DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: “portiojns” is spelled incorrectly (line 5). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims contain language regarding “twisting” of the coils. Applicant defines “twisting” as “rotation of a segment coil about its axis to create circumferential displacement of terminal portions” in contrast to “bending” which he considers “deflecting a hairpin leg to reach another slot” (Response, p.7).
Applicant does not indicate where the specification teaches or suggests such a definition.
According to Merriam-Webster, “twist” (v.) has multiple definitions. For instance, note 2b “to bend or turn (something) in order to change its shape”.
Further, it is common terminology in the art to refer to the spreading operation of the legs of U-shaped conductors as “twisting”. 1 Further, Guercioni states “[i]t is clear that the aforesaid twisting operation for the spreading of the legs 5 of a same "U"-shaped preformed conductor requires…the next step of bending the end portions 7 in order to allow the welding of such portions necessary for making the winding” (c.4:8-13).
The specification ¶[0060]-¶[0062] & Figs.7A-7B & 8 teach segment coils 243 with a U-shape, a terminal portion 244a having a shape to be inserted into a layer 1 and a terminal portion 245a having a shape to be inserted into the layer 2:
“After the segment coil 243 is inserted into the stator core 232, the terminal portion 244a inserted into the layer 1 is twisted leftward in the θ-direction (circumferential direction) 2 like a terminal portion 244b represented by a broken line, and the terminal portion 245a inserted into the layer 2 is twisted rightward in the θ-direction (circumferential direction) like a terminal portion 245b represented by a broken line….[W]hen the twisted terminal portions 244b and the twisted terminal portions 245b are arranged to be aligned in the r-direction (244b into the layer 1, 245b into the layer 2), wave winding having a waveform is formed in the θ (circumferential direction)… An odd-numbered layer is twisted like the terminal portion 244b, and an even-numbered layer is twisted like the terminal portion 245b… [T]he odd-numbered layer, such as the layer 1, the layer 3, the layer 5, or the layer 7, is twisted clockwise, and the even-number-ed layer, such as the layer 2, the layer 4, the layer 6, or the layer 8, is twisted counterclockwise.”
Thus, the “twisting” leftwards & rightwards of the connection side coil ends 244a & 244b, respectively, of a U-shaped coil segment is understood as necessarily involving bending of the segment about the stator axis. In the end, Applicant’s distinction is without a difference, since whether one characterizes the U-shaped coils of a cylindrical stator as “twisted” or “bent” depends merely on the relative perspective taken. As Guercioni states, it is common terminology in the art to refer to the spreading operation (i.e., bending) of the ends as twisting.
Regarding “uniform twisting movement”, Applicant notes this refers to “twist[ing] with the same slot pitch in each layer” (Response, p.6). In other words, the connection side coil ends 244a & 244b are bent in a leftwards/clockwise direction and a rightwards/counter-clockwise direction an equal slot pitch distance when viewed in the planar perspective (Fig.7A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Recitation “the coils other than the lead wire are twisted with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction in a specified layer of the plurality of layers so that the terminal portions are aligned to connect the coils with a same slot pitch” (claim 1) is vague and indefinite.
It is unclear if this means the coil with the lead wire is not “twisted and formed with the same amount of movement…” [sic]. This contradicts what is shown in Fig.11, e.g., a U-shaped coil with a U1-phase lead wire 247a (¶[0072]-¶[0079]) with “twists” at terminal ends 244a/b & 245a/b per ¶[0060]-¶[0062].
Further, it is unclear what a “uniform twisting movement” means. Applicant notes that “twisting is rotation of a segment coil about its axis to create circumferential displacement of terminal portions” whereas “bending is deflecting a hairpin leg to reach another slot” (Response, p.7). This definition is confusing because it is not clear what a segment coil axis is, nor does Applicant point to any part of the specification for support for this particular definition. Further, it is a different definition from that suggested by the specification ¶[0060]-¶[0062] and from what Guercioni takes to be common terminology in the art. Regardless, in the context of a cylindrical stator core, Applicant’s distinction is without a difference, since a bending of the coil terminals 244a & 244b in a clockwise & counter-clockwise manner described in the specification ¶[0060]-¶[0062] and shown in a planar perspective in Figs.7A-7B will necessarily mean they are “twisted in the circumferential direction” when viewed from the axial perspective (Fig.4).
