Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/2/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Reybok fails to teach “the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible, fixed values.”
Examiner asserts that “general parameters”, would indeed contain values that might be interpreted as “fixed” but also changeable. In the interest of advancing prosecution, Paragraph [130] of the instant specification states “behavioral indicators of compromise describe general patterns of anomalous behavior….for example a beaconing frequency score, a size of a file that has a greater than and less than parameters ,a length of time that has occurred between cyber threat alerts….should be distinct from Indicators of compromise, which comprise inflexible fixed values such as hashes, subdomains, domains, URLs, and URIs”
As argued, Examiner admits Reybok does teach “fixed values” [0021] as a hash, URL or IP address. However, Reybok additionally teaches “contextual information intended to represent behavior” and [0084] pattern recognition including observables that may be “total number of counts” over specific time periods) [0086] (machine learning to identify a kill chain of related network security vulnerabilities) [0087] (malicious actor may use a sequence or other combination of exploits to compromise security). Examiner asserts that these paragraphs teach general behavior distinct from “inflexible fixed values”. Even if Applicant disagrees, Examiner asserts at minimum they are not hashes, URLs, or IP addresses.
Examiner cites teachings from the other prior art in the event that Applicant finds Reybok insufficient.
Puri teaches a “baseline of behavior”, a model of behavior and analysis to determine whether behavior anomalies (Column 3 line 55 to Column 4 line 34) and states that “methods may evolve over time for sensitivity and time periods as threats evolve” (Column 15 lines 20-43; learning behavior and analyzing sequences to rank anomalous behaviors). Examiner asserts that Puri, at minimum thus teaches behavioral parameters that are distinct from inflexible fixed values.
Examiner now cites Srivastava [0013] which states “behavior may include a characteristic of the request such as a frequency, time, volume of data”. Examiner asserts that these metrics would meet Applicant’s claim limitation according to Applicant’s specification [130]. Srivastava additionally teaches [0015][0017][0027][0060][0061] a behavior pattern that is an average of normal behavior and determining abnormal behavior depending on a threshold, and sharing this learned behavior to the network security device; and additionally teaches “abnormal behavior models”. Examiner asserts that these learned behavior models are not “inflexible fixed values”.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,799,898. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The claims of US Patent 11,799,898 anticipate all of the current claims at issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 24, 25, 27, 31, 34, 36, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri US 10,043,006 in view of Reybok JR US 2018/0324207 in view of Srivastava US 2016/0261621.
As per claims 21, 31. (New) Puri teaches A method for a cyber threat defense system, comprising: analyzing a plurality of behavioral parameters associated with a network entity to determine whether the network entity is deviating from a normal benign behavior to denote a potential cyber threat and is in a breach state of a normal behavior benchmark, wherein the normal behavior benchmark is based on parameters corresponding to a normal pattern of activity for the network entity; (Column 2 lines 22-45; Column 3 lines 1-28; Column 4 lines 36-42) (teaches analyzing a plurality of behaviors to denote a cyberthreat in breach of normal behavior for the entity using behavior models and machine learning)
Puri teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values. (Column 3 lines 10 to Column 4 line 34) (Column 15 lines 20-43) (learning anomalous attributes and learned behaviors; behavior pattern evolves over time for sensitivity as threats evolve)(learning behavior and analyzing sequences to rank anomalous behaviors).
Reybok teaches generating an inoculation pattern using the cyber threat as a template by describing the breach state and the plurality of behavioral parameters [0019] [0021] [0084]-[0087] [0108][0109] [0113]-[0115] (teaches distributing alerts and identification of kill chain threats based on security analysis and mitigation measures)
Reybok teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values. [0084]-[0087] (teaches complex pattern recognition including observables that may be “total number of counts” over specific time periods; and kill chain patterns) Examiner asserts that variable amounts and times are in line with the instant specification.
Reybok teaches anonymizing the inoculation pattern to remove personally identifiable information associated with a specific network entity from the inoculation pattern [0017][0018][0020][0075][0105] (anonymizing messages or requests from anonymous profiles, SIEM alerts, filtering out sensitive information from reports)
Reybok teaches using a communication module to send the inoculation notice to the target device on another network protected by an affiliated cyber threat defense system via at least one output port, where an inoculation module uses incident data describing the breach state by a user or a device, acting as the network entity, to warn other computing devices of the potential cyber threat. [0017]-[0021][0059]-[0061] (teaches that customers may send “observables” including indicators of compromise, patterns of behavior, files, including context, and sharing *anonymously without PII* to a central instance cyber defense system which sends this data to a target to warn them of a cyber threat)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Rebok with Puri because it improves security.
