one bit block of the subset of bit blocks (Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0247]: The UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the enhanced dynamic codebook is transmitted.)
Zeng does not explicitly teach wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks.
However, Muruganathan teaches wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks (Paragraph [0111]: As illustrated in FIG. 5, in step 500, the WCD 412 (e.g., a UE) receives a higher layer configuration from a network node (e.g., a base station 402 such as, e.g., a gNB) of HARQ ACK/NACK feedback enabling or disabling on a per HARQ process basis. Hence, the WCD 412 can be configured with (i.e., be using) one subset (referred to herein as a “first subset” or “first set”) of HARQ processes that have HARQ ACK/NACK feedback enabled and another subset (referred to herein as a “second subset” or “second set”) of HARQ processes that have HARQ ACK/NACK feedback disabled.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks, as taught by Muruganathan in the system of Zeng, so that the codebook construction for a wireless device can be configured for one or more feedback disabled HARQ processes and one or more feedback enabled HARQ processes (Muruganathan: Paragraphs [0110], [0111]).
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Zeng further teaches wherein the target time unit is earlier than a time unit to which an end time of one of the plurality of physical channels in time domain belongs (Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0080]: Step 202: Determine, based on the first DAI, a second DAI corresponding to each of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, where N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0081]: The second DAI corresponding to each PDSCH group is used for determining a HARQ-ACK bit sequence of the PDSCH group. Paragraph [0082]: Step 203: Generate, based on the determined N second DAIs, a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0086]: During specific implementation, optionally, HARQ-ACK sequences of all of the N PDSCH groups may be sequentially concatenated in order of group numbers of the N PDSCH groups, to generate the dynamic codebook. Paragraph [0110]: For example, it may be prescribed by the protocol that the first PDSCH group is the 1st PDSCH group or the last PDSCH group of the N PDSCH groups, a PDSCH group with the smallest or largest group number, a PDSCH group corresponding to a HARQ-ACK bit sequence placed at the head or tail of a bit sequence corresponding to the dynamic codebook when the dynamic codebook is generated. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0247]: The UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the enhanced dynamic codebook is transmitted.)
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Zeng further teaches wherein the HARQ-ACK bit block comprises HARQ-ACK information bits only for bit blocks belonging to the subset of bit blocks (Paragraph [0003]: When a UE organizes a HARQ-ACK bit sequence that needs to be reported at a specific feedback occasion, the UE determines a correspondence between each physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rule(s) and based on scheduled PDSCH transmission(s) on one or more carriers, for each of which the corresponding HARQ-ACK needs to be reported at the feedback occasion. This operation is referred to as constructing a HARQ-ACK codebook. Paragraph [0004]: A HARQ-ACK codebook is usually conveyed by a PUCCH transmission. However, when the PUCCH transmission overlaps with a PUSCH transmission in time domain, some or all of UCI carried on the PUCCH transmission is multiplexed in the PUSCH transmission. Paragraph [0082]: Step 203: Generate, based on the determined N second DAIs, a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0084]: determining a HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups based on the determined N second DAIs; and Paragraph [0085]: generating the dynamic codebook based on the HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer.)
Regarding claim 30, Zeng teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving control signaling that (i) indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks, (ii) indicates a time-domain offset, and (iii) includes configuration information for a plurality of physical channels, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of occupied time-domain resources, occupied frequency-domain resources, and receiving, on each physical channel of the plurality of physical channels, a corresponding bit block of the plurality of bit blocks, wherein the plurality of physical channels are mapped to one or more transport channels of a same type; and transmitting, in a target time unit, an uplink transmission carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) bit block used to indicate whether each bit block in the subset of bit blocks is correctly received; and wherein the target time unit is determined using the time-domain offset together with a latest physical channel, in time domain, among the plurality of physical channels that accommodates at least one bit block of the subset of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 21).
Zeng does not explicitly teach wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks.
However, Muruganathan teaches wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 21);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks, as taught by Muruganathan in the system of Zeng, so that the codebook construction for a wireless device can be configured for one or more feedback disabled HARQ processes and one or more feedback enabled HARQ processes (Muruganathan: Paragraphs [0110], [0111]).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
Zeng further teaches wherein the target time unit is earlier than a time unit to which an end time of one of the plurality of physical channels in time domain belongs (see rejection for claim 27).
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
Zeng further teaches wherein the HARQ-ACK bit block comprises HARQ-ACK information bits only for bit blocks belonging to the subset of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 28).
