DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on September 30, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the CN 202211209968.6 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. The retrieval of the priority document failed, as noted in the communication dated March 30, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “each of the one or more support blocks is arranged, of the load control region, on a line that extends in the longitudinal direction of the slider from a first reference point set at an end portion closest to a center line of the rectangular region in the longitudinal direction” which renders the claim indefinite because it is not clear what “of the load control region” is referring to in this phrase (e.g., the support blocks or the method of arrangement) or where the reference point is meant to be located. It is unclear what the “end portion” is referring to or where “an end portion closest to a center line of the rectangular region in the longitudinal direction” would be located because it seems like the reference point could be located on the center line of the rectangular region in the longitudinal direction. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as each of the one or more support blocks are arranged on an imaginary line. Claims 3-6 depend from claim 1 and fail to clarify the indefinite language.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites a similar limitation to that discussed above with respect to claim 1 and is indefinite for the same reasons. For the purpose of examination, this phrase will be interpreted as arranging each of the one or more support blocks on an imaginary line. Claims 9-12 depend from claim 7 and fail to clarify the indefinite language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of CN 112845856 A to Jin in view of US 2021/0121932 A1 to Kohno.
Regarding claim 1, Jin teaches a press forming device for press-forming a workpiece that includes a load control region to which a constant load is to be applied (Figs. 1-3; Abstract), the press forming device comprising:
a die unit 7, 8 that includes an upper die 7 and a lower die 8 configured to sandwich the workpiece (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together);
a slider 4 configured to hold the upper die 7 (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”);
a bolster 13 configured to hold the lower die 8 (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”);
and one or more support blocks 2, 11, 12 arranged around the die unit 7, 8 and between the bolster 13 and the slider 4 (Figs. 1-4; P. 4, Paragraphs starting “A plurality of upper backer block grooves 41” and “A plurality of lower block grooves 131”), when in a pressing position, the one or more support blocks being in contact with the bolster and the slider, a load being applied to the one or more support blocks at a time when the slider is pressed (It is noted that the limitation is interpreted as conditional upon the forming device being in a pressing position. Thus, the support block being in contact with the bolster and slider is conditional on the forming device being in a pressing position, and the support block contacting the bolster and slider does not hold patentable weight when the condition does not exist, such as in in a loading position where the slider and bolster are withdrawn to allow a workpiece to be loaded).
Jin fails to explicitly teach a pressing mechanism configured to press the slider toward the bolster at a plurality of pressing points, the pressing points are arranged at four corners of a rectangular region defined by a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction of the slider, and wherein each of the one or more support blocks is arranged farther outward than the pressing points and on a line that extends, in an arrangement direction of the pressing points, from a reference point on an end portion of the load control region. While Jin teaches the dies perform a pressing action (Abstract, Fig. 3 shows the arrow indicating movement of the punch 7), Jin is silent regarding how the dies are moved.
Kohno teaches a press forming device for press-forming a workpiece that includes a load control region to which a constant load is to be applied (Abstract; Figs. 1-4) including a die unit including an upper die 120LU, RU on a slider 110 (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together) and a lower die 120LD, RD on a bolster 103 (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together) and a pressing mechanism 105, 112 configured to press the slider 110 toward the bolster 103 at a plurality of pressing points LB, LF, RB, RF (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0051]; the slider 110 is moved to the bolster 103 where it engages pressing points LB, LF, RB, RF that include cylinders 220LF, LB, RF, RB to control the load within that region), the pressing points are arranged at four corners of a rectangular region defined by a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction of the slider (Fig. 2 shows the pressing points are arranged at the corners of a rectangular region).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressing device of Jin to include the pressing mechanism and pressing points of Kohno so that the movement of the slider may be controlled and then the press performed on the workpiece may performed with all of the dies properly aligned thus preventing damage to the machine (Kohno, Paras. [0029]-[0030] and [0091]).
It is noted that modifying Jin to include the pressing mechanism and pressing points of Kohno would result in each of the one or more support blocks is arranged farther outward than the pressing points (Jin, Fig. 3). Further, the support blocks are arranged on a line that extends in the longitudinal direction of the slider from a first reference point set at an end portion closest to a center line of the rectangular region in the longitudinal direction because the support blocks may be arranged on any line going through a reference point, as discussed in the indefiniteness rejection above, and the one or more support blocks may be chosen as any of the two support blocks which would necessarily be on a line.
Regarding claim 3, modified Jin teaches the press forming device according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-4), wherein: the load control region extends in the longitudinal direction (Kohno, Fig. 3; modified Jin includes the pressing points of Kohno that define the load control region, and Fig. 3 shows the load control region extends in the longitudinal direction); and the one or more support blocks include a first support block that is arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from the first reference point (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the center of the dies, i.e., the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from the center of the load control region a through a reference point on the middle of the end of the load control region).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jin teaches the press forming device according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-4), wherein: the load control region extends in an inclined manner relative to the longitudinal direction (Kohno, Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0019] and [0091]; modified Jin includes the pressing points and load control region of Kohno, which teaches that the load control region may tilt, i.e., be inclined relative to the longitudinal direction); and the one or more support blocks include: a first support block arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from the first reference point (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the center of the dies, i.e., the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from the center of the load control region a through a reference point on the middle of the end of the load control region); and a second support block arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from a second reference point, the second reference point being set at an end portion, of the load control region, that is farthest from the center line (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the end of the dies, i.e., the blocks on the side of the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from a line extending through a point within the load control region that is farthest from the center, i.e., a reference point on the edge of the load control region).
