DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12-14, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE ET AL. (US 20190070972 A1) (hereinafter “LEE”) in view of TENMYO ET AL. (US 20150293183 A1) (hereinafter “TENMYO”).
With respect to Claim(s) 1, 10, LEE teaches an apparatus for controlling charging of an environment-friendly vehicle. The apparatus includes a high-voltage battery SOC determining unit configured to determine a state of charge (SOC) of a high-voltage battery that is a main power source, an auxiliary battery SOC determining unit configured to determine an SOC of an auxiliary battery that assists power of the high-voltage battery, and an auxiliary battery charging control unit configured to, when receiving a request for an operation of an engine for controlling heating, perform a control such that the auxiliary battery is charged by using the high-voltage battery and the BRI of:
A method
of
controlling a battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT),
the method comprising:
identifying, by a controller, an estimated state of charge (SOC) value of a first battery based on a measured current of the first battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0040-0048, 0056-0090, 0097; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT);
setting, by the controller, an output voltage command value of a direct current (DC)-DC converter, which adjusts a voltage of a second battery and outputs the adjusted voltage to the first battery, based on the estimated SOC value (See, e.g., ¶ 0008, 0010, 0014, 0015, 0028, 0048, 0051, 0057, 0058, 0063, 0064, 0079-0085; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
However, LEE is lacking the explicit language of:
adjusting, by the controller, the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value.
TENMYO teaches Current-integration estimation unit estimates the SOC of a battery by integrating the value of the current flowing through the battery. Open-circuit voltage estimation unit estimates the open-circuit voltage value of the battery from a value that includes at least the measured voltage value of the battery and indicates the state of the battery, and identifies the SOC corresponding to the open-circuit voltage value. In neither charged nor discharged state, SOC determination unit employs the SOC estimated by open-circuit voltage estimation unit. In charged or discharged state, SOC determination unit employs the SOC estimated by current-integration estimation unit without change or after correction using the SOC estimated by open-circuit voltage estimation unit. In parallel with the SOC estimation, SOH estimation unit estimates the SOH of the battery based on the variation value of the SOC employed by SOC determination unit and the integrated current value in the time period required for the variation and the BRI of:
adjusting an estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and an output voltage command value (See, e.g., ¶ 0033, 0036, 0054, 0065, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include adjusting, by the controller, the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 11, an apparatus for controlling charging of an environment-friendly vehicle. The apparatus includes a high-voltage battery SOC determining unit configured to determine a state of charge (SOC) of a high-voltage battery that is a main power source, an auxiliary battery SOC determining unit configured to determine an SOC of an auxiliary battery that assists power of the high-voltage battery, and an auxiliary battery charging control unit configured to, when receiving a request for an operation of an engine for controlling heating, perform a control such that the auxiliary battery is charged by using the high-voltage battery and the BRI of:
A battery power conversion apparatus (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT)
comprising:
a first battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT);
a second battery (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT);
a direct current (DC)-DC converter connected between the first and second batteries (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT)
and
configured to
adjust and output a voltage of the second battery to the first battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0008, 0010, 0014, 0015, 0028, 0048, 0051, 0057, 0058, 0063, 0064, 0079-0085; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT);
and
a controller configured to
identify an estimated state of charge (SOC) value of the first battery based on a measured current of the first battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0040-0048, 0056-0090, 0097; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT),
set an output voltage command value of the DC-DC converter based on the estimated SOC value (See, e.g., ¶ 0008, 0010, 0014, 0015, 0028, 0048, 0051, 0057, 0058, 0063, 0064, 0079-0085; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
However, LEE is lacking the explicit language of:
adjust the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value.
