DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 06/02/2026. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-24, and 26-34 are pending. Claims 1, 10-11, 16-17, 26, 28-30 are amended. Claims 5, 8-9, and 25 have been cancelled. Claims 33 and 34 are newly added. Claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-24, and 26-29, 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 103 sections below. Claims 30 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the objections to the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claim 28, the examiner acknowledges that the claim has been amended to be dependent from claim 1.
Regarding claim 30, the examiner acknowledges that the claim has been amended to recite “the gaps” instead of “the gas filled gaps” to establish proper antecedent basis.
Therefore, the objections to the claims in the non-final rejection of 03/02/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 16-17, 19-24 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the examiner acknowledges that the term “first” has been deleted from the term “the first acoustic matching layer” in order to fix the antecedent basis issues.
Regarding claims 19-24 and 28, due to their dependence on claim 16, these claims are subject to the reasoning provided therein.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 16-17, 19-24 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in the non-final rejection of 03/02/2026 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7-12, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the claim has been amended to further clarify structural aspects of the transducer and the configuration of the flexible electrical circuit, including explicit recitation of: 1) a support structure with defined surfaces, 2) a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the support structure and the transducer elements, and 3) conductors bent at distinct curve sections.
The Examiner now relies on Sawada's "transducer 100" (FIGS. 43-45) and asserts that:
1) cutting creates openings which allow a gas "automatically" fills the gaps, and
2) the gaps remain gas-filled in the final product because they are "covered, but not filled, by the transducer shape forming member 400A."
Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection still fails to establish anticipation for at least the reasons below.
II. The Examiner's Revised Theory Still Fails to Disclose Gas-Filled Gaps in the Claimed Apparatus:
The Examiner Relies on a Transient Manufacturing Condition, Not a Final Apparatus:
The Examiner's position continues to rely on the assertion that: "cutting ... creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps."
However, this is explicitly a transient condition during fabrication, not a disclosed structural feature of the final device. Critically:
Sawada describes a multi-step manufacturing process in which gaps (division
grooves 1500) are formed and then subsequently incorporated into a composite
structure (FIGS. 44-46).
The Examiner acknowledges that gas filling occurs "during the process."
The examiner respectfully agrees that while the process of cutting creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps, this is a transient manufacturing condition, not a final apparatus. The examiner acknowledges that Sawada describes a multi-step manufacturing process in which gaps (i.e. division grooves 1500) are formed and then subsequently incorporated into a composite structure (FIGS. 44-46).
Under Federal Circuit law, anticipation of a product claim (including product-by-process claims) must be based on the structure of the claimed product itself, not on the process by which it is made or any intermediate manufacturing state. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698 (Fed. Cir. 1985) ("Determination of patentability is based on the product itself", "The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production."); Restem, LLC v. Jadi Cell, LLC (Fed. Cir. Mar. 4, 2025) (anticipation focuses" on the product and not the process of making it"); see also Amgen Inc. v. Roche, 580 F.3d 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2009); United Therapeutics Corp. v. Liquidia Techs., 74 F.4th 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2023).
These cases reinforce that:
process differences are legally irrelevant
only structural identity of the final product matters
The examiner acknowledges that In re Thorpe; Restem, LLC v. Jadi Cell, LLC; Amgen Inc. v. Roche, 580 F.3d 1340 (Fed. Cir. 2009); and United Therapeutics Corp. v. Liquidia Techs., 74 F.4th 1360 (Fed. Cir. 2023) cited above reinforce that: 1) process differences are legally irrelevant and 2) only structural identity of the final product matters.
The Applicant notes that FIGS. 44-46 show the process of cutting the piezoelectric elements and forming a cylindrical unit 2300. These are components of the total process and do not describe what happens after the cylindrical unit is formed.
The moment the gaps are formed (FIG. 43), the device does not yet include:
the final support structure configuration,
the full layered assembly, or
the final encapsulation/covering features.
The Examiner's analysis effectively reads the limitation as "gaps that were at some point occupied by gas."
Thus, the Examiner's reliance on the moment immediately after cutting is legally insufficient, because no single embodiment of Sawada simultaneously discloses all claimed elements and the alleged gas-filled condition.
The examiner agrees that FIGS. 44-46 of Sawada show the process of cutting the piezoelectric elements and forming a cylindrical unit 2300. However, the examiner recognizes that the moment the gaps are formed in FIG. 43, the device does not yet include: 1) the final support structure configuration, 2) the full layered assembly, or 3) the final encapsulation/covering features. Therefore, the examiner acknowledges that the previous analysis effectively reads the limitations as “gaps that were at some point occupied by gas”, and that no single embodiment of Sawada simultaneously discloses all claimed elements and the gas-filled condition required by amended claim 1.
B. Sawada Teaches Modification of the Gaps-Not Preservation as Gas-Filled Voids:
Even accepting, arguendo, the Examiner's position that gas initially enters the grooves, Sawada consistently teaches filling the gaps, including:
"filling" gaps between elements with "the same material as that of the acoustic matching layer in the outermost layer" (paragraphs 49, and 51), and
the grooves "equipped with division members" (paragraphs 57-59).
Sawada also consistently teaches division members, including in an embodiment of the actual product rather than a process step:
division members 1124 (paragraph 167), and
division members 1124 constituted by resin or particles and being filled into the grooves formed between the piezoelectric elements (paragraphs 169).
The legally proper reading of Sawada is that:
the grooves are structural features to enable segmentation, and
they are functionally modified in the final product by insertion of division
members, not preserved as gas-filled gaps.
