DETAILED ACTION
The office action is in response to the application filed received on July 20, 2026, after a non-final office action.
Claims 1-16 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 3, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 07/20/2026 have been noted and entered for consideration. Claims 1-16 are pending in the instant application.
With regard to the 101 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/2026 (see pages 7-8 of Remarks) in view of the amendments have been fully considered and persuasive. The 101 rejection is withdrawn.
With regard to the 112 (b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/2026 (see pages 7-8 of Remarks) in view of the amendments have been fully considered and persuasive. The 112 (b) rejection is withdrawn.
With regard to the 102 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 07/20/2026 (see pages 8-11 of Remarks) in view of the amendments have been fully considered but not persuasive. Due to the amended claims, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in the below
Regarding independent claims 1 and 8, Applicant argued:
Regarding the part of the amended claim 1, recited as “determining a length of a second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU, and a length parameter associated with the first PPDU, to align an end of the second PPDU with an end of the first PPDU,” Gan fails to disclose.
Gan's FIG. 6 - FIG. 8 teach aligning the end time of a later PPDU with the end time of an earlier PPDU. Although Gan's SIFS (Short Interframe Space) or channel contention periods correspond to the claimed idle time, Gan completely fails to disclose the claimed mechanism of determining the length of the second PPDU according to such an idle time and a length parameter.
In Gan, a device merely waits for a specified delay period (e.g., a SIFS) and then transmits a packet such that its boundary aligns with another packet. Gan does not teach or suggest utilizing the idle time (SIFS) as an input variable in a dynamic determination process to deduce the correct payload length of the second PPDU. In sharp contrast, the claimed invention utilizes the timestamps, the idle time, and the length parameter associated with the first PPDU to actively and dynamically determine the length of the second PPDU. This specific configuration compensates for hardware delays and clock variations, ensuring precise alignment. Because Gan lacks any disclosure or suggestion of using an idle time and a length parameter to determine the length of the second PPDU, Gan cannot anticipate Claim 1.
In response to Applicant’s argument, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In the argument, the part of the amended claim 1 mentioned is not disclosed by Gan. However, Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively. Further, Gan, in Figs.6-8 and in Paragraph [0090], teaches that the end time of the third PPDU can be the same as the end time of the second PPDU, but the sending time of the third PPDU needs to be not earlier than the end time of the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device. As described in the above, the end time of the third PPDU can be determined by obtaining the information of the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU including the first stamp and the second stamp (in Figs, 6-8, both stamps are the end moment of the first PPDU), determine the duration and the end time of the third PPDU, where the end time of the third PPDU can be aligned to the second PPDU’s.
Thus, the part of the amended claim 1 mentioned is disclosed by Gan.
By the similar reasoning, the amended claim 8 is also disclosed by Gan.
Thus, the rejection is maintained and the rejection for the amended part of claims is added in this instant office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ming Gan et. al. (USPub. No.: US 20230328666 A1, hereinafter “Gan”).
Regarding claim 1, Gan teaches that a control method of a wireless communication module having a first link and a second link, comprising: (Gan, in Fig. 1, teaches that as shown in FIG. 1, for the example, the communication system includes a first multi-link device and a second multi-link device. The multi-link devices each include a plurality of stations (STAs) and the plurality of STAs operate over a plurality of links. Here, the multi-link device includes a plurality of stations and the station may be a non-access point station (non-AP station) or an access point station (AP station).) obtaining a first timestamp of a first reference point corresponding to a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), wherein the first PPDU is transmitted on a channel corresponding to the first link; (Gan, in Fig. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0060], [0063], and [0080]-[0109]], teaches that in Fig. 6-8, the first PPDU is corresponding to the PPDU previously sent for the claim, the second PPDU is corresponding to the first PPDU for the claim, and the third PPDU is corresponding to the second PPDU for the claim. In Paragraphs [0060], [0063], and [0080]-[0082], for steps, S101 or S202, the first PPDU in the art may be sent over the first link by the first multi-link device through the EDCA (enhanced distributed channel access) based channel contention manner including performing listening for the AIFS (Arbitration Interframe space) and the backoff process, through the preempted channel over the first link, as a data packet in the preempted transmission opportunity (TXOP), or by using the parameters included in the management frame, the control frame, or an aggregated packet of a plurality of types of frames of the first PPDU. Then, as described in Figs 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0083]-[0086], in Step S202, after a preset time interval (such as SIFS (Short Interframe Space) after a second device receives the first PPDU over the first link, the second device sends a second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) in response to the first PPDU to the first multi-link device. In this case, the first timestamp of the first reference point for the claim is the end moment of the first PPDU in the art or the beginning point of SIFS and the second PPDU (the first PPDU in the claim) is sent on the channel corresponding to the first link. In the art, the first time stamp can be obtained based on the information included in the first PPDU received by the second device, since the first PPDU include a data frame, a management frame, or a control frame.) obtaining a second timestamp