Regarding claim 39, Zeng teaches a base station (BS) for wireless communications, comprising: a transmitter; a receiver; and a processor; wherein the transmitter, the receiver, and the processor are configured to: transmit control signaling that (i) indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks, (ii) indicates a time-domain offset, and (iii) includes configuration information for a plurality of physical channels, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of occupied time-domain resources, occupied frequency-domain resources, and transmit, on each physical channel of the plurality of physical channels, a corresponding bit block of the plurality of bit blocks, wherein the plurality of physical channels are mapped to one or more transport channels of a same type; and receive, in a target time unit, an uplink transmission carrying a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) bit block used to indicate whether each bit block in the subset of bit blocks is correctly received; and wherein the target time unit is determined using the time-domain offset together with a latest physical channel, in time domain, among the plurality of physical channels that accommodates at least one bit block of the subset of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 21).
Zeng does not explicitly teach wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks.
However, Muruganathan teaches wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 21);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks, as taught by Muruganathan in the system of Zeng, so that the codebook construction for a wireless device can be configured for one or more feedback disabled HARQ processes and one or more feedback enabled HARQ processes (Muruganathan: Paragraphs [0110], [0111]).
Claims 22-26, 31-35, 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US2022/0256586A1) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US2022/0376844A1), and further in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0056553A1).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Zeng further teaches wherein the control signaling further indicates: (i) corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and (ii) whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks (Paragraph [0069]: Dynamically scheduled PDSCHs are explicitly grouped, and in scheduling DCI, a group corresponding to a scheduled PDSCH is indicated, where HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to one PDSCH group are all carried on one PUCCH. Paragraph [0072]: One piece of DCI may request a HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more PDSCH groups to be transmitted on the same PUCCH. Typically, by default, one piece of downlink scheduling DCI requests a HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH group corresponding to a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI. The DCI may further additionally trigger a HARQ-ACK feedback for another PDSCH group to be transmitted on the PUCCH indicated by the DCI. Paragraph [0106]: Each PDSCH group includes at least one PDSCH. Each PDSCH corresponds to one piece of DCI used for scheduling the PDSCH for transmission. Paragraph [0277]: As shown in FIG. 4, the N PDSCH groups include a PDSCH group 0 and a PDSCH group 1. The PDSCH group 0 includes two PDSCHs: D1 and D2. In addition, the UE detects only D1 but not D2. The PDSCH group 1 includes four PDSCHs: D3, D4, D5, and D6. In addition, the UE detects only D3, D4, and D5 but not D6.)
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers.
However, Liu teaches wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers (Paragraph [0011]: With the electronic device and the method according to the present disclosure, the feedback mechanism of the Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request process is dynamically enabled and disabled, which realizes flexible control based on the data packet, thereby improving the efficiency of the system. Paragraph [0036]: In the embodiment, the HARQ feedback mechanism is enabled or disabled based on DCI, and data packet-level control can be realized. For example, the HARQ feedback mechanism can be enabled or disabled dynamically based on a size of RTD, data service requirements, specific communication procedures and the like, thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency. Paragraph [0037]: In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately. Paragraph [0043]: As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI. In scheduling of 5G NR, for each HARQ process, feedback time of ACK/NACK for the HARQ process is dynamically indicated by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI corresponding to the HARQ process. For example, in a case that the UE is continuously scheduled to receive two PDSCHs, HARQ feedback time for a first PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #1) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH, and HARQ feedback time for a second PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #2) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the second PDSCH.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0043])
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset.
However, Liu teaches wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset (Paragraph [0037]: In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately. Paragraph [0043]: As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI. In scheduling of 5G NR, for each HARQ process, feedback time of ACK/NACK for the HARQ process is dynamically indicated by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI corresponding to the HARQ process. For example, in a case that the UE is continuously scheduled to receive two PDSCHs, HARQ feedback time for a first PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #1) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH, and HARQ feedback time for a second PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #2) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the second PDSCH. Paragraph [0089]: For example, in step S21, disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process may be indicated by setting the value of the first particular field to be a particular value. In addition, a state may be reserved in a parameter dl-DataToUL-ACK in the RRC signaling for indicating disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process when the first particular field takes a particular value. The reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK may further be used for indicating a reference value of the first particular field when the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is enabled. Also see paragraph [0077].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan, and Liu teaches the UE of claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback.
