-DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is taken in response to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks filed on 9/30/2025 regarding Application No. 18/373,464 originally filed on 09/27/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending for consideration:
Response to Arguments
The applicant argues Zrenner “fails to include any teaching or suggestion” to characterize the source or target container when the robot arms are in the zero position (i.e., not above either container), and contends Zrenner instead suggests imaging while the robot arm is located above the source container. [Remarks, pp. 22-23]. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Zrenner expressly discloses separate cameras positioned to detect the source container and the target container (as per “a camera (12a) for capturing at least the source container (20) in a top view,” in Abstract, as per “the picking system includes a further 3D camera 12b ( Fig. 2 ), which is arranged above the target container 22 and detects the current stack configuration” in P5). Zrenner further discloses controlling the pick and deposit operations as a function of image data captured by the camera(s) (as per “The control is designed to control the gripper arm depending on the image data captured by the camera…” in P2). Because Zrenner’s sensors are arranged to monitor the containers, the containers can be characterized independently of whether a robot arm is directly above them at that moment. Ono discloses that the robot arms can assume a zero position in which the arms are located neither above the source container nor above the target container (as per Fig. 1). Thus, the combination teaches characterizing the source container and/or the target container while the robot arms are in the zero position.
The applicant argues the prior combination (Ono in view of Zrenner in further view of Ahn) “fails to disclose… wherein the source container and the target container are arranged opposite one another in relation to the main axis; and wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms are located in a pivot position between the at least one source container and the target container,”. [Remarks, pp. 19-22].
Applicant’s arguments with respect to these claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
It would have been obvious to apply the teachings of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd to enable another standard means of arranging source/target containers on opposite sides of a dual-arm SCARA robot about a common axis and utilizing a neutral/zero pose between the two work locations while the system characterizes the source and/or target container via cameras. Applicant’s traversal is therefore unpersuasive, and the obviousness rejection of the claims should be maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In “Amendments to the Claims”, amended Claim 2 omits the “ “a)…”, “b)…”, “c)…”, “d)…”, …, “h)…” that was originally present in the original claim set, without proper manner of making amendments in application, see MPEP 714.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ono (US Pub. No. 20180215035) in view of Zrenner (EP Pub. No. 3838806) in view of Ahn (NPL Title: Coordination of two robotic manipulators for object retrieval in clutter, Year 2022) in view of Waddell (NPL Title: Berkeley’s two-armed robot hints at a new future for warehouses, Year: 2019) in further view of AEL Automation Ltd (NPL Title: Kawasaki Robot - DuAro Project, Year: 2016).
As per Claim 1, Ono discloses of handling objects (54) by means of a handling system (10), (as per Abstract), comprising:
a robot (12) with robot arms, including a first robot arm (20-1) and a second robot arm (20-2), (as per “a robot 1 of this embodiment is constructed as a dual-arm robot in which two arms (a first arm 3 and a second arm 4) are provided to a pedestal 2” in ¶31) each robot arm having a respective end effector (14-1, 14-2) arranged for gripping an object (54) in each case, (as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5” in ¶41) wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are pivotable about a common main axis (29) (as per “The joint shaft A1 is constructed as a shaft perpendicular to an upper surface of the pedestal 2, and the first aim 3 is constructed rotatable around the joint shaft A1” in ¶33) wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) each have SCARA kinematics; (as per Fig. 1)
a source container (52) for receiving objects (54) and a target container (56) for receiving the objects (54), (as per “the controller 14 first controls the work feeding part 21 of the first hand 5 to place at least one workpiece W (e.g., about five workpieces) from the work accommodating container 15 on the placement surface of the table-like body 13” in ¶47) wherein the source container (52) and the target container (56) are arranged distributed around the common main axis (29) in such a way that the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) can transfer the objects (54) from the source container (52) into the target container (56), (as per as per “The robot 1 of this embodiment is constructed so that it places at least one workpiece W on the placement surface of the table-like body 13 from the work accommodating container 15, and performs a bin picking work in which one workpiece W is taken out from at least one workpiece W placed on the placement surface of the table-like body 13, and is arranged on the arrangement tray 16 or 17” in ¶32) that the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are pivotable across the source container (52) and the target container (56), (as per Fig. 1) and that the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) can assume a zero position in which the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located neither above the source container (52) nor above the target container (56); (as per Fig. 1)
wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are pivoted about the common main axis (29) in such a way that each robot arm (20-1, 20-2) alternately approaches the source container (52) and the target container (56) (as per “The joint shaft A1 is constructed as a shaft perpendicular to an upper surface of the pedestal 2, and the first aim 3 is constructed rotatable around the joint shaft A1” in ¶33),
Ono fails to expressly disclose:
an identification device (58) having
a source container detection unit (60), including a first camera, which is designed to detect the source container (52), including visually, and
a target container detection unit (62), including a second camera, which is designed to detect visually the target container (56),
wherein a movement of the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) is synchronized in such a way that when the first robot arm (20-1) approaches the source container (52), the second robot arm (20-2) approaches the target container (56), and vice versa, wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) pass through the zero position during their movement between the source container (52) and the target container (56),
wherein, when the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are in the zero position, the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) is characterized, including visually detected, by means of the identification device (58),
wherein the source container (52) and the target container (56) are arranged opposite one another in relation to the main axis, and
wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located in a pivot position between the source container (52) and the target container (56).
Zrenner discloses of an automatic picking system, comprising:
an identification device (58) having a source container detection unit (60), including a first camera, which is designed to detect the source container (52), including visually, (as per “a camera (12a) for capturing at least the source container (20) in a top view,” in Abstract)
a target container detection unit (62), including a second camera, which is designed to detect visually the target container (56), (as per “the picking system includes a further 3D camera 12b ( Fig. 2 ), which is arranged above the target container 22 and detects the current stack configuration” in P5, as per “After the article 18 has been moved over the target container 22, the depositing process begins in which the gripper 26 is lowered to a dropping height. The controller 14 controls the gripping arm 16 in such a way that the article 18 is released at the dropping height” in P5)
wherein, when the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are in the zero position, the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) is characterized, including visually detected, by means of the identification device (58). (as per “m with a robot (10) with a gripping arm (16) for removing an article (18) from a source container (20) with a container edge (20a) and for depositing the article (18) in a target container ( 22)” in Abstract, as per “order-picking system is designed to remove articles from several source container types with different source container heights, wherein the horizontally aligned sensor arrangement can be arranged so that it monitors an area above a container wall of that source container type” in P3, as per Fig. 2)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the handling system of Ono with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
Ono and Zrenner fail to expressly disclose:
wherein a movement of the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) is synchronized in such a way that when the first robot arm (20-1) approaches the source container (52), the second robot arm (20-2) approaches the target container (56), and vice versa, wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) pass through the zero position during their movement between the source container (52) and the target container (56),
wherein the source container (52) and the target container (56) are arranged opposite one another in relation to the main axis, and
wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located in a pivot position between the source container (52) and the target container (56).
Ahn discloses of coordination of two robotic manipulators for object retrieval in clutter, comprising:
wherein a movement of the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) is synchronized in such a way that when the first robot arm (20-1) approaches the source container (52), the second robot arm (20-2) approaches the target container (56), and vice versa, (as per “Thus, one robot can pick an object in the clutter while the other robot places an object in hand to the outside of the clutter” in Abstract, as per “We aim to maximize the number of switches between the robots in performing relocation tasks. A relocation task is defined as picking an object and placing it to another location” in P1, Introduction, as per “We let the robots perform pick(ri,, oa) and place(rj , ob) simultaneously if i ≠ j and a ≠ b.” in P3, Problem Description) wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) pass through the zero position during their movement between the source container (52) and the target container (56), (as per Fig. 1)
In this way, Ahn operates to maximize the number of switches between the robots in performing relocation tasks (Abstract). Like Ono and Zrenner, Ahn is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the handling system of Ono and the picking system of Zrenner with the robotic manipulation coordination of Ahn to enable one robot to pick up an object in the clutter while the other robot places an object in hand to the outside of the clutter (Abstract).
