Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/19/2024 and 03/18/2024 were considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and 18 recites the limitation "first mechanical structure", "first container electrical input", "first container electrical output", "the second container", "second mechanical structure", "second container electrical input". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984 A1) in view of Rogers (US 2022/0069762 A1) and in further view of Bhat (US 2021/0104851 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Albertella teaches a mobile power generation system comprising:
a first container (see Albertella fig 21 element 300):
configured for one or more of housing, transportation, or deployment of at least one photovoltaic (PV) system (see Albertella para 111, “array installation 300 is in the shape of a shipping container and has a length that is, for example, an integer fraction of a standard shipping container”);
the at least one PV system within the first container (see Albertella fig 21 element 1000, fig 22 element 100, and para 111);
first mechanical structure for shipping of the at least one PV subsystem (see Albertella fig 21-22 element 300 and para 111);
and first container electrical input configured to electrically connect with the at least one PV subsystem after deployment (see Albertella para 113, “Electrical extension cables known in the solar panel industry connect the solar panels to one another, connect the solar panel arrays 100 to one another, and connect the proximal solar panel array 100 to an electrical installation, such as the installation 300 shown in FIGS. 21 to 26”, and para 133 as the solar panels can be electrically connected to the container and the container act as a connection hub); and
first container electrical output configured to electrically connect to a second container (see Albertella para 133, as the containers are able to be linked to the electrical systems including a battery storage system);
the second container (see Albertella fig 24-25 element 400 and para 114):
configured for one or more of housing, transportation, or deployment of at least one battery subsystem (see Albertella para 114 “20′ PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”);
the at least one battery subsystem within the second shipping container (see Albertella para 114 “20′ PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”);
second mechanical structure for shipping of the at least one battery subsystem (see Albertella fig 24 element 400 and para 114);
second container electrical input configured to electrically connect with the first container electrical output (see Albertella para 133, as the containers in the first container can act as a connection hub);
at least one power conversion system (PCS) for shipping within at least one of the first container or the second container (see Albertella para 114, “PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power, an HVAC unit for maintaining the controller at a desired internal temperature, and a power conversion system for safe distribution of the stored and generated power”), wherein the at least one PCS is electrically wired to the at least one chassis in at least one of the first container or the second container prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site (see Albertella para 114,” this 10′ microgrid can be connected to a 10′ array installation 300 to form a 20′ container that is easily transported by a single truck”, and para 131-132 )
Albertella is silent on teaching the first container chassis including a metal portion and configured to connect to a stake for insertion into earth to establish earth ground at the deployment site for the at least one chassis; the second container chassis including a metal portion for electrical connection to the earth ground at the deployment site; wherein at least one of the first container or the second container comprises at least one load output connector integrated in or positioned on at least one side of the first container or the second container, the at least one load output connector being electrically wired to the at least one PCS prior to shipment of the first container or the second container to the deployment site and configured to transmit AC power to a load electrically connected to the at least one load output connector.
However, Rogers teaches a battery energy storage system that includes output connectors to deliver power to a load (see Rogers Figs. 6-7 element 328 and Paragraph 37)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella to include the power output connections from Rogerson the outside of the container to make setup easier by allowing the connections to made on the outside instead of running the cables through the door or walls of the container.
But, the combination of Albertella and Rogers are silent on teaching a container chassis includes a metal portion and configured to connect to a stake for insertion into earth to establish earth ground at the deployment site for the at least one chassis; or the second container chassis including a metal portion for electrical connection to the earth ground at the deployment site.
However, Bhat teaches a power conversion system which can require a grounding stake connection to earth (see Bhat para 28 and 37), which could be combined with the teachings of Albertella and Rogers to create a metal connection point on each container to provide a path to earth ground.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Rogers to include the grounding stake in Bhat to provide a path to ground the equipment and provide a path to dissipate a buildup of static electricity and comply with safety requirments.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery subsystem is electrically wired to the at least one PCS (see Albertella para 133, “the user elects to integrate all electrical systems (e.g., inverter, power management system, and batteries) in the container”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 3, but is silent on teaching the power generation system further comprising a DC bus wired within at least one of the first container or the second container; and wherein both the at least one battery subsystem and the at least one PCS are electrically wired to DC bus prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site.
