DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Applicant’s remarks, filed on 3/6/2026. The amendments to claim(s) 1, 13 and 18-21 have been entered. Claim(s) 11-12, 17, 19 and 20 is/are cancelled by Applicant and therefore withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b). Corresponding rejections of claim(s) 11-12, 17, 19 and 20 from the prior office action are withdrawn as moot in light of the Applicant’s cancellation. New claim(s) 22-27 have been entered. Claims 6-10 and 21 were previously withdrawn by Applicant. Accordingly, claim(s) 1-5, 13-16, 18 and 22-27 remain pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim is missing, and the language is not present. This appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see p.6-9, filed 3/6/2026, with respect to the rejections of claim(s) 1-5, 13-16, 18 and remarks regarding new claims 22-27 have been fully considered.
After review of the Applicant’s remarks regarding the objections to claim(s) 1, Examiner respectfully agrees with Applicant and the prior objections to claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, new claim objections are issued.
After review of the amendment to the claim(s) and remarks in regards to the 35 USC §112 rejections, Examiner respectfully agrees with the Applicant. The prior 35 USC §112(a) and 35 USC §112(b) rejections have been withdrawn. However, new rejection(s) under 35 USC §112(b) have been issued.
The Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks pertaining to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. §103 were fully considered, and the rejection from the prior office action has been withdrawn. Upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the following: new amendments provided by Applicant and attached remarks; updated search and review of relevant prior art; different interpretation of the previously applied references; and/or newly added claims.
Regarding the rejection(s) to claim(s) 1-5, 13-16, 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant' s arguments only address independent claim(s) 1, and no remarks regarding the subject matter of the dependent claim(s) have been presented. Rejections to dependent claims are modified to address Applicant' s amendments and the new rejection to the independent claim(s) and are sustained. The rejections of claim(s) 1-5, 13-16, 18 and 22-27 under 35 U.S.C. §103 are maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 22 recites the limitation “wherein some of the first electrical conductors extend, at least in part, along the first surface of the support structure,” which appears to contain a typographical error. The ending punctuation must be corrected to replace the comma with a period. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
35 USC § 112(b)
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 recites the limitations "A system comprising: the endoscope of claim 1; and the ultrasound processing apparatus". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior recitation of ‘an ultrasound processing apparatus’ that clearly points out what the claim is referring to. For the purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language is any ‘ultrasound processing apparatus’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 13, 18, 22-23 and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al. (US20070293762A1, 2007-12-20; hereinafter “Sawada”), in view of Yagi et al. (US20060058676A1, 2006-03-16; hereinafter “Yagi”) as provided by Applicant.
Regarding claim 1, Sawada teaches an endoscope (“The ultrasound endoscope 1 comprises an operation part 6 on the base end of a slender insertion part 2.” [0140]; [0049-0082, 0140-0187], [fig. 6]) comprising:
an insertion tube having a proximal end and a distal end (“The ultrasound endoscope 1 comprises an operation part 6 on the base end of a slender insertion part 2.” [0140]; “The insertion part 2 comprises the connection of, in sequence starting at the head part, a head part 3, a bendable part 4 allowing the insertion part to bend freely, and a flexible tube part 5 having flexibility.” [0141]; [0049-0082, 0140-0187], [fig. 6-7]);
a handle attached to the proximal end of the insertion tube (“The operation part 6 is equipped with a bending operation knob 6 a so that the bendable part 4 can be bent by operating the bending operation knob 6 a.” [0141]; The operation part 6 (i.e., handle) is attached to the flexible tube 5 of insertion part 2 [0049-0082, 0140-0187], [fig. 6]);
an ultrasound transducer positioned at the distal end of the insertion tube and comprising a support structure and an ultrasound transducer array including ultrasound transducer elements (“The head part 3 is equipped with an ultrasonic transducer 10 (or an ultrasonic transducer array)” [0142]; “a cross-section of body structure B with the structure members 30 mounted. […] filling the space between the structure members 30 a and 30 b with a backing member 40” [0156]; The ultrasound transducer array 10 comprises a plurality of piezoelectric elements and is disposed within the head part at distal end of insertion part 2 [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18]),