Notably absent from Sawada is any disclosure of:
maintaining gas as the fill medium,
ensuring the gaps are gas-filled, or
controlling or preserving gas within the gaps as a functional feature.
By contrast, claim 1 requires precisely that "the gaps are filled by a gas." This is not incidental- it is a deliberate structural limitation that defines the final product.
The examiner respectfully acknowledges that Sawada consistently teaches filling the gaps between elements with “the same material as that of the acoustic matching layer in the outermost layer (see [0049], [0051]) and that the grooves are equipped with division members (see [0057]-[0059]). The examiner agrees that the grooves are structural features to enable segmentation and that they are functionally modified in the final product by insertion of division members, not preserved as gas-filled gaps.
Thus, the examiner recognizes that Sawada does not teach or suggest any disclosure of: 1) maintaining gas as the fill medium, 2) ensuring the gaps are gas-filled, or 3) controlling or preserving gas within the gaps as a functional feature.
The Examiner's "Covered but Not Filled" Interpretation Is Unsupported:
The Examiner asserts that: the grooves are "covered, but not filled."
This interpretation is speculative and unsupported because:
1. No disclosure distinguishes "covering" from "filling" in the manner asserted.
2. At a minimum, Sawada is ambiguous as to whether:
the grooves contain voids, and
voids are at least partially filled by a gas.
Anticipation requires clear and unequivocal disclosure, not conjecture.
The examiner acknowledges that the interpretation that the grooves are “covered, but not filled” is speculative and unsupported because: 1) there is no disclosure that distinguishes “covering” from “filling” in the manner asserted, and 2) Sawada is ambiguous as to whether the grooves contains voids and voids that are at least partially filled by a gas.
D. Filled vs Containing
The Office Action effectively equates a structure that contains gas with one that is filled with gas. This is incorrect.
A feature that "contains" gas merely requires the presence of gas within the feature, regardless of whether the feature is otherwise occupied by other materials. For example, a gap filled with resin or particles may nonetheless contain small amounts of air.
In contrast, a feature that is "filled with" a gas defines the material occupying the volume of the feature itself. That is, the gas is not merely present but instead constitutes the filling medium of the gap.
This distinction is structural and not semantic. A gap that is filled with a solid or liquid material- even if it contains incidental gas-does not meet a limitation requiring that the gap be filled with gas.
Notably, if a structure is filled by a substance, the substance occupies substantially all of the available volume. Terms like "containing" or "occupying" do not impose such requirement.
To the extent the Office maintains that the gaps in Sawada are "filled with gas," Applicant respectfully requests identification of a disclosure demonstrating that the gaps, in the completed device, are not filled any solid or liquid material.
The examiner agrees that the office action effectively equates a structure that contains gas with one that is filled with gas. A feature that “contains” gas merely requires the presence of gas within the feature, regardless of whether the feature is otherwise occupied by other materials. For example, a gap filled with resin or particles may nonetheless contain small amounts of air. The examiner recognizes that a feature that is “filled with” a gas defines that material occupying the volume of the feature itself, that is the gas is not merely present, but instead constitutes the filling medium of the gap.
The examiner agrees that this distinction is structural and not semantic and that a gap that is filled with a solid or liquid material, even if it contains incidental gas, does not meet the limitation requiring that the gap be filled with gas.
Ill. The Examiner's Rejection Relies on Impermissible Reconstruction
The rejection effectively requires:
1. Taking gaps from FIG. 43,
2. Assuming gas fills them transiently,
3. Maintaining that state into the final device (without disclosure), and
4. Combining with structural features from later figures.
This is precisely the type of multi-step reconstruction across embodiments and stages that is impermissible for anticipation.
The examiner respectfully acknowledges that the previous rejection relies on impermissible reconstruction because it effectively requires: 1) taking gaps from FIG. 43, 2) assuming gas fills then transiently, 3) maintaining that state into the final device (without disclosure), and 4) combining with structural features from later figures.
IV. Independent Grounds of Distinction Based on Newly Recited Structural Features:
As amended, claim 1 now additionally requires:
A. Defined Support Structure Geometry:
A support structure having:
a curvilinear upper surface,
an opposed lower surface, and
four side surfaces connecting them.
Sawada's combination of backing members and forming members is not disclosed as a unitary structure having the claimed geometry, but instead as multiple assembled components.
The examiner acknowledges that amended claim 1 now additionally requires: a defined support structure geometry with: 1) a curvilinear upper surface, 2) an opposed lower surface, and 3) four side surfaces connecting them.
The examiner agrees that Sawada’s combination of backing members and forming members is not disclosed as a unitary structure having the claimed geometry, but instead discloses multiple assembled components.
B. Conductors Bent at Distinct Angularly Separated Curve Sections
Claim 1 further requires:
first and second subsets of conductors bent around the support structure
at distinct curve sections that are angularly separated.
The Examiner's reliance on general cable routing:
does not disclose two distinct curve sections,
does not disclose angular separation, and
does not disclose the claimed functional grouping into subsets.
The examiner acknowledges that claim 1 further requires: 1) first and second subsets of conductors bent around the support structure at distinct curve sections that are angularly separated. The examiner agrees that reliance on general cable routing: 1) does not disclose two distinct curve sections, 2) does not disclose angular separation, and 3) does not disclose the claimed functional grouping into subsets.
VI. Conclusion
For at least the reasons above:
Sawada does not disclose a final apparatus having gaps filled entirely by a gas;
the rejection relies on transient manufacturing states, not structural features;
the amended claim introduces additional structural limitations not disclosed or suggested by Sawada; and
the Examiner's reasoning requires impermissible reconstruction.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests withdrawal of the §102 rejection.
