DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Acknowledgement of Amendment
The following office action is in response to the applicant’s amendment filed on 02/02/2026. Claims 1-32 are pending. Claims 1, 16, and 18 are amended. Claims 25-32 are newly added. Claims 1-28 and 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 for the reasons stated in the Response to Arguments and 35 U.S.C. 103 sections below. Claims 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 7-8, filed 02/02/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) have been fully considered, however they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1-24, these claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawada (US 2007/0293762 A1). The Applicant respectfully traverses the rejections and incorporates by reference the arguments advanced in the office action response data August 27, 2025.
The Applicant respectfully submits that the Office action fails to make a prima facie case of anticipation, for two reasons. First, the rejection of claim 1 is based on features from FIGS. 7, 43, 44 and 45.
The examiner disagrees and notes that the enlarged part shown in FIG. 7 represents the final product of the processes performed in FIGS. 43-45. This is factually incorrect. The process for making the transducer 10 described in FIGS. 6 and 7 is described with reference to FIGS. 8-18. “Next, a description is given of a production process of the ultrasonic transducer 10 according to the present embodiment by using FIGS. 8 through 18” [0143].
The following figures describe corresponding transducer, each being a preferred embodiment: FIG. 6-Transducer 10; FIG. 19-transducer 110; FIG. 21-transducer 130; FIG. 23-transducer 150; FIG. 24-transducer 160; FIG. 25-transducer 170; FIG. 26-transducer 180; FIG. 27-transducer 190; FIG. 28-transducer 100.
The process for making the transducer described in FIG. 28 (i.e. 100), is described with reference to FIGS. 35-47. “Next is a description of an assembly process of the ultrasonic transducer 100 configured as described above by referring to FIGS. 35 through 47” [0240].
The Applicant has not found any mention in the disclosure of FIGS. 28-47 that connect the transducer 100 and the process to make it to the transducer 10 described in FIGS. 6 and 7. The Applicant submits, respectfully, that while the transducers 10 and 100 may have common features, e.g. an arcuate portion, the absence of any language connecting them, and the fact that the processes for making them are described separately, indicate that they are not the same or made by the same process. Therefore, picking some features from the disclosure of the transducer 10 with some features of the process to make the transducer 100 is de facto cherry-picking and therefore impermissible, under Net MoneyIN. Inc. v. Verisign, Inc., to make an anticipation rejection.
The examiner respectfully agrees that the processes of making the ultrasonic transducer 10 and the ultrasonic transducer 100 are different processes. Additionally, the transducer 10 shown in FIG. 7 is not the final product of the process shown in FIGS. 43-45. Rather, the process for making the transducer 10 described in FIGS. 6 and 7 is described with reference to FIGS. 8-18.
Furthermore, the examiner agrees that there is no mention in the disclosure of FIGS. 28-47 that connects the transducer 100 and the process to make it to the transducer 10 described in FIG. 6 and 7. While the transducers 10 and 100 may have common features (i.e. arcuate portion), the absence of any language connecting them, and the fact that the processes for making them are described separately, indicate that they are not the same or made by the same process.
Thus, the examiner recognizes that picking some features from the disclosure of the transducer 10 with some features of the process to make the transducer 100 is de facto cherry-picking and therefore impermissible.
Second, as mentioned above, the Applicant notes that the Examiner picks from an apparatus embodiment and a process embodiment to make an apparatus rejection. The Office Action finds that because gaps are formed between piezoelectric elements, the openings “allow for a first gas to automatically fill said gaps”. At the same time, the Office Action admits that the gas filling the gaps occurs during the process. Sawada does not disclose gas filled gaps in the final product and the Examiner does not assert that Sawada disclosed gas filled gaps in the final product. The Applicant submits, respectfully, that an anticipation rejection of an apparatus has to be based on the apparatus that the reference discloses and not based on an intermediate step that is contradicted by the disclosure of the final product, in this case gaps filled by division members constituted by a resin or by particles. This is at least in part because at the production stage of Sawada before the gaps are filled with the division members, which is the time the Examiner chose to argue that the gaps are filled with gas, the apparatus does not include all the other elements of claim 1 and therefore does not anticipate claim 1.