However, Liu teaches wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback (Paragraph [0036]: In the embodiment, the HARQ feedback mechanism is enabled or disabled based on DCI, and data packet-level control can be realized. For example, the HARQ feedback mechanism can be enabled or disabled dynamically based on a size of RTD, data service requirements, specific communication procedures and the like, thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency. Paragraph [0037]: In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately. Paragraph [0043]: As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI. In scheduling of 5G NR, for each HARQ process, feedback time of ACK/NACK for the HARQ process is dynamically indicated by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI corresponding to the HARQ process. For example, in a case that the UE is continuously scheduled to receive two PDSCHs, HARQ feedback time for a first PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #1) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH, and HARQ feedback time for a second PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #2) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the second PDSCH. Paragraph [0089]: For example, in step S21, disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process may be indicated by setting the value of the first particular field to be a particular value. In addition, a state may be reserved in a parameter dl-DataToUL-ACK in the RRC signaling for indicating disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process when the first particular field takes a particular value. The reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK may further be used for indicating a reference value of the first particular field when the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is enabled.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan and Liu teaches the UE of claim 23 (see rejection for claim 23);
Zeng further teaches that any HARQ-ACK bit sub-block in the HARQ-ACK bit block is associated with at most one physical channel of the plurality of physical channels (Paragraph [0003]: When a UE organizes a HARQ-ACK bit sequence that needs to be reported at a specific feedback occasion, the UE determines a correspondence between each physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rule(s) and based on scheduled PDSCH transmission(s) on one or more carriers, for each of which the corresponding HARQ-ACK needs to be reported at the feedback occasion. This operation is referred to as constructing a HARQ-ACK codebook. Paragraph [0069]: Dynamically scheduled PDSCHs are explicitly grouped, and in scheduling DCI, a group corresponding to a scheduled PDSCH is indicated, where HARQ-ACK feedbacks corresponding to one PDSCH group are all carried on one PUCCH. Paragraph [0072]: One piece of DCI may request a HARQ-ACK feedback for one or more PDSCH groups to be transmitted on the same PUCCH. Typically, by default, one piece of downlink scheduling DCI requests a HARQ-ACK feedback for a PDSCH group corresponding to a PDSCH scheduled by the DCI. The DCI may further additionally trigger a HARQ-ACK feedback for another PDSCH group to be transmitted on the PUCCH indicated by the DCI. Paragraph [0082]: Step 203: Generate, based on the determined N second DAIs, a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of the N PDSCH groups. Paragraph [0084]: determining a HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups based on the determined N second DAIs; and Paragraph [0085]: generating the dynamic codebook based on the HARQ-ACK sequence of each of the N PDSCH groups);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset.
However, Liu teaches wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset (Paragraph [0037]: In a case that multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes (for example, identified by a HARQ process sequence number). That is, the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately. Paragraph [0043]: As an example, the first particular field may be a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator. The field is an existing field in the DCI. In scheduling of 5G NR, for each HARQ process, feedback time of ACK/NACK for the HARQ process is dynamically indicated by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI corresponding to the HARQ process. For example, in a case that the UE is continuously scheduled to receive two PDSCHs, HARQ feedback time for a first PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #1) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the first PDSCH, and HARQ feedback time for a second PDSCH (corresponding to HARQ process #2) is determined by a PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator in DCI for scheduling the second PDSCH. Paragraph [0089]: For example, in step S21, disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process may be indicated by setting the value of the first particular field to be a particular value. In addition, a state may be reserved in a parameter dl-DataToUL-ACK in the RRC signaling for indicating disabling the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process when the first particular field takes a particular value. The reserved state of dl-DataToUL-ACK may further be used for indicating a reference value of the first particular field when the feedback mechanism of the HARQ process is enabled. Also see paragraph [0077].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21 (see rejection for claim 21);
Zeng further teaches wherein a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit and a start time of a time unit to which an end time of the latest physical channel, in time domain, among the plurality of physical channels that accommodates at least one bit block of the subset of bit blocks belongs is equal to the time-domain offset. (Paragraph [0079]: Step 201: Receive first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI. Paragraph [0229]: Step 301: Transmit first downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a first physical uplink shared channel PUSCH, where the first DCI includes a first DAI, the first DAI is used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the first PUSCH, the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of N physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups, and N is a positive integer. Paragraph [0247]: The UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the enhanced dynamic codebook is transmitted.)
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block.
However, Liu teaches a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block (Paragraph [0044]: For example, for a DCI format 1_0, a value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is mapped to a list {1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8}. For a DCI format 1_1, a value of the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator field is mapped to values of a group of number of slots (k) provided by a high-level parameter dl-DataToUL-ACK, as shown in FIG. 2 . dl-DataToUL-ACK represents a list of timing for transmitting ACK/NACK. Paragraph [0045]: For example, the user equipment receives a PDSCH in an nth slot. If the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator is mapped to a value of k, the user equipment feeds back a check result for the PDSCH such as ACK or NACK, in an (n+k)th slot. Paragraph [0050]: In a case that the first particular field is the PDSCH-to-HARQ_feedback timing indicator, the reference value is a reference number of slots. When the number of slots for feedback is calculated, the reference value is added to the number of slots to which the first particular field is mapped.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that an offset can be determined to schedule the HARQ feedback based on the timing of the PDCSH (Liu: Paragraphs [0044], [0045]).