the support structure including a first surface, a second surface opposite the first surface, and an upper surface extending between the first surface and the second surface and facing the ultrasound transducer elements (“a circular structure member 30 a is mounted on the inside of an opening part of body structure B […] the structure member 30 a is mounted so as to be positioned on the board 20 […] a structure member 30 b is mounted onto the opening part on the other side” [0155]; “a cross-section of body structure B with the structure members 30 mounted. The mounting of the structure members 30 (i.e., 30 a and 30 b) in FIG. 13 (refer to FIG. 14A) is followed by filling the space between the structure members 30 a and 30 b with a backing member 40” [0156]; Structure member 30 and backing member 40 (i.e., support structure) comprise structure members 30a and 30b (i.e., first and second surfaces), and the outer radial surface of backing member faces piezoelectric element(s) 23 of transducer array [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18; see fig. 18 reproduced below]); and
Structure members 30a and 30b are disposed on either side of backing member 40, which has an outer (i.e., upper) surface facing the ultrasound transducer 23 (Sawada [fig. 18])
a single flexible printed circuit extending from the ultrasound transducer to at least the handle, the single flexible printed circuit comprising a base section, a contact section, first electrical conductors, first contacts and second contacts, the first electrical conductors being electrically coupled to the first contacts and the second contacts and extending from the first contacts to the second contacts (“body structure A comprising a board 20, a conductive body 21, electrodes 22 (i.e., 22 a and 22 b), a piezoelectric element 23, […] a conductive resin 25 and grooves 26.” [0144]; “cylinder member 50 is constituted by a cylinder part 53 and a circular flange 52 featured toward an end thereof. The surface of the flange 52 is equipped with a flexible printed circuit (FPC) board, of which the surface is equipped with several tens to hundreds of electrode pads 51. Furthermore, a cable bundle 62 is internally led though the cylindrical structure member 50 and its tip is soldered to each electrode pad 51” [0157]; “One end of a wire 90 is connected to the outer side portion of the flange of the electrode pad 51 via soldering 1011, while the other end is connected to the signal-side electrode 20 a existing on the board 20 of the transducer element via soldering 1021.” [0161]; Communication is established between electrodes 22a and electrode layer 20a (i.e., base section and first electrical contacts) of board 20, cable bundle 62 and wires (i.e., first electrical conductors) and electrode pad 51, wherein the cable bundle 62 extends into/terminates at (i.e., contact section and second electrical contacts) the operating part [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18]),
the base section arranged between the upper surface of the support structure and the ultrasound transducer array and comprising the first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts being connected to an ultrasound transducer element of the ultrasound transducer elements (“body structure A comprising a board 20, a conductive body 21, electrodes 22 (i.e., 22 a and 22 b), a piezoelectric element 23, […] a conductive resin 25” [0144]; “a piezoelectric element 23 that has the electrodes 22 a and 22 b respectively on both of the opposite principal faces is joined to the layers, then a board 20 is mounted adjacent to the side of the piezoelectric element 23. The surface of the board 20 has an electrode layer 20 a.” [0145]; The electrode 22a and electrode layer 20 a (i.e., base section comprising first electrical contacts) is disposed between the piezoelectric element (i.e., transducer element) and the backing member (i.e., upper surface) and structure members 30 [0140-0187], [fig. 14A-14C, 18]), and
the contact section comprising the second electrical contacts (“The electronic scanning type ultrasonic transducer is constituted by no less than several tens of elements and a number of coaxial cables for transmission and reception equivalent to the number of elements.” [0007]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction” [0157]; The coax cable bundle 62 terminates in the operation part [0140-0187], [fig. 6, 14A-14C, 18]).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to utilize the claimed ‘single flexible printed circuit’, since applicant has not disclosed that the disposition of the ultrasound transducer and flexible printed circuit solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the endoscope taught by Sawada [Also see In re Deminski, 796 F.2d 436, 230 USPQ 313 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167].
Although Sawada appears to teach all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above, if in an interpretation, one argues (or interprets differently) that Sawada does not explicitly teach the “single flexible printed circuit” featuring “the contact section comprising the second electrical contacts”, the following additional reference is provided to supplement Sawada above.