However, Rogers teaches a power generation system comprising a DC bus wired (see Rogers fig 6-7 and para 31) within at least one of the first container or the second container; and wherein both the at least one battery subsystem and the at least one PCS are electrically wired to DC bus prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site (see Rogers fig 6-7 element 306 and para 31).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teaching of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat to include the DC bus from Rogers to create a modular DC bus power that could allow more battery modules or solar panels to be connected to the system.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 4, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the power generation system further comprising at least one DC input connector integrated in or positioned on the at least one side of at least one of the first container or the second container, the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the DC bus prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container and the second container to the deployment site and configured to transmit DC power, generated by the at least one PV subsystem deployed at the deployment site and electrically cabled to the at least one DC input connector, to the at least one PCS via the DC bus.
However, Rogers teaches further comprising at least one DC input connector integrated in or positioned on the at least one side of at least one of the first container or the second container (See Rogers Fig 7 element 328 with the “12Vdc” power line and Figs. 1-4 which it is inherent that the solar panels have an electrical connection to the MPPT controller inside the container.), the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the DC bus prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container and the second container to the deployment site and configured to transmit DC power (See Rogers Fig 7 element 328 with the “12Vdc” power line and Figs. 1-4 which it is inherent that the solar panels have an electrical connection to the MPPT controller inside the container.), generated by the at least one PV subsystem deployed at the deployment site and electrically cabled to the at least one DC input connector, to the at least one PCS via the DC bus (See Rogers Figs 6-7 element 306).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the DC power connections from Rogers to allow a convenient DC connection points to connect the PV panels or other power storage systems.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 4, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching a power generation system further comprising an AC bus electrically wired within at least one of the first container or the second container; wherein both the at least one PCS and the at least one load output connector are electrically wired to the AC bus prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site; and wherein the AC bus is electrically wired to the at least one chassis of the at least one of the first container or the second container.
However, Rogers teaches a power generation system further comprising an AC bus electrically wired within at least one of the first container or the second container (See Rogers Figure 6-7 “AC Bus”); wherein both the at least one PCS and the at least one load output connector are electrically wired to the AC bus prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site (See Rogers Fig. 6-7 “AC Bus”); and wherein the AC bus is electrically wired to the at least one chassis of the at least one of the first container or the second container (See Rogers Figure 6-7 328 “Outdoor Power Hub” and “AC Outlets”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the AC power bus and connections to teach a way to deliver power from the components inside the containers to the outside where a load can be connected to.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 1, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching further comprising one or more power meters positioned in or on at least one of the first container or the second container; wherein the one or more power meters are electrically wired prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site so that power input or power output sensed by the one or more power meters at the deployment site is used to control operation of or by the at least one PCS; and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the at least one PCS is configured to control power in at least a part of the mobile power generation system based on one or both of:the one or more power meters sensing the power input from a generator or other source of power; or the one or more power meters sensing the power output to at least one load.
However, Rogers teaches a mobile power generation system further comprising one or more power meters (See Rogers Paragraph 30, the MPPT charge controllers contains sensors that track power delivered to the load and batteries.) positioned in or on at least one container; wherein the one or more power meters are electrically wired (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 element 304) prior to shipment of at least one shipping containers to the deployment site so that power input or power output sensed by the one or more power meters at the deployment site is used to control operation of or by the at least one PCS (See Rogers Paragraph 30); and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the at least one PCS is configured to control power in at least a part of the mobile power generation system based on one or both of: the one or more power meters sensing the power input from a generator or other source of power; or the one or more power meters sensing the power output to at least one load (See Rogers Paragraph 30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the teachings of including power meters from Rogers to allow the controllers to track the power being generated and consumed to be able to alert an operator when there is an insufficient amount of energy to continue powering a load.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 1, wherein the second container includes at least one DC input connector integrated in or positioned on the at least one side of the first container (See Albertella Figs. 25 and Paragraphs 132-134).
But Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the at least one PCS prior to shipment of the first container and the second container to the deployment site and configured to transmit DC power, generated by the at least one PV subsystem deployed at the deployment site and electrically cabled to the at least one DC input connector, to the at least one PCS.
