Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-11, and 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang et al (K.R. Patent Application Publication 102292225 B1) hereinafter Jang, and further in view of Zheng et al (C.N. Patent Application Publication 114937612 A) hereinafter Zheng.
Regarding claim 1, Jang discloses (Title: Die Bonding Head Structure) a bond head (die bonding head 500, p. 3, ll. 13) for a bonding machine (die bonding device, p. 2, ll. 24) having a bonding tool (picker 360, p. 5, ll. 19) for bonding an electronic component (p. 3, ll. 15-13-16, “the die bonding head 500… for pickup and bonding of the die”), the bond head comprising:
a rotary motion mechanism (flatness correction unit 300, p. 3, ll. 16) operative to rotate the bonding tool for adjusting an angular orientation of the electronic component held by the bonding tool (p. 6, ll. 3-11, Jang discloses that the picker 360 undergoes tilting and movement (rotation) by flatness correction unit 300 through the use of elements 400, 310, and 330; p. 6, ll. 22, Jang discloses the die is picked up by the picker 360, resulting in the die undergoing the same tilting and movement (rotation)), wherein the rotary motion mechanism comprises a rotary assembly (rotation motor 400, p. 3, ll. 18) and a flexural rotary table (flatness correction unit comprising: support bracket 231, X-tilting unit 310, and Y-tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19) coupled to each other (p. 3, ll. 18, “rotation motor 400 disposed on the flatness correction unit 300”),
the rotary assembly being operative to rotate the bonding tool about a first rotary axis (Z-axis in FIG. 1) and the flexural rotary table being operative to rotate the bonding tool about respective second and third rotary axes (X & Y axis in FIG. 1), the first, second and third rotary axes being orthogonal to one another (FIG. 1 depicts the X Y Z axis orthogonal to each other); and
a linear positioning mechanism (mobile base 200, p. 5, ll. 15) coupled to the rotary motion mechanism (p. 3, ll. 16, “flatness correction unit 300 connected to the lower part of the lifting unit 200”) and operative to drive the bonding tool to move parallel to the first rotary axis (p. 4, ll. 4-5, “composed of a shaft linear 220 comprising a movable element 225 moving in the Z-axis direction”).
However, Jang fails to disclose the linear positioning mechanism being able to drive the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second and third rotary axes are located.
Zheng discloses (Title: Bonding Driving Device and Flip Chip Bonding Machine) a bond head (bonding head 200, p. 5, ll. 30) for a bonding device (bonding driving device 100, p. 5, ll. 30) comprising a linear positioning mechanism (second and third driving components 300 & 400, respectively) to drive the bonding tool to move the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second (second direction in the X-axis, p. 7, ll. 18) and third rotary axis (third direction in the Y-axis, p. 7, ll. 19) are located (p. 7, ll. 7-17, “second driving assembly 300… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the second direction” “third driving assembly 400… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the third direction”) (combination of these two planes make up the first/second plane on which the bonding driving device 100 travel on).
Jang discloses a bond head for a bonding machine that comprises of a flatness correction unit and a rotation motor to move a picker in a specific orientation that is used to hold a die. Jang also discloses the use of a mobile base that allows the flatness correction unit and rotation motor to allow for one axis of movement in the vertical direction. Zheng discloses a bonding driving device that uses a second and third driving component that allows the bonding driving device to allow for two axis of movement in the horizontal directions. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine Zheng’s bonding device with horizontal movement with the bond head of Jang with the vertical movement as well as the rotational movement to allow for greater control of the position of the bonding head 200 (Zheng, p. 7, ll. 15-17).