Regarding claim 5, modified Jin teaches the press forming device according to claim 3 (Figs. 3-4), further comprising additional support blocks, which are arranged respectively: on a line extending in a transverse direction of the rectangular region from the first reference point (Fig. 4; the additional support blocks shown on the edge of the base 13 would be arranged in transverse direction from the first reference point); on a line extending in the transverse direction from a second reference point, the second reference point being set at an end portion, of the load control region, that is farthest from the center line (Fig. 4; the four additional support blocks shown on the edge of the base 13 would be arranged in transverse direction from the second reference point); and on a line extending in the transverse direction from the first support block (Fig. 4; the support blocks 11, 12 on either side of the middle blocks are each arranged on a line extending in the transverse direction from the first support block).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jin teaches the press forming device according to claim 1 (Figs. 3-4), wherein: the lower die has a non-rectangular shape (Fig. 3 shows that the die has a cut out in the center of it that results in a non-rectangular shape which may be formed by cutting away a portion of a rectangle).
Jin fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary block is arranged at a corner of an imaginary rectangular shape obtained by filling in the portion of the rectangle, in the lower die, that was cut away. Jin teaches the upper die also includes a portion between the dies that could be an area cut away (Fig. 3) and further teaches that auxiliary blocks 1, 2 may be positioned within the imaginary rectangular shape (Fig. 3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “A plurality of upper backer grooves 41”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to providing auxiliary blocks in the cutaway area of the lower die as taught by Jin regarding the upper die so that the lower dies may be firmly held in place on both sides. It is noted that providing such blocks against the dies results in an auxiliary block is arranged at a corner of an imaginary rectangular shape because the blocks would be against the dies, i.e., at the corner of the rectangle.
Regarding claim 7, Jin teaches a press forming method for press-forming a workpiece that includes a load control region to which a constant load is to be applied, using a press forming device (Figs. 1-4), the press forming device including
a die unit 7, 8 that includes an upper die 7 and a lower die 8 configured to sandwich the workpiece (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together),
a slider 4 configured to hold the upper die 7 (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”), a bolster 13 configured to hold the lower die 8 (Figs. 1-3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “The upper die holder 4”), and
press forming method comprising:
arranging one or more support blocks 2, 11, 12 around the die unit 7, 8, between the bolster 13 and the slider 4 (Figs. 1-4; P. 4, Paragraphs starting “A plurality of upper backer block grooves 41” and “A plurality of lower block grooves 131”), when in a pressing position, the one or more support blocks being in contact with the bolster and the slider, a load being applied to the one or more support blocks at a time when the slider is pressed (It is noted that the limitation is interpreted as conditional upon the forming device being in a pressing position. Thus, the support block being in contact with the bolster and slider is conditional on the forming device being in a pressing position, and the support block contacting the bolster and slider does not hold patentable weight when the condition does not exist, such as in in a loading position where the slider and bolster are withdrawn to allow a workpiece to be loaded); and
forming the workpiece by pressing the support block along with the die unit (Abstract; Fig. 3; P. 3, Paragraph starting “According to the blanking stamping die”; the dies are used to press workpieces between the dies to form the shapes shown in Fig. 1).
Jin fails to explicitly teach a pressing mechanism configured to press the slider toward the bolster at a plurality of pressing points, the pressing points are arranged at four corners of a rectangular region defined by a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction of the slider, wherein: the arranging of the one or more support blocks includes arranging each of the one or more support blocks farther outward than the pressing points, on a line that extends, in an arrangement direction of the pressing points, from a reference point on an end portion of the load control region. While Jin teaches the dies perform a pressing action (Abstract, Fig. 3 shows the arrow indicating movement of the punch 7), Jin is silent regarding how the dies are moved.
Kohno teaches a press forming device for press-forming a workpiece that includes a load control region to which a constant load is to be applied (Abstract; Figs. 1-4) including a die unit including an upper die 120LU, RU on a slider 110 (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together) and a lower die 120LD, RD on a bolster 103 (Fig. 1; Para. [0053]; it is noted that the two die units are interpreted as acting as a single die together) and a pressing mechanism 105, 112 configured to press the slider 110 toward the bolster 103 at a plurality of pressing points LB, LF, RB, RF (Figs. 1-2; Paras. [0051]; the slider 110 is moved to the bolster 103 where it engages pressing points LB, LF, RB, RF that include cylinders 220LF, LB, RF, RB to control the load within that region), the pressing points are arranged at four corners of a rectangular region defined by a transverse direction and a longitudinal direction of the slider (Fig. 2 shows the pressing points are arranged at the corners of a rectangular region).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the pressing method and device of Jin to include the pressing mechanism and pressing points of Kohno so that the movement of the slider may be controlled and then the press performed on the workpiece may performed with all of the dies properly aligned thus preventing damage to the machine (Kohno, Paras. [0029]-[0030] and [0091]).