The examiner respectfully agrees that 1) Sawada does not disclose a final apparatus having gaps filled entirely by a gas, 2) that the rejection relies on transient manufacturing states, not structural features; 3) the amended claim introduces additional structural limitations not disclosed or suggested by Sawada; and 4) the examiner’s previous reasoning requires impermissible reconstruction.
Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 and its corresponding dependent claims (i.e. claims 2-4, 6-7, 10-15, 18, and 26-34) under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 in the non-final rejection of 03/02/2026 are withdrawn. Furthermore, the examiner notes that claim 16 recites similar features to that of claim 1 (i.e. a method of manufacturing the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 1). Therefore, the rejection of claim 16 and its corresponding dependent claims (i.e. claims 17-24) are withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Yoshida US 2018/0146951 A1 “Yoshida” and Sudol et al. US 2021/0275142 A1 “Sudol” as discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 103 section below.
Claim Objections
Claim 16, 20-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, the examiner notes that the claim has been amended to recite: “pressing the piezoelectric block and the acoustic matching layer with the support structure to curvilinear shape the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer”. The examiner notes that this claim has been amended in other limitations to change “the first acoustic matching layer” to “the acoustic matching layer”. The examiner would recommend amending the limitation of claim 16 noted above in the same fashion to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Regarding claims 20, 21, 22, and 23, as written they read “[…] arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (Claim 20); “wherein the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed before cutting the piezoelectric block” (Claim 21); “the method further comprising arranging a common ground facing the piezoelectric block, and after the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (Claim 22); and “[…] attaching the flexible electrical circuit to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer onto the support structure” (Claim 23). However, the examiner notes that claim 16 has been amended to change the term “the first acoustic matching layer” to “the acoustic matching layer”. Thus, the examiner would recommend updating these claims to include “the acoustic matching layer” to avoid antecedent basis issues.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-24, 26-29, and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Sawada et al. US 2007/0293762 A1 “Sawada” and further in view of Yoshida US 2018/0146951 A1 “Yoshida” and Sudol et al. US 2021/0275142 A1 “Sudol”.
Regarding claim 1, Sawada teaches “A curvilinear ultrasound transducer for an endoscope, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer comprising:” (“An ultrasound endoscope comprising an electronic radial type ultrasonic transducer according to any of claims 1 through 6” [Claim 8]; “An electronic radial type ultrasonic transducer arraying, at even intervals in a cylindrical form, a plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements that transmit and receive an ultrasonic wave, and layering a plurality of acoustic matching layers, wherein a gap formed on the side face of the ultrasonic transducer element is approximately the same length as that of the space between the ultrasonic transducer elements” [Claim 6]; “Next is a description of an assembly process of the ultrasonic transducer 100 configured as described above by referring to FIGS. 35 through 47” [0240]. As shown in FIGS. 43, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is formed by first by cutting division grooves 1500 to produce piezoelectric elements 500. In FIGS. 44 and 45, the piezoelectric elements 500 are bent into a cylindrical form (i.e. a curvilinear ultrasound transducer). Therefore, the ultrasonic transducer 100 represents an electronic radial type (i.e. curvilinear) ultrasonic transducer (i.e. see claim 6) which is used within and ultrasound endoscope (i.e. see claim 8).).
“a plurality of ultrasound transducer elements made of a piezoelectric material” (See piezoelectric elements 500 in FIGS. 43-45, and “Note that the piezoelectric element 500 is formed by cutting a plate-formed piezoelectric ceramics such as lead zirconate titanate, lead titanate, barium titanate, or BNT-BS-ST, or piezoelectric crystallization (such as LiNbO.sub.3 or PZNT)” [0238]. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer includes a plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) made of a piezoelectric material (see [0238]).);
“a support structure having a curvilinear upper surface ” (“The ultrasonic transducer 100 according to the present embodiment as shown in FIG. 28, being configured as a radial array type, primarily comprises an acoustic matching layer 200, a piezoelectric element (to be described later), a backing member 300 and an transducer shape forming member 400 (corresponding to the structure member 30a or frame member 1130), which is formed into a cylindrical shape” [0226]; “In order to form a cylindrical unit 2300, in the first step are prepared the second layer body 2200a and the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400A and 400B that are respectively formed into predetermined sizes by using fiber reinforced thermosetting PPE members, as shown in FIG. 45. Next, the second layer body 2200a is formed into a cylinder followed by the integral fixing, with a conductive adhesive, of the transducer shape forming member 400A onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a of the acoustic matching layer 200, as shown in FIG. 46” [0268]. As shown in FIG. 28, the ultrasound transducer 100 includes backing member 300 and transducer shape forming member 400 which cover the piezoelectric elements 500 (i.e. see FIG. 45). Therefore, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 (i.e. 400A/400B, see FIG. 45) represents a support structure having a curvilinear upper surface.).; and
“an acoustic matching layer, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the acoustic matching layer” (“In order to form the acoustic matching layer 200, in the first step the first acoustic matching layer 200a and second acoustic matching layer 200b are prepared” [0243]. As shown in FIG. 45, the transducer elements 500 are arranged in the middle or the device 2200a which also includes the acoustic matching layers 200a/200b. Furthermore, FIG. 46 shows the shape forming member 400A being inserted over the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer includes an acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b), the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure (i.e. shape forming member 400A/400B) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b).);
“wherein the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements comprises ultrasound transducer elements separated by gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements” (“By the forming of a predetermined number of the division grooves 1500 in the second layer body 2200 at a predetermined pitch as shown in FIG. 43, the piezoelectric ceramics 1300, the board 700, the conductive film part 1400 and the first acoustic matching layer 200a are divided into a predetermined number of pieces, and thus changing the second layer body 2200 comprised a piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and a board 700 into a second layer body 2200a equipped with a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 and boards 700. That is, causing a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 to be arrayed on the second acoustic matching layer 200b having flexibility and constituting the acoustic matching layer 200” [0263]. As shown in FIG. 43, there are gaps between each of the piezoelectric elements 500. The act of forming gaps between piezoelectric elements 500, through cutting, creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps. Additionally, as shown in FIGS. 44-46, the division grooves 1500 are covered, but not filled, by the transducer shape forming member 400A. Therefore, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. piezoelectric elements 500) comprises ultrasound transducer elements separated by gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements, wherein the gaps are filled by a gas.).