Srivastava teaches anonymizing the inoculation pattern to remove personally identifiable information for the network entity from the inoculation pattern; and sending an inoculation notice having the inoculation pattern to a target device to warn of a potential cyber threat. [0021][0022][0052][0066][0081][0084][0134] (teaches anonymizing private and personal identifying data for a security system including modeling behavior and remedial actions)
Srivastava teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values [0013] [0015][0017][0027][0060][0061] (characteristic of the request such as a frequency, time, volume of data a behavior pattern that is an average of normal behavior and determining abnormal behavior depending on a threshold, and sharing this learned behavior to the network security device; and additionally teaches abnormal behavior models)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Srivastava with the prior art because it enhances user privacy.
As per claim 24. (New) Reybok teaches The method of Claim 21 The method of identifying whether the breach state and a chain of relevant behavioral parameters deviating from the normal benign behavior of that network entity correspond to a cyber threat; and sending the inoculation notice having the inoculation pattern describing the breach state and the chain of relevant behavioral parameters to the target device to warn of the potential cyber threat. [0019] [0021] [0084]-[0087] [0108][0109] [0113]-[0115] (teaches distributing alerts and identification of kill chain threats based on security analysis of properties and mitigation measures)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Rebok with Puri because it improves security.
As per claim 25, 34 (New) Reybok teaches The method of claim 21, where an inoculation module uses a communication module to send the inoculation notice to the target device, on another network protected by an affiliated cyber threat defense system, via at least one output port, where the inoculation module uses incident data describing the breach state by a user or device, acting as the network entity, to warn other computing devices of potential cyber threats, and where the inoculation module anonymizes the inoculation pattern to remove any personally identifiable information for the network entity from the inoculation pattern. [0019] [0021] [0084]-[0087] [0108][0109] [0113]-[0115]
Srivastava teaches anonymizing the inoculation pattern to remove personally identifiable information for the network entity from the inoculation pattern; and sending an inoculation notice having the inoculation pattern to a target device to warn of a potential cyber threat. [0021][0022][0052][0066][0081][0084][0134] (teaches anonymizing private and personal identifying data for a security system including modeling behavior and remedial actions)
As per claims 27, 36 (New) Reybok teaches The method of claim 21 further comprising: allowing a user interface module to receive at least one of a triggering input and a blocking input from a user analyst, where the triggering input directs transmission of the inoculation notice to the target device and a blocking input prevents transmission of the inoculation notice to the target device. [0020][0021] (teaches sharing security data or not)
As per claim 40. (New) Puri teaches A cyber threat defense system, comprising: a cyber threat module implemented in logic and configured to identify whether a breach state of a normal behavior benchmark representing a malicious incident or confidential data exposure and a plurality of behavioral parameters, deviating from normal benign behavior of a network entity as detected by at least one machine- learning model trained on the normal benign behavior of the network entity, correspond to a cyber threat; (Column 2 lines 22-45; Column 3 lines 1-28; Column 4 lines 36-42) (teaches analyzing a plurality of behaviors to denote a cyberthreat in breach of normal behavior for the entity using behavior models and machine learning)
Puri teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values. (Column 3 lines 10 to Column 4 line 34) (Column 15 lines 20-43) (learning anomalous attributes and learned behaviors; behavior pattern evolves over time for sensitivity as threats evolve)(learning behavior and analyzing sequences to rank anomalous behaviors).
Reybok teaches an inoculation module implemented in logic and configured to generate an inoculation pattern using the cyber threat as a template, wherein the inoculation pattern describing the breach state and the plurality of behavioral parameters corresponding to the cyber threat identified by the cyber threat module, 0019] [0021] [0084]-[0087] [0108][0109] [0113]-[0115] (teaches distributing alerts and identification of kill chain threats based on security analysis and mitigation measures)
Reybok teaches generating an inoculation pattern using the cyber threat as a template by describing the breach state and the plurality of behavioral parameters [0019] [0021] [0084]-[0087] [0108][0109] [0113]-[0115] (teaches distributing alerts and identification of kill chain threats based on security analysis and mitigation measures)
Reybok teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values. [0084]-[0087] (teaches complex pattern recognition including observables that may be “total number of counts” over specific time periods; and kill chain patterns) Examiner asserts that variable amounts and times are in line with the instant specification.
Reybok teaches using a communication module to send the inoculation notice to the target device on another network protected by an affiliated cyber threat defense system via at least one output port, where an inoculation module uses incident data describing the breach state by a user or a device, acting as the network entity, to warn other computing devices of the potential cyber threat. [0017]-[0021][0059]-[0061] (Teaches that customers may send “observables” including indicators of compromise, patterns of behavior, files, including context, and sharing *anonymously without PII* to a central instance cyber defense system which sends this data to a target to warn them of a cyber threat)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Rebok with Puri because it improves security.
Srivastava teaches to anonymize the inoculation pattern to remove personally identifiable information for the network entity from the inoculation pattern, to generate a remediation action instruction including at least one action to remediate the breach state, and to store the inoculation pattern in an inoculation record in a network-accessible inoculation database.
[0021][0022][0052][0066][0081][0084][0134] (teaches anonymizing private and personal identifying data for a security system including modeling behavior and remedial actions)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Srivastava with the prior art because it enhances user privacy.
