DETAILED ACTION
The Amendment amended claim 3.
Claims 1-10 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application claims the following priority:
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
The status for each rejection and/or objection in the previous Office Action is set out below.
35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant’s amendments to claim 3, which deletes kidney cancer as a cancer treated by the instant method is sufficient to overcome the rejections.
REJECTIONS-MODIFIED/NEW
The below prior art rejection is new since the previous prior art rejection was directed toward the treatment of metastatic kidney cancer. The same primary prior reference continues to be relied upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1, wherein claim 1 recites the treatment of uterine cancer, fallopian tube cancer, rectal cancer, esophageal cancer, lymph gland cancer, lung cancer, blood cancer, endocrine adenocarcinoma, oral cancer, and liver cancer. As such, the recitation of skin cancer, in claim 3, is outside the scope of the cancer treated by instant claim 1, thereby failing to limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(Modified) Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PG-PUB 2023/0137849 to Fontenille (effectively filed on 02/10/20217, PTO-892 of 06/12/2024) in view of Gu (Sorafenib inhibits growth and metastasis of hepatocellular carcinoma by blocking STAT3, published 2011, PTO-892).
Fontenille teaches the use of a compound of the diuretics class in admixture with pharmaceutically acceptable excipients, for treating cancer (title, abstract; pg. 20, claim 22; pg. 23, claim 37), wherein:
(Vd) is a diuretic compound ([0175]; pg. 22, claim 30), and wherein the method is applied to metastasized cancer ([0055], [0192], [0197]; pg. 22, claims 33, 35; pg. 23, claim 36).
Fontenille teaches hydroflumethiazide as an anticancer agent, as a potentiator of an anti-cancer agent, and as an anti-metastatic agent (pg. 22, claim 33).
Fontenille additionally teaches administering hydroflumethiazide with another anti-cancer agent (pg. 22, claim 34).
Fontenille teaches sorafenib as an anti-cancer agent (pg. 23, claim 36, [0226]) and teaches liver cancer as a cancer to be treated (pg. 23, claims 39, 40; [0276]; [0297]).
Fontenille exemplifies administering hydroflumethiazide and the anticancer agent doxorubicin to treat breast cancer ([0412]).
Regarding claim 1, while Fontenille teaches a method of treating metastatic cancer by administering hydroflumethiazide and an anticancer agent, such as sorafenib, it differs from that of the instantly claimed invention in that it does not specifically teach a method of treating metastatic, liver cancer by administering sorafenib.
Gu teaches sorafenib as inhibiting tumor growth and metastasis of hepatocellular carcinoma (title, abstract). Sorafenib is capable of inhibiting hepatocellular carcinoma growth and metastasis by suppressing STAT3 activity (pg. 3930, last paragraph).
(pg. 3925).
Gu teaches hepatocellular carcinoma as the fifth most common cancer and the third most frequent cause of cancer-related death globally (pg. 3923, 1st paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, to select metastatic liver cancer as the cancer and sorafenib as the anticancer agent, in the methods of Fontenille, to arrive at a method of treating metastatic liver cancer by administering a composition comprising sorafenib and hydroflumethiazide, to arrive at instant claim 1. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such selections, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Gu teaches sorafenib as inhibiting the growth and metastasis of hepatocellular carcinoma,
-Fontenille teaches methods of treating metastatic cancer and teaches hydroflumethiazide as an anti-metastatic agent and/or as a potentiator of an anti-cancer agent, wherein the anti-cancer agent is a chemotherapy agent ([0191]-[0192], [0195], [0197], [0216]), and
-Fontenille teaches liver cancer as a cancer treated by its methods, and teaches sorafenib as an anti-cancer agent in its methods.
As such, an artisan having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such selections, to predictably arrive at a method of effectively treating metastatic liver cancer by administering hydroflumethiazide and sorafenib, wherein hydroflumethiazide potentiates the effects of sorafenib, and potently treats metastatic disease to increase survival.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Fontenille and Gu teach sorafenib.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Fontenille and Gu teach liver cancer.
Regarding claim 4, Fontenille teaches a dosage of 0.1mg/kg to 16mg/kg of the diuretic compounds is taught ([0247]; pg. 23, claim 37), meeting the limitations of this claim.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Fontenille teaches daily oral administration ([0258]-[0259]; pg. 23, claim 38).
Regarding claim 7, Fontenille teaches tablets, solutions and others as dosage forms ([0260], pg. 23, claim 38).
Claims 1-5 and 7-8 are rendered obvious.
Claims 6, and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0137849 to Fontenille (effectively filed on 02/10/20217, PTO-892 of 06/12/2024) and Gu (Sorafenib inhibits growth and metastasis of hepatocellular carcinoma by blocking STAT3, published 2011, PTO-892), as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-8, and further in view of Gurney (BJC, published 2002, PTO-892 of 11/18/2024).
Fontenille and Gu are applied to claims 1-5 and 7-8 as discussed in the above rejection and incorporated herein.
While the combination of Fontenille and Gu teaches a method of treating metastatic liver cancer by administering hydroflumethiazide and sorafenib, it differs from that of instant claims 6, 9, and 10, in that it does not teach the ratios recited in instant claims 6, 9, and 10.
Fontenille teaches a dosage of 0.1mg/kg to 16mg/kg of the diuretic compounds ([0247]; pg. 23, claim 37).
Gu teaches administering 30mg/kg sorafenib in rats (pg. 3924, paragraph spanning Cols. 1 & 2).
Gurney teaches how to calculate the dose of chemotherapy. “Body surface area-dosing does not account for the complex processes of cytotoxic drug elimination. This leads to an unpredictable variation in effect. Overdosing is easily recognized but it is possible that unrecognized underdosing is more common and may occur in 30% or more of patients receiving standard regimen. Those patients who are inadvertently underdosed are at risk of significantly reduced anticancer effect. . .The inaccuracy of body surface area-dosing is more than an inconvenience and it is important that methods for more accurate dose calculation are determined, based on the known drug elimination processes for cytotoxic chemotherapy” (abstract). Table 4 details these twelve rules (pg. 1300).
Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to modify the ratio of hydroflumethiazide to sorafenib, in the combined method of Fontenille and Gu, to arrive at the instantly claimed ratios. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, because:
-Fontenille teaches administration of 0.1mg/kg to 16mg/kg hydroflumethiazide and Gu teaches administering 30mg/kg of sorafenib to rats,
-Fontenille teaches administration of a 1:1 ratio of diuretic compound to anticancer drug (Figs. 7-8, [0327]-[0328], [0419]-[0420]),
-Gurney teaches that the dose of chemotherapeutic administered is not a set calculation, but is dependent upon different factors, and
-"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." MPEP 2144.05(II).
Thus, an ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to optimize the amounts and hence the ratio of hydroflumethiazide to sorafenib, to predictably arrive at amounts, and hence a ratio, that optimizes therapeutic efficacy and minimizes side effects, to treat metastatic liver cancer.
Claims 1-10 are rendered obvious.
Response to Arguments
On pg. 5, Remarks, Applicant states that the claims have been amended to delete reference to kidney cancer which is mentioned in the Fontenille and Kane references in the last office action.
In view of the above new rejections, the limitations of the instant claims are met.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/LAUREN WELLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1622