Sawada does not teach the support structure having “a lower surface spaced from and opposite the curvilinear upper surface, and four side surfaces extending between and connecting the curvilinear upper surface and the lower surface”, “a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts and first flexible electrical conductors, each of the first electrical contacts being electrically connected to one of the first flexible electrical conductors and to one of the ultrasound transducer element of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements”; “wherein a first subset of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a first curve section and a second subset of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a second curve section angularly separated from the first curve section” and “wherein the gaps are filled by a gas”.
Yoshida is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an ultrasound transducer for use in an endoscope (see FIGS 1 and 4).
Yoshida teaches the support structure having “a lower surface spaced from and opposite the curvilinear upper surface, and four side surfaces extending between and connecting the curvilinear upper surface and the lower surface” (“The ultrasound transducer 7 includes the plurality of piezoelectric elements 71 having a prismatic shape and aligned in a longitudinal direction, a plurality of first acoustic matching layers 72 respectively provided on the piezoelectric elements 71 on the outer surface side of the ultrasound transducer 7, a plurality of second acoustic matching layers 73 provided on the first acoustic matching layers 72 on an opposite side of a side being in contact with the piezoelectric elements 71, an acoustic lens 74 provided on the second acoustic matching layers 73 on an opposite side of a side being in contact with the first acoustic matching layers 72, a backing material 75 provided on the piezoelectric elements 71 on an opposite side of a side being in contact with the first acoustic matching layers 72, and a connecting portion 76 that connects adjacent ultrasound elements 70” [0047]. As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, the backing material 75 (i.e. support structure) has a curved upper surface (i.e. to which the piezoelectric elements 71 are attached and a lower surface (i.e. straight bottom) spaced from and opposite the curvilinear upper surface, and four side surfaces (i.e. only two are visibly shown in FIG. 3, however, each of the visible sides has a corresponding side not visible) extending between and connecting the curvilinear upper surface and the lower surface.);
“a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts and first flexible electrical conductors, each of the first electrical contacts being electrically connected to one of the first flexible electrical conductors and to one of the ultrasound transducer elements of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (“The piezoelectric element 71 is provided with a signal input/output electrode 71a on a principal plane on the backing material 75 side, and a ground electrode 71b for grounding on a principal plane of the piezoelectric element 71 on the first acoustic matching layer 72 side. The electrodes are formed using a conductive metal material or resin material” [0048].
As shown in FIG. 4, the signal input/output electrode 71a is provided between the piezoelectric elements 71 and the backing material 75 (i.e. support structure) and bends (i.e. flexes) to be form to the curved shape of the backing material. Therefore, the signal input/output electrode 71a (i.e. in combination with the ground electrode 71b) represents a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts (i.e. connected to the piezoelectric elements 71) and first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. each of the electrodes being formed using conductive metal material), each of the first electrical contacts being electrically connected to one of the first flexible electrical conductors and to one of the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 71) of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. of backing material 75) and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. piezoelectric elements 71).);
“wherein a first subset of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a first curve section and a second subset of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a second curve section angularly separated from the first curve section” (See FIG. 4. As shown in FIG. 4, there are three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the right side of the backing material 75 and three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the left side of the backing material 75. Therefore, a first subset of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the right side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure (i.e. 75) at a first curve section (i.e. right side) and a second subset of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the left side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure at a second curve section angularly separated from the first curve section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that the support structure includes a lower surface and four side surfaces extending between and connecting the curvilinear upper surface and the lower surface, and includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements as disclosed in Yoshida in order to effectively support the ultrasound transducer elements in a curved shape and enable the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope. A flexible electrical circuit is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to transmit ultrasonic signals from transducer elements with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that the support structure includes a lower surface and four side surfaces extending between and connecting the curvilinear upper surface and the lower surface, and includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements as disclosed in Yoshida would yield the predictable result of effectively supporting the ultrasound transducer elements in a curved shape and enabling the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope.
The combination of Sawada and Yoshida does not teach “wherein the gaps [between the ultrasound transducer elements] are filled by a gas”.
Sudol is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves an imaging assembly for an intraluminal device, wherein the imaging assembly includes an array of ultrasound transducer elements spaced apart by air kerfs (see [Abstract]).
