DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Claims 1-19 are presented for examination. Claim 20 is restricted/Nonelected.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of GROUP I and claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 08/21/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected METHOD GROUP II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/21/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: “MOTOR POWER AXIAL PENETRATOR WITH SEALINGS FOR INTEGRATED MOTOR MACHINE”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “ an integrated motor machine” as first recitation, it is unclear if it is the first already recited “an integrated motor machine” in claim 1 or another one, examiner will assume it is the already recited one in claim 1.
Claims 6-16 are rejected based on dependency from rejected claim 5.
Inventorship
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11,16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gilarranz (US PG Pub 20150061432 hereinafter “Gilarranz”) in view of Luise (US PG PUB 20190044408 hereinafter “Luise”).
Re-claim 1, Gilarranz discloses an axial penetrator (222) for an integrated motor machine (200), the axial penetrator (222) comprising: a penetrator housing (230) having a penetrator axis that is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis (length axis of 200, see fig.2a) of the integrated motor machine (200); a conductive rod (240) extending along the penetrator axis (axis of 2a) from a first end (230) of the penetrator housing (annotated fig.2) to a second end (238) of the penetrator housing (232), so as to form a conductive path (path thru 240) through the penetrator housing.
Gilarranz fails to explicitly teach that the penetrator housing having a penetrator axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine.
Luise teaches that the penetrator housing (annotated fig.1) having a penetrator axis (61) that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine (annotated fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gilarranz wherein the penetrator housing having a penetrator axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine as suggested by Luise to seal the device along with shield and penetrator to fix receptable axially for better positioning and minimize misalignment (Luise, P[0013-0015]).
Re-claim 2, Gilarranz as modified discloses the axial penetrator of Claim 1, wherein the penetrator housing (230) is annular around the penetrator axis (around 240).
Re-claim 3, Gilarranz as modified discloses the axial penetrator of Claim 1, wherein the penetrator housing comprises an annular cavity (see fig.2b) that encircles a central portion of the conductive rod (244), and wherein the axial penetrator further comprises a first seal (242) encircling the conductive rod (244) to seal the annular cavity from an exterior environment of the axial penetrator (244) at the first end of the penetrator housing (annotated fig.2b).
Re-claim 4, Gilarranz as modified discloses the axial penetrator of Claim 3, wherein the axial penetrator (244) further comprises a second seal (222) encircling the conductive rod (240) to seal the annular cavity from an exterior environment of the axial penetrator at the second end (at 236) of the penetrator housing (230, see P]]0024], 222 provide tight seal).
Re-claim 5, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine comprising: a motor (130) comprising a motor stator (132) and a motor rotor (134), wherein the motor stator comprises motor windings (208) that extend into an end-winding cavity (see fig.2b); an end housing that encloses an end of the end-winding cavity (annotated fig.2b); and the axial penetrator of Claim 1 oriented axially through the end housing, such that and an end of the conductive rod extends into the end-winding cavity.
Gilarranz fails to explicitly teach the penetrator axis is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine.
Luise teaches that the penetrator axis is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine (annotated fig.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gilarranz wherein the penetrator axis is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine as suggested by Luise to seal the device along with shield and penetrator to fix receptable axially for better positioning and minimize misalignment (Luise, P[0013-0015]).
Re-claim 6, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 5, further comprising a conductive lead (lead at 214) within the end-winding cavity, wherein the conductive lead conductively connects the end of the conductive rod (240) to the motor windings (132, see fig.2a).
Re-claim 7, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 6, wherein the conductive lead (214,216,212) comprises a plurality of strands (212,214,216) wherein each of the plurality of strands connects to the motor windings (132) at a different position than any other one of the plurality of strands (212, 214, 216, annotated Fig.2a).
Re-claim 8, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 7, wherein the conductive lead (214,216,212) comprises a conductive core (copper) that is made of a same material (made of conductive material, that conduct electricity) as a conductive core (202) of the motor windings (208).
Re-claim 9, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 8, wherein the conductive core of the conductive lead (212) is surrounded.
Gilarranz as modified fails to explicitly teach wherein the conductive core of the conductive lead is surrounded by an insulation that is made of a same material as an insulation that surrounds the conductive core of the motor windings.
However, Luise shows wherein the conductive core of the conductive lead is surrounded by an insulation (P[0058,P[0064], insulation medium applied rods 61, with end shields, insulating assembly 71, sleeve, ) that is made of a same material as an insulation that surrounds the conductive core of the motor windings (rigid insulating medium, of stator windings 43, include all connections, P[0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gilarranz wherein the conductive core of the conductive lead is surrounded by an insulation that is made of a same material as an insulation that surrounds the conductive core of the motor windings as suggested by Luise to seal the device and provide sealing and insulation for the device (Luise, P[0047]).
