DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed 4/9/2025.
Claims 1-29 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 8-14, 17-19, 21-26, 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tyler, U.S. PGPUB No. 2018/0335920 (“Tyler”).
With regard to Claim 1, Tyler teaches a computer system configured to communicate with a display generation component and one or more input devices, comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors ([0043], memory and one or more processors; [0050] describes processors running or executing instructions or programs stored in memory), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display generation component, a first wake screen user interface ([0206] describes wake screen interface 504, an example of which is shown in Fig. 5CI);
while displaying the first wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input of a first type ([0256] describes a rightward swipe detected on the wake screen);
in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a set of widgets ([0256] describes that in response to the input, a mini application interface 5140 is revealed, where this is also described as a widget interface at, e.g., [0290] and [0310]. Fig. 5CK shows the set of mini applications/widgets);
subsequent to displaying the first wake screen user interface, displaying, via the display generation component, a second wake screen user interface that is different from the first wake screen user interface (Fig. 5EK shows a wake screen interface 504, different from the first in that different notifications and a different time are displayed thereon; the time is a later time than that of Fig. 5CI and therefore the screen is displayed subsequent to that of Fig. 5CI);
while displaying the second wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input of the first type (Figs. 5EK – 5EM and [0293] describe that a rightward swipe is again detected); and
in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, the set of widgets ([Fig. 5EM and [0293] describe that the mini application interface is displayed in response to the detection of the gesture).
Claim 28 recites a storage medium storing programs (Tyler, [0007]) which execute to implement the system of Claim 1, and is similarly rejected. Claim 29 recites a method carried out by the system of Claim 1, and is likewise rejected.
With regard to Claim 3, Tyler teaches that the first type of input is a first swipe input received via the one or more input devices. [0256] and [0293] describe the input as a swipe on a touch screen.
With regard to Claim 4, Tyler teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the first wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second swipe input; and in response to detecting the second swipe input: in accordance with a determination that the second swipe input is in a first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, the set of widgets; and in accordance with a determination that the second swipe input is in a second direction different from the first direction, displaying, via the display generation component, a first user interface that does not include the set of widgets. Fig. 5CC – 5CE and [0254] describe that a left swipe input on the wake screen causes the device to display a control center user interface. This is carried out on the same wake screen interface on which the right swipe causes display of the widget screen as described at [0256].
With regard to Claim 8, Tyler teaches that the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a first system user interface that includes one or more visual elements that are based on the first wake screen user interface; and in response to detecting the second input, displaying, via the display generation component, a second system user interface that includes one or more visual elements that are based on the second wake screen user interface. Figs. 5CC – Fig. 5CL show that when the screen transitions from the wake screen to either the widget screen or control center screen, the clock display from the wake screen is displayed on each of the other screens.
With regard to Claim 9, Tyler teaches wherein a typeface of the one or more visual elements of a respective system user interface is based on a typeface of a respective wake user interface. Figs. 5CC – Fig. 5CL show that when the screen transitions from the wake screen to either the widget screen or control center screen, the clock display from the wake screen is displayed on each of the other screens. Therefore, the typeface of the clock element on the wake screen is used for the clock on the other screens.
With regard to Claim 10, Tyler teaches that a color of the one or more visual elements of a respective system user interface is based on a color of a respective wake user interface. Figs. 5CC – Fig. 5CL show that when the screen transitions from the wake screen to either the widget screen or control center screen, the clock display from the wake screen is displayed on each of the other screens. The clock color is therefore based on the clock of the wake screen, as the same clock display is maintained in each screen.
With regard to Claim 11, Tyler teaches that the one or more visual elements of a respective system user interface includes an animated character that is based on an animated character of a respective wake user interface. Figs. 5CC – Fig. 5CL show that when the screen transitions from the wake screen to either the widget screen or control center screen, the clock display from the wake screen is displayed on each of the other screens. The figures show that the clock characters are animated to move to a different position in the interface, depending on the direction which the swipe is made.
With regard to Claim 12, Tyler teaches that the one or more visual elements of a respective system user interface includes a style of indicating time that is based on a style of indicating time of a respective wake user interface. Figs. 5CC – Fig. 5CL show that when the screen transitions from the wake screen to either the widget screen or control center screen, the clock display from the wake screen is displayed on each of the other screens. Therefore, the time is indicated on each screen in the same manner it is displayed in the wake screen.