Srivastava teaches generating an inoculation pattern by describing the break state and plurality of behavioral parameters wherein the plurality of behavioral parameters comprise general patterns of anomalous behavior distinct from inflexible fixed values [0013] [0015][0017][0027][0060][0061] (characteristic of the request such as a frequency, time, volume of data a behavior pattern that is an average of normal behavior and determining abnormal behavior depending on a threshold, and sharing this learned behavior to the network security device; and additionally teaches abnormal behavior models)
Claim(s) 22, 23, 26, 32, 33, 35, 41. is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri US 10,043,006 in view of Reybok JR US 2018/0324207 in view of Srivastava US 2016/0261621 in view of Cohen US 2018/0234425
As per claims 22, 32, (New) Puri teaches The method of claim 21 further comprising:causing a cyber threat module to reference machine-learning models that are trained on the normal behavior of network activity and user activity associated with a network, where a cyber threat module determines a threat risk parameter that factors in 'what is a likelihood of a chain of one or more unusual behaviors of email activity, network activity, and user activity under analysis that fall outside of being a normal benign behavior;' and thus, are likely malicious behavior, (Column 2 lines 22-45; Column 3 lines 1-28; Column 4 lines 36-42) (teaches analyzing a plurality of behaviors to denote a cyberthreat in breach of normal behavior for the entity using behavior models and machine learning)
Cohen teaches performing one or more autonomous actions by an autonomous response module to contain the cyber threat when the threat risk parameter determined by the cyber threat module is equal to or above an actionable threshold, wherein the threat risk parameter comprises a set of values describing aspects of the cyber threat. [0035][0052][0054][0090][0091] (teaches automatic remediation based on threshold and policy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Cohen with the prior art because it expedites security issue resolutions.
As per claims 23, 33 (New) Cohen teaches The method of claim 22, wherein the performing of the one or more autonomous actions comprises i) conducting at least a first autonomous response of the one or more autonomous responses included as part of the inoculation pattern with a minimum level of disruption to stop an attack by the cyber threat without affecting normal organizational activity, and ii) adapting to conduct at least a second autonomous responses to impose further controls on the network entity when an attack associated with the cyber threat a) changes in nature or b) becomes more aggressive than initially determined. [0030]-[0035][0052][0054][0084][0091][0091] (teaches reviewing options to cause minimum disruption and responses based on changes in threat input)
As per claim 26, 35. (New) Cohen teaches The method for of claim 21, further comprising:creating and sharing an inoculation package including one or more digital antibodies for previously unknown cyber threats with the one or more autonomous responses to be conducted in response to an attack associated with the cyber threat; and where a first digital antibody encapsulates an identity of the cyber threat, characteristics to identify that cyber threat, and the autonomous one or more autonomous responses to defend the network against this cyber threat. [0087][0094][0095] (automatically create new responses for unknown attacks)
As per claim 41. (New) Cohen teaches The cyber threat defense system of claim 40 further comprising:an autonomous response module implemented in logic and configured to cooperate with the inoculation module, to cause one or more autonomous actions to be performed to contain the cyber threat when a threat risk parameter from the cyber threat module is equal to or above an actionable threshold. [0035][0052][0054][0090][0091] (teaches automatic remediation based on threshold and policy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Cohen with the prior art because it expedites security issue resolutions.
Claim(s) 28, 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri US 10,043,006 in view of Reybok JR US 2018/0324207 in view of Srivastava US 2016/0261621 in view of Jou US 2018/0052993
As per claim 28, 37. (New) Jou teaches The method for of claim 21 further comprising:populating the threat risk parameter with at least one of i) a confidence score indicating a threat likelihood describing a probability that the breach state is the cyber threat, ii) a severity score indicating a percentage that the network entity in the breach state is deviating from the at least one model, or iii) a consequence score indicating a severity of damage attributable to the cyber threat. [0003][0008][0027][0051-[0054] (Teaches score and percentage likelihood a breach has occurred.)
Rebok teaches a severity score [0079]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the percent comparison of Jou with the previous art because it provides extra information on the probability of breach.
Claim(s) 29, 30, 38, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Puri US 10,043,006 in view of Reybok JR US 2018/0324207 in view of Srivastava US 2016/0261621in view of Rajasekhara US 2019/0044963
As per claim 29, 38. (New) Rajasekhara teaches The method of claim 21 further comprising: comparing the threat risk parameter to a benchmark matrix having a set of benchmark scores for use in determining whether to send the inoculation notice. [0013][0030]-[0032] (teaches comparing behavior model to threshold calculating weighted risk scores)
As per claim 30, 39. (New) The method of claim 29, wherein each benchmark score of the set of benchmark scores is assigned a weight representing a relative importance for that benchmark score. [0013][0030]-[0032] (teaches comparing behavior model to threshold calculating weighted risk scores)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439