Sudol teaches “wherein the gaps [between the ultrasound transducer elements] are filled by a gas” (“An imaging component typically includes an array of ultrasound transducer elements, where the spaces between the individual ultrasound transducer elements are filled with a filler material such as a polymer or an epoxy material. The spaces are referred to as kerfs. However, imaging components with air kerfs or non-filled kerfs are known to provide a higher performance (e.g., directivity, bandwidths, and output pressures) than imaging components with filled kerfs since the air kerfs allow individual ultrasound transducer elements to function independent of each other” [0006]; “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide an imaging component with air kerfs between ultrasound transducer elements. […] A sealing material is applied around the sides or circumferences of the array structure. The sealing material is allowed to wick into at least some portions of the gaps between the buffer elements. The sealing material prevents other material and/or fluid in subsequent fabrication procedures from spreading into the air kerfs. […] The sealing material allows the air kerfs to remain unfilled without increasing the footprint of the imaging component” [0009]. Therefore, Sudol discloses an intraluminal device with air kerfs (i.e. gaps filled by gas, specifically air) between individual ultrasound transducer elements.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada and Yoshida such that the gaps between ultrasound transducer elements are filled by a gas as disclosed in Sudol in order to allow the curvilinear ultrasound transducer to operate with “higher performance (e.g., directivity, bandwidths, and output pressures) than imaging components with filled kerfs” and “allow for individual ultrasound transducer elements to function independent of each other” (see Sudol: [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer, the acoustic lens being formed as a single element” (“FIG. 7 is an enlarged diagram of the head part 3 of the ultrasound endoscope 1 shown in FIG. 6. The head part 3 is equipped with an ultrasonic transducer 10 (or an ultrasonic transducer array) enabling electronic radial type scanning, and an inclined part 12 is formed between the bendable part 4 and the ultrasonic transducer 10. The ultrasonic transducer 10 is covered with a material, forming an acoustic lens 11” [0142]. Although the acoustic lens 11 is shown with respect to an embodiment that incorporates ultrasonic transducer 10, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the acoustic lens 11 within the ultrasound transducer 100 in order to enable electronic radial type scanning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada in order to facilitate the focusing of an acoustic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100. An acoustic lens is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to focus an acoustic/ultrasonic signal to a specific location with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of facilitating the focusing of an acoustic/ultrasonic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100.
Regarding claim 3, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “the acoustic matching layer is comprised of acoustic matching layer portions, and wherein each of the ultrasound transducer elements is provided with an acoustic matching layer portion from the acoustic matching layer portions” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the acoustic layer 200 includes first acoustic layer 200a and second acoustic layer 200b (i.e. which face each other), which cover the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the acoustic matching layer is comprised of acoustic matching layer portions and wherein each of the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) is provided with an acoustic matching layer portion from the acoustic matching layer portions.).
Regarding claim 4, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 3 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common acoustic matching layer facing the acoustic matching layer portions” (“The acoustic matching layer 200 is formed by layering the first acoustic matching layer 200a, which is hardened by using materials including a plastics member (such as epoxy series, silicone series, polyimide series, et cetera) mixed with powder or fibers (such as metal, ceramics, glass, et cetera), or materials including glass, machinable ceramics, silicon, or other such materials, and the second flexible acoustic matching layer 200b, which is made of a resin member (such as silicone, epoxy, PEEK (Registered Trademark), polyimide, polyether imide, polysulfone, polyether sulfone, fluorine series resin, et cetera), or an elastomer-like material. A board 700 is described later herein” [0227]. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic matching layer 200a is present within each of the piezoelectric elements 500 and is attached to the second flexible acoustic matching layer 200b. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200b) facing the acoustic matching layer portions (i.e. first acoustic matching layer 200a attached to corresponding piezoelectric elements 500).).
Regarding claim 6, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common ground electrode between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements and the acoustic matching layer” (“Next, the acoustic matching layer 200 is turned over, as shown in FIG. 38, the other-face-side electrode 500b of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 provided on the first acoustic matching layer 200a, in which state is fixed onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a (with an adhesive, not shown herein) the piezoelectric ceramics 1300” [0249]. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a).).
Regarding claim 7, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common acoustic matching layer facing the ultrasound transducer elements” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the acoustic layer 200 includes first acoustic layer 200a and second acoustic layer 200b which covers all the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common acoustic layer (i.e. acoustic layer 200 containing layers 200a and 200b) facing the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500).).
Regarding claim 10, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprising an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer” (See [0142] as discussed in claim 2 above. As shown in FIG. 7, the head part 3 of the ultrasound endoscope 1 includes an ultrasonic transducer 10 with an acoustic lens 11. Although the acoustic lens 11 is shown with respect to an embodiment that incorporates ultrasonic transducer 10, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the acoustic lens 11 within the ultrasound transducer 100 in order to enable electronic radial type scanning.);
“a common ground electrode between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements and the acoustic matching layer” (See [0249] as discussed in claims 6 and 9 above. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada in order to facilitate the focusing of an acoustic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100. An acoustic lens is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to focus an acoustic/ultrasonic signal to a specific location with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of facilitating the focusing of an acoustic/ultrasonic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100.
Regarding claim 11, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Yoshida further teaches “wherein the flexible electrical circuit further comprises a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors, each first flexible electrical conductor of the plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts” (See Yoshida: [0048] and FIG. 4 as discussed in claim 1 above. In this case, since the input/output electrode 71a represents are formed using a conductive metal material and contact the piezoelectric element 71, the flexible electrical circuit further comprises a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. associated with each of the piezoelectric elements 71), each first flexible electrical conductor of the plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts.);
“wherein the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a first curve section and at a second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section” (See Yoshida: FIG. 4. As shown in FIG. 4, there are three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the right side of the backing material 75 and three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the left side of the backing material 75. Therefore, a first subset of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the right side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure (i.e. 75) at a first curve section (i.e. right side) and a second subset of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the left side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure at a second curve section angularly separated from the first curve section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that it includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements as disclosed in Yoshida in order to enable the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope. A flexible electrical circuit is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to transmit ultrasonic signals from transducer elements with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that it includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements as disclosed in Yoshida would yield the predictable result enabling the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope.
