DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species 1, 4, 5 and 7 are not mutually exclusive. This is not found persuasive because the embodiment of Species 1 being described in the Restriction is the embodiment that includes ONLY a first storage member, which the Examiner thought to be clear since, as the applicant argues, this is the only interpretation that results in mutually exclusive species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/15/24 and 5/23/25 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a monitoring apparatus…capable of implementing a monitoring function” in claim 1, wherein the apparatus has the structure described in par. 0025 of the PGPUB of the current application, and equivalents thereof; and
”a first storage member configured to store a monitoring accessory” in claim 1, wherein the member has the structure described in par. 0185 of the PGPUB of the current application, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 11-13, 19, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer et al. (US 6,591,135, hereinafter Palmer) in view of Freeman et al. (US 2020/0305805, hereinafter Freeman).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 4, 11-13, 19, 20 and 22, Palmer discloses a device 10 for defibrillation and monitoring, as seen in figure 1. As seen in figure 3, the device includes a host 14 comprising a host housing with an internal accommodating chamber containing a host control unit 56, a high-voltage capacitor 27, a charging circuit 86 and a discharging circuit 25 (Col. 5, lines 1-6), and a host information transmission unit 30 for unidirectional and/or bidirectional information transmission (Col. 3, lines 20-52). A host display unit 52 configured to display defibrillation information is arranged at a front side of the housing (Col. 2, lines 25-28 and figure 1). A monitoring apparatus 12 is arranged at an upper/rear side of the host display unit 52 (as seen in figure 1, whether something is “upper” or “rear” being relative) the monitoring apparatus including a control unit 72 a display as seen in figure 1 and a transmission unit 30 (figure 3). The monitoring apparatus 12 is capable of implementing a monitoring function regardless of whether it is attached to assembly structure 31 of the host housing (Col. 2, lines 10-20).
Palmer is silent as to including a first storage member with multiple separated sub-storage members for storing monitoring accessories connected/affixed to the monitoring apparatus. Attention is directed to the Freeman reference, which also discloses a defibrillator and monitoring apparatus 109 for defibrillation and monitoring and thus is analogous art with Palmer (par. 0117-0118). The monitoring apparatus 109 is attached to a first storage member 110/111 with a plurality of sub-storage members 140, the first storage member attached to left and right sides of the monitoring apparatus so that it is coplanar with the monitoring apparatus and configured to store a monitoring accessory 116 (par. 0124-0127, 0180, Fig. 1A-1K). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Palmer to include a first storage member for storing monitoring accessories as Freeman teaches this allows for extending and enhancing the capabilities of the monitoring apparatus (par. 0007).
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palmer et al. (US 6,591,135, hereinafter Palmer) in view of Saper et al. (US 3,865,101, hereinafter Saper).
Regarding claim 1, Palmer discloses a device 10 for defibrillation and monitoring, as seen in figure 1. As seen in figure 3, the device includes a host 14 comprising a host housing with an internal accommodating chamber containing a host control unit 56, a high-voltage capacitor 27, a charging circuit 86 and a discharging circuit 25 (Col. 5, lines 1-6), and a host information transmission unit 30 for unidirectional and/or bidirectional information transmission (Col. 3, lines 20-52). A host display unit 52 configured to display defibrillation information is arranged at a front side of the housing (Col. 2, lines 25-28 and figure 1). A monitoring apparatus 12 is arranged at an upper/rear side of the host display unit 52 (as seen in figure 1, whether something is “upper” or “rear” being relative) the monitoring apparatus including a control unit 72 a display as seen in figure 1 and a transmission unit 30 (figure 3). The monitoring apparatus 12 is capable of implementing a monitoring function regardless of whether it is attached to assembly structure 31 of the host housing (Col. 2, lines 10-20).
Palmer discloses monitoring accessories/electrodes 20/22 but is silent as to including a first storage member for storing the monitoring accessories connected/affixed to the monitoring apparatus. Attention is directed to the Saper reference, which also discloses a defibrillator and monitoring apparatus for defibrillation and monitoring and thus is analogous art with Palmer (figures 1 and 2). The monitoring apparatus is attached to a first storage member with a plurality of sub-storage members each capable of holding an accessory/electrode (see arrow below):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Palmer to include a first storage member for storing monitoring accessories as Saper shows this to be a common feature in the art that would not affect the overall function or purpose of Palmer.
Regarding claims 2, 7, 8 and 10, Palmer is silent as to the host housing defining an assembly area with a support surface for extension module, the monitoring apparatus stored on the support surface in the assembly area. Saper discloses that a monitoring apparatus 12 can be stored on a support surface in an assembly area 16 of the host housing 14 so that an information transmission unit 34 can contact a side surface (see figures 1 and 2 and Col. 2, lines 10-34). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Palmer to store the monitoring apparatus on a support surface in an assembly area 16 of the host housing 14 so that an information transmission unit 34 can contact a side surface as shown by Saper, as this appears to be a mere design choice that would not affect the overall function or purpose of Palmer and maintains the ability of the monitoring apparatus and the host housing to operate when attached or when separated, as required by Palmer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796