of a second reference point corresponding to the second link, wherein the second reference point is a slot boundary, a transmission end or a reception end; (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU, the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. Further, since the third device to send the third PPDU uses the channel contention (including the backoff process based on slots), the second time stamp can be the slot boundary. In addition, since the end moment of the first PPDU can be a transmission end (Fig. 7: an uplink case) and a reception end (Fig. 8: a downlink case), the second time stamp can be either the transmission end or the reception end.) determining a length of a second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU, and a length parameter associated with the first PPDU, to align an end of the second PPDU with an end of the first PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively. Further, Gan, in Figs.6-8 and in Paragraph [0090], teaches that the end time of the third PPDU can be the same as the end time of the second PPDU, but the sending time of the third PPDU needs to be not earlier than the end time of the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device. As described in the above, the end time of the third PPDU can be determined by obtaining the information of the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU including the first stamp and the second stamp (in Figs, 6-8, both stamps are the end moment of the first PPDU), determine the duration and the end time of the third PPDU, where the end time of the third PPDU can be aligned to the second PPDU’s.) and generating the second PPDU according to the determined length of the second PPDU, and transmitting the second PPDU after the second reference point. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches as described in the above (steps S204 and S205), the third multi-link device determine the length or duration of the third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) and its end time by obtaining the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and based on this information, transmits the third PPDU on the second link at not earlier than or after the end moment of the first PPDU, namely, after the second reference point).)
Regarding claim 2, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first reference point is a slot boundary, a transmission end or a reception end before a transmission of the first PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) is sent by the first multi-link device on the first link and the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) over the first link is sent by the second device in response to the first PPDU. As shown in Figs 6-8, the first timestamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In addition, since the end moment of the first PPDU can be a transmission end (Fig. 7: an uplink case) and a reception end (Fig. 8: a downlink case), the first timestamp can be either the transmission end or the reception end.)
Regarding claim 3, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, a first idle time, the idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU, and the length parameter associated with the first PPDU, wherein the first idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the first reference point and the first PPDU, and the idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU is the SIFS or the slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the idle time between the second reference point and the third PPDU (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 4, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first reference point corresponding to the first link is a start of an alignment calculation for determining the length of the second PPDU, and the start of the alignment calculation is after the second reference point corresponding to the second link. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS or the beginning point of channel contention. Based on this observation and in Fig 6-8, the alignment is calculated by the configuration of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) and the third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) including the reference points, the idle times, and the duration of transmission of each PPDU.)
Regarding claim 5, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 4, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that obtaining a remaining length of the first PPDU after the first reference point; and the step of determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp and the second timestamp comprises: (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU (namely, the remaining length of the second PPDU after the reference point of the second PPDU is calculated based on the first reference point (the end moment of the first PPDU in the art)) based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU (the first reference point for the claim), the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In the description, two timestamps can be either same (the SIFS case) or different (when the third PPDU is sent by using the channel contention)). Accordingly, the length of the third PPDU can be determined based on the reference point (or the timestamp) of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the duration of the second PPDU, and the reference point (or the timestamp) of the third PPDU (the second reference point for the claim).) determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time and the remaining length of the first PPDU, wherein the idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 6, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first PPDU is transmitted by another device different from a device having the wireless communication module. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the first PPDU (a PPDU that is transmitted or received in the previous duration for the claim), the second PPDU (the first PPDU on the first link for the claim), the third PPDU (the second PPDU on the second link for the claim) can be transmitted by different devices, respectively, that have the wireless communication module. Namely, as described in Paragraph [0098], the first PPDU is transmitted by the first device, the second PPDU is transmitted by the second device, and the third PPDU is transmitted by the third device. Three devices are different multi-link devices one another that having a wireless communication module.)