In the same field of endeavor, Yagi teaches an endoscope (“An ultrasound probe” [clm 1]; “the intracavitary ultrasound probe includes a convex type, a transesophageal type,” [0037]; [0030-0038], [fig. 1-3, 5a-5c, 7]) comprising:
a single flexible printed circuit extending from the ultrasound transducer to at least the handle, the single flexible printed circuit comprising a contact section, first electrical conductors, first contacts and second contacts, the first electrical conductors being electrically coupled to the first contacts and the second contacts and extending from the first contacts to the second contacts (“a flexible circuit board of at least one layer located in correspondence with said positions of transmission and reception, in which signal lines for supplying a transmission signal and for extracting a reception signal to/from said positions are installed” [clm 1]; “One end of a flexible circuit board 2 is connected to each channel of the transducer elements, and the other end has a cable connecting section 5, so that a signal line can be connected to a cable for transmission and reception.” [0031]; The flexible circuit board 2 connects to individual transducer elements (i.e., first contacts) and comprises channels separated by slits (i.e., first electrical conductors) and is in communication with cable connecting section 5 (i.e., contact section and second contacts), wherein a signal can be transmitted and received between the transducer unit 1 and the cable connecting section 5 [0030-0038], [fig. 1-3, 5a-5c, 7]),
each of the first electrical contacts being connected to an ultrasound transducer element of the ultrasound transducer elements (“One end of a flexible circuit board 2 is connected to each channel of the transducer elements, and the other end has a cable connecting section 5, so that a signal line can be connected to a cable for transmission and reception. On this flexible circuit board 2, signal pattern 4 is formed so that a signal can be transmitted and received between the transducer unit 1 and the cable connecting section 5,” [0031]; [0030-0038], [fig. 1-3, 5a-5c, 7]), and
the contact section comprising the second electrical contacts (“the other end has a cable connecting section 5, so that a signal line can be connected to a cable for transmission and reception. On this flexible circuit board 2, signal pattern 4 is formed so that a signal can be transmitted and received between the transducer unit 1 and the cable connecting section 5,” [0031]; The flexible circuit board 2 facilitate signal communication between each transducer at one end and cable connecting section (i.e., contact section) via respective channels (i.e., second electrical contacts) at the other end [0030-0038], [fig. 1-3, 5a-5c, 7; see fig. 2 reproduced below]).
The connecting relation among a transducer unit, a flexible circuit board and a cable connecting section (i.e., contact section with second electrical contacts) of the intracavitary ultrasound probe (Yagi [fig. 2])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope taught by Sawada as outlined above with the single flexible printed circuit featuring the contact section comprising the second electrical contacts as taught by Yagi. Conventional intracavitary probe systems may form the printed circuit board is as one plate; however, the range of flexibility is limited by a stiffness of the printed circuit board and the intracavitary probe cannot be sufficiently bent along a complicatedly curving tubular organ in some cases (Yagi [0008]). The resulting combination may provide a miniaturized ultrasound probe which is easy to insert into and pull out from a body cavity, with an increased number of channels in which the flexibility is improved and in which the wires of the ultrasound probe are not disrupted and broken when the probe is bent (Yagi [0011-0013]). Furthermore, the easy identification of a predefined ultrasonic transducer enables the workability and productivity of a worker or technician to be improved and enables an improvement in the prevention of mistakes in the production, inspection, repair, etcetera, of an ultrasound endoscope apparatus (Sawada [0177]).
Regarding claim 2, Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 1,
Sawada further teaching further comprising a first flexible cable electrically connected, at one end thereof, to the contact section and connectable, at another end thereof, to an ultrasound processing apparatus (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things photographed by an ultra compact camera or other such device equipped on the head part 1040.” [0012]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction.” [0157]; The coax cable runs through the operation part into the connection part, and on through universal cord to transmit signals for processing and display [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18; see fig. 6 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Imaging and ultrasound signals are transmitted from head part 3 through bendable part 4 and flexible tube part 5 into operation part 6 (i.e., handle) and through universal cord 7 into connecting part for processing and display (Sawada [fig. 6])
Regarding claim 3 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 2,
Sawada further teaching wherein the first flexible cable comprises an ultrasound connector insertable into a transducer port of the ultrasound processing apparatus for providing electrical signals generated by the ultrasound transducer to the ultrasound processing apparatus (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things photographed by an ultra compact camera or other such device equipped on the head part 1040.” [0012]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction.” [0157]; The connection part (i.e. ultrasound connector) facilitates signal communication with the display/devices via coax cable through the ultrasound transducer and operation part [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 2 rejection]).