However, Rogers teaches the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the at least one PCS prior to shipment of the one or more shipping containers to the deployment site and configured to transmit DC power (See Rogers Fig 7 element 328 with the “12Vdc” power line and Figs. 1-4 which it is inherent that the solar panels have an electrical connection to the MPPT controller inside the container.), generated by the at least one PV subsystem deployed at the deployment site and electrically cabled to the at least one DC input connector, to the at least one PCS (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 30, 38)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the wiring of an input port being connected to the input power to the power conversion system components to make it simple to connect the PV panels to the power conversion components instead of having to run the DC cables to different components inside a container.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 16, wherein the first container (See Albertella Abstract, Figs. 21-23 and 25-26) includes at least one deployment system configured to remove the at least one PV subsystem from the second container (See Albertella Abstract, Figs 21-23 and 25-26 and Paragraphs 9-10) and to deploy the at least one PV subsystem at the deployment site (See Albertella Abstract, Figs 21-23 and 25-26 and Paragraphs 9-10).
Regarding Claim 18, Albetella teaches a method of configuring a renewable hybrid energy system after shipment, the method comprising:
after transporting a first container and a second container to a deployment site
a first container (see Albertella fig 21 element 300):
configured for one or more of housing, transportation, or deployment of at least one photovoltaic (PV) system (see Albertella para 111, “array installation 300 is in the shape of a shipping container and has a length that is, for example, an integer fraction of a standard shipping container”);
the at least one PV system within the first container (see Albertella fig 21 element 1000, fig 22 element 100, and para 111);
first mechanical structure for shipping of the at least one PV subsystem (see Albertella fig 21-22 element 300 and para 111);
and first container electrical input configured to electrically connect with the at least one PV subsystem after deployment (see Albertella para 113, “Electrical extension cables known in the solar panel industry connect the solar panels to one another, connect the solar panel arrays 100 to one another, and connect the proximal solar panel array 100 to an electrical installation, such as the installation 300 shown in FIGS. 21 to 26”, and para 133 as the solar panels can be electrically connected to the container and the container act as a connection hub); and
first container electrical output configured to electrically connect to a second container (see Albertella para 133, as the containers are able to be linked to the electrical systems including a battery storage system);
the second container (see Albertella fig 24-25 element 400 and para 114):
configured for one or more of housing, transportation, or deployment of at least one battery subsystem (see Albertella para 114 “20′ PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”);
the at least one battery subsystem within the second shipping container (see Albertella para 114 “20′ PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”);
second mechanical structure for shipping of the at least one battery subsystem (see Albertella fig 24 element 400 and para 114);
second container electrical input configured to electrically connect with the first container electrical output (see Albertella para 133, as the containers in the first container can act as a connection hub);
at least one power conversion system (PCS) for shipping within at least one of the first container or the second container (see Albertella para 114, “PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power, an HVAC unit for maintaining the controller at a desired internal temperature, and a power conversion system for safe distribution of the stored and generated power”);
removing the at least one PV subsystem from the first container (see Albertella fig 21-23 and para 114);
deploying the at least one PV subsystem (see Albertella fig 22-23 and para 114);
electrically connecting the at least one PV subsystem to the at least one PCS first container electrical input (see Albertella para 29 and 114).
Albertella is silent on teaching the first container chassis including a metal portion and configured to connect to a stake for insertion into earth to establish earth ground at the deployment site for the at least one chassis; the second container chassis including a metal portion for electrical connection to the earth ground at the deployment site; wherein at least one of the first container or the second container comprises a container electrical output configured to connect with at least one external load; and electrically connecting the at least one external load to the container electrical output at least one load output connector for the at least one PCS to route AC power to the load.
However, Bhat teaches a power conversion system which can require a grounding stake connection to earth (see Bhat para 28 and 37), which could be combined with the teachings of Albertella and Rogers to create a metal connection point on each container to provide a path to earth ground.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Rogers to include the grounding stake in Bhat to provide a path to ground the equipment and provide a path to dissipate a buildup of static electricity and comply with safety requirments.
The combination of Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching at least one of the first container or the second container comprises a container electrical output configured to connect with at least one external load; and electrically connecting the at least one external load to the container electrical output at least one load output connector for the at least one PCS to route AC power to the load.
However, Rogers teaches a container comprises a container electrical output configured to connect with at least one external load (see Rogers fig 7 element 328 and para 36-37); and electrically connecting the at least one external load to the container electrical output at least one load output connector for the at least one PCS to route AC power to the load (see Rogers fig 7 element 328 and para 36-37).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the connection from the power converters to a convenient power connector to supply power to a load outside of the containers to make setup of the power generation system easier.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 18, wherein the first container includes at least one DC input connector integrated in or positioned on the at least one side of the first container (See Albertella Figs. 25 and Paragraphs 132-134).
Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the at least one PCS; and further comprising connecting a cable from the deployed at least one PV subsystem to the at least one DC input connector in order for the at least one PCS to receive power generated by the at least one PV subsystem.
However, Rogers teaches the at least one DC input connector electrically wired to the at least one PCS (See Rogers Fig 7 element 328 with the “12Vdc” power line and Figs. 1-4 which it is inherent that the solar panels have an electrical connection to the MPPT controller inside the container.), generated by the at least one PV subsystem deployed at the deployment site and electrically cabled to the at least one DC input connector, to the at least one PCS (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 30, 38)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the wiring of an input port being connected to the input power to the power conversion system components to make it simple to connect the PV panels to the power conversion components instead of having to run the DC cables to different components inside a container.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the second container further includes the at least one DC input connector integrated in or positioned on the at least one side of the second container (See Albertella Figs. 25 and Paragraphs 132-134).
But, Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the cable is connected from the deployed at least one PV subsystem to the at least one DC input connector on the second container
However, Rogers teaches a cable is connected from the deployed at least one PV subsystem to the at least one DC input connector on the second container (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 and paragraphs 30, 38).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the cable connecting the PV panels to the power conversion components in the second container to allow the DC power to be consumed.
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 20, wherein the first container includes at least one deployment system configured to remove the at least one PV subsystem from the first container and to deploy the at least one PV subsystem at the deployment site (See Albertella Abstract, Figs 21-23 and 25-26 and Paragraphs 9-10); andwherein the deployment system from the first container is used to remove and deploy the at least one PV subsystem at the deployment site (See Albertella Abstract, Figs 21-23 and 25-26 and Paragraphs 9-10).
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 19, but is silent on teaching connecting the cable from the deployed at least one PV subsystem to the at least one DC input connector results in the at least one PCS receiving the power generated by the at least one PV subsystem without additional connection of cabling needed since the at least one DC input connector was previously electrically connected to the at least one PCS prior to shipping.
However, Rogers teaches further comprising at connecting the cable from the deployed at least one PV subsystem to the at least one DC input connector results in the at least one PCS receiving the power generated by the at least one PV subsystem without additional connection of cabling needed since the at least one DC input connector was previously electrically connected to the at least one PCS prior to shipping (See Rogers Figs 6-7 element 306 and para 30-36, the DC bus connects the various components without the need to connect them after shipping).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the method of only having to connect the PV panels to the containers from Rogers to reduce the number of cables to connect during setup, thus reducing the setup time.
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 22, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the at least one battery subsystem, upon being powered at the deployment site, immediately supplies power to the at least one PCS due to the at least one battery subsystem being previously electrically wired to the at least one PCS prior to shipping of the first container and the second container.
However, Rogers teaches the at least one battery subsystem, upon being powered at the deployment site, immediately supplies power to the at least one PCS due to the at least one battery subsystem being previously electrically wired to the at least one PCS prior to shipping of the container (see fig 7 and para 38, “The battery bank 308 stores energy produced by panels 108 when the panels 108 are exposed to the sun, and supplies energy to DC bus 306 when the panels are not exposed to the sun (e.g., at night, during cloudy conditions, etc.)”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the batteries being able to supply power without the need to connect any extra cables. This would allow the batteries to be used to power a load without having to deploy the PV panels.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 23, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching at least one of the first container or the second container is the are shipped with an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) resident therein; wherein, prior to shipment of the first container and the second container, the UPS is electrically wired to one or more electronic devices within the at least one of the first container or the second container; and wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, the UPS supplies power to the at least one battery subsystem without any further electrical connections being performed.
Although, Albertella does state that “20′ PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”, it does not state that it is pre-connected.
However, Rogers teaches a container is shipped with an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) resident therein (see Rogers para 31-32 and 38); wherein, prior to shipment of the first container and the second container, the UPS is electrically wired to one or more electronic devices within the at least one of the first container or the second container (see Rogers para 31-35); and wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, the UPS supplies power to the at least one battery subsystem without any further electrical connections being performed (see Rogers para 31-32 and 38).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the teaching of using the battery banks from Rogers to power a load without needing to install any extra hardware, thus reducing initial setup time.
