DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/9/2023, 6/5/2024 and 12/11/2024 are considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 is a corresponding device claim of claim 7. It appears that claim 14 should depend on claim 8 instead of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-8, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Phan et al (Van Phan), EP3952170A1, published on 2/9/2022, with a filing date of 8/7/2020.
As per claim 1, Van Phan teaches the invention including a relay user equipment (UE) device (R-UE) comprising:
A receiver configured to receive data from a source UE device (pp. 0149, 0163: Step 351, 353, 557; R-UE receives the TB successfully);
A transmitter configured to transmit the data to a destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 560); and
A controller configured to determine the data was not received at the destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 554), the transmitter further configured to transmit, in response to the determination by the controller, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) NACK message to the source UE device indicating the data was not successfully received at the destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 554).
As per claim 5, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Van Phan further teaches the controller configured to determined the data was not received at the destination UE device in response to determining no HARQ feedback for the data was received from the destination device (pp. 0163: Step 553b).
As per claim 6, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 5. Van Phan further teaches the controller configured to determine the data was not received at the destination UE device in response to determining no HARQ feedback for the data was received form the destination device within a maximum HARQ feedback time limit (pp. 0163: Step 555).
As per claim 7, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Van Phan further teaches wherein the controller is configured to determine the data was successfully received at the relay UE device and the transmitter is configured to transmit the HARQ NACK without transmitting the HARQ ACK (pp. 0163: Step 553b and 554).
As per claim 8, Van Phan teaches the invention including a method performed by a relay user equipment (UE) device (R-UE), the method comprising:
Receiving data from a source UE device (pp. 0149, 0163: Step 351, 353, 557; R-UE receives the TB successfully);
Transmitting the data to a destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 560); and
Determining the data was not received at the destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 554); and
Transmitting, in response to the determination by the controller, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) NACK message to the source UE device indicating the data was not successfully received at the destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 554).
As per claim 12, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Van Phan further teaches wherein the determining that the data was not received at the destination UE device comprises determining no HARQ feedback for the data was received from the destination device (pp. 0163: Step 553b).
As per claim 13, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 12. Van Phan further teaches wherein the determining the data was not received at the destination UE device comprises determining no HARQ feedback for the data was received form the destination device within a maximum HARQ feedback time limit (pp. 0163: Step 555).
As per claim 14, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Van Phan further teaches to comprise:
Determining the data was successfully received at the relay UE device from the source UE device wherein transmitting the HARQ NACK comprises transmitting the HARQ NACK without transmitting the HARQ ACK (pp. 0163: Step 553b and 554).
As per claim 15, Van Phan teaches the invention including a source user equipment (UE) device (Tx UE) comprising:
A transmitter configured to transmit data to a destination UE device via UE device (pp. 0149, 0163: Steps 351-353, 557, 560; Tx UE transmits a TB, R-UE relays the received TV to Rx UE);
A receiver configured to receive, from the relay UE device, a hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) NACK message indicating the data was not successfully received at the destination UE device (pp. 0163: Step 554).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phan et al (Van Phan), EP3952170A1, in view of Wakabayashi et al (Wakabayashi), US 2017/0310427.
As per claim 2, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Van Phan does not specifically teach wherein the controller is configured to determine the data was not received at the destination UE device in response to another HARQ NACK message received from the destination UE device. Wakabayashi teaches to utilize relay UE, wherein the controller is configured to determine the data was not received at the destination UE device in response to another HARQ NACK message received from the destination UE device (pp. 0085-0086, 0088-0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Van Phan and Wakabayashi and utilize the relay UE to detect the NACK message from the destination UE and forward it to the source UE in the case the source UE fails to detect the NACK message.
As per claim 3, Van Phan and Wakabayashi teach the invention as claimed in claim 2. Wakabayashi further teaches wherein the another HARQ NACK message is received in accordance with an ACK/NACK HARQ feedback configuration where the destination UE device sends ACK messages in response to successful receptions of data and send NACK messages for unsuccessful receptions of data (pp. 0084-0086, 0088-0089).
As per claim 4, Van Phan and Wakabayashi teach the invention as claimed in claim 2. Wakabayashi further teaches wherein the another HARQ NACK message is received in accordance with a NACK-only HARQ feedback configuration where the destination UE device sends NACK messages for unsuccessful receptions of data and does not send ACK message in response to successful receptions of data (pp. 0073).
As per claim 9, Van Phan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 8. Van Phan does not specifically teach to further comprise receiving another HARQ NACK message from the destination UE device, wherein the determining that the data was not received at the destination UE device comprises determining that the another HARQ NACK message was received from the destination UE device. Wakabayashi teaches to utilize relay UE that receive another HARQ NACK message from the destination UE device, wherein the determining that the data was not received at the destination UE device comprises determining that the another HARQ NACK message was received from the destination UE device (pp. 0085-0086, 0088-0089). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Van Phan and Wakabayashi and utilize the relay UE to detect the NACK message from the destination UE and forward it to the source UE in the case the source UE fails to detect the NACK message.
As per claim 10, Van Phan and Wakabayashi teach the invention as claimed in claim 9. Wakabayashi further teaches wherein the receiving another HARQ NACK message from the destination UE device comprises receiving the another HARQ NACK message in accordance with an ACK/NACK HARQ feedback configuration where the destination UE device sends ACK messages in response to successful receptions of data and send NACK messages for unsuccessful receptions of data (pp. 0084-0086, 0088-0089).
As per claim 11, Van Phan and Wakabayashi teach the invention as claimed in claim 9. Wakabayashi further teaches wherein receiving another HARQ NACK message in accordance with a NACK-only HARQ feedback configuration where the destination UE device sends NACK messages for unsuccessful receptions of data and does not send ACK message in response to successful receptions of data (pp. 0073).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Van Phan et al, US 2023/0327822
Kazmi et al, US 2022/0312242
Ganesan et al, US 2021/0021536
Seo et al, US 2020/0127768
Panteleev et al, US 2018/0206176
Khoryaev et al, US 2018/0069664
Van Phan et al, EP3952169A1
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
October 3, 2025