The examiner acknowledges that the office action picks from an apparatus embodiment (i.e. ultrasound transducer 10) and a process embodiment (i.e. FIGS. 43-45) to make an apparatus rejection. However, upon further consideration, the examiner is now interpreting the ultrasound transducer 100 to be the apparatus (i.e. curvilinear ultrasound transducer). The Office Action finds that because gaps are formed between piezoelectric elements, the openings “allow for a first gas to automatically fill said gaps” with reference to FIG. 43. While gas does fill the gaps during the process (i.e. see FIGS. 44-45), the examiner does not agree with the Applicant’s argument that Sawada does not disclose gas filled gaps in the final product, specifically the ultrasound transducer 100. As shown in, FIG. 43, division grooves 1500 are formed (i.e. which the examiner is interpreting to be the gaps) to create the plurality of piezoelectric elements 500. In FIG. 44, the second layer body 2200a comprising the plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 is formed into a cylinder and the division grooves 1500 are present therebetween. In FIG. 45, these division grooves 1500 are still present between the piezoelectric elements 500 and are simply covered by the transducer shape forming members 400a and 400b (i.e. reinforced thermosetting PPE members). Therefore, the examiner respectfully asserts that the ultrasound transducer 100 formed by the process described in FIGS. 43-45 still includes gaps that are filled by a gas.
The examiner therefore, refers the Applicant to the updated 102 rejection below.
Regarding newly added claims 25-32, the examiner respectfully refers the Applicant to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection section below.
Claim Objections
Claims 28 and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 28, as written it reads “The curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 24, wherein the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin to seal the gaps, and wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder”. However, claim 24, on which this claim depends it directed to “the method of claim 23”. Therefore, the examiner would recommend updating the dependency of claim 28 to be dependent from claim 25, for example.
Regarding claim 30, as written it reads “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gas filled gaps is less than 0.5 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius”. However, to avoid potential antecedent basis issues “the gas filled gaps” should be “the gaps”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17, 19-24, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, as written the claim reads “arranging the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure; and pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer over the support structure to curvilinearly shape the piezoelectric block and first acoustic matching layer”. However, there is a lack of antecedent basis for the term “the first acoustic matching layer”. Therefore, it is unclear what is being referred to by this term. Particularly, it is unclear whether the first acoustic matching layer is intended to be the same as or different from the “acoustic matching layer” listed earlier in the claim.
Regarding claims 17, 19-24 and 28, due to their dependence on claim 16, either directly or indirectly, these claims are subject to the reasoning provided therein. Furthermore, these claims do not provide additional information regarding the “first acoustic matching layer”. Thus, these claims are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 15-28, and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sawada et al. US 2007/0293762 A1 “Sawada”.
Regarding claim 1, Sawada teaches “A curvilinear ultrasound transducer for an endoscope, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer comprising:” (“An ultrasound endoscope comprising an electronic radial type ultrasonic transducer according to any of claims 1 through 6” [Claim 8]; “An electronic radial type ultrasonic transducer arraying, at even intervals in a cylindrical form, a plurality of ultrasonic transducer elements that transmit and receive an ultrasonic wave, and layering a plurality of acoustic matching layers, wherein a gap formed on the side face of the ultrasonic transducer element is approximately the same length as that of the space between the ultrasonic transducer elements” [Claim 6]; “Next is a description of an assembly process of the ultrasonic transducer 100 configured as described above by referring to FIGS. 35 through 47” [0240]. As shown in FIGS. 43, the ultrasonic transducer 100 is formed by first by cutting division grooves 1500 to produce piezoelectric elements 500. In FIGS. 44 and 45, the piezoelectric elements 500 are bent into a cylindrical form (i.e. a curvilinear ultrasound transducer). Therefore, the ultrasonic transducer 100 represents an electronic radial type (i.e. curvilinear) ultrasonic transducer (i.e. see claim 6) which is used within and ultrasound endoscope (i.e. see claim 8).).
