DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 27, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-19 in the reply filed on May 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “The electronic device claim 1”. This statement lacks antecedent basis. The Examiner has made the assumption Claim 15 is meant to recite “The electronic device of claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9-15 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over K. US-20140272537-A1, and further in view of A. US-20110274960-A1 and B. US-20130095357-A1.
Regarding Claim 1, K. teaches a battery (see (0018)) and a separator assembly (804+808) comprising:
a first separator (804) folded and a second separator (808) folded perpendicular to the first separator ((0080),
the second separator (808) alternately stacked with the first separator (804; see FIG. 8 of K.)
and a separator assembly (804+808) restricting contact between the first electrode (802) and the second electrode (806),
K. is silent on the battery comprising a plurality of first and second electrodes.
A. teaches a plurality of first electrodes (40),
including a plurality of first substrates (43) and a plurality of first tabs (41) protruding from the plurality of first substrates in a first direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of first tabs is electrically connected together (41a);
a plurality of second electrodes (50) including a plurality of second substrates (53) and a plurality of second tabs (51) protruding from the plurality of second substrates in the first direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of second tabs is electrically connected together (51a);
and a separator assembly (60) restricting contact between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes,
wherein the separator assembly comprises:
a first separator (60 in A.) folded in the first direction or a third direction opposite to the first direction (see FIG. 2A),
the first separator (60) including a plurality of through-holes (61a/61b) through which the plurality of first tabs and the plurality of second tabs are disposed respectively ((0015), "The first and second tabs may be extended to the exterior of the separator through the tab through-holes, respectively");
Modification of K. by inclusion of a plurality of electrodes, as shown by A. would benefit the disclosure of K. by allowing for the disclosure of K. to be applied to the related art of stacking type electrode assemblies with “enhanced stability without a danger such as a short circuit or fire”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a plurality of electrodes, and the associated modification of the separator assembly and assignment of directions relative to the tabs, as shown by A.
Modification of K. by inclusion of a plurality of tabs, as shown by A. would benefit the disclosure of K. by allowing for the disclosure of K. to be connected to the exterior of a secondary battery using stacked electrode assemblies through electrode leads ((0064)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a plurality of tabs, as shown by A.
As aforementioned, K. teaches a battery (see (0018)). However, K. is silent on an electronic device comprising a processor, and the battery configured to supply power to a processor.
B. teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a processor (702);
and a battery (706) configured to supply power to the processor (702),
Modification of the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a processor would benefit the disclosure of K. by enabling execution of a “software module or a piece of code … and/or other programmable-logic devices now known or later developed” ((0023)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a processor, and the associated modification of the battery.
Regarding claim 2, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of first electrodes includes first side surfaces oriented in the first direction,
and second side surfaces oriented in the second direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of second electrodes includes third side surfaces oriented in the first direction,
and fourth side surfaces oriented in the second direction, respectively (see FIG. 2A of A.)
wherein the first separator covers at least a part of each of the first side surfaces or at least a part of each of the third side surfaces (see FIG. 2A of A.),
and wherein the second separator covers at least a part of each of the second side surfaces or at least a part of each of the fourth side surfaces (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 3, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the separator assembly includes a plurality of planes by folding the first separator and the second separator and at least one side portions of the plurality of planes are bonded (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 4, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of second electrodes (K., 806) is positioned between the first separator (804) and the second separator (808),
and wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes (802) is positioned between the first separator (804) and the second separator (808).
Regarding claim 5, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes includes a first upper surface and a first rear surface opposite to the first upper surface (See FIG. 8 of K.),
wherein each of the plurality of second electrodes includes a second upper surface and a second rear surface opposite to the second upper surface (see FIG. 8 of K.),
wherein the first separator includes a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface (see FIG. 8 of K.),
wherein the second separator includes a third surface and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface (see FIG. 8 of K.),
wherein the first surface of the first separator is disposed to face the first rear surface of the plurality of first electrodes, and the second upper surface of the plurality of second electrodes (See FIG. 8 of K.),
and wherein the third surface of the second separator is disposed to face the second rear surface of the plurality of second electrodes and the first upper surface of the plurality of first electrodes (See FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 6, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the plurality of through-holes include first through-holes configured to accommodate a first tab of one first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes, and second through-holes spaced apart from the first through-holes and configured to accommodate a first tab of another electrode of the plurality of first electrodes (see FIG. 2A of A.).