TENMYO teaches Current-integration estimation unit estimates the SOC of a battery by integrating the value of the current flowing through the battery. Open-circuit voltage estimation unit estimates the open-circuit voltage value of the battery from a value that includes at least the measured voltage value of the battery and indicates the state of the battery, and identifies the SOC corresponding to the open-circuit voltage value. In neither charged nor discharged state, SOC determination unit employs the SOC estimated by open-circuit voltage estimation unit. In charged or discharged state, SOC determination unit employs the SOC estimated by current-integration estimation unit without change or after correction using the SOC estimated by open-circuit voltage estimation unit. In parallel with the SOC estimation, SOH estimation unit estimates the SOH of the battery based on the variation value of the SOC employed by SOC determination unit and the integrated current value in the time period required for the variation and the BRI of:
adjust an estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and an output voltage command value (See, e.g., ¶ 0033, 0036, 0054, 0065, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include adjust an estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and an output voltage command value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 2, 12, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LEE further teaches the BRI of:
the identifying of the estimated SOC.
However, LEE is lacking the explicit language of:
identifying an initial SOC value of the first battery; identifying a change in SOC value of the first battery by integrating the measured current of the first battery; and setting a value, which is obtained by adding the change in SOC value to the initial SOC value, as the estimated SOC.
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
identifying an initial SOC value of the first battery; identifying a change in SOC value of the first battery by integrating the measured current of the first battery; and setting a value, which is obtained by adding the change in SOC value to the initial SOC value, as the estimated SOC (See, e.g., ¶ 0036, 0065, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include identifying an initial SOC value of the first battery; identifying a change in SOC value of the first battery by integrating the measured current of the first battery; and setting a value, which is obtained by adding the change in SOC value to the initial SOC value, as the estimated SOC.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 3, 13 the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the identifying of the initial SOC includes setting the initial SOC value based on
an open circuit voltage (OCV) (See, e.g., ¶ 0003, 0006, 0008, 0024-0038, 0050-0060, 0072, 0078; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT)
and
a temperature of the first battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0012, 0020, 0023, 0032, 0041-0043, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT)
with
reference to a lookup table (LUT) (See, e.g., ¶ 0012, 0020, 0023, 0032, 0041-0043, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include wherein the identifying of the initial SOC includes setting the initial SOC value based on an open circuit voltage (OCV) and a temperature of the first battery with reference to a lookup table (LUT).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 4, 14, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
wherein
the identifying of the change in SOC includes
setting the change in the SOC value by dividing the integrated measured current by a capacity of the first battery (See, e.g., ¶ 0027; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include wherein the identifying of the change in SOC includes setting the change in the SOC value by dividing the integrated measured current by a capacity of the first battery.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 6, 16, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TENMYO teaches
the adjusting of the estimated SOC is performed.
LEE further teaches the BRI of:
measured current being maintained below a preset measured level for a preset time period (See, e.g., ¶ 0002, 0040, 0041, 0066, 0075, 0077, 0090; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-4; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
With respect to Claim(s) 7, 17, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LEE further teaches the BRI of:
the adjusting of the estimated SOC.
However, LEE is lacking the explicit language of:
adjusting the estimated SOC to become lower upon the estimated SOC being within a first set range and the output voltage command value being lower than a first set value; and adjusting the estimated SOC to become higher upon the estimated SOC being within a second set range and the output voltage command value being higher than a second set value, and the first set range is set to be higher than the second set range, and the first set value is set to be lower than the second set value.
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
adjusting the estimated SOC to become lower upon the estimated SOC being within a first set range and the output voltage command value being lower than a first set value; and adjusting the estimated SOC to become higher upon the estimated SOC being within a second set range and the output voltage command value being higher than a second set value, and the first set range is set to be higher than the second set range, and the first set value is set to be lower than the second set value (See, e.g., ¶ 0036, 0065, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include adjusting the estimated SOC to become lower upon the estimated SOC being within a first set range and the output voltage command value being lower than a first set value; and adjusting the estimated SOC to become higher upon the estimated SOC being within a second set range and the output voltage command value being higher than a second set value, and the first set range is set to be higher than the second set range, and the first set value is set to be lower than the second set value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 8, 18, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
up-counting an error flag value whenever the estimated SOC is adjusted; and maintaining the output voltage command value at a predetermined value upon the error flag value exceeding a preset value (See, e.g., ¶ 0033, 0036, 0041-0043, 0060, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include up-counting an error flag value whenever the estimated SOC is adjusted; and maintaining the output voltage command value at a predetermined value upon the error flag value exceeding a preset value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With respect to Claim(s) 9, 19, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
TENMYO further teaches the BRI of:
outputting an error state about the first battery to an external device upon the error flag value exceeding the preset value (See, e.g., ¶ 0033, 0036, 0041-0043, 0060, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 2-5; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include outputting an error state about the first battery to an external device upon the error flag value exceeding the preset value.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to improve battery parameter estimation. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 5, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the cited references of the parent claim(s) in view of MITSUTANI ET AL. (US 20190359079 A1) (hereinafter “MITSUTANI”).