“a plurality of ultrasound transducer elements made of a piezoelectric material” (See piezoelectric elements 500 in FIGS. 43-45, and “Note that the piezoelectric element 500 is formed by cutting a plate-formed piezoelectric ceramics such as lead zirconate titanate, lead titanate, barium titanate, or BNT-BS-ST, or piezoelectric crystallization (such as LiNbO.sub.3 or PZNT)” [0238]. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer includes a plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) made of a piezoelectric material (see [0238]).);
“a support structure having a curvilinear upper surface” (“The ultrasonic transducer 100 according to the present embodiment as shown in FIG. 28, being configured as a radial array type, primarily comprises an acoustic matching layer 200, a piezoelectric element (to be described later), a backing member 300 and an transducer shape forming member 400 (corresponding to the structure member 30a or frame member 1130), which is formed into a cylindrical shape” [0226]; “In order to form a cylindrical unit 2300, in the first step are prepared the second layer body 2200a and the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400A and 400B that are respectively formed into predetermined sizes by using fiber reinforced thermosetting PPE members, as shown in FIG. 45. Next, the second layer body 2200a is formed into a cylinder followed by the integral fixing, with a conductive adhesive, of the transducer shape forming member 400A onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a of the acoustic matching layer 200, as shown in FIG. 46” [0268]. As shown in FIG. 28, the ultrasound transducer 100 includes backing member 300 and transducer shape forming member 400 which cover the piezoelectric elements 500 (i.e. see FIG. 45). Therefore, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 (i.e. 400A/400B, see FIG. 45) represents a support structure having a curvilinear upper surface.).; and
“an acoustic matching layer, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the acoustic matching layer” (“In order to form the acoustic matching layer 200, in the first step the first acoustic matching layer 200a and second acoustic matching layer 200b are prepared” [0243]. As shown in FIG. 45, the transducer elements 500 are arranged in the middle or the device 2200a which also includes the acoustic matching layers 200a/200b. Furthermore, FIG. 46 shows the shape forming member 400A being inserted over the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer includes an acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b), the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure (i.e. shape forming member 400A/400B) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b).);
“wherein the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements comprises ultrasound transducer elements separated by gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements, wherein the gaps are filled by a gas” (“By the forming of a predetermined number of the division grooves 1500 in the second layer body 2200 at a predetermined pitch as shown in FIG. 43, the piezoelectric ceramics 1300, the board 700, the conductive film part 1400 and the first acoustic matching layer 200a are divided into a predetermined number of pieces, and thus changing the second layer body 2200 comprised a piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and a board 700 into a second layer body 2200a equipped with a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 and boards 700. That is, causing a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 to be arrayed on the second acoustic matching layer 200b having flexibility and constituting the acoustic matching layer 200” [0263]. As shown in FIG. 43, there are gaps between each of the piezoelectric elements 500. The act of forming gaps between piezoelectric elements 500, through cutting, creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps. Additionally, as shown in FIGS. 44-46, the division grooves 1500 are covered, but not filled, by the transducer shape forming member 400A. Therefore, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. piezoelectric elements 500) comprises ultrasound transducer elements separated by gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements, wherein the gaps are filled by a gas.).
Regarding claim 3, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “the acoustic matching layer is comprised of acoustic matching layer portions, and wherein each of the ultrasound transducer elements is provided with an acoustic matching layer portion from the acoustic matching layer portions” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the acoustic layer 200 includes first acoustic layer 200a and second acoustic layer 200b (i.e. which face each other), which cover the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the acoustic matching layer is comprised of acoustic matching layer portions and wherein each of the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) is provided with an acoustic matching layer portion from the acoustic matching layer portions.).
Regarding claim 4, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 3 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common acoustic matching layer facing the acoustic matching layer portions” (“The acoustic matching layer 200 is formed by layering the first acoustic matching layer 200a, which is hardened by using materials including a plastics member (such as epoxy series, silicone series, polyimide series, et cetera) mixed with powder or fibers (such as metal, ceramics, glass, et cetera), or materials including glass, machinable ceramics, silicon, or other such materials, and the second flexible acoustic matching layer 200b, which is made of a resin member (such as silicone, epoxy, PEEK (Registered Trademark), polyimide, polyether imide, polysulfone, polyether sulfone, fluorine series resin, et cetera), or an elastomer-like material. A board 700 is described later herein” [0227]. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic matching layer 200a is present within each of the piezoelectric elements 500 and is attached to the second flexible acoustic matching layer 200b. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200b) facing the acoustic matching layer portions (i.e. first acoustic matching layer 200a attached to corresponding piezoelectric elements 500).).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 4 and 1, above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts connected to an ultrasound transducer element of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (“As shown in FIG. 34, a board 700 that is formed into approximately the same thickness as the piezoelectric element 500 is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100. The board 700 is a three-dimensional board, alumina board, glass epoxy board, rigid flexible board, flexible board, or other such board, in which a conductive pattern 700a formed on the board 700 is electrically connected to the one-face-side electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500 by way of a conduction member 800 placed on the conductive pattern 700a and the face-side electrode 500a” [0237]. Therefore, since a board 700 (i.e. flexible board) is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100 (i.e. see FIG. 28) and is electrically connected to the electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts connected to an ultrasound transducer element (i.e. 500) of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. 700) arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure (i.e. 400) and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500), see FIG. 28).).