Regarding claim 12, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Yoshida further teaches “wherein a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section” (See FIG. 4. As shown in FIG. 4, there are three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the right side of the backing material 75 and three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the left side of the backing material 75. Therefore, a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the right side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure (i.e. 75) at the first curve section (i.e. right side) and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. electrodes 71a on the left side of the backing material 75) are bent around the support structure at the second curve section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that it includes a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section as disclosed in Yoshida in order to enable the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope. A flexible electrical circuit is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to transmit ultrasonic signals from transducer elements with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that it includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements, and a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section as disclosed in Yoshida would yield the predictable result enabling the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope.
Regarding claim 13, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge” (See FIG. 4. As shown in FIG. 4, there are three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the right side of the backing material 75 (i.e. first edge of the curvilinear upper surface) and three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the left side of the backing material 75 (i.e. second edge of the curvilinear upper surface), wherein the first edge (i.e. right side of backing material 75) is opposite the second edge (i.e. left side of backing material 75). Therefore, the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge as disclosed in Yoshida in order to enable the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope. A flexible electrical circuit is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to transmit ultrasonic signals from transducer elements with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that it includes a flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface and the ultrasound transducer elements, the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge as disclosed in Yoshida would yield the predictable result enabling the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope.
Regarding claim 14, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Yoshida further teaches “wherein the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface” (See FIG. 4. As shown in FIG. 4, there are three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the right side of the backing material 75 (i.e. first edge of the curvilinear upper surface) and three piezoelectric elements 71 (i.e. and associated signal input/output electrodes 71a) on the left side of the backing material 75 (i.e. second edge of the curvilinear upper surface), wherein the first edge (i.e. right side of backing material 75) is opposite the second edge (i.e. left side of backing material 75). Therefore, the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface as disclosed in Yoshida in order to enable the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope. A flexible electrical circuit is one of a finite number of structures which can be used to transmit ultrasonic signals from transducer elements with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada such that the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface as disclosed in Yoshida would yield the predictable result enabling the ultrasound transducer elements to transmit ultrasonic signals effectively through the endoscope.
Regarding claim 15, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada teaches “An endoscope comprising: an image sensor; and a curvilinear ultrasound transducer according to claim 1” (See claims 6 and 8 and paragraph [0240] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and “FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a conventional ultrasound endoscope apparatus” [0010]; “FIG. 2 is an enlarged diagram of the dotted line frame H shown in FIG. 1“ [0015]; “As shown in FIG. 2, the head part 1040 comprises a camera part 1110 equipped with an ultra compact camera, illumination element, et cetera, and an ultrasonic wave part 1111 to be equipped with the radial system ultrasonic transducer array and/or other such device” [0016]. In this case, the ultrasonic transducer 100 represents a radial system ultrasonic transducer array which is attached to the head part 1040 shown in FIG. 2. Therefore, Sawada discloses an endoscope (see FIGS. 1 and 2) comprising an image sensor (i.e. camera part 1110) and a curvilinear ultrasound transducer (i.e. ultrasound transducer 100) according to claim 1.).
Regarding claim 16, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada teaches “A method of manufacturing the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 1, the method comprising:” (See [0240] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the assembly process shown in FIGS. 35-47 represents a method of manufacturing the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 1.);
“providing a piezoelectric block having an upper side and a lower side opposite to the upper side” (“As shown in FIG. [43], there are division grooves 1500 of a predetermined depth starting from the surface of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and the board 700, cutting through the first acoustic matching layer 200a constituting the acoustic matching layer 200, and reaching a part of the second acoustic matching layer 200b; these are made a predetermined width or predetermined form in a predetermined pitch in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction by using cutting means such as a dicing saw or laser apparatus (neither is shown herein)” [0261]. The structure shown in FIG. 42 (i.e. including the piezoelectric ceramics layer 1300 and the acoustic matching layer 200) is provided before the division grooves 1500 are cut as shown in FIG. 43. Therefore, the method involves providing a piezoelectric block (i.e. piezoelectric ceramics 1300) having an upper side (i.e. 500a) and a lower side (i.e. 500b) opposite to the upper side.);
“cutting the piezoelectric block at a plurality of positions forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements separated by a plurality of gaps” ; “allowing the plurality of gaps to be filled with the gas” (“By the forming of a predetermined number of the division grooves 1500 in the second layer body 2200 at a predetermined pitch as shown in FIG. 43, the piezoelectric ceramics 1300, the board 700, the conductive film part 1400 and the first acoustic matching layer 200a are divided into a predetermined number of pieces, and thus changing the second layer body 2200 comprised a piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and a board 700 into a second layer body 2200a equipped with a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 and boards 700. That is, causing a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 to be arrayed on the second acoustic matching layer 200b having flexibility and constituting the acoustic matching layer 200” [0263]. As shown in FIG. 43, there are gaps between each of the piezoelectric elements 500. The act of forming gaps between piezoelectric elements 500, through cutting, creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps. Therefore, the method involves cutting the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) at a plurality of positions forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500), the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements separated by a plurality of gaps and allowing the plurality of gaps to be filled with the gas.).