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
Zeng further teaches wherein the control signaling further indicates: (i) corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and (ii) whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks (see rejection for claim 22);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers.
However, Liu teaches wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers; bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0043])
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset.
However, Liu teaches wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan and Liu teaches the method of claim 32 (see rejection for claim 32);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback.
However, Liu teaches wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback (see rejection for claim 24);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein HARQ process numbers in the HARQ process number subset are HARQ process numbers for enabled HARQ feedback, and any HARQ process number in the HARQ process number set not belonging to the HARQ process number subset is a HARQ process number for disabled HARQ feedback, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan and Liu teaches the method of claim 32 (see rejection for claim 32);
Zeng further teaches that any HARQ-ACK bit sub-block in the HARQ-ACK bit block is associated with at most one physical channel of the plurality of physical channels (see rejection for claim 25);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset.
However, Liu teaches wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset (see rejection for claim 25);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30 (see rejection for claim 30);
Zeng further teaches wherein a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit and a start time of a time unit to which an end time of the latest physical channel, in time domain, among the plurality of physical channels that accommodates at least one bit block of the subset of bit blocks belongs is equal to the time-domain offset. (see rejection for claim 26);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block.
However, Liu teaches a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block (see rejection for claim 26);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a number of time units between a start time of the target time unit; an end time of the latest physical channel that accommodates at least one bit block, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that an offset can be determined to schedule the HARQ feedback based on the timing of the PDCSH (Liu: Paragraphs [0044], [0045]).
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the BS of claim 39 (see rejection for claim 39);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset.
However, Liu teaches wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset (see rejection for claim 23);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein a HARQ process number corresponding to any bit block of the plurality of bit blocks belongs to a HARQ process number set, a HARQ process number subset is a subset of the HARQ process number set, and the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset, as taught by Liu in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that the feedback method of HARQ processes can thereby improving flexibility and the system efficiency (Liu: Paragraphs [0011], [0036], [0037], [0089]).
Claims 29, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zeng et al. (US2022/0256586A1) in view of Muruganathan et al. (US2022/0376844A1), and further in view of Ye et al. (US2022/0029733A1).
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the UE of claim 21, wherein the configuration information corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined (see rejection for claim 21);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration
information comprises a MCS, and whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS.
However, Ye teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a MCS, and
whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS (Paragraph [0144]: At operation 801, a UE receives the configuration information, which can include the configuration of supported MCS and/or the number of HARQ processes for PUSCH. At operation 802, the UE receives a PDCCH conveying a DCI, which schedules a PUSCH. At operation 803, the UE checks whether the maximum MCS index configured is smaller than M, where M is a predefined number, e.g., 8 or 16. The UE also checks whether the number of HARQ processes configured for PUSCH is larger than L, where L is a predefined number, e.g., 16. If the configured maximum MCS index is smaller than M and the configured number of HARQ processes is larger than L, the UE transmits the PUSCH based on the configuration and DCI indication at operation 804, where the UE interprets N−K bits (e.g., the N−K MSBs) in the MCS field of the DCI for the indication of the MCS index, and one or more bits out of the remaining K bits (e.g., the K LSBs) in the MCS field for the indication of a HARQ process number.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the configuration information comprises a MCS, and whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS, as taught by Ye in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that scenarios with limited link budget and/or large propagation delay can be supported based on the MCS (Ye: Paragraphs [0070], [0071]).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches the method of claim 30, wherein the configuration information corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined (see rejection for claim 30);
The combination of Zeng and Muruganathan does not explicitly teach wherein the configuration
information comprises a MCS, and whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS.
However, Ye teaches wherein the configuration information comprises a MCS, and
whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS (see rejection for claim 29);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the configuration information comprises a MCS, and whether a bit block is determined based on the MCS, as taught by Ye in the combined system of Zeng and Muruganathan, so that scenarios with limited link budget and/or large propagation delay can be supported based on the MCS (Ye: Paragraphs [0070], [0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 13, 2026 with respect to 1, 6, 8, 13, 18, and 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zeng et al. (US2022/0256586A1); claims 2-5, 7, 9-12, 14-17, and 19 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over Zeng in view of Liu et al. (US2025/0056553A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the Zeng does not teach receiving control signaling that indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks, wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks, as recited in claim 21. Zeng teaches receiving control signaling that indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks. The PDSCH groups include multiple PDSCHs and the control signaling indicates a subset of them. Muruganathan et al. (US2022/0376844A1), teaches receiving control signaling that indicates, among a plurality of bit blocks, a subset of bit blocks, wherein the subset of bit blocks comprises fewer than all of the plurality of bit blocks. Muruganathan teaches a first subset that indicate HARQ feedback enabled, and a second subset that indicates HARQ feedback disabled. Thus, each subset indicates fewer than all the bit blocks.
