DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2023 was/were considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of claims 10 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The first and second vertical retaining features placed vertically along vertical edges are not shown.
The first horizontal retaining feature proximate the first end of the horizontal surface (along the floor) is not shown.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In claim 10, the first vertical retaining feature and the second vertical retaining feature corresponding to a lip, net, or brush per [0019].
In claim 11, the first horizontal retaining feature corresponding to a lip, net, or brush per [0019].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masucci US 8216083 in view of Heitzman US 5655972.
Regarding claim 2, Masucci discloses a game of skill device comprising:
a unitary and substantially smooth curvilinear game playing mat (41) comprising:
a horizontal surface having a first end and a second end, wherein the first end is configured to lie substantially flat on a floor, a vertical surface having a first end and a second end, and a curvilinear surface that interconnects the second end of the first horizontal surface to the first end of the vertical surface (Fig. 1);
an approximately golf-ball sized ball (13);
a target (44,45); and
a ball putter (12);
wherein during gameplay a player (11) places the ball at a tee-off position (25) located proximate the first end of the horizontal surface and thereafter putts the ball with the ball putter with sufficient force and in the proper direction such that the ball rolls from the first end of the horizontal surface past the target, the ball then reversing direction back
However, it does not teach that the target comprises at least two ball-receiving cups, each ball-receiving cup having an upwardly-facing cup mouth, wherein each ball-receiving cup is releasably fastened to the curvilinear surface or the vertical surface of the game play mat.
Heitzman teaches a game comprising a player club to launch a golf ball (58) towards at least two ball receiving targets (Fig. 1) wherein the target comprises ball-receiving cups, each having an upwardly-facing cup mouth, releasably fastened to a surface of a backing (Fig. 4) in order to receive the ball. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the target as taught by Masucci by simply substituting in the target of Heitzman in order to receive the ball at the target. See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Regarding claim 3, Heitzman further teaches that the at least one ball-receiving cup has a differently sized upwardly facing cup mouth than at least one other ball-receiving cup (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Masucci further discloses that the player putts from a tee off position located on the floor proximate the first end of the horizontal surface (Fig.1).
Claim(s) 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masucci US 8216083 in view of Heitzman US 5655972 as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Krumlauf US 5655972.
Regarding claim 5, the combination does not teach an automatic scoring and display system configured to (a) automatically detect and award points for each instance that the player successfully putts the ball into a ball-receiving cup, and (b) display on a display device the cumulative points earned by the player during game play.
Krumlauf teaches a putt practice game comprising an automatic scoring and display system configured according to claim 5 (col 4 ln. 54-66). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by the combination by utilizing an automatice scoring and display system as taught by Krmlauf in order to keep track of and display the score of the players.
Regarding claim 6, Krumlauf further teaches that the automatic scoring and display system awards points to a player for each instance that the player successfully putts the ball into a ball-receiving cup (Id).
Regarding claim 7, Heitzman further teaches that the points awarded vary depending on the size, location, or orientation of the ball-receiving cup into which the player successfully putted the ball (col. 3 ln. 1-9).
Regarding claim 8, the combination does not teach that each of the at least two ball-receiving cups further include an opening opposite the upwardly-facing cup mouth, the opening being larger than the approximately golf-sized ball.
Krumlauf teaches a putting practice device comprising ball-receiving cups (39) including an opening (40) opposite an upwardly-facing cup mouth (Fig. 4), the opening being larger than the approximately golf-sized ball (col. 4 ln. 34-45) in order to return the ball to the player. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the targets as taught by the combination by utilizing openings as taught by Krumlauf in order to return the balls to the player.
Regarding claim 9, the combination further teaches that during gameplay the player places the ball at a tee-off position located proximate the first end of the horizontal surface and thereafter putts the ball with the ball putter with sufficient force and in the proper direction such that the ball rolls from the first end of the horizontal surface (Masucci, Fig. 1) past at least one of the ball-receiving cups, the ball then reversing direction back into the upwardly facing cup mouth of one of the at least one of the ball-receiving cups (per Heitzman), the ball thereafter passing through the opening of the one of the at least one of the ball-receiving cups, and then downwardly along the curvilinear game surface toward the player (per Krumlauf).
Claim(s) 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masucci US 8216083 in view of Heitzman US 5655972 as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Slavik US 20120021845.
Regarding claim 10, Masucci does not teach a first vertical retaining feature placed vertically along a first vertical edge of the smooth curvilinear game playing mat and a second vertical retaining feature placed vertically along a first vertical edge of the smooth curvilinear game playing mat opposite to the first retaining feature.
Slavik teaches an indoor putting training aid comprising a first and second vertical retaining feature (12 and 13) placed vertically along a first and second vertical edge of a smooth curvilinear game playing mat (Fig. 1) in order to guide the ball back down following the shot ([0026]). Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device as taught by the combination by utilizing first and second vertical retaining features corresponding to lips as taught by Slavik in order to guide the golf ball back to the player.
Regarding claim 11, the combination does not teach a first horizontal retaining feature placed horizontally proximate the first end of the horizontal surface of the smooth curvilinear game playing mat.
Slavik teaches an indoor putting training aid comprising a first horizontal retaining feature (14,32) placed horizontally proximate the first end of the horizontal surface of a smooth curvilinear game playing mat (Fig. 1) in order to hold the balls [0018]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of the combination by utilizing a first horizontal retaining feature as taught by Slavik in order to hold a golf ball.
Conclusion
/BRIAN O PETERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745