Regarding claim 7, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that determining a packet length of the first PPDU and the first timestamp of the first reference point according to a header of the first PPDU; (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091] and [0099], teaches that when the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device includes a data frame or a management frame, the second PPDU returned by the second device includes acknowledgment information. Because a transmission time of the acknowledgment information is relatively short, transmission duration obtained by another multi-link device in the current BSS over another link in the foregoing manners is also relatively short. Another multi-link device includes a device in the current BSS other than the first multi-link device, for example, the third multi-link device. To enable another multi-link station in the current BSS to learn the transmission duration of the acknowledgment information, a MAC header of a message packet sent by a multi-link AP may carry transmission duration information of the acknowledgment information. The transmission duration information may be a length field in a unit of bytes and a function of the transmission duration information is similar to that of a length field in an L-SIG in a legacy preamble. In this case, the first PPDU (a PPDU previously sent for the claim) also needs to carry the transmission duration information. The length indication information is carried in a MAC header to indicate the transmission duration of the second PPDU.) and the step of determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp and the second timestamp comprises: (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU (namely, the remaining length of the second PPDU after the reference point of the second PPDU is calculated based on the first reference point (the end moment of the first PPDU in the art)) based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU (the first reference point for the claim), the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In the description, two timestamps can be either same (the SIFS case) or different (when the third PPDU is sent by using the channel contention)). Accordingly, the length of the third PPDU can be determined based on the reference point (or the timestamp) of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the duration of the second PPDU, and the reference point (or the timestamp) of the third PPDU (the second reference point for the claim).) determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time and the packet length of the first PPDU, wherein the idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 8, Gan teaches that a wireless communication module of an electronic device, comprising a media access control (MAC) layer circuit and a physical layer circuit, wherein the MAC layer circuit and the physical layer circuit are configured to perform the steps of: (Gan, in Fig. 1, teaches that as shown in FIG. 1, for the example, the communication system includes a first multi-link device and a second multi-link device. The multi-link devices each include a plurality of stations (STAs) and the plurality of STAs operate over a plurality of links. Here, the multi-link device includes a plurality of stations and the station may be a non-access point station (non-AP station) or an access point station (AP station). For the physical layer, the module (circuit) for the multilink communication is shown in Fig. 9 Further, for the multilink communication, since the MAC information for each PPDU such as MAC header, MAC address, etc, the MAC layer circuit is also included as described in Paragraph [0009]) obtaining a first timestamp of a first reference point corresponding to a first physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU), wherein the first PPDU is transmitted on a channel corresponding to the first link; (Gan, in Fig. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0060], [0063], and [0080]-[0109]], teaches that in Fig. 6-8, the first PPDU is corresponding to the PPDU previously sent for the claim, the second PPDU is corresponding to the first PPDU for the claim, and the third PPDU is corresponding to the second PPDU for the claim. In Paragraphs [0060], [0063], and [0080]-[0082], for steps, S101 or S202, the first PPDU in the art may be sent over the first link by the first multi-link device through the EDCA (enhanced distributed channel access) based channel contention manner including performing listening for the AIFS (Arbitration Interframe space) and the backoff process, through the preempted channel over the first link, as a data packet in the preempted transmission opportunity (TXOP), or by using the parameters included in the management frame, the control frame, or an aggregated packet of a plurality of types of frames of the first PPDU. Then, as described in Figs 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0083]-[0086], in Step S202, after a preset time interval (such as SIFS (Short Interframe Space) after a second device receives the first PPDU over the first link, the second device sends a second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) in response to the first PPDU to the first multi-link device. In this case, the first timestamp of the first reference point for the claim is the end moment of the first PPDU in the art or the beginning point of SIFS and the second PPDU (the first PPDU in the claim) is sent on the channel corresponding to the first link. In the art, the first time stamp can be obtained based on the information included in the first PPDU received by the second device, since the first PPDU include a data frame, a management frame, or a control frame.) obtaining a second timestamp of a second reference point corresponding to the second link, wherein the second reference point is a slot boundary, a transmission end or a reception end; (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU, the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. Further, since the third device to send the third PPDU uses the channel contention (including the backoff process based on slots), the second time stamp can be the slot boundary. In addition, since the end moment of the first PPDU can be a transmission end (Fig. 7: an uplink case) and a reception end (Fig. 8: a downlink case), the second time stamp can be either the transmission end or the reception end.) determining a length of a second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU, and a length parameter associated with the first PPDU, to align an end of the second PPDU with an end of the first PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively. Further, Gan, in Figs.6-8 and in Paragraph [0090], teaches that the end time of the third PPDU can be the same as the end time of the second PPDU, but the sending time of the third PPDU needs to be not earlier than the end time of the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device. As described in the above, the end time of the third PPDU can be determined by obtaining the information of the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU including the first stamp and the second stamp (in Figs, 6-8, both stamps are the end moment of the first PPDU), determine the duration and the end time of the third PPDU, where the end time of the third PPDU can be aligned to the second PPDU’s.) and generating the second PPDU according to the determined length of the second PPDU, and transmitting the second PPDU after the second reference point. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches as described in the above (steps S204 and S205), the third multi-link device determine the length or duration of the third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) and its end time by obtaining the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and based on this information, transmits the third PPDU on the second link at not earlier than or after the end moment of the first PPDU, namely, after the second reference point).)