Regarding claim 4 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 3,
Sawada further teaching wherein the endoscope further comprises an image capturing device, and wherein the first flexible cable is further configured to receive electrical signals from the image capturing device (“The inclined part 12 is equipped with an illumination lens cover […] constituting an illumination optical system for emitting an illuminating light to an observation region, an observation-use lens cover 13 constituting an observation optical system for acquiring an optical image of an observation region” [0142]; An optical image may be acquired from the observation optical system (i.e., image capturing device) located on inclined part 12 at end of bendable part 4, wherein the signals are transmitted using the coax cable [0140-0187], [fig. 6, 14A-14C, 18; see fig. 7 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Inclined part 12 comprises the observation lens cover 13 for taking optical images inside the patient body (Sawada [fig. 7])
Regarding claim 5 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 4,
Yagi further teaching wherein the first flexible electrical conductors are folded at least once to extend their length (“each section of the flexible circuit board divided by the slits is spirally wound” [clm 1]; “each divided portion of flexible circuit board 2 is spirally wound at an angle θ relative to transducer unit 1. However, because the flexible circuit board is flexible, the angle is not exactly determined, but has a certain range.” [0032]; “Flexible circuit board 2 is spirally wound at intervals of gap g. At this time, gap g is determined depending on the extent of bending of the body covering the flexible circuit board 2.” [0033]; The flexible circuit board 2 is spirally wound (i.e., folded) to facilitate bending and extension [0030-0038], [fig. 1-3, 5a-5c, 7], [see claim 1 rejection]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope taught by Sawada as outlined above with the single flexible printed circuit features as taught by Yagi. Conventional intracavitary probe systems may form the printed circuit board is as one plate; however, the range of flexibility is limited by a stiffness of the printed circuit board and the intracavitary probe cannot be sufficiently bent along a complicatedly curving tubular organ in some cases (Yagi [0008]). The resulting combination may provide a miniaturized ultrasound probe which is easy to insert into and pull out from a body cavity, with an increased number of channels in which the flexibility is improved and in which the wires of the ultrasound probe are not disrupted and broken when the probe is bent (Yagi [0011-0013]).
Regarding claim 13 Sawada and Yagi teach a system comprising: the endoscope of claim 1 [see claim 1 rejection],
Sawada further teaching the endoscope further comprising an image capturing device and a first flexible cable electrically connected, at one end thereof, to the contact section (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things photographed by an ultra compact camera or other such device equipped on the head part 1040.” [0012]; “The inclined part 12 is equipped with an illumination lens cover […] constituting an illumination optical system for emitting an illuminating light to an observation region, an observation-use lens cover 13 constituting an observation optical system for acquiring an optical image of an observation region” [0142]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction.” [0157]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 2, 4 rejections]); and
an ultrasound processing apparatus (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things” [0012]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 1 rejection]),
wherein the first flexible cable is connectable to the ultrasound processing apparatus (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things photographed by an ultra compact camera or other such device equipped on the head part 1040.” [0012]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction.” [0157]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 1, 2, 4 rejections]).
Regarding claim 18 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 1,
Sawada further teaching wherein the first electrical conductors have a length of at least 40 cm (“The insertion part 2 comprises the connection of, in sequence starting at the head part, a head part 3, a bendable part 4 allowing the insertion part to bend freely, and a flexible tube part 5 having flexibility.” [0141]; “a cable bundle 62 is internally led though the cylindrical structure member 50 […] the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable” [0157]; The cable runs from the ultrasound transducer at the insertion part to the operation part [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Sawada discloses the claimed invention except for the specific length of 40 cm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cable having a length of at least 40 cm, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art [In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)]. Furthermore, the easy identification of a predefined ultrasonic transducer enables the workability and productivity of a worker or technician to be improved and enables an improvement in the prevention of mistakes in the production, inspection, repair, etcetera, of an ultrasound endoscope apparatus (Sawada [0177]).