With regard to Claim 13, Tyler teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: in response to detecting the first input, displaying, via the display generation component, a system user interface, wherein the system user interface includes the set of widgets, and wherein displaying the system user interface includes displaying a first transition animation from the first wake screen user interface to the system user interface, and wherein the first transition animation is at least partially based on the first wake screen user interface. Figs. 5CI - 5CK show that a screen transition between screens is animated, where the animation shows the wake screen being animated off the display while the set of widgets is animated onto the screen.
With regard to Claim 14, Tyler teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the set of widgets, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a third input of a second type, different from the first type; and in response to detecting the third input of the second type, displaying a respective wake user interface. Figs. 5CL – 5CM and [0257] describe that a swipe input is received on the widget screen, causing the wake screen to be displayed.
With regard to Claim 17, Tyler teaches that in accordance with a determination that a live session is available, the set of widgets includes a second widget that corresponds to the live session; and in accordance with a determination that the live session is not available, the set of widgets does not include the second widget that corresponds to the live session. Fig. 5EN shows the widget screen that includes a calendar widget with details about the next upcoming event. The screen shows an upcoming live session, in the form of a meeting. Therefore, when a next event corresponds to a live session, the widgets include a widget indicating the session; when a next event does not, the widget with the live session is not displayed.
With regard to Claim 18, Tyler teaches that the live session is generated based on information from an application of the computer system. [0107] describes that the device circuitry includes the calendar module that stores calendars and associated data.
With regard to Claim 19, Tyler teaches that the live session is generated based on information from an application of a companion computer system that is different from the computer system. Fig. 5EB shows a calendar invitation received from another person’s device, thereby indicating that stored calendar events can be based on information from an application of a different computer system.
With regard to Claim 21, Tyler teaches that the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the set of widgets, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fifth input; and in response to detecting the fifth input, displaying, via the display generation component, a set of application icons for initiating the display of respective applications. Figs. 5FY-5FZ and [0313] describe that a user can swipe up on the widget display interface, causing the display of a home screen with icons that are used to launch applications.
With regard to Claim 22, Tyler teaches that the display generation component includes a physical property, and wherein displaying the set of widgets includes: in accordance with a determination that the physical property of the display generation component corresponds to a first physical property value, displaying the set of widgets with a first layout property; and in accordance with a determination that the physical property of the display generation component corresponds to a second physical property value different from the first physical property value, displaying the set of widgets with a second layout property, different from the first layout property. [0326] describes that a different wake screen can be displayed when a device is a larger format device such as a tablet. As shown in Figs. 5GX-5HA, the layout on the larger form factor device can display the widget interface alongside the wake screen, instead of separately.
With regard to Claim 23, Tyler teaches that the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the first wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first set of one or more inputs, wherein the first set of one or more inputs includes a swipe input; and in response to detecting the first set of one or more inputs, displaying, via the display generation component, the second wake screen user interface. Figs 5BF-5BO show various methods of changing to a second wake screen, including a tap and swipe gesture to load earlier notifications that cause the display of a different set of notifications in the wake screen.
With regard to Claim 24, Tyler teaches wherein the first set of one or more inputs further includes a touch input exceeding a predetermined time threshold. [0071] describes that a gesture is recognized as a tap gesture if the contact time is below a threshold time. Therefore, recognizing a swipe gesture requires contact for longer than the threshold.
With regard to Claim 25, Tyler teaches that the first wake screen user interface includes a first complication from a set of complications and wherein the set of widgets includes a widget that includes one or more complications of the set of complications. Figs. 5FV-5FX both show elements from the calendar; the wake screen shows an invitation and the widget screen other calendar items, where each includes the day icon from the calendar.
With regard to Claim 26, Tyler teaches that the first wake screen user interface is a time user interface. Fig. 5B shows that the wake screen includes the current time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler, in view of Ham, U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0310609 (“Ham”).
With regard to Claim 2, Tyler does not teach that the one or more input devices includes a rotatable input mechanism and wherein the first type of input is a rotational input received via the rotatable input mechanism. Ham teaches at [0099] that a rotation input of a wheel input causes the device to switch a display to a widget screen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Ham with Tyler. One of skill in the art would have sought the combination, to improve user interface navigation by enabling the use of additional input devices to do so, thereby accommodating more user preferences with regard to input types and devices.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler, in view of Shuttleworth, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0189608 (“Shuttleworth”).