“arranging the acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the first acoustic matching layer 200a and the second acoustic matching layer 200b are arranged on one side of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 (i.e. the piezoelectric block). The examiner notes that the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure is turned over then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block.);
“arranging the piezoelectric block and the acoustic matching layer over the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure”; and “pressing the piezoelectric block and the acoustic matching layer with the support structure to curvilinearly shape the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer” (“FIG. 44 is a diagram showing the deformation of a second layer body that has a plurality of piezoelectric elements” [0130]; “Therefore, the second layer body 2200a comprising a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 can be formed into a cylindrical form as shown in FIG. 44 by bending the second layer body 2200 with placing the second acoustic matching layer 200b on the outermost circumference” [0264]; “In order to form a cylindrical unit 2300, in the first step are prepared the second layer body 2200a and the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400a and 400b that are respectively formed into predetermined sizes by using fiber reinforced thermosetting PPE members, as shown in FIG. 45” [0268]. In this case, in order for the second layer body 2200a containing the first and second acoustic matching layers 200a/200b arranged on piezoelectric element 1300 (i.e. piezoelectric block), as shown in FIG. 43, to be formed into a curvilinear shape as shown in FIG. 44 and FIG. 45, a pressure element must necessarily be present. Therefore, the method involves arranging the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer between the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. to form the cylindrically formed transducer unit, see FIG. 45) of the support structure, and pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer with the support structure to curvilinearly shape the piezoelectric block and first acoustic matching layer (See FIGS. 44 and 45).).
Regarding claim 17, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the arranging of the acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed after cutting the piezoelectric block” (See FIG. 43. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic layer (i.e. specifically acoustic layer 200b of the layer 200) is arranged above the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) after the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) has been cut (i.e. by grooves 1500) forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements. As stated previously, the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure (i.e. FIG. 43) is turned over, then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block. Therefore, the method involves arranging the first acoustic matching facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed after cutting the piezoelectric block.).
Regarding claims 18, 26, 29, and 33, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1, respectively, and Sudol further teaches “wherein the gaps are filled with atmospheric air” (Claim 18); “wherein the gas consists of atmospheric air” (Claim 26); “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound elements are filled entirely of the gas, and wherein the gaps are sealed” (Claim 29); “wherein the gaps are filled only by the gas” (Claim 33) (“An imaging component typically includes an array of ultrasound transducer elements, where the spaces between the individual ultrasound transducer elements are filled with a filler material such as a polymer or an epoxy material. The spaces are referred to as kerfs. However, imaging components with air kerfs or non-filled kerfs are known to provide a higher performance (e.g., directivity, bandwidths, and output pressures) than imaging components with filled kerfs since the air kerfs allow individual ultrasound transducer elements to function independent of each other” [0006]; “Embodiments of the present disclosure provide an imaging component with air kerfs between ultrasound transducer elements. […] A sealing material is applied around the sides or circumferences of the array structure. The sealing material is allowed to wick into at least some portions of the gaps between the buffer elements. The sealing material prevents other material and/or fluid in subsequent fabrication procedures from spreading into the air kerfs. […] The sealing material allows the air kerfs to remain unfilled without increasing the footprint of the imaging component” [0009]. Therefore, Sudol discloses an intraluminal device with air kerfs (i.e. gaps filled by gas, specifically atmospheric air) between individual ultrasound transducer elements. Furthermore, the sealing material serves to seal the gaps (i.e. kerfs).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada and Yoshida such that the gaps between ultrasound transducer elements are filled by a gas as disclosed in Sudol in order to allow the curvilinear ultrasound transducer to operate with “higher performance (e.g., directivity, bandwidths, and output pressures) than imaging components with filled kerfs” and “allow for individual ultrasound transducer elements to function independent of each other” (see Sudol: [0006]).).
Regarding claim 19, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein cutting the piezoelectric block forms the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and wherein the acoustic matching layer is arranged facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (See [0263] and [0264] as discussed with respect to claim 16 above. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200 including 200a/200b) faces the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500). Therefore, the cutting of the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) forms the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and wherein the acoustic matching layer is arranged facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500).).
Regarding claim 20, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 19 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising arranging a common ground electrode facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and after arranging the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (“Next, the acoustic matching layer 200 is turned over, as shown in FIG. 38, the other-face-side electrode 500b of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 provided on the first acoustic matching layer 200a, in which state is fixed onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a (with an adhesive, not shown herein) the piezoelectric ceramics 1300” [0249]. Therefore, the other-face-side electrode 500b is placed on the ground electrode 600 (i.e. common ground electrode, see FIG. 38) facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. piezoelectric elements 500). Additionally, after arranging the common ground electrode (i.e. 600), the method involves arranging the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. see first acoustic matching layer 200a in FIG. 43) facing the common ground electrode.).
Regarding claim 21, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed before cutting the piezoelectric block” (See [0263] as discussed with respect to claim 16 above. As stated previously, the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure (i.e. FIG. 43) is turned over, then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 43, the grooves 1500 are included within the first acoustic layer 200a. Therefore, the method must include the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) is performed before cutting the piezoelectric block.).
Regarding claim 22, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 21 above, and Sawada further teaches “the method further comprising arranging a common ground electrode facing the piezoelectric block and, after the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (See [0249] as discussed in claim 20 above. Therefore, since the other-face-side electrode 500b is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 (see FIG. 38) and the first acoustic matching layer 200a is provided in connection with the ground electrode (see FIG. 38), the method further comprises arranging a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) facing the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) and after the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a) facing the common ground electrode.).