Regarding claim 9, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first reference point is a slot boundary, a transmission end or a reception end before a transmission of the first PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) is sent by the first multi-link device on the first link and the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) over the first link is sent by the second device in response to the first PPDU. As shown in Figs 6-8, the first time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In addition, since the end moment of the first PPDU can be a transmission end (Fig. 7: an uplink case) and a reception end (Fig. 8: a downlink case), the first time stamp can be either the transmission end or the reception end.)
Regarding claim 10, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 9, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, a first idle time, the idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU, and the length parameter associated with the first PPDU, wherein the first idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the first reference point and the first PPDU, and the idle time between the second reference point and the second PPDU is the SIFS or the slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the idle time between the second reference point and the third PPDU (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 11, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first reference point corresponding to the first link is a start of an alignment calculation for determining the length of the second PPDU, and the start of the alignment calculation is after the second reference point corresponding to the second link. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS or the beginning point of channel contention. Based on this observation and in Fig 6-8, the alignment is calculated by the configuration of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim) and the third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) including the reference points, the idle times, and the duration of transmission of each PPDU.)
Regarding claim 12, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 11, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that obtaining a remaining length of the first PPDU after the first reference point; and the step of determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp and the second timestamp comprises: (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU (namely, the remaining length of the second PPDU after the reference point of the second PPDU is calculated based on the first reference point (the end moment of the first PPDU in the art)) based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU (the first reference point for the claim), the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In the description, two timestamps can be either same (the SIFS case) or different (when the third PPDU is sent by using the channel contention)). Accordingly, the length of the third PPDU can be determined based on the reference point (or the timestamp) of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the duration of the second PPDU, and the reference point (or the timestamp) of the third PPDU (the second reference point for the claim).) determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time and the remaining length of the first PPDU, wherein the idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 13, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first PPDU is transmitted by another device different from a device having the wireless communication module. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the first PPDU (a PPDU that is transmitted or received in the previous duration for the calim), the second PPDU (the first PPDU on the first link for the claim), the third PPDU (the second PPDU on the second link for the claim) can be transmitted by different devices, respectively, that have the wireless communication module. Namely, as described in Paragraph [0098], the first PPDU is transmitted by the first device, the second PPDU is transmitted by the second device, and the third PPDU is transmitted by the third device. Three devices are different multi-link devices one another that having a wireless communication module.)