Regarding Claim 25, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 24, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the UPS supplies power to control electronics resident within the at least one of the first container or the second container; and wherein, prior to shipment of the first container and the second container, the control electronics is electrically wired to the at least one battery subsystem; and wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, the UPS supplies power via the control electronics to the at least one battery subsystem without any further electrical connections being performed.
However, Rogers teaches a UPS supplies power to control electronics resident within the one or more shipping containers (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 elements 310, 312 and Paragraph 30, 33-34, 36); and wherein, prior to shipment of the one or more shipping containers, the control electronics is electrically wired to the at least one battery subsystem (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 elements 310, 312 and Paragraph 30, 33-34, 36); and wherein, after arrival of the one or more shipping containers at the deployment site, the UPS supplies power via the control electronics to the at least one battery subsystem without any further electrical connections being performed (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 elements 310, 312 and Paragraph 30, 33-34, 36).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the teachings of Albertella to teach the use of a battery backup to supply power to the control electronics when the power is off.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984 A1) in view of Rogers (US 2022/0069762 A1) and Bhat (US 2021/0104851 A1) and in further view of Beaston (US 2016/0141894).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 6, but Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching a power generation system further comprising at least one input connector electrically integrated in or positioned on the at least one exterior side of at least one of the first container or the second container; and wherein the at least one input connector is electrically wired to the AC bus prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site and configured to receive AC power generated by a generator.
However, Rogers teaches a power generation system further comprising at least one input connector electrically integrated in or positioned on the at least one exterior side of at least one of the first container or the second container (See Rogers Fig. 6-7 “AC Input Bus”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the AC Input Bus from Rogers to teach a way to connect a generator to the system and be able to supply power when the PV panels and batteries are not able to supply enough power.
But, Albertella, Rogers and Bhat are silent on teaching a power generation system further comprising the at least one input connector is electrically wired to the AC bus prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site and configured to receive AC power generated by a generator.
However, Beaston teaches the art of at least one input connector electrically wired to the AC bus prior to shipment of the one or more shipping containers to the deployment site and configured to receive AC power generated by a generator (See Beaston Fig. 11 element 1104, Paragraph 138).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat to incorporate the teachings of Beaston to create a solar powered energy storage system that incorporates a fuel-based generator to maintain power when there is a lack of solar energy to power the electrical devices. Furthermore, in Rogers, an AC input bus could be used to input power from a fuel-based generator.
Claim(s) 8, 10, 13-14 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984 A1) in view of Rogers (US 2022/0069762 A1) and Bhat (US 2021/0104851 A1) and in further view of Hendrix (US 2014/0097797 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 1, further comprising control electronics for shipping within at least one of the first container or the second container and storage at the deployment site within the at least of the first container or the second container (see Albertella fig 21-24 and para 114).
But Albertella and Bhat are silent on teaching the control electronics is configured for communication with one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem prior to shipment of the at least of the first container or the second container to the deployment site; and wherein the control electronics is configured to control the one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem during operation at the deployment site; and at least one display positioned on an exterior of at least one side of the at least one of the first container or the second container, wherein the at least one display is electrically wired to the control electronics prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site.
wherein the control electronics is configured for communication with one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem prior to shipment of the at least of the first container or the second container to the deployment site (See Rogers Fig. 6 element 326 and Paragraph 36); and
wherein the control electronics is configured to control the one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem during operation at the deployment site (See Rogers Paragraph 30 “Solar Charge Controller”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Albertella and Bhat to include the control electronics from Rogers to a way to control the system using a single system instead of each component having its own controls, thus making the different systems able to work together.
The combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat are silent on teaching at least one display positioned on an exterior of at least one side of the at least one of the first container or the second container, wherein the at least one display is electrically wired to the control electronics prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site.
However, Hendrix teaches an energy storage system with at least one display positioned on an exterior of at least one side of a container, wherein the at least one display is electrically wired to the control electronics prior to shipment to the deployment site (see Hendrix para 202-204 “the operator can review three voltage levels taken by the volt meters 732, 734, and 736 which are displayed on display panel 730 prior to entering the container 152”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella, Rogers and Bhat to include the external display from Hendrix to allow an operator to see the status of the systems without having to enter the container.