Ono, Zrenner, and Ahn fail to expressly disclose:
wherein the source container (52) and the target container (56) are arranged opposite one another in relation to the main axis, and
wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located in a pivot position between the source container (52) and the target container (56).
Waddell discloses of Berkeley's two-armed robot hints at a new future for warehouses, comprising:
wherein the source container (52) and the target container (56) are arranged opposite one another in relation to the main axis, (as per Fig. below)
In this way, Waddell operates to place objects in containers (as per Fig. above). Like Ono, Zrenner, and Ahn, Waddell is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Zrenner, and Ahn with the two-armed robot of Waddell to enable another standard means of placing objects in a certain container, as well as having two containers on each side of the robot axis. Such modification also allows the system to determine whether to grab an object with pincers or lift it with a suction cup.
Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, and Waddell fail to expressly disclose:
wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located in a pivot position between the source container (52) and the target container (56).
AEL Automation Ltd discloses of the DuAro robot by Kawasaki, comprising:
wherein, in the zero position, the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) are located in a pivot position between the source container (52) and the target container (56). (as per 0:15-1:20 of video, as per Fig. below)
In this way, AEL Automation Ltd operates to move and place objects, as well as being able to have a zero position in between the source location and target location (as per Fig. above). Like Ono, Zrenner, and Ahn, Waddell is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, and Waddell with the two-armed robot of AEL Automation Ltd to enable another standard means of using a dual-arm SCARA robot to grab and manipulate objects. Such modification also allows the system to have an area of motion is the same as that of a person, with motions similar to human arms capable of independent movement (as per description of video).
As per Claim 2, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono further discloses:
a) transferring the robot arms into the zero position, including by pivoting the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) about the common main axis (29); (as per “The joint shaft A1 and the joint shaft B1 are arranged coaxially (constructed as a rotational shaft C), and each of the first arm 3 and the second arm 4 is constructed independently rotatable around the rotational shaft C with respect to the pedestal 2. Since the base parts of the two arms 3 and 4 are arranged coaxially, the two arms 3 and 4 can be taught similarly by setting the origin of a robot coordinate system at the position along the common axis to control the two arms 3 and 4” in ¶33, as per Fig. 1)
c) pivoting the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) in a first direction (70) about the common main axis (29) in such a way that the first robot arm (20-1) approaches the source container (52) and the second robot arm (20-2) approaches the target container (56); (as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5… For example, as the adsorption mechanism, a vacuum adsorption mechanism which adsorbs the workpiece W to the adsorption part by vacuuming air inside the adsorption part” in ¶41, as per “arrange the extracted workpiece W on the corresponding arrangement tray 17 (left side closer to the second hand part 6)” in ¶62))
d) gripping the object (54) from the source container (52) by means of the respective end effector (14-1) of the first robot arm (20-1), and, in the case that the object (54) is held on the respective end effector (14-2) of the second robot arm (20-2), depositing this object (54) into the target container (56); (as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5… For example, as the adsorption mechanism, a vacuum adsorption mechanism which adsorbs the workpiece W to the adsorption part by vacuuming air inside the adsorption part” in ¶41, as per “arrange the extracted workpiece W on the corresponding arrangement tray 17 (left side closer to the second hand part 6)” in ¶62))
e) transferring the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) into the zero position, including by pivoting the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) in a second direction (72), opposite to the first direction (70), about the common main axis (29); (as per “The joint shaft A1 and the joint shaft B1 are arranged coaxially (constructed as a rotational shaft C), and each of the first arm 3 and the second arm 4 is constructed independently rotatable around the rotational shaft C with respect to the pedestal 2. Since the base parts of the two arms 3 and 4 are arranged coaxially, the two arms 3 and 4 can be taught similarly by setting the origin of a robot coordinate system at the position along the common axis to control the two arms 3 and 4” in ¶33, as per Fig. 1)
g) pivoting the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) in the first direction (70), or in the second direction (72) opposite to the first direction (70), about the common main axis (29) in such a way that the first robot arm (20-1) approaches the target container (56) and the second robot arm (20-2) approaches the source container (52); (as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5… For example, as the adsorption mechanism, a vacuum adsorption mechanism which adsorbs the workpiece W to the adsorption part by vacuuming air inside the adsorption part” in ¶41, as per “arrange the extracted workpiece W on the corresponding arrangement tray 17 (left side closer to the second hand part 6)” in ¶62))