Regarding claims 6 and 9, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 5 and 8 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common ground electrode between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements and the acoustic matching layer” (“Next, the acoustic matching layer 200 is turned over, as shown in FIG. 38, the other-face-side electrode 500b of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 provided on the first acoustic matching layer 200a, in which state is fixed onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a (with an adhesive, not shown herein) the piezoelectric ceramics 1300” [0249]. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a).).
Regarding claim 7, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising a common acoustic matching layer facing the ultrasound transducer elements” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the acoustic layer 200 includes first acoustic layer 200a and second acoustic layer 200b which covers all the piezoelectric elements 500. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common acoustic layer (i.e. acoustic layer 200 containing layers 200a and 200b) facing the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500).).
Regarding claim 15, Sawada teaches “An endoscope comprising: an image sensor; and a curvilinear ultrasound transducer according to claim 1” (See claims 6 and 8 and paragraph [0240] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above and “FIG. 1 is a diagram showing a conventional ultrasound endoscope apparatus” [0010]; “FIG. 2 is an enlarged diagram of the dotted line frame H shown in FIG. 1“ [0015]; “As shown in FIG. 2, the head part 1040 comprises a camera part 1110 equipped with an ultra compact camera, illumination element, et cetera, and an ultrasonic wave part 1111 to be equipped with the radial system ultrasonic transducer array and/or other such device” [0016]. In this case, the ultrasonic transducer 100 represents a radial system ultrasonic transducer array which is attached to the head part 1040 shown in FIG. 2. Therefore, Sawada discloses an endoscope (see FIGS. 1 and 2) comprising an image sensor (i.e. camera part 1110) and a curvilinear ultrasound transducer (i.e. ultrasound transducer 100) according to claim 1.).
Regarding claim 16, Sawada teaches “A method of manufacturing the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 1, the method comprising:” (See [0240] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Therefore, the assembly process shown in FIGS. 35-47 represents a method of manufacturing the curvilinear ultrasound transducer of claim 1.);
“providing a piezoelectric block having an upper side and a lower side opposite to the upper side” (“As shown in FIG. [43], there are division grooves 1500 of a predetermined depth starting from the surface of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and the board 700, cutting through the first acoustic matching layer 200a constituting the acoustic matching layer 200, and reaching a part of the second acoustic matching layer 200b; these are made a predetermined width or predetermined form in a predetermined pitch in the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction by using cutting means such as a dicing saw or laser apparatus (neither is shown herein)” [0261]. The structure shown in FIG. 42 (i.e. including the piezoelectric ceramics layer 1300 and the acoustic matching layer 200) is provided before the division grooves 1500 are cut as shown in FIG. 43. Therefore, the method involves providing a piezoelectric block (i.e. piezoelectric ceramics 1300) having an upper side (i.e. 500a) and a lower side (i.e. 500b) opposite to the upper side.);
“cutting the piezoelectric block at a plurality of positions forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements separated by a plurality of gaps” ; “allowing the plurality of gaps to be filled with the gas” (“By the forming of a predetermined number of the division grooves 1500 in the second layer body 2200 at a predetermined pitch as shown in FIG. 43, the piezoelectric ceramics 1300, the board 700, the conductive film part 1400 and the first acoustic matching layer 200a are divided into a predetermined number of pieces, and thus changing the second layer body 2200 comprised a piezoelectric ceramics 1300 and a board 700 into a second layer body 2200a equipped with a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 and boards 700. That is, causing a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 to be arrayed on the second acoustic matching layer 200b having flexibility and constituting the acoustic matching layer 200” [0263]. As shown in FIG. 43, there are gaps between each of the piezoelectric elements 500. The act of forming gaps between piezoelectric elements 500, through cutting, creates openings which allow for a gas to automatically fill said gaps. Therefore, the method involves cutting the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) at a plurality of positions forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500), the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements separated by a plurality of gaps and allowing the plurality of gaps to be filled with the gas.).