Regarding claim 2, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 1, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the rotary assembly or the flexural rotary table is directly coupled to the bonding tool (p. 6, ll. 17, “the picker 360 is fixed to the lower part of the Y-axis tilting part 330”). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 2 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 3, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 1, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the flexural rotary table (flatness correction unit 300) comprises a first rotatable stage (X-axis tilting unit 310, p. 5, ll. 19), a second rotatable stage (Y-axis tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19), and a base plate (support bracket 231, p. 4, ll. 27), a first flexural joint coupled between the first rotatable stage and the base plate to enable the first rotatable stage to be rotatable about the second rotary axis (Rotation shaft S, p. 8, ll. 11), and a second flexural joint coupled between the first and second rotatable stages to enable the second rotatable stage to rotate about the third rotary axis (Rotation shaft S, p. 8, ll. 11). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 3 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 9, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 3, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the rotary motion mechanism further comprises a first driving system (annotated FIG. 3 below depicts a device that drives a movement of X-axis inclined member 323 to engage with X-axis rotating roller 313 to rotate unit 310 in the X-axis direction) that is installed on the base plate of the flexural rotary table and coupled to a first arm (X-axis inclined member 323, p. 5, ll. 26) protruding from the first rotatable stage by a resilient member (annotated FIG. 3 below depicts a member that connects the driving system to the inclined member 323) so as to provide a force to the first arm to rotate the first rotatable stage about the first flexural joint. (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 9 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 10, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 9, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the rotary motion mechanism further comprises a second driving system (annotated FIG. 3 below depicts a device that drives a movement of Y-axis inclined member 343 to engage with X-axis rotating roller 333 to rotate unit 330 in the Y-axis direction) that is installed on the first rotatable stage and coupled to a second arm (Y-axis inclined member 343, p. 5, ll. 38) protruding from the second rotatable stage by a resilient member (annotated FIG. 3 below depicts a hidden member that connects the driving system to the inclined member 343) so as to provide a force to the second arm to rotate the second rotatable stage about the second flexural joint. (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 10 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 11, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 10, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the bond device having a pair of preloaded extension springs (springs S, p. 4, ll. 25)
However, both fail to disclose the resilient member includes a pair of preloaded extension springs. Though the springs of Jang are used in the linear positioning mechanism, namely the mobile base for vertical Z-axis movement, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the springs disclosed into the rotary motion mechanism, namely the flatness correction unit 300, because both systems are configured to support and position the same bonding tool while permitting controlled movement relative to the head. Jang teaches springs in the first system are used for actuation (p. 4, ll. 25-26, “springs (S) are connected… for return when the movers 225 move downward”). A POSITA would have recognized that the same advantage is applicable to the angular orientation system, which represents the predictable use of a known component, achieving predictable results. (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 11 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 14, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 3, as detailed above, and Jang further discloses the flexural rotary table (flatness correction unit comprising: support bracket 231, X-tilting unit 310, and Y-tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19) includes a hollow section sized for accommodating and mounting the rotary assembly and for coupling the bonding tool to the rotary motion mechanism (FIG. 1 depicts support bracket 231 with a hole that mounts 300 and 400 together). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 14 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 15, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 1, and both further discloses the linear positioning mechanism
Jang’s disclosure includes a first linear motion assembly (mobile base 200, p. 5, ll. 15),
Zheng’s disclosure includes a second linear motion assembly and a third linear motion assembly disposed on the second linear motion assembly (second and third driving components 300 & 400, respectively; Zheng FIG. 2 depicts the second driving component 300 directly disposed on the third driving component 400),
wherein the first, second and third motion assemblies drive the bonding tool to move along three orthogonal axes respectively in a Cartesian coordinate system (refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 15 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head along three axis for vertical and horizontal movement without affecting angular orientation of the tool).