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 8, but Albertella, Bhat and Hendrix are silent on teaching a power generation system further comprising one or more sensors positioned within at least one of the first container or the second container; wherein the one or more sensors are configured for the communication with the control electronics prior to shipment of the at least the first container or the second container to the deployment site; and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the control electronics is configured to control at least a part of the mobile power generation system based on sensor readings generated by the one or more sensors and transmitted via the previously configured communication between the one or more sensors and the control electronics.
However, Rogers teaches a mobile power generation system further comprising one or more sensors positioned within at least one of the first container or the second container (See Rogers Paragraph 30 “Charge controller 304 regulates battery voltage and output current based on the amount of energy available from the PV array and state-of charge of the battery.” infers that sensors are used.); wherein the one or more sensors are configured for the communication with the control electronics prior to shipment of the at least the first container or the second container to the deployment site (See Rogers Figs. 6-7 element 326 and Paragraph 30, 36); and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the control electronics is configured to control at least a part of the mobile power generation system based on sensor readings generated by the one or more sensors and transmitted via the previously configured communication between the one or more sensors and the control electronics (See Rogers paragraphs 30 and 36).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella, Bhat and Hendrix to include the use of sensors from Rogers to allow the control systems to monitor and react to the performance of the different systems and protect itself.
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 8, further comprising an uninterruptible power supply (UPS) for shipping within the one or more shipping containers and storage at the deployment site within the one or more shipping containers (see Albertella para 114 “PowerStore™ controller 400 that has a battery for storage and backup power”); and wherein the UPS is electrically wired to the control electronics prior to shipment of the one or more shipping containers to the deployment site (see Albertella para 131-133, “a standalone power management (PM) device that connects to a diesel generator (hybrid application), or simply to a PM device and a battery, or both.”, The power management system can operate without power coming in from the PV panels and operate on battery power).
Furthermore, Rogers teaches the “battery bank 308 stores energy produced by panels 108 when the panels 108 are exposed to the sun, and supplies energy to DC bus 306 when the panels are not exposed to the sun (e.g., at night, during cloudy conditions, etc.).” (see Rogers para 38)
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 13, but Albertella, Bhat and Hendrix are silent on teaching wherein the UPS, via electrical wiring, is configured to supply power to the control electronics in order for the control electronics to route power from the at least one battery subsystem to the UPS.
However, Rogers teaches a power generation system, wherein the UPS, via electrical wiring, is configured to supply power to the control electronics (See Rogers Paragraph 30, 36) in order for the control electronics to route power from the at least one battery subsystem to the UPS (See Rogers Paragraph 31, 36 and 38 “Battery bank 308 stores energy produced by panels 108 when the panels 108 are exposed to the sun, and supplies energy to the DC bus 306”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella, Bhat and Hendrix to include the routing of power from Rogers to allow the system supply power to the control systems even when the PV panels are off.
Regarding Claim 26, the combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers teaches the method of claim 25, and prior to shipment of the first container and the second container, the control electronics is electrically wired to the at least one PCS; wherein, prior to shipment of the first container and the second container , the display is electrically wired to the control electronics; and wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, a user receives status of one or both of the at least one battery subsystem or the at least one PCS via the display without any further electrical connections being performed.
However, Rogers teaches prior to shipment of the container, the control electronics is electrically wired to the at least one PCS (see Rogers fig 6-7 element 322 and 304, and para 36); wherein, prior to shipment of the first container and the second container , the display is electrically wired to the control electronics (see Rogers fig 6-7 element 322 and 304, and para 36).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella and Bhat to include the teachings of Rogers to have the display for the control electronics pre-connected to simplify setup for a mobile power generation system.
The combination of Albertella, Bhat and Rogers are silent on the teaching of the one or more shipping containers includes a display on the at least one side; wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, a user receives status of one or both of the at least one battery subsystem or the at least one PCS via the display without any further electrical connections being performed.
However, Hendrix teaches a mobile power generation system with one or more shipping containers includes a display on the at least one side (see Hendrix para 202-204 “the operator can review three voltage levels taken by the volt meters 732, 734, and 736 which are displayed on display panel 730 prior to entering the container 152”); wherein, after arrival of the first container and the second container at the deployment site, a user receives status of one or both of the at least one battery subsystem or the at least one PCS via the display without any further electrical connections being performed (see Hendrix para 202-204 “the operator can review three voltage levels taken by the volt meters 732, 734, and 736 which are displayed on display panel 730 prior to entering the container 152”).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Albertella, Bhat and Rogers to include the pre-connected displays on the side of the container to allow an operator to easily read the status of the system without having to enter the container, thus making it easier to maintain the system.