Regarding claim 9, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of first electrodes includes a positive-electrode substrate (A., (0038), "the positive electrode collecting plate 42 may be made of aluminum"; the Examiner notes first electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1)
and a positive-electrode mixture surrounding at least a part of the positive-electrode substrate (A., (0038), "lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO.sub.2) may be used as the positive electrode active material"; the Examiner notes first electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 10, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 9,
wherein the positive-electrode substrate includes aluminum (A., (0038), "the positive electrode collecting plate 42 may be made of aluminum"; the Examiner notes first electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1)
and the positive-electrode mixture includes a lithium oxide (A., (0038), "lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO.sub.2) may be used as the positive electrode active material"; the Examiner notes first electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 11, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein each of the plurality of second electrodes includes a negative-electrode substrate (A., (0040), "The negative electrode collecting plate 52 ... may be formed, for example, of copper … nickel, or the like"; the Examiner notes that second electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1) and
a negative-electrode mixture surrounding at least a part of the negative-electrode substrate (A., (0040), "The negative electrode active material layer 53 is made of a negative electrode active material, and may include, for example, graphite-based carbon, and the like"; the Examiner notes that second electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 11,
wherein the negative-electrode substrate includes at least one of nickel or copper (A., (0040), "The negative electrode collecting plate 52 ... may be formed, for example, of copper … nickel, or the like"; the Examiner notes that second electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1), and
wherein the negative-electrode mixture includes at least one of graphite or a lithium titanium oxide (A., (0040), "The negative electrode active material layer 53 is made of a negative electrode active material, and may include, for example, graphite-based carbon, and the like"; the Examiner notes that second electrodes were introduced by A. in claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the second separator, one first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes, the first separator, and one second electrode of the plurality of second electrodes are sequentially stacked (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 14, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 2,
wherein the first separator comprises a first bending part protecting a part of the first side surfaces of each of the plurality of first electrodes and a part of the third side surfaces of each of the plurality of second electrodes (see FIG. 8 of K.),
wherein the second separator comprises a second bending part protecting a part of the second side surfaces of each of the plurality of first electrodes and a part of the fourth side surfaces of each of the plurality of second electrodes, and wherein the first bending part and the second bending part are alternately disposed (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 15, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the separator comprises a non-conductive porous body comprising a pore (see K., (0048)).
Claim 7 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified K. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of M. WO-2013180198-A1.
Regarding claim 7, modified K. teaches the electronic device of claim 1 along with first and second separators, but is silent towards wherein the separators comprises fusion parts.
M. teaches a first fusion part (81) and second fusion part (83) as a component of separators 23 and 24 positioned in the first and second direction, respectively, with respect to the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes.
Modification of modified K. by inclusion of fusion parts, as suggested by M., would benefit the disclosure of modified K. by enabling “a relatively simple process of heat treatment” ((0216)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing of the instant disclosure to modify the disclosure of modified K. by inclusion of fusion parts in the first and second directions, respectively, as shown by M.
Claim 8 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified K. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of P. US-20150214527-A1.
Regarding claim 8, modified K. teaches the electrode device of claim 1 and a first and second separator, but is silent on wherein the first and second separator have different lengths.
P. teaches wherein the first separator has a first length different from a second length of the second separator (P., See (0069)).
Modification of modified K. by changing the length of the second separator to be different from the first separator, as shown by P., would benefit the disclosure of modified K. by allowing for the first separator to “continue to be wound around another half turn, after the second separator 140 can no longer be wound” (P., (0069)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing to modify the disclosure of modified K. by changing the length of the second separator to be different from the first separator, as shown by P..