“arranging the acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block” (See FIG. 43. As shown in this figure, the first acoustic matching layer 200a and the second acoustic matching layer 200b are arranged on one side of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 (i.e. the piezoelectric block). The examiner notes that the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure is turned over then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block.);
“arranging the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure”; and “pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer with the support structure to curvilinearly shape the piezoelectric block and first acoustic matching layer” (“FIG. 44 is a diagram showing the deformation of a second layer body that has a plurality of piezoelectric elements” [0130]; “Therefore, the second layer body 2200a comprising a plurality of piezoelectric elements 500 can be formed into a cylindrical form as shown in FIG. 44 by bending the second layer body 2200 with placing the second acoustic matching layer 200b on the outermost circumference” [0264]; “In order to form a cylindrical unit 2300, in the first step are prepared the second layer body 2200a and the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400a and 400b that are respectively formed into predetermined sizes by using fiber reinforced thermosetting PPE members, as shown in FIG. 45” [0268]. In this case, in order for the second layer body 2200a containing the first and second acoustic matching layers 200a/200b arranged on piezoelectric element 1300 (i.e. piezoelectric block), as shown in FIG. 43, to be formed into a curvilinear shape as shown in FIG. 44 and FIG. 45, a pressure element must necessarily be present. Therefore, the method involves arranging the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer between the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. to form the cylindrically formed transducer unit, see FIG. 45) of the support structure, and pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer with the support structure to curvilinearly shape the piezoelectric block and first acoustic matching layer (See FIGS. 44 and 45).).
Regarding claim 17, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed after cutting the piezoelectric block” (See FIG. 43. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic layer (i.e. specifically acoustic layer 200b of the layer 200) is arranged above the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) after the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) has been cut (i.e. by grooves 1500) forming the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements. As stated previously, the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure (i.e. FIG. 43) is turned over, then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block. Therefore, the method involves arranging the first acoustic matching facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed after cutting the piezoelectric block.).
Regarding claims 18 and 25-26, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claims 1, 16 and 25, respectively, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the gaps are filled with atmospheric air” (Claim 18); “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are filled entirely of gas” (Claim 25); “wherein the gas consists of atmospheric air” (Claim 26) (See [0263] as discussed in claim 16 above. In this case, when cutting is executed, atmospheric air automatically enters the gaps created thereby. Thus, the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) are filled entirely with gas, wherein the gas consists of atmospheric air.).
Regarding claim 19, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein cutting the piezoelectric block forms the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and wherein the acoustic matching layer is arranged facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (See [0263] and [0264] as discussed with respect to claim 16 above. As shown in FIG. 43, the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200 including 200a/200b) faces the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500). Therefore, the cutting of the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) forms the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and wherein the acoustic matching layer is arranged facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500).).
Regarding claim 20, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 19 above, and Sawada further teaches “further comprising arranging a common ground electrode facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, and after arranging the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (“Next, the acoustic matching layer 200 is turned over, as shown in FIG. 38, the other-face-side electrode 500b of the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 provided on the first acoustic matching layer 200a, in which state is fixed onto the first acoustic matching layer 200a (with an adhesive, not shown herein) the piezoelectric ceramics 1300” [0249]. Therefore, the other-face-side electrode 500b is placed on the ground electrode 600 (i.e. common ground electrode, see FIG. 38) facing the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. piezoelectric elements 500). Additionally, after arranging the common ground electrode (i.e. 600), the method involves arranging the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. see first acoustic matching layer 200a in FIG. 43) facing the common ground electrode.).
Regarding claim 21, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block is performed before cutting the piezoelectric block” (See [0263] as discussed with respect to claim 16 above. As stated previously, the term “upper side” is a spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under. If the figure (i.e. FIG. 43) is turned over, then the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a/200b) is arranged facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block. Additionally, as shown in FIG. 43, the grooves 1500 are included within the first acoustic layer 200a. Therefore, the method must include the arranging of the first acoustic matching layer facing the upper side of the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) is performed before cutting the piezoelectric block.).
Regarding claim 22, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 21 above, and Sawada further teaches “the method further comprising arranging a common ground electrode facing the piezoelectric block and, after the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer facing the common ground electrode” (See [0249] as discussed in claim 20 above. Therefore, since the other-face-side electrode 500b is placed at a prescribed position on the ground electrode 600 (see FIG. 38) and the first acoustic matching layer 200a is provided in connection with the ground electrode (see FIG. 38), the method further comprises arranging a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) facing the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) and after the common ground electrode, arranging the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a) facing the common ground electrode.).