In claim 2, “wherein the third step is carried out in one step” is vague and indefinite. It is unclear how the third step distinguishes from the second step, at least in such a way as to enable “forming a plurality of layers along a radial direction of said stator core in an axial direction of said stator core on a connection side where said terminal portions are arranged” to be “carried out in one step”.
In claim 4, “the three phases” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 & 6, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 102(b) as being anticipated by Cai et al. (US 7,348,705).
Regarding claim 1, Cai teaches a method for manufacturing a stator of a rotary electric machine (implicit to apparatus), comprising:
a first step of forming a plurality of flat (i.e., rectangular cross-section) wire (hairpin) coils 20 in an U-shape having terminal portions (legs) 26 (abstract; c.6:18-24);
a second step of arranging said coils in a slot 14 formed in a stator core 12 at a plurality of slot pitches Y1, Y2 and forming a plurality of layers (1-4) along a radial direction of said stator core (c.6:24-35; c.9:44-c.10:11; Figs.3A-3C&4) and
a third step of forming a plurality of layers along a radial direction of said stator core 12 in an axial direction of said stator core on a connection side where said terminal portions are arranged (c.4:28-33; c.6:36-48; Figs.5A-5C), wherein
one of the coils is used as a lead wire SA2,SB2 ,SC2 for connecting to an external device (at terminals A, B C; Fig.4), and
the coils other than the lead wire are “twisted with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction” [sic] in a specified layer of the plurality of layers so that the terminal portions are aligned to connect the coils with a same slot pitch since, from the planar perspective, legs are bent and adjacent leg ends welded together (c.2:64-c.3:3). In other words, for the cylindrical stator (Fig.2a), the coils are “twisted” as seen in part in Fig.5. Further, each coil has, e.g., a pitch of nine slots from end to end; c.6:53-58; c.9:59-c.10:12; Figs.3A-3C. Thus, the coils are twisted “with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction.”
Regarding claim 2, the third step is “carried out in one step” [sic] in that after the hairpin conductors are inserted into closed or semi-closed slots, the legs are bent (c.2:58-65).
Regarding claim 3, Cai teaches a fourth step of connecting the connection side terminal portion of the coil with the connection side terminal portion of another coil adjacent in the radial direction of the rotating electric machine by welding to form a three-phase coil (c.2:58-65; c.9:59-c.10:11; Figs.3A-3C).
Regarding claim 4, Cai teaches the process includes connecting the coils of the three phases A, B, C to each other at the connecting side to form the neutral wire (i.e., connection between SA1,SB1 ,SC1, Fig.4).
Regarding claim 6, in a fourth step the connection side terminal portions of the segments of 2n-1 layer and 2n layer (e.g., layer 1 and layer 2), and said connecting side terminal portions between segments of 2n layers and 2n+1 layers are connected (e.g., FA2 connected to layer 3; Fig.3A).