Claims 16-18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over K. US-20140272537-A1, and further in view of A. US-20110274960-A1.
Regarding claim 16, K. teaches a battery (see (0018)) and a separator assembly (804+808) comprising:
a first separator (804) folded and a second separator (808) folded perpendicular to the first separator ((0080),
the second separator (808) alternately stacked with the first separator (804; see FIG. 8 of K.)
and a separator assembly (804+808) restricting contact between the first electrode (802) and the second electrode (806),
K. is silent on the battery comprising a plurality of first and second electrodes.
A. teaches a plurality of first electrodes (40),
including a plurality of first substrates (43) and a plurality of first tabs (41) protruding from the plurality of first substrates in a first direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of first tabs is electrically connected together (41a);
a plurality of second electrodes (50) including a plurality of second substrates (53) and a plurality of second tabs (51) protruding from the plurality of second substrates in the first direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of second tabs is electrically connected together (51a);
and a separator assembly (60 of A.) restricting contact between the plurality of first electrodes and the plurality of second electrodes,
wherein the separator assembly comprises:
a first separator (60 in Ahn) folded in the first direction or a third direction opposite to the first direction (see FIG. 2A),
the first separator (60) including a plurality of through-holes (61a/61b) through which the plurality of first tabs and the plurality of second tabs are disposed respectively ((0015), "The first and second tabs may be extended to the exterior of the separator through the tab through-holes, respectively");
Modification of K. by inclusion of a plurality of electrodes, as shown by A. would benefit the disclosure of K. by allowing for the disclosure of K. to be applied to the related art of stacking type electrode assemblies with “enhanced stability without a danger such as a short circuit or fire”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a plurality of electrodes, and the associated modification of the separator assembly and assignment of directions relative to the tabs, as shown by A.
Modification of K. by inclusion of a plurality of tabs, as shown by A. would benefit the disclosure of K. by allowing for the disclosure of K. to be connected to the exterior of a secondary battery using stacked electrode assemblies through electrode leads ((0064)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of K. by inclusion of a plurality of tabs, as shown by A..
Regarding claim 17, modified K. teaches the battery of claim 16,
wherein the plurality of first electrodes includes first side surfaces oriented in the first direction,
and second side surfaces oriented in the second direction, respectively,
wherein the plurality of second electrodes includes third side surfaces oriented in the first direction,
and fourth side surfaces oriented in the second direction, respectively (see FIG. 2A of A.)
wherein the first separator covers at least a part of each of the first side surfaces or at least a part of each of the third side surfaces (see FIG. 2A of A.),
and wherein the second separator covers at least a part of each of the second side surfaces or at least a part of each of the fourth side surfaces (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Regarding claim 18, modified K. teaches the battery of claim 16,
wherein the first separator is fixed to at least one of at least a part of the first side surface or at least a part of the third side surface,
and wherein the second separator is fixed to at least one of at least a part of the second side surface or at least a part of the fourth side surface (see FIG. 8 of K.).
Claim 19 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over modified K. as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of P. US-20150214527-A1.
Regarding claim 19, modified K. teaches the battery of claim 16,
wherein the plurality of through-holes include first through-holes configured to accommodate a first tab of one first electrode of the plurality of first electrodes,
and second through-holes spaced apart from the first through-holes and configured to accommodate a first tab of another electrode of the plurality of first electrodes (see FIG. 2A of A.; the Examiner notes the plurality of through-holes were introduced by A. in claim 16).
Modified K. further teaches a first and second separator, but is silent on wherein the first and second separator have different lengths.
P. teaches wherein the first separator has a first length different from a second length of the second separator (P., See (0069)).
Modification of modified K. by changing the length of the second separator to be different from the first separator, as shown by P., would benefit the disclosure of modified K. by allowing for the first separator to “continue to be wound around another half turn, after the second separator 140 can no longer be wound” (P., (0069)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective time of filing to modify the disclosure of modified K. by changing the length of the second separator to be different from the first separator, as shown by P..
Conclusion
/EVAN M ABELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/NICHOLAS A SMITH/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752