Regarding claim 23, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 16 above, and Sawada further teaches “the method further comprising: providing a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts being connectable to an ultrasound transducer element of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (“As shown in FIG. 34, a board 700 that is formed into approximately the same thickness as the piezoelectric element 500 is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100. The board 700 is a three-dimensional board, alumina board, glass epoxy board, rigid flexible board, flexible board, or other such board, in which a conductive pattern 700a formed on the board 700 is electrically connected to the one-face-side electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500 by way of a conduction member 800 placed on the conductive pattern 700a and the face-side electrode 500a” [0237]. Therefore, since a board 700 (i.e. flexible board) is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100 (i.e. see FIG. 28) and is electrically connected to the electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500, the method further comprises providing a flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts being connectable to an ultrasound transducer element (i.e. 500) of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (see FIG. 43).); and
“attaching the flexible electrical circuit to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before pressing the piezoelectric block and the first acoustic matching layer onto the support structure” (See [0237], See FIGS. 34 and 43-45. In this case, FIG. 34, shows the connection between the board 700 and the piezoelectric element 500a, before it is formed into a cylindrical shape. As shown in FIG. 43, the electrical contacts 500a and 500b (i.e. wherein) are attached to the piezoelectric block 1300 before pressing the piezoelectrical block and the first acoustic matching layer onto the support structure (i.e. to form the curvilinear shape shown in FIGS. 44 and 45. Therefore, the method involves attaching the flexible electrical circuit to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before pressing the piezoelectric block (i.e. 1300) and the first acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a) onto the support structure (i.e. 400a/400b).).
Regarding claim 24, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 23 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the flexible electrical circuit is attached to the lower side of the piezoelectric block before the piezoelectric block has been cut, and wherein cutting of the piezoelectric block electrically insulates the plurality of first electrical contacts” (See [0263] as disclosed in claim 16 above. As shown in FIG. 43, the division grooves 1500 travel through the conductive film part 1400, the electrodes 500a and 500b (i.e. of the flexible electrical circuit), the piezoelectric ceramics 1300 (i.e. piezoelectric block) and the first acoustic matching layer 200a. In order for the division groove 1500 to pass through the electrodes 500a/500b, the flexible electrical circuit is attached to the lower side (i.e. lower side is spatial relative term, which is dependent on the orientation of the figure can encompass both an orientation of over and under) of the piezoelectric block before the piezoelectric block has been cut. Additionally, the act of cutting the piezoelectric block, electrically insulates the plurality of the first electrical contacts (i.e. by creating multiple piezoelectric elements 500 each respective electrodes 500a, 500b).).
Regarding claim 27, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 26 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases” (See [0268] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. In this case, since the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400A and 400B are provided over the piezoelectric elements 500 and consequently the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), these shape forming members 400A and 400B seal the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements. Thus, the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases.).
Regarding claim 28, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 24 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin to seal the gaps, and wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder” (“The backing member 300 may be made of various materials such as a resin member (such as epoxy, silicone, polyimide, polyether imide, polyetherether ketone (PEEK), urethane, or fluorine), an elastomer material (such as a chloroprene elastomer, propylene series elastomer, butadiene series elastomer, urethane series elastomer, silicone series elastomer, or fluorine series elastomer), or these resin materials or elastomer materials mixed with the filler of a single material or a plurality of materials and/or forms consisting of powder, fiber or hollow particles constituted by a metal such as tungsten, ceramics (such as alumina, zirconia, silica, tungsten oxide, piezoelectric ceramic powder, or ferrite), glass, resin, or other such materials” [0239]. As shown in FIG. 28, the backing member 300 and the transducer shape forming member 400 cover the piezoelectric elements 500 along with the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), (see FIG. 45). Thus, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 represents a support structure. Therefore, the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin (i.e. within the backing member 300 (see FIG. 28)), to seal the gaps (i.e. division grooves 1500, see FIG. 43-45) and wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder (see [0239]).
Regarding claim 31, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin to seal the gaps” (See [0239] as discussed with respect to claim 28 above. As shown in FIG. 28, the backing member 300 and the transducer shape forming member 400 cover the piezoelectric elements 500 along with the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), (see FIG. 45). Thus, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 represents a support structure. Therefore, the ultrasound transducer elements are encapsulated in an epoxy resin (i.e. within the backing member 300 (see FIG. 28)), to seal the gaps (i.e. division grooves 1500, see FIG. 43-45).).
Regarding claim 32, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the support structure is comprised of epoxy and tungsten powder” (See [0226] as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and [0239] as discussed with respect to claim 28 above. As shown in FIG. 28, the ultrasound transducer 100 includes backing member 300 and transducer shape forming member 400 which cover the piezoelectric elements 500 (i.e. see FIG. 45). Therefore, the backing member 300 in combination with the transducer shape forming member 400 (i.e. 400A/400B, see FIG. 45) represents a support structure. In this case, since the backing member 300 is part of the support structure and is made of various material such as a resin member (i.e. such as epoxy) or resin material mixed with the filler of a single material or a plurality of materials and/or forms consisting of powder constituted by a metal such as tungsten, the support structure is comprised on epoxy and tungsten powder.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, and 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawada et al. US 2007/0293762 A1 “Sawada”.
Regarding claim 2, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the ultrasound transducer further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer, the acoustic lens being formed as a single element” (“FIG. 7 is an enlarged diagram of the head part 3 of the ultrasound endoscope 1 shown in FIG. 6. The head part 3 is equipped with an ultrasonic transducer 10 (or an ultrasonic transducer array) enabling electronic radial type scanning, and an inclined part 12 is formed between the bendable part 4 and the ultrasonic transducer 10. The ultrasonic transducer 10 is covered with a material, forming an acoustic lens 11” [0142]. Although the acoustic lens 11 is shown with respect to an embodiment that incorporates ultrasonic transducer 10, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the acoustic lens 11 within the ultrasound transducer 100 in order to enable electronic radial type scanning.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada in order to facilitate the focusing of an acoustic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100. An acoustic lens is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to focus an acoustic/ultrasonic signal to a specific location with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of facilitating the focusing of an acoustic/ultrasonic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100.
Regarding claim 10, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprising an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer” (See [0142] as discussed in claim 2 above. As shown in FIG. 7, the head part 3 of the ultrasound endoscope 1 includes an ultrasonic transducer 10 with an acoustic lens 11. Although the acoustic lens 11 is shown with respect to an embodiment that incorporates ultrasonic transducer 10, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the acoustic lens 11 within the ultrasound transducer 100 in order to enable electronic radial type scanning.);
“a flexible electrical circuit comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts connected to an ultrasound transducer element of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements” (See [0237] as discussed with respect to claims 5 and 8 above. Therefore, since a board 700 (i.e. flexible board) is placed adjacent to the other end side of the ultrasonic transducer 100 (i.e. see FIG. 28) and is electrically connected to the electrode 500a of the piezoelectric element 500, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) comprising first electrical contacts, each of the first electrical contacts connected to an ultrasound transducer element (i.e. 500) of the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements, the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. 700) arranged between the curvilinear upper surface of the support structure (i.e. 400) and the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500), see FIG. 28).).; and
“a common ground electrode between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements and the acoustic matching layer” (See [0249] as discussed in claims 6 and 9 above. Therefore, the curvilinear ultrasound transducer further comprises a common ground electrode (i.e. 600) between the plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) and the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200a).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada in order to facilitate the focusing of an acoustic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100. An acoustic lens is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to focus an acoustic/ultrasonic signal to a specific location with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that it further comprises an acoustic lens facing the acoustic matching layer (i.e. 200), the acoustic lens being formed as a single element (i.e. 11) as disclosed in the embodiment referring to FIG. 7 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of facilitating the focusing of an acoustic/ultrasonic signal emitted from the ultrasound transducer 100.