Regarding claim 14, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that determining a packet length of the first PPDU and the first timestamp of the first reference point according to a header of the first PPDU; (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091] and [0099], teaches that when the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device includes a data frame or a management frame, the second PPDU returned by the second device includes acknowledgment information. Because a transmission time of the acknowledgment information is relatively short, transmission duration obtained by another multi-link device in the current BSS over another link in the foregoing manners is also relatively short. Another multi-link device includes a device in the current BSS other than the first multi-link device, for example, the third multi-link device. To enable another multi-link station in the current BSS to learn the transmission duration of the acknowledgment information, a MAC header of a message packet sent by a multi-link AP may carry transmission duration information of the acknowledgment information. The transmission duration information may be a length field in a unit of bytes and a function of the transmission duration information is similar to that of a length field in an L-SIG in a legacy preamble. In this case, the first PPDU (a PPDU previously sent for the claim) also needs to carry the transmission duration information. The length indication information is carried in a MAC header to indicate the transmission duration of the second PPDU.) and the step of determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp and the second timestamp comprises: (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that in S204, a third multi-link device obtains the first PPDU sent by the first multi-link device and/or the second PPDU over the first link sent by the second device over the first link in response to the first PPDU. After obtaining the first PPDU (the previous PPDU for the claim) or the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the third multi-link device may determine an end time or transmission duration of the second PPDU (namely, the remaining length of the second PPDU after the reference point of the second PPDU is calculated based on the first reference point (the end moment of the first PPDU in the art)) based on information carried in the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU and determine a transmission duration or an end time of a third PPDU (the second PPDU for the claim) to be sent, based on the end time or the transmission duration of the second PPDU determined. The third multi-link device sends the third PPDU through channel contention. After identifying or receiving the first PPDU, at or after an end time of the first PPDU (the first reference point for the claim), the third multi-link device that belongs to a same basic service set as the first multi-link device sends the third PPDU over the second link. A sending time of the third PPDU is later than or equal to the end time of the first PPDU, and the end time of the third PPDU is earlier than or equal to the end time of the second PPDU. Thus, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. In the description, two timestamps can be either same (the SIFS case) or different (when the third PPDU is sent by using the channel contention)). Accordingly, the length of the third PPDU can be determined based on the reference point (or the timestamp) of the second PPDU (the first PPDU for the claim), the duration of the second PPDU, and the reference point (or the timestamp) of the third PPDU (the second reference point for the claim).) determining the length of the second PPDU according to the first timestamp, the second timestamp, an idle time and the packet length of the first PPDU, wherein the idle time is a short inter-frame space (SIFS) or a slot time between the second reference point and the second PPDU (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0088]-[0091], teaches that the examples of the above description for transmitting and receiving the first PPDU, the second PPDU, and the third PPDU can be found in Figs 6-8. For example, as shown in Fig. 7, the length of the third PPDU is determined based on the first timestamp (the end moment of the first PPDU), the second timestamp (either the end moment of the first PPDU, the beginning of SIFS, or the beginning point of the channel contention), the first idle time (in Fig. 7, SIFS for the second PPDU. Further, if the second PPDU uses the channel contention, the first idle time can be SIFS, SIFS + a channel contention period, or a channel contention period.), the second idle time (SIFS, the channel contention period, or SIFS + the channel contention period), the length of the second PPDU (the length of the first PPDU for the claim) that determine the end time of the third PPDU, based on the first PPDU and/or the second PPDU obtained. As explained in the above and in Fig. 7, the first idle time or the second idle time can be either a SIFS period or a slot time between the reference point and the starting point of transmission of each PPDU (when using channel contention since the backoff process included in the channel contention is performed based on the slot time in WLAN.), respectively.)
Regarding claim 15, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first timestamp and the second timestamp are absolute times provided by a system of the electronic device. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0058], [0088]-[0091], teaches that the first timestamp of the first reference point for the claim is the end moment of the first PPDU in the art or the beginning point of SIFS and the second PPDU (the first PPDU in the claim) is sent on the channel corresponding to the first link. Further, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. Since the end time is referred to as an end moment or an end time point, and the start time is referred to as a start moment or a start time point, they are absolute time provided by the system.)
Regarding claim 16, Gan teaches the features defined in the claim 8, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Gan further teaches that wherein the first timestamp and the second timestamp are absolute times provided by a system of the electronic device. (Gan, in Figs. 6-8 and in Paragraphs [0058], [0088]-[0091], teaches that the first timestamp of the first reference point for the claim is the end moment of the first PPDU in the art or the beginning point of SIFS and the second PPDU (the first PPDU in the claim) is sent on the channel corresponding to the first link. Further, the second time stamp of the second reference point for the claim is same as the end moment of the first PPDU or the beginning point of SIFS. Since the end time is referred to as an end moment or an end time point, and the start time is referred to as a start moment or a start time point, they are absolute time provided by the system.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAEYOUNG KWAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/KEVIN T BATES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472