Regarding claim 16, Jang discloses (Title: Die Bonding Head Structure) a bonding machine (die bonding device, p. 2, ll. 24) comprising a bond head (die bonding head 500, p. 3, ll. 13) having a bonding tool (picker 360, p. 5, ll. 19) for bonding an electronic component (p. 3, ll. 15-13-16, “the die bonding head 500… for pickup and bonding of the die”), the bond head comprising:
a rotary motion mechanism (flatness correction unit 300, p. 3, ll. 16) operative to rotate the bonding tool for adjusting an angular orientation of the electronic component held by the bonding tool (p. 6, ll. 3-11, Jang discloses that the picker 360 undergoes tilting and movement (rotation) by flatness correction unit 300 through the use of elements 400, 310, and 330; p. 6, ll. 22, Jang discloses the die is picked up by the picker 360, resulting in the die undergoing the same tilting and movement (rotation)), wherein the rotary motion mechanism comprises a rotary assembly (rotation motor 400, p. 3, ll. 18) operative to rotate the bonding tool about a first rotary axis (Z-axis in FIG. 1) and a flexural rotary table (flatness correction unit comprising: support bracket 231, X-tilting unit 310, and Y-tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19) operative to rotate the bonding tool about respective second and third rotary axes (X-tilting unit 310 and Y-tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19), the first rotary axis being orthogonal to the second and third rotary axes (FIG. 1 depicts the X Y Z axis orthogonal to each other); and
a linear positioning mechanism (mobile base 200, p. 5, ll. 15) coupled to the rotary motion mechanism (p. 3, ll. 16, “flatness correction unit 300 connected to the lower part of the lifting unit 200”) and operative to drive the bonding tool to move parallel to the first rotary axis (p. 4, ll. 4-5, “composed of a shaft linear 220 comprising a movable element 225 moving in the Z-axis direction”)
However, Jang fails to disclose the linear positioning mechanism being able to drive the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second and third rotary axes are located.
Zheng discloses (Title: Bonding Driving Device and Flip Chip Bonding Machine) a bond head (bonding head 200, p. 5, ll. 30) for a bonding device (bonding driving device 100, p. 5, ll. 30) comprising a linear positioning mechanism (second and third driving components 300 & 400, respectively) to drive the bonding tool to move the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second (second direction in the X-axis, p. 7, ll. 18) and third rotary axis (third direction in the Y-axis, p. 7, ll. 19) are located (p. 7, ll. 7-17, “second driving assembly 300… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the second direction” “third driving assembly 400… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the third direction”) (combination of these two planes make up the first/second plane on which the bonding driving device 100 travel on). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 16 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Regarding claim 17, Jang discloses (Title: Die Bonding Head Structure) a method for manufacturing an electronic package (die, p. 3, ll. 16) including an electronic component (p. 3, ll. 15-13-16, “the die bonding head 500… for pickup and bonding of the die”) which is bonded onto a surface of the electronic package using a bonding tool (p. 3, ll. 15-13-16, “the die bonding head 500… for pickup and bonding of the die”), the method comprising:
rotating the bonding tool with a rotary motion mechanism (flatness correction unit 300, p. 3, ll. 16; namely the rotation motor 400, p. 3, ll. 18) about a first rotary axis (Z-axis in FIG. 1) for adjusting an angular orientation of the electronic component held by the bonding tool (p. 6, ll. 3-11, Jang discloses that the picker 360 undergoes tilting and movement (rotation) by flatness correction unit 300 through the use of elements 400, 310, and 330; p. 6, ll. 22, Jang discloses the die is picked up by the picker 360, resulting in the die undergoing the same tilting and movement (rotation));
rotating the bonding tool with a flexural rotary table (flatness correction unit comprising: support bracket 231, X-tilting unit 310, and Y-tilting unit 330, p. 5, ll. 19) about at least one of second and third rotary axes (X & Y axis in FIG. 1), the first rotary axis being orthogonal to the second and third rotary axes (FIG. 1 depicts the X Y Z axis orthogonal to each other);
moving the bonding tool with a linear positioning mechanism (mobile base 200, p. 5, ll. 15) coupled to the rotary motion mechanism (p. 3, ll. 16, “flatness correction unit 300 connected to the lower part of the lifting unit 200”) parallel to the first rotary axis (p. 4, ll. 4-5, “composed of a shaft linear 220 comprising a movable element 225 moving in the Z-axis direction”).
However, Jang fails to disclose the linear positioning mechanism being able to drive the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second and third rotary axes are located.
Zheng discloses (Title: Bonding Driving Device and Flip Chip Bonding Machine) a bond head (bonding head 200, p. 5, ll. 30) for a bonding device (bonding driving device 100, p. 5, ll. 30) comprising a linear positioning mechanism (second and third driving components 300 & 400, respectively) to drive the bonding tool to move the bonding tool on a first plane that is parallel to a second plane on which the second (second direction in the X-axis, p. 7, ll. 18) and third rotary axis (third direction in the Y-axis, p. 7, ll. 19) are located (p. 7, ll. 7-17, “second driving assembly 300… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the second direction” “third driving assembly 400… for driving the bonding driving device 100 moves along the third direction”). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 17 in the manner of increasing control of position of a bonding head).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang , in view of Zheng, and further in view of Irie et al (J.P. Patent Application Publication 2010165303 A) hereinafter Irie.