With respect to Claim(s) 5, 15, the cited reference(s) of the parent claim(s) teaches the BRI of the parent claim(s).
LEE further teaches the BRI of:
the setting of the output voltage command value includes: adjusting the output voltage command value.
However, LEE is lacking the explicit language of:
discharge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being higher than a reference level; and charge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being lower than the reference level.
MITSUTANI teaches a power supply device is mountable to a vehicle and includes: a high-voltage battery; a low-voltage battery of which an output voltage is lower than that of the high-voltage battery, and which can be charged by output power from the high-voltage battery; and a control unit configured to perform charging/discharging control for the high-voltage battery and the low-voltage battery. The control unit performs feeding control for causing the high-voltage battery to supply power to a predetermined on-vehicle device while consumed power is higher than a predetermined value in a state in which a main switch of the vehicle is not on and the BRI of:
discharge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being higher than a reference level; and charge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being lower than the reference level (See, e.g., ¶ 0007, 0041, 0045, 0054, 0061, 0063, 0072; See also, e.g., Fig(s). 1-7; See also, e.g., ABSTRACT).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art, at the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify LEE to include discharge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being higher than a reference level; and charge the first battery upon the estimated SOC being lower than the reference level.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify LEE because it would be beneficial to prevent or decrease battery deterioration. Further, it would be obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, use known techniques to improve similar devices in the same way, and/or apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s)/remark(s), see page(s) 6-10, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to the art rejection(s) has/have been fully considered.
-Applicant states
“Rejections under 35 U.S.C. §102 and 103
The Examiner has rejected claims 1, 6, 10, 11 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0070972 to Lee et al. ("Lee"), claims 2-4, 7-9, 12-14 and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being obvious over Lee in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0293183 to Tenmyo et al. ("Tenmyo"), and claims 5 and 15 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Lee and Tenmyo in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0359079 to Mitsutani et al. ("Mitsutani").
Applicant respectfully submits that Lee, Tenmyo, Mitsutani, taken individually or combined, fail to teach or suggest inventive features of the presently claimed invention including i) setting, by the controller, an output voltage command value of a direct current (DC)-DC converter, which adjusts a voltage of a second battery and outputs the adjusted voltage to the first battery, based on the estimated SOC value; and ii) adjusting, by the controller, the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value, as is called for by claim(s) 1 and 11.
Lee fails to disclose such features
In page 4 of Office Action, the Examiner indicated that:
…”
“First of all, Lee fails to disclose setting, by the controller, an output voltage command value of a direct current (DC)-DC converter, which adjusts a voltage of a second battery and outputs the adjusted voltage to the first battery, based on the estimated SOC value, as is presently claimed.
Instead, assuming arguendo that the auxiliary battery of Lee may correspond to the second battery of the presently claimed invention, Lee merely discloses controlling the charging of the auxiliary battery itself, based on determining whether the SOC of the auxiliary battery is lower than a predetermined reference value (X). See Lee, paragraphs 0058 and 0063, as recited below, and also see FIG. 4, reproduced below.