Claims 1-5, as best understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) and 102(b) as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (US 9,601,977).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama teaches a method for manufacturing a stator of a rotary electric machine (implicit to apparatus), comprising:
a first step of forming a plurality of flat (i.e., rectangular cross-section) wire (segment) coils 28 in an U-shape having terminal portions (ends) 28E (abstract; c.7:20-47; Figs.6-8&11);
a second step of arranging said coils 28 in a slot 420 formed in a stator core 132 at a plurality of slot pitches (c.8:25-28) and forming a plurality of layers along a radial direction of said stator core (i.e., layers formed by U-, V- & W-phase coils; Figs.2&6) and
a third step of forming a plurality of layers along a radial direction of said stator core 132 in an axial direction of said stator core on a connection side where said terminal portions 41U, 41V, 41W are arranged, wherein
one of the coils used as a lead wire (e.g., terminal portion 502U1/502U2/41U) for connecting to an external device (c.6:11-25; c.7:63-65; Fig.8), and
the coils other than the lead wire are “twisted with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction” [sic] in a specified layer of the plurality of layers so that the terminal portions are aligned to connect the coils with a same slot pitch (i.e., after the segment coils 28 have been inserted into the slots 420, each of the straight portions 28b protruded from the stator core 132 to the opposite side (coil end 140b side in FIG. 2) is bent in a direction of the adjacent segment coil to be connected, and an end 28E thereof is bent downward in the figure. Then, the end 28E, and an end 28E of the adjacent segment coil 28 are connected to each other by welding; c.7:32-47; Fig.11). In the context of a cylindrical stator & stator coil, each segment coil 28 is “twisted” in the sense that the coil is twisted from one coil end 28E to the other in the circumferential direction about the stator axis, as seen in Fig.9. Further, each U-shaped coil from end to end has uniform slot pitch (Figs.9-11). Thus, the coils are twisted “with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction.”
Regarding claim 2, the third step is carried out in one step in that the ends 28E of adjacent coil segments are connected to each other by welding (c.7:45-47).
Regarding claim 3, a fourth step comprises connecting the connection side terminal portion of the coil with the connection side terminal portion of another coil adjacent in the radial direction of the rotating electric machine by welding to form a three-phase coil (U, V, W-phases have same configuration; c.7:45-51; c.8:23-32).
Regarding claim 4, the method includes connecting the coils of the three phases to each other at the connecting side to form the neutral wire (e.g., neutral points N1, N2; c.6:11-25; Fig.7).
Regarding claim 5, the lead wire (terminal portion 502U1/502U2/41U) is placed at…an outermost circumference side…in the radial direction (c.8:20-24; Fig.8), and the neutral wire 711U1 is placed on the opposite side in the radial direction (Fig.8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama as applied to claim 1, further in view of Mori (US 6,700,282).
Regarding claim 6, Nakayama teaches a fourth step of connecting side terminal portion of the U-shaped segments in layers, but neither explicitly teaches connecting them whereby “connecting side terminal portions of the segments of 2n-1 layer and 2n layer, and said connecting side terminal portions between segments of 2n layers and 2n+1 layers are connected.”
But, Mori teaches a rotary electric machine and method of connecting U-shaped stator coils 2 at side terminal portions (end portions) in multiple layers whereby, with a natural number n=1, side terminal portions of the segments of 2n-1 layer and 2n layer (e.g., at A, between coils 201 and 202), and said connecting side terminal portions between segments of 2n layers and 2n+1 layers are connected (e.g., at B, between coil 202 and 203; Figs.8-9). Mori’s method provides a rotary electric machine having a winding structure which is not restrained by a core shape (c.1:37-39; c.9:23-25).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to arrange the layers of U-shaped coils in Nakayama whereby “connecting side terminal portions of the segments of 2n-1 layer and 2n layer, and said connecting side terminal portions between segments of 2n layers and 2n+1 layers are connected” since Mori teaches this would have provided a winding structure which was not restrained by a core shape.
Claims 1-3 & 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 9,601,977) in view of Trammell et al. (US 8,749,107).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a method for manufacturing a stator of a rotary electric machine (e.g., a generator), comprising:
a first step of forming a plurality of flat (i.e., rectangular cross-section) wire (unit) coils 20 in an U-shape having terminal portions (ends; not numbered; c.3:55-59; Figs.4-5);
a second step of arranging said coils 20 in a slot formed in a stator core 10 at a plurality of slot pitches and forming a plurality of layers 111-114 along a radial direction of said stator core (c.2:5-23; Figs.10-11) and
a third step of forming a plurality of layers along a radial direction of said stator core in an axial direction of said stator core on a connection side where said terminal portions (ends) are arranged (c.4:29-59; Figs.10-12), wherein…,
the coils other than the lead wire are “twisted with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction” [sic] in a specified layer of the plurality of layers so that the terminal portions are aligned to connect the coils with a same slot pitch (i.e., in wire end twisting and soldering steps, the wire ends of groups 20A and 20B are bent and juxtaposed tips are soldered such that the originally unconnected wire units 20 form a circuit, i.e., a connected loop, for use as an induction coil; c.4:60-c.5:21; Fig.12). Further, since each U-shaped coil unit 20A and 20B has the same slot pitch (Fig.10), the coils are twisted “with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction.”
Wang differs only in that one of the generator coils is not “used as a lead wire for connecting to an external device”.
But, Trammel teaches a generator including a stator assembly 10 with winding sets 38 & 40 comprising U-shaped (hairpin) coils 52, each with terminals (leg ends) 62a/62b separated by a turn 64 (c.4:55-61; Fig.8), and lead wires (terminal phase lead conductors) 60 for coupling with external components (c.5:3-7; Figs.14-16).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Wang with at least one coil that is used as a lead wire since Trammel teaches this would have been desirable to couple the stator assembly to external components.
Regarding claim 2, in Wang a third step is “carried out in one step” [sic] in that the insertion step involves forming on the connection side (Fig.12) a plurality of layers with terminals (i.e., ends of coil segments).
Regarding claim 3, in Wang a fourth step comprises connecting the connection side terminal portion of the coil with the connection side terminal portion of another coil adjacent in the radial direction of the rotating electric machine by welding. Further, Trammel’s winding includes three phases A, B, C (c.4:31-35).
Regarding claim 5, in Trammel the lead wire 60 is placed at…an innermost circumference side in the radial direction, and the neutral wire 58 is placed on the opposite side in the radial direction (Figs.5-7).
Regarding claim 6, in Trammel teaches connecting side terminal portions of the segments of 2n-1 layer and 2n layer (i.e., first and second layers 42 and 44 define first winding set 38 and third and fourth layers define second winding set 40; c.4:39-49), and said connecting side terminal portions between segments of 2n layers and 2n+1 layers are connected by crossover conductors 56 (Fig.5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not wholly persuasive.
Applicant argues Cai teaches only bending, not twisting. But, as explained above, in the context of coils for cylindrical stators, this distinction is without a difference. Further, Guercioni notes that it is common terminology in the art to refer to the spreading operation of the legs of U-shaped conductors as “twisting” and that “[i]t is clear that the aforesaid twisting operation for the spreading of the legs 5 of a same "U"-shaped preformed conductor requires…the next step of bending the end portions 7 in order to allow the welding of such portions necessary for making the winding” (c.3:63-64 & c.4:8-13). In other words, Cai’s coil legs are “twisted” in that they are bent so that they span a certain number of slots, and for the cylindrical stator core, the coil legs exhibit a twisting movement about the stator axis in the circumferential direction. Applicant argues Cai’s legs are bent different amounts and thus are not twisted “uniformly” and “with a same slot pitch.” This is not persuasive. The fact that the legs of each coil are bent different slot-lengths is irrelevant since Cai teaches each coil from end to end (i.e., inclusive of the legs) have a uniform pitch. For example, “…the hairpin extends a total of nine slots from end-to-end in wave windings, if the end turn of one side extends four slots while the other extends five slots” (c.6:54-58). Note the “uniform” pitch of the coils in Fig.3A. Further, the twisting is done in a “specified” layer in the sense that each segment coil is twisted.
Similarly, Applicant argues Nakayama teaches bending, not twisting. This is not persuasive. In the context of the cylindrical stator, the coils are “twisted” in the sense that from one coil end 28E to the other the coil twists in the circumferential direction about the stator axis, as seen in Fig.9. Further, the coils ends are spread or bent in a manner that Guercioni teaches is commonly known as “twisting”. Further, each U-shaped coil from end to end has uniform slot pitch (Figs.9-11). Thus, the coils are twisted “with a uniform twisting movement in the circumferential direction.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834
1 Guercioni (US 8,881,371) c.3:63-64.
2 As amended 23 December 2025. See p.2 of Response.