It is noted that modifying Jin to include the pressing mechanism and pressing points of Kohno would result in each of the one or more support blocks is arranged farther outward than the pressing points (Jin, Fig. 3). Further, the support blocks are arranged on a line that extends in the longitudinal direction of the slider from a first reference point set at an end portion closest to a center line of the rectangular region in the longitudinal direction because the support blocks may be arranged on any line going through a reference point, as discussed in the indefiniteness rejection above, and the one or more support blocks may be chosen as any of the two support blocks which would necessarily be on a line.
Regarding claim 9, modified Jin teaches the press forming method according to claim 7 (Figs. 1-4), wherein: the load control region extends in the longitudinal direction (Kohno, Fig. 3; modified Jin includes the pressing points of Kohno that define the load control region, and Fig. 3 shows the load control region extends in the longitudinal direction); and the one or more support blocks include a first support block that is arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from the first reference point (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the center of the dies, i.e., the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from the center of the load control region a through a reference point on the middle of the end of the load control region).
Regarding claim 10, modified Jin teaches the press forming method according to claim 7 (Figs. 1-4), wherein: the load control region extends in an inclined manner relative to the longitudinal direction (Kohno, Figs. 1-3; Paras. [0019] and [0091]; modified Jin includes the pressing points and load control region of Kohno, which teaches that the load control region may tilt, i.e., be inclined relative to the longitudinal direction); and the one or more support blocks include: a first support block arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from the first reference point (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the center of the dies, i.e., the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from the center of the load control region a through a reference point on the middle of the end of the load control region); and a second support block arranged on a line extending in the longitudinal direction from a second reference point, the second reference point being set at an end portion, of the load control region, that is farthest from the center line (Figs. 3-4; Jin shows that at least one of the blocks is located at the end of the dies, i.e., the blocks on the side of the middle blocks in Fig. 4, and these blocks would be located on a line extending from a line extending through a point within the load control region that is farthest from the center, i.e., a reference point on the edge of the load control region).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jin teaches the press forming method according to claim 9 (Figs. 1-4), wherein: additional support blocks are arranged respectively: on a line extending in a transverse direction of the rectangular region from the first reference point (Fig. 4; the additional support blocks shown on the edge of the base 13 would be arranged in transverse direction from the first reference point); on a line extending in the transverse direction from a second reference point, the second reference point being set at an end portion, of the load control region, that is farthest from the center line (Fig. 4; the four additional support blocks shown on the edge of the base 13 would be arranged in transverse direction from the second reference point); and on a line extending in the transverse direction from the first support block (Fig. 4; the support blocks 11, 12 on either side of the middle blocks are each arranged on a line extending in the transverse direction from the first support block).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jin teaches the press forming method according to claim 7 (Figs. 1-4), wherein: the lower die has a non-rectangular shape (Fig. 3 shows that the die has a cut out in the center of it that results in a non-rectangular shape which may be formed by cutting away a portion of a rectangle).
Jin fails to explicitly teach an auxiliary block is arranged at a corner of an imaginary rectangular shape obtained by filling in the portion of the rectangle, in the lower die, that was cut away. Jin teaches the upper die also includes a portion between the dies that could be an area cut away (Fig. 3) and further teaches that auxiliary blocks 1, 2 may be positioned within the imaginary rectangular shape (Fig. 3; P. 4, Paragraph starting “A plurality of upper backer grooves 41”). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to providing auxiliary blocks in the cutaway area of the lower die as taught by Jin regarding the upper die so that the lower dies may be firmly held in place on both sides. It is noted that providing such blocks against the dies results in an auxiliary block is arranged at a corner of an imaginary rectangular shape because the blocks would be against the dies, i.e., at the corner of the rectangle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and remarks dated March 27, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that while some of the 112 rejections have been addressed, the claims are still rejected under 112, as discussed above. The claim amendments to address some of the indefiniteness issues have created new issues for the same claim limitations.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant argues that each support block is in contact with both the bolster and slider which is not taught by the prior art. Remarks, P. 9. This argument has been carefully considered and it is not persuasive because it is not commensurate in scope with the claim language. The claims only require the support block to contact the bolster and slider “when in a pressing position” and thus when this condition is not present the support block is not required to contact both the bolster and slider. Applicant further argues that the prior fails to teach the placement of the one or more support blocks on a line that extends from a first reference point. Remarks, PP. 8-10. While Applicant has provided drawings and remarks that further elaborate on this placement, these arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claim language, which is indefinite. As discussed above, it is unclear where the reference line is supposed to be positioned and further the claim language allows for the “one or more support blocks” to simply be two support blocks that would necessarily be on a line, i.e., there is always a line that may connect two points. In such an arrangement, it appears the refence point may be any point on the line that is closest to a center line of the rectangular region. Accordingly, these arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725