Re-claim 10, , as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 9, wherein the conductive lead (202,204) is formed as an extension of the motor windings (208).
Re-claim 11, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 6, further comprising a connection (160) that fixes the end of the conductive rod (140) to an end of the conductive lead (202,212, see P[0025]).
Re-claim 16, as best understood, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 5, wherein the integrated motor machine further comprises a compression system (200) that is driven by the motor rotor (134,motor 130 operate compressor 200, rotor is part of operating structure).
Re-claim 17, Gilarranz discloses an integrated motor machine (title) comprising: a motor (130) comprising a motor stator (132) and a motor rotor (134), wherein the motor stator comprises motor windings (208) that extend into an end-winding cavity (see fig.2a, showing cavity inside 102); an end housing (102) that encloses an end of the end-winding cavity (see fig.2a, 102 surrounds all of cavity); an axial penetrator (240,see fig.2b, HVPs, see P[022]) oriented [] through the end housing (through 102), wherein the axial penetrator (HVPs,240) comprises a conductive path (conductive path of 240), from a first end (244) of the axial penetrator to a second end of the axial penetrator (246), along; and a conductive lead (212, or 202) within the end-winding cavity (inside 102), wherein the conductive lead (212,202) conductively connects an end of the conductive path (240) to the motor windings (208).
Gilarranz fails to explicitly teach the orientation of the axial penetrator oriented axially through the end housing , a penetrator axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine.
However, Luise teaches that the orientation of the axial penetrator (61) oriented axially through the end housing (30), a penetrator axis (annotated fig.1) that is parallel (ANNOTATED FIG.1) to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine (A-A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the motor of Gilarranz wherein the orientation of the axial penetrator oriented axially through the end housing , a penetrator axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine as suggested by Luise to seal the device along with shield and penetrator to fix receptable axially for better positioning and minimize misalignment (Luise, P[0013-0015]).
Re-claim 18, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 17, wherein the conductive path (annotated fig.2b) through the axial penetrator is formed by a conductive rod (240) through the axial penetrator (see fig.2b showing penetrator), and wherein the conductive lead (212,214) comprises a conductive core (copper) that is made of a same material (conductive material) as a conductive core (202) of the motor windings (208) and the conductive rod (240, all metal, solid conducive material, conduct electricity) [the conductive lead (214,216,212) comprises a conductive core (copper) that is made of a same material (made of conductive material, that conduct electricity) as a conductive core (202) of the motor windings (208)].
Re-claim 19, Gilarranz as modified discloses the integrated motor machine of Claim 17, wherein the conductive lead (202,204) is formed as an extension of the motor windings (208).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re-claim 12, combination with claims 1 and 5 as best understood, combination recites :
“1. An axial penetrator for an integrated motor machine, the axial penetrator comprising: a penetrator housing having a penetrator axis that is parallel to a longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine; a conductive rod extending along the penetrator axis from a first end of the penetrator housing to a second end of the penetrator housing, so as to form a conductive path through the penetrator housing. 5. the integrated motor machine comprising: a motor comprising a motor stator and a motor rotor, wherein the motor stator comprises motor windings that extend into an end-winding cavity; an end housing that encloses an end of the end-winding cavity; and the axial penetrator of Claim 1 oriented axially through the end housing, such that the penetrator axis is parallel to the longitudinal axis of the integrated motor machine and an end of the conductive rod extends into the end-winding cavity. Re-claim 12, the integrated motor machine of claim 5, The integrated motor machine of wherein conductive rod comprises an outboard conductive rod portion, a central conductive rod portion, and an inboard conductive rod portion, wherein the penetrator housing comprises an outboard penetrator portion that comprises the outboard conductive rod portion and provides a first seal around the outboard conductive rod portion, and an inboard penetrator portion that comprises the inboard conductive rod portion and provides a second seal around the inboard conductive rod portion, and wherein the central conductive rod portion is held between the outboard penetrator portion and the inboard penetrator portion, so as to be conductively connected to the outboard conductive rod portion on one end of the central conductive rod portion and conductively connected to the inboard conductive rod portion on an opposite end of the central conductive rod portion.”
The combination of all limitations together of claims 1,5 and 12 is not taught or suggested by any of the prior art. Specially limitation regarding the housing detailed structure which houses the penetrator with all the seals structures with the portions of the device with end housing enclosing winding cavity which penetrator has parallel axis.
Claims 13-15 are allowed based on dependency from claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in PTO892.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Christopher M. Koehler can be reached on 5712723560. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MAGED M ALMAWRI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834