Regarding claim 22 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 1,
Sawada further teaching wherein some of the first electrical conductors extend, at least in part, along the first surface of the support structure (“One end of a wire 90 is connected to the outer side portion of the flange of the electrode pad 51 via soldering 1011, while the other end is connected to the signal-side electrode 20 a existing on the board 20 of the transducer element via soldering 1021. […] the short wire 90 contacts the adjacent signal-side electrode 20 a.” [0161]; The short wires 90 and cable 62 parallel to the structure members 30, wherein the electrical communication is established between the cable 62, electrode pad 52, wire 90 and the electrode 20a of the transducer element [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18; see fig. 18 reproduced below], [see claim 1 rejection]).
The cable 62 is connected to the electrode pad 51; one end of wire 90 connects to the other side of the electrode pad 51, and the other end connects to the signal-side electrode 20a (Sawada [fig. 18])
Regarding claim 23 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 22,
Sawada further teaching wherein some of the first electrical conductors extend, at least in part, along the second surface (“a cable bundle 62 is internally led though the cylindrical structure member 50 and its tip is soldered to each electrode pad 51 (i.e., the cable 62 is connected by soldering on the inside (i.e., toward the center of circle) of the electrode pad 51)” [0157]; “When inserting the cylindrical member 50 thus connected to the cable 62 into the body structure C […] the flange 52 part of the cylindrical member 50 hits the structure members 30 of the body structure C, fixing the position of the cylindrical structure member 50,” [0159]; A portion of the cable 62 extends past the structure members 30a and 30b [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-18], [see claim 22 rejection]).
Regarding claim 25 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 1,
Sawada further teaching comprising an image capturing device at the distal end of the insertion tube (“The inclined part 12 is equipped with an illumination lens cover […] constituting an illumination optical system for emitting an illuminating light to an observation region, an observation-use lens cover 13 constituting an observation optical system for acquiring an optical image of an observation region” [0142]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 4 rejection]).
Regarding claim 26 Sawada and Yagi teach the endoscope of claim 1,
Sawada further teaching further comprising a first flexible cable, wherein the single flexible printed circuit extends, for a first part of its length, inside the insertion tube, for a second part of its length, inside the handle, and for a third part of its length, inside the first flexible cable (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things photographed by an ultra compact camera or other such device equipped on the head part 1040.” [0012]; “the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction.” [0157]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 2 rejection]).
Regarding claim 27 Sawada and Yagi teach a system comprising: the endoscope of claim 1 [see claim 1 rejection]; and
Sawada further teaching the ultrasound processing apparatus (“The connection part 1010 is connected to a display apparatus comprising, for example, a display and/or other such device(s) for displaying images or other such things” [0012]; [0140-0187], [fig. 6-7, 14A-14C, 18], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada and Yagi as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, in further view of Iwaya et al. (US2022/0071473 A1, 2022-03-10; hereinafter “Iwaya”).
Regarding claim 14 Sawada and Yagi teach the system of claim 13;
but the combination of references above may fail to explicitly teach the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwaya teaches an endoscope (“An ultrasound endoscope” [clm 1]; “an ultrasound endoscope capable of suppressing image quality deterioration of an ultrasound image and achieving reduction in diameter” [abst]; [fig. 1-5]);
Iwaya further teaching wherein the first flexible cable is further configured to receive electrical signals from the image capturing device and provide the received electrical signals to the ultrasound processing apparatus, and wherein the ultrasound processing apparatus comprises one or more processing units configured to process both the signals received from the ultrasound transducer and the signals received from the image capturing device (“an endoscope connector 32 b that is connected to the endoscope processor device 16, and a light source connector 32 c that is connected to the light source device 18 are provided. The ultrasound endoscope 12 are attachably and detachably connected to the ultrasound processor device 14, the endoscope processor device 16,” [0033]; “The endoscope processor device 16 receives and acquires a captured image signal acquired from the observation target part […] and execute various kinds of signal processing and image processing on the acquired image signal to generate an endoscope image” [0037]; “The ultrasound processor device 14 and the endoscope processor device 16 are configured with two devices (computers) provided separately. Note that the invention is not limited thereto, and both the ultrasound processor device 14 and the endoscope processor device 16 may be configured with one device.” [0038]; The universal cable supplies the signals from the ultrasound and endoscope observation part to the corresponding processor device(s) (which may be configured as one device) for image processing and subsequent display [0029-0095], [fig. 1-6]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope taught by the combination of Sawada and Yagi, with the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device as taught by Iwaya. It is known that image quality deterioration (e.g., unevenness) may occur in an ultrasound image due to different lengths of signal wire when connecting a plurality of signal wires included in the non-coaxial cable with the ultrasound transducers of an ultrasound endoscope (Iwaya [0005-0007]). As the length of the signal wire increases, attenuation of the transmission and reception sensitivity is greater. It is possible to reduce the intensity difference in the generated ultrasound beam when every drive unit utilizes signal wire groups having signal wires with two or more lengths. As a result, it is possible to suppress deterioration of image quality of an ultrasound image (Iwaya [0099-0107]).
