DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “straigt” in line 2 of the claim should be --straight--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “straigt” in line 2 of the claim should be --straight--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “tansformed” in line 2 of the claim should be --transformed--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (KR 100596929 B1) in view of Baek et al. (US 2022/0373057 A1) or Gessner et al. (US 2022/0333663 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Shin discloses a self-leveling damper apparatus (figs. 1-5) comprising:
an upper holder (90) and a lower holder (92) located respectively at positions spaced from each other in a longitudinal direction of a cylinder (10) and provided between an external tube (50) and the cylinder, and
a diaphragm (71) coupled to the upper holder (90) and the lower holder (92) at first and second end portions of the diaphragm, respectively between the external tube and the cylinder, wherein an end portion of the upper holder coupling portion is coupled to the upper holder (90); and a lower holder coupling portion formed to include a diameter increasing from the second end portion of the rectilinear portion in a second direction opposite the first direction, with an end portion of the lower holder coupling portion being coupled to the lower holder (92).
Shin discloses all of the limitations as set forth above including the diaphragm but fails to disclose a plurality of ribs are formed on an internal circumferential surface of the diaphragm by protruding inward from the internal circumferential surface of the diaphragm as recited in the claim. However, each of Baek et al. and Gessner et al. disclose diaphragm with ribs (note 13 in fig. 2 of Baek et al. and 21 in fig. 2 of Gessner et al.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to modify the diaphragm of Shin with ribs will add strength and stiffness to the overall diaphragm in order to prolong the life of the diaphragm.
Re-claim 8, Shin discloses a length of the upper holder coupling portion is longer than a straight length between internal and external diameters of a lower surface of the upper holder, so even when the diaphragm is transformed due to oil pressure, the upper holder coupling portion is prevented from contacting with the lower surface of the upper holder (note the figure shown above).
Re-claim 9, Shin discloses the length of the upper holder coupling portion is at least twice as long as the straight length between the internal and external diameters of the lower surface of the upper holder (note the figure shown above).
Re-claim 10, Shin discloses a length of the lower holder coupling portion is longer than a straight length between internal and external diameters of an upper surface of the lower holder, so even when the diaphragm is transformed due to oil pressure, the lower holder coupling portion is prevented from contacting with the upper surface of the lower holder (note the figure shown above).
Re-claim 11, Shin discloses the length of the lower holder coupling portion is at least twice as long as the straight length between the internal and external diameters of the upper surface of the lower holder (note the figure shown above).
Re-claim 12, Shin discloses a step portion is formed on a lower surface of the upper holder, so even though the diaphragm is transformed due to oil pressure, a relief valve hole flow path (90a) formed in the upper holder is maintained so as not to be blocked by the diaphragm due to the step portion.
Re-claim 13, Shin discloses the step portion is formed as a groove (90a-2) concavely recessed toward an upper side of the upper holder by starting from an outermost point of the relief valve hole flow path on the lower surface of the upper holder.
Re-claim 14, Shin discloses a plurality of lower holder flow paths (92a) are formed on an internal surface of the lower holder, and wherein an upper edge portion of each of the lower holder flow paths is formed as a round surface, so that even when the diaphragm is transformed due to oil pressure applied thereto and contacts with the round surface, damage to the diaphragm is prevented due to the round surface.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (KR 100596929 B1) in view of Baek et al. (US 2022/0373057 A1) or Gessner et al. (US 2022/0333663 A1), even further in view of Tamura (JP 2005016633 A).
Regarding claim 5, Shin discloses the elastic diaphragm member but fails to disclose the diaphragm formed to be rubber as recited in the claim. However, Tamura discloses damper device comprising a rubber diaphragm (7). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the filing date of the present application was made to form the diaphragm of Shin to be formed of rubber as taught by Tamura since rubber is cheap, flexible, and durable and thus making the device more efficient.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616