Regarding claim 4, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 3, as detailed above.
However, both fail to disclose the first flexural joint includes a first pair of flexural hinges that are arranged on opposite sides of the first rotatable stage between the first rotatable stage and the base plate such that the two flexural hinges are operable to flex about the second rotary axis synchronously.
Irie discloses (Title: Tilting Device) a bonding head (tilting device 1, p. 2, ll. 29) comprising of a flexural joint (first tilting part 10A, p. 8, ll. 32; and compression spring 7A, p. 8, ll. 31) that includes a pair of flexural hinges (first tilting part 10A and compression spring 7A) that are arranged on opposite sides of the first rotatable stage (tilting table 2, p. 2, ll. 33, annotated FIG. 12 below depicts elements 10A and 7A disposed at opposite ends) between the first rotatable stage (tilting table 2) and the base plate (base 3, p. 2, ll. 38) such that the two flexural hinges are operable to flex about the second rotary axis (Y axis in FIG. 12) synchronously.
Jang, in view of Zheng, teaches of a bonding head having control of a bonding tool in multiple orientations and directions, utilizing the components of a rotary motion mechanism ad a linear position mechanism for said controlled movement. Irie discloses a tilting device that utilizes a flexural hinge, comprised of tilting elements and springs to facilitate flexibility of tilting/rotation when orienting angular positioning of an upper plate. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to implement the flexural hinge like structures of Irie to the bonding head of Jang, in view of Zheng, utilizing an urging force created by the hinge/spring to keep a locking portion in contact with an adjustable screw to prevent further, unintended displacement of the tilting plate (Irie, p. 6, ll. 12-14).
Regarding claim 5, Jang, in view of Zheng and Irie, teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 4, as detailed above, and Irie further discloses the second flexural joint (second tilting part 10B, p. 8, ll. 33; and compression spring 7, p. 8, ll. 31) includes a second pair of flexural hinges (second tilting part 10B and compression spring 7B) that are arranged on opposite sides of the second rotatable stage (tilting table 2, p. 2, ll. 33, annotated FIG. 12 below depicts elements 10A and 7A disposed at opposite ends) between the first rotatable stage (tilting table 2 and ) and the second rotatable stage (base 3, p. 2, ll. 38) such that the two flexural hinges are operable to flex about the third rotary axis (X axis in FIG. 12) synchronously.
Irie teaches a tilting device wherein two adjacent plates are disposed with two pairs of flexural hinges, each pair allowing for tilting in either the x or y axis. The instant application essentially claims there being three plates adjacent to one another, such that each pair of flexural hinges are located at different positions, spaced from one another by the middle plate. Though Irie does not disclose such a structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to separate the two pairs of hinges introduced by Irie with an intermediate plate, such that the first hinge pair is separated from the second, achieving routine optimization and mechanical design alternatives. Merely a redistribution of existing elements, a POSITA would have recognized that relocation of each pair provides expected advantages of rotation in respective axis as well as added benefits such as facilitated independent actuation preventing manufacturing interference. (Also refer to the rejection of claim 4, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 5 in the manner of utilizing hinges/springs to lock a tilting plate in place).
Regarding claim 6, Jang, in view of Zheng and Irie, teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 5, as detailed above, and Irie further discloses each flexural hinge comprises two crossed leaf springs (tilting part 10 A/B and compression spring 7 A/B, respectively). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claims 4 and 5, supra, as they are applicable to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of utilizing two pairs of hinges/springs, separated by an intermediate plate, to lock a tilting plate in place).