Regarding claim 15 Sawada and Yagi teach system of claim 13;
but the combination of references above may fail to explicitly teach the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwaya teaches an endoscope [see claim 14 rejection];
Iwaya further teaching wherein the system further comprises a video processing apparatus, and wherein the endoscope further comprises a second flexible cable configured to receive electrical signals from the image capturing device and provide the received electrical signals to the video processing apparatus (“The monitor 20 receives video signals generated by the ultrasound processor device 14 and the endoscope processor device 16 and displays an ultrasound image and an endoscope image” [0040]; “The cable 100 is disposed at a position facing the side 60 a of the substrate 60. The cable 100 comprises a plurality of non-coaxial cables 110, […] The electrode pads 62 and signal wires 112 of the non-coaxial cables 110 are electrically bonded. The non-coaxial cables 110 are disposed in parallel with a side 60 b and a side 60 c perpendicular to the side 60 a. Note that a positional relationship between the substrate 60 and the non-coaxial cables 110 is not particularly limited.” [0069]; The cable comprises multiple cable bundles to capture endoscopic images, wherein signals are transmitted to the endoscope processor – which performs the video processing functions – for image processing and display [0029-0069], [fig. 1-5]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope taught by the combination of Sawada and Yagi, with the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device as taught by Iwaya. It is known that image quality deterioration (e.g., unevenness) may occur in an ultrasound image due to different lengths of signal wire when connecting a plurality of signal wires included in the non-coaxial cable with the ultrasound transducers of an ultrasound endoscope (Iwaya [0005-0007]). As the length of the signal wire increases, attenuation of the transmission and reception sensitivity is greater. It is possible to reduce the intensity difference in the generated ultrasound beam when every drive unit utilizes signal wire groups having signal wires with two or more lengths. As a result, it is possible to suppress deterioration of image quality of an ultrasound image (Iwaya [0099-0107]).
Regarding claim 16 Sawada and Yagi teach the system of claim 13,
but the combination of references above may fail to explicitly teach the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Iwaya teaches an endoscope [see claim 14 rejection];
Iwaya further teaching wherein the first flexible cable is further configured to receive electrical signals from the image capturing device (“an endoscope connector 32 b that is connected to the endoscope processor device 16, and a light source connector 32 c that is connected to the light source device 18 are provided. The ultrasound endoscope 12 are attachably and detachably connected to the ultrasound processor device 14, the endoscope processor device 16,” [0033]; “The endoscope processor device 16 receives and acquires a captured image signal acquired from the observation target part […] and execute various kinds of signal processing and image processing on the acquired image signal to generate an endoscope image” [0037]; “The ultrasound processor device 14 and the endoscope processor device 16 are configured with two devices (computers) provided separately. Note that the invention is not limited thereto, and both the ultrasound processor device 14 and the endoscope processor device 16 may be configured with one device.” [0038]; [0029-0095], [fig. 1-6], [see claim 14 rejection]),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify the endoscope taught by the combination of Sawada and Yagi, with the communication of electrical signals from the image capturing device as taught by Iwaya. It is known that image quality deterioration (e.g., unevenness) may occur in an ultrasound image due to different lengths of signal wire when connecting a plurality of signal wires included in the non-coaxial cable with the ultrasound transducers of an ultrasound endoscope (Iwaya [0005-0007]). As the length of the signal wire increases, attenuation of the transmission and reception sensitivity is greater. It is possible to reduce the intensity difference in the generated ultrasound beam when every drive unit utilizes signal wire groups having signal wires with two or more lengths. As a result, it is possible to suppress deterioration of image quality of an ultrasound image (Iwaya [0099-0107]).
Conclusion
JAMES FRANKLIN MCDONALD III
Examiner
Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797