In detail, Lee discloses that the auxiliary battery SOC detecting unit 120 senses the SOC of the auxiliary battery via an intelligent battery sensor (IBS) (paragraph [0058]), and that when the SOC of the auxiliary battery is lower than a predetermined reference value, the hybrid control unit requests the low DC/DC converter 118 to control charging of the auxiliary battery (paragraph [0063]).
…”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
First, Examiner’s BRI of the structure necessary to perform the functions of the independent claim(s) is a high voltage battery communicatively coupled to a DC-DC converter that’s further communicatively coupled to an auxiliary battery with a control unit further communicatively coupled to said batteries and converter (See Drawings (Fig. 2) as originally filed).
LEE teaches the BRI of said structure (See, e.g., Fig(s). 2).
Second, Examiner’s BRI of the ‘controller’ function ‘set an output voltage command value of the DC-DC converter based on the estimated SOC VALUE’ is charging/discharging a first battery by using a second battery based on the SOC of the first battery.
LEE teaches the BRI interpretation of the resulting function(s) of the claimed invention and:
[0008] …prevent overcharging of a high-voltage battery by charging an auxiliary battery by using the high-voltage battery if an SOC of the high-voltage battery increases by a specific level;
[0010] … high-voltage battery SOC determining unit configured to determine a state of charge (SOC) of a high-voltage battery that is a main power source, an auxiliary battery SOC determining unit configured to determine an SOC of an auxiliary battery that assists power of the high-voltage battery, and an auxiliary battery charging control unit configured to...perform a control such that the auxiliary battery is charged by using the high-voltage battery;
[0014] … The auxiliary battery charging control unit may perform a control to charge the auxiliary battery by using the high-voltage battery in one or more of a case in which the SOC of the auxiliary battery is a predetermined reference value or more
[0015] … The auxiliary battery charging control unit may perform a control such that, if the SOC of the high-voltage battery is not less than a predetermined reference value … the auxiliary battery is charged by using the SOC of the high-voltage battery.
[0028] … if the SOC of the high-voltage battery is less than a predetermined reference value and the SOC of the auxiliary battery is not less than the predetermined reference value… performing discharge control of the auxiliary.
“In addition, Lee fails to disclose adjusting, by the controller, the estimated Soc value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value, as is presently claimed.
Instead, Lee merely discloses that when the SOC of the high-voltage battery increases by a specific level or more, the auxiliary battery is charged regardless of the auxiliary battery SOC level. See Lee, paragraph 0097, recited below.
…
Tenmyo, Mitsutani, fail to account for these deficiencies of Lee, because the Examiner cites only Lee, to support such features. See Office Action, page 4.
In contrast, Applicant's independent claims 1 and 11 call for i) setting an output voltage command value of a DC-DC converter 30, which adjusts a voltage of a second battery (main battery) 10 and outputs the adjusted voltage to the first battery 20, based on the estimated SOC value; and ii) adjusting the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value. See Application, FIG. 2, reproduced below.
In this configuration, since the controller 100 may be configured to determine an output voltage command value for the DC-DC converter 30 based on an estimated state of charge (SOC) value of the auxiliary battery 20, and adjust the estimated SOC value based on the estimated SOC value and the output voltage command value according to the determined output voltage command value, the measured state of charge (SOC) value of a battery is effectively corrected based on results of monitoring the current of the battery while driving to reduce an SOC error of the battery, thereby improving the fuel efficiency of an electrified vehicle, and stabilizing voltage control of the battery.
…”
Examiner agrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
After further search/consideration, Examiner is issuing a 2nd NF with updated/new rejection(s) not necessitated by amendment(s).
“For at least these reasons, Applicant respectfully submits that Lee, Tenmyo, Mitsutani, do neither anticipate nor render obvious independent claims 1 and 11.
Applicant submits that claims 2-10, which depend from independent claim 1, and claims 12-19, which depend from independent claim 11, are thus likewise allowable over the cited art for at least the same reasons noted above.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the underlined argument(s)/remark(s).
See updated/new rejection(s) not necessitated by amendment(s).
Conclusion
RAYMOND NIMOX
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2857
/RAYMOND L NIMOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit