DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9 and 11-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 7,219,417 B2) in view of Kamada (US 2024/0275229 A1) and Grimm et al. (US 2023/0088759 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi discloses a stator arrangement (15, 17) for an electric machine (11), the stator arrangement (15, 17) having:
a stator (15) comprising a stator core (col. 5 ll. 16-17) on which a stator winding (16) is arranged,
an interconnection module (17) for electrically interconnecting winding wire ends (col. 6 ll. 26-29) of the stator winding (16), wherein the interconnection module (17) is positioned on the stator (15) on an end side (FIG. 1),
wherein the interconnection module (17) comprises integral electrical terminal conductors (22a-c) which are embedded at least partially in a body (25, 53) of an electrically insulating material (FIG. 6A-C), wherein the interconnection module (17) comprises the body (25, 53) of the electrically insulating material, and wherein the terminal conductors (22a-c) each form a terminal contact (50u-w) to which an external power supply and/or control of the stator arrangement can be connected (col. 8 ll. 4-7), and a winding contact (41a-c) which is electrically conductively connected to a winding wire end (col. 6 ll. 26-29),
wherein winding contacts (41a-c) protrude inwardly into an inner region which is surrounded by the body (25) of the electrically insulating material(FIG. 5),
wherein the stator (15) and the interconnection module (17) are separate components (FIG. 1).
Kobayashi does not disclose wherein the interconnection module comprises one or more integral electrical connecting conductors which are each embedded at least partially in the body of the electrically insulating material and form two winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to the winding wire ends,
wherein the body has a fastening means formed by the electrically insulating material which forms a force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection with the stator.
Kamada discloses wherein the interconnection module (4) comprises one or more integral electrical connecting conductors (42U-44U, 42V-44V, 42W-44W) which are each embedded at least partially in the body (51) of the electrically insulating material (5) and form two winding contacts (FIG. 4 two bus bar ends are contacts) which are electrically conductively connected to the winding wire ends (3a, 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi in view of Kamada to disclose wherein the interconnection module comprises one or more integral electrical connecting conductors which are each embedded at least partially in the body of the electrically insulating material and form two winding contacts which are electrically conductively connected to the winding wire ends, to connect the coils in a star connection (¶ [0050]) which are connected two in series and two in parallel (¶ [0053]).
Grimm discloses wherein the body (11) has a fastening means (14) formed by the electrically insulating material which forms a force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection with the stator (2; ¶ [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi in view of Grimm to disclose wherein the body has a fastening means formed by the electrically insulating material which forms a force-fitting and/or form-fitting connection with the stator, to attach the interconnection module releasably on the stator (¶ [0032]).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kamada further discloses wherein each pole of the stator (1) comprises two winding wire ends (3a, 3b; FIG 3).
Regarding claim 4/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein three terminal contacts (50u-w) are provided (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the three terminal contacts (50u-w) are phase terminal contacts (U, V and W phase).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kamada further discloses wherein the interconnection module (4) comprises an integral star point conductor (4K; ¶ [0051]) which is embedded at least partially in the body (51) of the electrically insulating material (5) and forms three winding contacts (neutral point bus bar 4K connects to six coils; ¶ [0052]-[0053]) which are electrically conductively connected to the winding wire ends (3a, 3b) and which are connecting conductors, with the result that the interconnection forms a star point (¶ [0051]).
Regarding claim 7/6, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 6. Kobayashi in view of Kamada does not disclose wherein a conductor which is embedded in the body of the electrically insulating material from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor has end regions which are exposed on at least one side and which are in the form of a terminal contact or a winding contact.
Grimm discloses wherein a conductor (16) which is embedded in the body (11) of the electrically insulating material from the group with the terminal conductors (4, 16), the connecting conductors (16) and the star point conductor has end regions (13) which are exposed on at least one side and which are in the form of a terminal contact or a winding contact (FIG 2; ¶ [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm to disclose wherein a conductor which is embedded in the body of the electrically insulating material from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor has end regions which are exposed on at least one side and which are in the form of a terminal contact or a winding contact, for the advantages of simplifying the contacting and interconnection of the stator for an inexpensive stator (¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 8/6, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 6. Kobayashi in view of Kamada and does not disclose wherein a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part.
Grimm discloses wherein a conductor (4, 16) from the group with the terminal conductors (4, 16), the connecting conductors (16) and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part (FIG 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm to disclose wherein a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part, for the advantages of simplifying the contacting and interconnection of the stator for an inexpensive stator (¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 9/7, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 7. Kobayashi in view of Kamada and does not disclose wherein a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part.
Grimm discloses wherein a conductor (4, 16) from the group with the terminal conductors (4, 16), the connecting conductors (16) and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part (FIG 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm to disclose wherein a conductor from the group with the terminal conductors, the connecting conductors and the star point conductor is in the form of a stamped and bent part, for the advantages of simplifying the contacting and interconnection of the stator for an inexpensive stator (¶ [0018]).
Regarding claim 11/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the insulating material is an encapsulating material, an injection-molding material (70) or a casting material col. 11 ll. 12-14; FIG.24-27).
Regarding claim 12/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein at least one winding contact (41a-c) is in the form of a piercing contact, a clamping contact, a soldered contact or a welded contact (col. 17 ll. 13-15, brazing, soldering, screw fixation etc.).
Regarding claim 13/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the terminal contacts (50u-w) are in the form of rolled or bent hollow-cylindrical sheet-metal sections which protrude out of the insulating material (FIG. 18-20), or
the terminal contacts are in the form of contact lugs in sockets in the insulating material.
Regarding claim 14/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the interconnection module (17) has an annular shape (FIG. 3) in which the terminal conductors (22a-c) or the connecting conductors or the star point conductor run in the form of a circular arc.
Regarding claim 15/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the winding contacts (41a-c) protrude radially into an inner region surrounded by the interconnection module (17) or are arranged on an end-side upper side (left in FIG. 6B) of the interconnection module (17).
Regarding claim 16/1, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 1. Kobayashi further discloses wherein the terminal contacts (50u-w) protrude out of a base (21) on an end-side upper side (right side in FIG. 6B) of the interconnection module (17).
Regarding claim 20/3, Kobayashi in view of Kamada and Grimm was discussed above in claim 3. Kobayashi further discloses wherein three terminal contacts (50u-w) are provided (FIG. 3).
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834