Regarding claim 7, Jang, in view of Zheng and Irie, teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 5, as detailed above, and Irie further discloses a line passing through the first pair of flexural hinges (Y axis in FIG. 12) is perpendicular to a line passing through the second pair of flexural hinges (X axis in FIG. 12) (FIG. 12 depicts X and Y axis perpendicular to one another). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claims 4 and 5, supra, as they are applicable to the rejection of claim 7 in the manner of utilizing two pairs of hinges/springs, separated by an intermediate plate, to lock a tilting plate in place).
Regarding claim 8, Jang, in view of Zheng and Irie, teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 7, and Zheng further discloses the linear positioning mechanism is configured to drive the bonding tool to move along the first plane in a first linear motion axis and a second linear motion axis (X and Y axis in FIG. 2).
However, All fail to disclose that the first and second linear motion axes being arranged at an angle of 45 degrees with respect to the second and third rotary axes respectively.
Though Jang, Zheng, and Irie do not teach that the bonding head may be orientated in a 45 degree angle to the second and third rotary axis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the linear positioning mechanism of Jang and Zheng, namely Jang’s mobile base and Zheng’s second and third driving components as combined from the rejection of claim 1, and to orient them in a diagonal, 45 degree angle, respective to the rotary motion mechanism of Jang, namely Jang’s flatness correction unit, as a known design consideration, allowing for improved alignment, accessibility, and visibility during manufacturing. A simple reorientation of Jang and Zheng’s disclosure provides no novel or unexpected results and is considered “an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art” [MPEP 2144.04 IV]. (Also refer to the rejection of claims 4 and 5, supra, as they are applicable to the rejection of claim 7 in the manner of utilizing two pairs of hinges/springs, separated by an intermediate plate, to lock a tilting plate in place).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang , in view of Zheng, and further in view of Czarnota et al (U.S. Patent Publication 11480742 B1) hereinafter Czarnota.
Regarding claim 12, Jang in view of Zheng teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 10, as detailed above.
However, both fail to disclose at least one of the first and second driving systems comprises a cam driving assembly that includes an eccentric cam and a rotary motor coupled to the first and/or second arm.
Czarnota discloses (Title: Micro Device Mass Transfer Tool) a bonding head (transfer head assembly 200, col. 9, ll. 52) wherein the driving system (z-adjustment stage 375, col. 12, ll. 34) comprises a cam driving assembly (piezoelectric stage assembly 250, col. 13, ll. 40) that includes an eccentric cam (downward facing camera 290, col. 20, ll. 7) and a rotary motor (col. 12, ll. 34-42, “z-adjustment stage 375 can be motorized for automation”) coupled to the first arm (col. 13, ll. 40-43, “the piezoelectric stage assembly 250 may include a z-flexure assembly 285 (or z-stage) with a structure that lengthens and shortens along a z-axis 510. In an embodiment, the one or more cameras 290 are mounted in the z-flexure assembly 285”).
Jang, in view of Zheng, teaches of a bonding head having control of a bonding tool in multiple orientations and directions, utilizing the components of a rotary motion mechanism ad a linear position mechanism for said controlled movement. Czarnota discloses a transfer head assembly that utilizes a CAM and rotary motor-controlled movement and reading of position. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date to implement the CAM system of Czarnota to both the first and second driving systems comprised in the bonding head of Jang, in view of Zheng, to allow for translation of the head assembly to accurately read position and yaw angle introduced by manufacturing imperfections (Czarnota, col. 20, ll. 6-29).
Regarding claim 13, Jang, in view of Zheng and Czarnota, teaches a bonding head and machine of claim 12, as detailed above, and Czarnota further discloses the rotary motion mechanism further comprises a rotary encoder (detector array 1102, col. 24, ll. 45-57; Czarnota discloses that encoder patterns 160, 1110 provide light towards optics 1104 which are then collected and routed to a corresponding photodiode array such as an array of CMOS image sensors or photodiodes) integrated with the rotary motor for measuring an angular displacement of the rotary motor, which is then used to determine a corresponding linear displacement of the eccentric cam (col. 25, ll. 1-3, “encoder patterns 160, 1110 can be used to measure in-situ angular displacement”). (Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 12, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 13 in the manner of utilizing CAM to accurately read the position of a tool).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729