Regarding claim 11, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 10 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the flexible electrical circuit further comprises a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors, each first flexible electrical conductor of the plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts” (“The surface of the flange 52 is equipped with a flexible printed circuit (FPC) board, of which the surface is equipped with several tens to hundreds of electrode pads 51. Furthermore, a cable bundle 62 is internally led though the cylindrical structure member 50 and its tip is soldered to each electrode pad 51 (i.e., the cable 62 is connected by soldering on the inside (i.e., toward the center of circle) of the electrode pad 51). Note that the cable 62 is usually a coaxial cable for noise reduction” [0157]. Therefore, the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. FPC board) further comprises a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors (i.e. cable bundles 62), each first flexible electrical conductor of the plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts (i.e. electrode pads 51).);
“wherein the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a first curve section and at a second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section” (See FIG. 15. As shown in FIG. 15, the cable bundle 62 bends through the opening of the circular flange 52 such that it connects the electrode pads 51 and bends around the entire internal surface of the cylinder part 53 (i.e. the support structure forming the ultrasound transducer). Therefore, the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at a first curve section (i.e. to attach to the electrode pad on the flange 52) and at a second curve section (i.e. curved around the internal area of the cylinder part 53), the first curve section being separate from the second curve section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first flexible electrical conductors are bend around the support structure at a first curve section and at a second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada in order to allow the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements. Including flexible electrical conductors which are configured to bend around a support structure in an ultrasound transducer is one of a finite number of configurations which can provide electrical connection between components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first flexible electrical conductors are bend around the support structure at a first curve section and at a second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of allowing the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 12, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 11 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section” (See FIG. 15. As shown in FIG. 15, the cable bundle 62 bends through the opening of the circular flange 52 such that it connects the electrode pads 51 and bends around the entire internal surface of the cylinder part 53 (i.e. the support structure forming the ultrasound transducer). Therefore, device includes a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bend around the support structure at the first curve section (i.e. such that the cable bundles 62 connect to the electrode pads 51) and a second group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section (i.e. the inner surface of the cylinder part 53), the first curve section being separate from the second curve section.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and s second group of the first flexible conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada in order to allow the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements. Including flexible electrical conductors which are configured to bend around a support structure in an ultrasound transducer is one of a finite number of configurations which can provide electrical connection between components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein a first group of the first flexible electrical conductors are bent around the support structure at the first curve section and s second group of the first flexible conductors are bent around the support structure at the second curve section, the first curve section being separate from the second curve section as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of allowing the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 13, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge” (See FIG. 15. Therefore, the first curve section (i.e. connecting the cable 62 to the electrode pads 51) extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. of flange 52) and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. within the inner surface of the cylinder part 53 of the circular flange 52), the first edge being opposite the second edge.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada in order to allow the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements. Including flexible electrical conductors which are configured to bend around a support structure in an ultrasound transducer is one of a finite number of configurations which can provide electrical connection between components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first curve section extends along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface and the second curve section extends along a second edge of the curvilinear upper surface, the first edge being opposite the second edge as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of allowing the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 14, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 12 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface” (See FIG. 15. As shown in FIG. 15, the cable bundle 62 bends through the opening of the circular flange 52 such that it connects the electrode pads 51 and bends around the entire internal surface of the cylinder part 53 (i.e. the support structure forming the ultrasound transducer). Therefore, the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge (i.e. at the entrance of the internal surface of the cylinder part 53) of the curvilinear upper surface (i.e. of the flange 52).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada in order to allow the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements. Including flexible electrical conductors which are configured to bend around a support structure in an ultrasound transducer is one of a finite number of configurations which can provide electrical connection between components with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the curvilinear ultrasound transducer 100 of Sawada such that the flexible electrical circuit (i.e. board 700) includes a plurality of first flexible electrical conductors being electrically connected to a first electrical contact of the first electrical contacts, wherein the first curve section and the second curve section extend along a first edge of the curvilinear upper surface as disclosed in FIG. 15 of Sawada would yield the predictable result of allowing the electrical conductors to make effective electrical contact with the ultrasound transducer elements.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 24 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are filled entirely of the gas, wherein the gaps are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases,” (See [0263] as discussed in claim 16 above and [0268] as discussed in claim 1 above. In this case, when cutting is executed, atmospheric air automatically enters the gaps created thereby. Thus, the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) are filled entirely of the gas, wherein the gas consists of atmospheric air.
Furthermore, since the cylindrically formed transducer shape forming members 400A and 400B are provided over the piezoelectric elements 500 and consequently the division grooves 1500 (i.e. gaps), these shape forming members 400A and 400B seal the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements. Thus, the gaps are sealed to prevent gas pressure increases.) and
However, Sawada does not teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 1 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius”.
Furthermore, no prior art references were found to teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 1 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius” alone or in combination with the other limitations of claim 29..
Therefore, claim 29 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 30, Sawada discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Sawada further teaches “wherein the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements are filled entirely of gas” (See [0263] as discussed in claim 16 above and [0268] as discussed in claim 1 above. In this case, when cutting is executed, atmospheric air automatically enters the gaps created thereby. Thus, the gaps between the ultrasound transducer elements (i.e. 500) are filled entirely of the gas, wherein the gas consists of atmospheric air.); and
However, Sawada does not teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gas filled gaps is less than 0.5 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius”.
Furthermore, no prior art references were found to teach “wherein a gas pressure of the gas in the gaps is less than 0.5 atmosphere at a temperature of 20 degrees Celsius” alone or in combination with the other limitations of claim 30.
Therefore, claim 30 would appear to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797