With regard to Claim 5, Tyler, in view of Shuttleworth teaches that the display generation component includes a display device and wherein the first swipe input starts at an edge of the display device. Tyler teaches a swipe input to reach a screen displaying app widgets, as described above. Shuttleworth teaches at [0136] that if a device is displaying a welcome screen, a swipe from an edge can display a device home screen, where [0160] describes that a home screen can include icons related to running apps.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler. Shuttleworth at [0006] describes a number of benefits from the methods described therein, including enabling fast one-handed operation and interfaces that scale well to different form factors. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler, to improve user experience by enabling efficient one-handed operation and easily scalable user interfaces.
With regard to Claim 6, Tyler, in view of Shuttleworth teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the first wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a third swipe input; and in response to detecting the third swipe input: in accordance with a determination that the third swipe input starts at a first edge, displaying, via the display generation component, the set of widgets; and in accordance with a determination that the third swipe input starts at a second edge, different from the first edge, displaying, via the display generation component, a second user interface that does not include the set of widgets.
Tyler teaches a swipe input to reach a screen displaying app widgets, as described above. Shuttleworth teaches at [0484] that the swipe from the right edge reveals the home screen, described above as including apps. [0478] describes that a swipe can be detected from the left edge of the home screen, causing display of a launcher bar and not a home screen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler. Shuttleworth at [0006] describes a number of benefits from the methods described therein, including enabling fast one-handed operation and interfaces that scale well to different form factors. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler, to improve user experience by enabling efficient one-handed operation and easily scalable user interfaces.
With regard to Claim 7, Shuttleworth teaches the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying the first wake screen user interface, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fourth swipe input, wherein the fourth swipe input starts at a non-edge region of the display device; and in response to detecting the fourth swipe input, performing an operation different from a respective operation performed when the first swipe input starts at a respective edge of the display device. [0351] describes that a flick up or down on the home screen can scroll up or down the screen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler. Shuttleworth at [0006] describes a number of benefits from the methods described therein, including enabling fast one-handed operation and interfaces that scale well to different form factors. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Shuttleworth with Tyler, to improve user experience by enabling efficient one-handed operation and easily scalable user interfaces.
Claims 15, 16, 20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tyler, in view of Tyler, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0286510 (“Tyler2”)
With regard to Claim 15, Tyler2 teaches that the set of widgets displayed in response to the first input are displayed in an order that is user-specified. Figs. 5H1-5H6 show a user arranging application widgets in a screen.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Tyler2 with Tyler, to improve user experience by providing greater user control over a screen which displays widgets.
With regard to Claim 16, Tyler2 teaches that in accordance with a determination that a first set of computer system context criteria for a first widget is met, the set of widgets includes the first widget; and in accordance with a determination that the set of computer system context criteria for the first widget is not met, the set of widgets does not include the first widget. [0050] describes that different subsets of application widgets can be displayed in an interface at different times, in response to a current context.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Tyler2 with Tyler, to improve user experience by providing greater user control over a screen which displays widgets.
With regard to Claim 20, Tyler2 teaches that the set of widgets includes a first subset of widgets and a second subset of widgets different from the first subset of widgets and wherein displaying the set of widgets in response to detecting the second input includes displaying the first subset of widgets of the set of widgets without displaying the second subset of widgets of the set of widgets, the one or more programs further including instructions for: while displaying, via the display generation component, the first subset of widgets of the set of widgets, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a fourth input; and in response to detecting the fourth input, displaying, via the display generation component, the second subset of widgets of the set of widgets.
Tyler2 at [0257] describes a user swiping to a widget screen from another screen, shown at Fig. 5A23. Figs. 5A23-5A34 describe that a user can input swipe inputs to navigate to a different widget display interface with a different subset of widgets, also described at [0257]-[0259]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Tyler2 with Tyler, to improve user experience by providing greater user control over a screen which displays widgets.
With regard to Claim 27, Tyler2 teaches that displaying the set of widgets includes displaying the set of widgets as a stack. Figs. 5C58-5C61 show that widgets can be arranged in a stack in an interface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time this application was filed to combine Tyler2 with Tyler, to improve user experience by providing greater user control over a screen which displays widgets.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee, et al., U.S. PGPUB No. 2023/0036302 describes additional methods for displaying application content in an interface.
/KEITH D BLOOMQUIST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171
2/23/2026