Applicant submits that Zeng does not teach that the control signaling indicates a time-domain offset, and that the target time unit for transmitting the HARQ-ACK bit block is determined using the time-domain offset together with a latest physical channel, as recited in claim 21. However, Zeng teaches that the UE determines a correspondence between each physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rule(s) and based on scheduled PDSCH transmission(s), which indicates a target time unit for the HARQ-ACK bit block transmissions. The downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH is transmitted, and includes a downlink assignment index (DAI) used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups. Zeng also teaches that the UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the dynamic codebook is transmitted.
Zeng further teaches that the HARQ-ACK codebook is usually transmitted on a PUCCH, and time-domain and frequency-domain information of the PUCCH is indicated in DCI, which indicates that the configuration information comprises time domain resources and frequency domain resources, as recited in claim 21.
Applicant submits that Zeng does not teach that the target time unit is earlier than a time unit to which an end time of one of the plurality of physical channels in time domain belongs, as recited in claim 27. However, Zeng teaches that the UE determines a correspondence between each PDSCH transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rules and based on scheduled PDSCH transmissions, which indicates a target time unit for the HARQ-ACK bit block transmissions. The downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH is transmitted, and includes a downlink assignment index (DAI) used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups. Zeng also teaches that the UL DAI value corresponds to the latest PDSCH group scheduled before the dynamic codebook is transmitted. This suggests that the target time is scheduled to occur earlier to latest PDSCH group scheduled before the dynamic codebook is transmitted.
Thus, the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan teaches independent claim 21, and also independent claims 30 and 39 which recite similar features. Dependent claims 27-28, 36-37 are also taught by the combination of Zeng and Muruganathan.
Applicant submits that the combination of Zeng and Liu does not teach that the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and that whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined based on the HARQ process numbers corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, as recited in claim 22. Zeng teaches that the control signaling further indicates corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks, and that whether a bit block in the plurality of bit blocks belongs to the subset of bit blocks is determined corresponding to the plurality of bit blocks. Zeng teaches wherein the control signaling further indicates HARQ process numbers, and the bit block is based on the HARQ process numbers. Zeng teaches that the HARQ-ACK bit blocks corresponding to a PDSCH group and carried on a PUCCH. Liu teaches that when multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes identified by a HARQ process sequence number), and that the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately.
As recited in claim 23, the subset of bit blocks comprises one or more bit blocks having a HARQ process number belonging to the HARQ process number subset. Liu teaches that when multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes identified by a HARQ process sequence number), and that the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately. Zeng teaches that the downlink control information DCI used for scheduling a physical uplink shared channel PUSCH is transmitted, and includes a downlink assignment index (DAI) used for generating a dynamic codebook to be transmitted on the PUSCH, where the dynamic codebook includes HARQ-ACK bit sequences of physical downlink shared channel PDSCH groups.
As recited in claim 25, a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset, and any HARQ-ACK bit sub-block in the HARQ-ACK bit block is associated with at most one physical channel of the plurality of physical channels. Zeng teaches that any HARQ-ACK bit sub-block in the HARQ-ACK bit block is associated with at most one physical channel of the plurality of physical channels. Zeng teaches that when a UE organizes a HARQ-ACK bit sequence that needs to be reported at a specific feedback occasion, the UE determines a correspondence between each PDSCH transmission and one or more bits in the organized HARQ-ACK bit sequence according to predefined rules and based on scheduled PDSCH transmissions on one or more carriers, for each of which the corresponding HARQ-ACK needs to be reported at the feedback occasion. Liu teaches that a number of HARQ-ACK bit sub-blocks comprised in the HARQ-ACK bit block is related to the HARQ process number subset. Liu teaches that when multiple HARQ processes are configured for the UE, the HARQ feedback mechanism is disabled or enabled for one of the HARQ processes identified by a HARQ process sequence number, and the feedback mechanism of each HARQ process may be dynamically enabled or disabled separately.
Dependent claims 22-26, 31-35, and 40 are taught by the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan and Liu. Dependent claims 29 and 38 are taught by the combination of Zeng, Muruganathan, and Ye et al. (US2022/0029733A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461