Regarding claim 23, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “the method further comprising: providing a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts being connectable to an ultrasound transducer element of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (“As shown in FIG. 34, a board 700 that is formed into approximately the same thickness as the piezoelectric element 500 is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100. The board 700 is a three-dimensional board, alumina board, glass epoxy board, rigid flexible board, flexible board, or other such board, in which a conductive pattern 700a formed on the board 700 is electrically connected to the one-face-side electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500 by way of a conduction member 800 placed on the conductive pattern 700a and the face-side electrode 500a” [0237]. Therefore, since a board 700 (i.e. flexible board) is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100 (i.e. see FIG. 28) and is electrically connected to the electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500, the method further comprises providing a flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts being connectable to an ultrasound transducer element (i.e. 500) of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (see FIG. 43).); and
“attaching the flexible electrical circuit to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer onto the support structure” (See [0237], See FIGS. 34 and 43-45. In this case, FIG. 34, shows the connection between the board 700 and the piezoelectric element 500a, before it is formed into a cylindrical shape. As shown in FIG. 43, the electrical contacts 500a and 500b (i.e. wherein) are attached to the piezoelectric block 1300 before pressing the piezoelectrical block and the first acoustic matching layer onto the support structure (i.e. to form the curvilinear shape shown in FIGS. 44 and 45. Therefore, the method involves attaching the flexible electrical circuit to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before pressing the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) and the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a) onto the support structure (i.e. 400a/400b).).
Regarding claim 24, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 23 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the flexible electrical circuit is attached to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before the piezoelectric block has been cut, and wherein cutting of the piezoelectric block electrically insulates the plurality of first electrical contacts” (See [0263] as disclosed in claim 16 above. As shown in FIG. 43, the division grooves 1500 travel through the conductive film part 1400, the electrodes 500a and 500b (i.e. of the flexible electrical circuit), the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 (i.e. piezoelectric block) and the first acoustic matching layer 200a. In order for the division groove 1500 to pass through the electrodes 500a/500b, the flexible electrical circuit is attached to the lower side (i.e. lower side is spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under) of the piezoelectric block before the piezoelectric block has been cut. Additionally, the act of cutting the piezoelectric block, electrically insulates the plurality of the first electrical contacts (i.e. by creating multiple piezoelectric elements 500 each respective electrodes 500a, 500b).).
Regarding claim 27, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 26 above, and Sudol further teaches “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases” (See Sudol [0009] as discussed in claim 26 above. Therefore, the sealing material allows the air kerfs to remain unfilled. Thus, the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of Sawada and Yoshida such that the gaps between ultrasound transducer elements are filled by a gas and the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases as disclosed in Sudol in order to allow the curvilinear ultrasound transducer to operate with “higher performance (e.g., directivity, bandwidths, and output pressures) than imaging components with filled kerfs” and “allow for individual ultrasound transducer elements to function independent of each other” (see Sudol: [0006]).
Regarding claim 28, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin to seal the gaps, and wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder” (“The backing member 300 may be made of various materials such as a resin member (such as epoxy, silicone, polyimide, polyether imide, polyetherether ketone (PEEK), urethane, or fluorine), an elastomer material (such as a chloroprene elastomer, propylene series elastomer, butadiene series elastomer, urethane series elastomer, silicone series elastomer, or fluorine series elastomer), or these resin materials or elastomer materials mixed with the filler of a single material or a plurality of materials and/or forms consisting of powder, fiber or hollow particles constituted by a metal such as tungsten, ceramics (such as alumina, zirconia, silica, tungsten oxide, piezoelectric ceramic powder, or ferrite), glass, resin, or other such materials” [0239]. As shown in FIG. 28, the backing member 300 and the transducer shape forming member 400 cover the piezoelectric elements 500 along with the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), (see FIG. 45). Thus, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 represents a support structure. Therefore, the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin (i.e. within the backing member 300 (see FIG. 28)), to seal the gaps (i.e. division grooves 1500, see FIG. 43-45) and wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder (see [0239]).
Regarding claim 31, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin to seal the gaps” (See [0239] as discussed with respect to claim 28 above. As shown in FIG. 28, the backing member 300 and the transducer shape forming member 400 cover the piezoelectric elements 500 along with the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), (see FIG. 45). Thus, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 represents a support structure. Therefore, the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin (i.e. within the backing member 300 (see FIG. 28)), to seal the gaps (i.e. division grooves 1500, see FIG. 43-45).).
Regarding claim 32, Sawada in view of Yoshida and Sudol discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder” (See [0226] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and [0239] as discussed with respect to claim 28 above. As shown in FIG. 28, the ultrasound transducer 100 includes backing member 300 and transducer shape forming member 400 which cover the piezoelectric elements 500 (i.e. see FIG. 45). Therefore, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 (i.e. 400A/400B, see FIG. 45) represents a support structure. In this case, since the backing member 300 is part of the support structure and is made of various material such as a resin member (i.e. such as epoxy) or resin material mixed with the filler of a single material or a plurality of materials and/or forms consisting of powder constituted by a metal such as tungsten, the support structure is comprised on epoxy and tungsten powder.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 30 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 30, the examiner acknowledges that Sawada, Yoshida and Sudol, both alone or in combination, do not teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gas filled gaps is less than 0.5 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius”.
Furthermore, no prior art references were found to teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 0.5 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius” alone or in combination with the other limitations of claim 30.
Therefore, claim 30 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 34, the examiner notes that Sudol teaches “wherein the gaps are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases” (See Sudol: [0009] as discussed with respect to claim 29 above. Thus, the sealing material is used to seal the gaps and thus prevent gas pressure increases.).
However, the examiner notes that Sawada, Yoshida and Sudol does not teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 1 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius”.
Furthermore, no prior art references were found to teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 1 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius” alone or in combination with the other limitations of claim 34.
Therefore, claim 34 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. US 5,792,058 A “Lee” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses “In another preferred embodiment a very thin layer of epoxy can be used to bond the shield taking care to make sure the epoxy does not flow into the diced kerfs. This leaves the kerfs primarily air filled which gives the greatest acoustic isolation between adjacent elements” [Column 10, Lines 42-46].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797