Claim(s) 9 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albertella (US 2019/0006984 A1) in view of Rogers (US 2022/0069762 A1), Bhat (US 2021/0104851 A1) and Hendrix (US 2014/0097797 A1) and in further view of Beaston (US 2016/0141894 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 8, wherein the user interface is configured for communication with the control electronics (See Rogers paragraph 30 “MPPT 60-150 charge controller 304 regulates battery voltage and output current”) prior to shipment of the one of the first container or second container to the deployment site; and wherein the user interface (See Rogers paragraph 30 “MPPT 60-150 charge controller 304 regulates battery voltage and output current”) is configured to perform one or both of: output status of the one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem during operation at the deployment site (See Rogers paragraph 30 “MPPT 60-150 charge controller 304 regulates battery voltage and output current”); or input one or more commands in order to control at least one aspect of the mobile power generation system.
The combination of Rogers, Albertella and Marroquin is silent on the teachings of the mobile power generation system comprising a user interface integrated in or positioned on at least one side of the one or more shipping containers;
Beaston teaches the mobile power generation system comprising a user interface integrated in or positioned on at least one side of the one or more shipping containers (See Beaston Fig. 48B element 4808, and Paragraphs 323);
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Rogers, Albertella and Marroquin to incorporate the teachings of Beaston to create a solar powered energy storage system that includes a user interface mounted on one side. Furthermore, in figure 8 of Rogers, it appears to have a user interface mounted on the left wall of the container to make monitoring or controlling the systems of the energy storage system easier.
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 10, further comprising at least one fan;
The combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix are silent on the teachings of a mobile power generation system further comprising at least one fan; wherein the at least one fan is configured for communication with the control electronics prior to shipment of the at least one of the first container or the second container to the deployment site; wherein the one or more sensors comprises a temperature sensor; and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the control electronics is configured to control the fan based on temperature sensor readings generated by the temperature sensor and transmitted via the previously configured communication between the temperature sensor and the control electronics.
Beaston teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 10 further comprising at least one fan (See Beaston Fig 5 element 512, Paragraphs 83, 87,109, 152, 329, 331, 333); wherein the at least one fan is configured for communication with the control electronics (See Beaston Paragraph 87) prior to shipment of a shipping container to the deployment site; wherein the one or more sensors comprises a temperature sensor (See Beaston Paragraph 87); and wherein, after deployment at the deployment site, the control electronics is configured to control the fan based on temperature sensor readings generated by the temperature sensor and transmitted via the previously configured communication between the temperature sensor and the control electronics (See Beaston Paragraph 87).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Albertella, Rogers and Bhat to incorporate the teachings of Beaston to create a solar powered energy storage system that includes fans and temperature sensors to control said fans to remove excess heat during operation of the system.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat, Beaston and Hendrix teaches the mobile power generation system of claim 11, but Albertella, Rogers and Bhat are silent on teaching the display is configured for communication with the control electronics prior to shipment of the to the deployment site; wherein the user interface display is configured to perform one or both of: output status of the one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem during operation at the deployment site; or input one or more commands in order to control at least one aspect of the mobile power generation system; and wherein a single side of at least one of the first container or the second container includes a plurality of inlet and outlet vents and the user interface display.
However Beaston teaches an energy storage system, wherein the display is configured for communication with the control electronics prior to shipment of the to the deployment site (See Beaston Figs. 1, 10B, 20, 48B and Paragraphs 86,100); wherein the user interface display is configured to perform one or both of: output status of the one or both of the at least one PCS or the at least one battery subsystem during operation at the deployment site (See Beaston Figs. 1, 10B, 20, 48B and Paragraphs 86,100); or input one or more commands in order to control at least one aspect of the mobile power generation system; and wherein a single side of at least one of the first container or the second container includes a plurality of inlet and outlet vents and the user interface display (See Beaston Figs. 26A-D, 48B, 68 and Paragraphs 68, 152, 197, 329).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Albertella, Rogers, Bhat and Hendrix to incorporate the teachings of Beaston to create a solar powered energy storage system that includes a user interface mounted on one side to make monitoring or controlling the systems of the energy storage system easier.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA JAMES SWEET/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836