h) gripping the object (54) from the source container (52) by means of the respective end effector (14-2) of the second robot arm (20-2), and, in the case that the object (54) is held on the end effector (14-1) of the first robot arm (20-1), depositing this object (54) into the target container (56). (as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5… For example, as the adsorption mechanism, a vacuum adsorption mechanism which adsorbs the workpiece W to the adsorption part by vacuuming air inside the adsorption part” in ¶41, as per “arrange the extracted workpiece W on the corresponding arrangement tray 17 (left side closer to the second hand part 6)” in ¶62))
Ono fails to expressly disclose:
b) characterizing the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58), including capturing at least one image of the source container (52) and/or capturing at least one image of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58);
f) characterizing the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58), including capturing at least one image of the source container (52) and/or at least one image of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58);
See Claim 1 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses:
b) characterizing the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58), including capturing at least one image of the source container (52) and/or capturing at least one image of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58); (as per “a camera (12a) for capturing at least the source container (20) in a top view,” in Abstract, as per “The control is designed to control the gripper arm depending on the image data captured by the camera in such a way that the gripper arm grips exactly one item in the optimal position, lifts it in one lifting process, guides it over the target container / box and in one deposit process into the target container / Cardboard box” in P2)
f) characterizing the source container (52) and/or the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58), including capturing at least one image of the source container (52) and/or at least one image of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58); (as per “The control is designed to control the gripper arm depending on the image data captured by the camera in such a way that the gripper arm grips exactly one item in the optimal position, lifts it in one lifting process, guides it over the target container / box and in one deposit process into the target container / Cardboard box” in P2, as per “After the article 18 has been moved over the target container 22, the depositing process begins in which the gripper 26 is lowered to a dropping height. The controller 14 controls the gripping arm 16 in such a way that the article 18 is released at the dropping height” in P5)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 3, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono fails to expressly disclose wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) approach the source container (52) or the target container (56), the object (54) is gripped from the source container (52) and/or the object (54) is deposited into the target container (56) as a function of a result of the characterization of the source container (52) or of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58).
See Claim 1 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) approach the source container (52) or the target container (56), the object (54) is gripped from the source container (52) and/or the object (54) is deposited into the target container (56) as a function of a result of the characterization of the source container (52) or of the target container (56) by means of the identification device (58). (as per “a camera (12a) for capturing at least the source container (20)
in a top view, and a controller (14) which is designed to control the gripping arm (16) in this way as a function of the image data captured by the camera (12a) control that the gripping arm (16) grips the article (18), lifts it in a lifting process, guides it over the target container (22)” in Abstract, as per “trajectory is not only optimized to the height of the container wall of the source container, but also the height of the container wall of the target container is taken into account so that collisions can be avoided there as well. If the target container is higher than the source container, for example when removing it from the source container, the lifting process can only be canceled when the height of the target container has also been reached or the article can be lifted further during the pivoting process” in P2)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 4, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein the identification device (58), including the source container detection unit (60), is designed to ascertain object information on one or more objects (54) arranged in the source container (52), including the geometry and/or position and orientation thereof, wherein characterizing the source container (52) comprises ascertaining object information on one or more objects (54) arranged in the source container (52). (as per “imaging a placement surface of the workpiece in the table-like body by an imaging unit configured to image the placement surface two-dimensionally in a perpendicular direction to the placement surface, and recognizing a position of the workpiece by performing a two-dimensional pattern matching based on an image two-dimensionally captured by the imaging unit.” In ¶17, as per “The recognition part 22 reads out the shape data of the workpiece W stored beforehand, and performs the two-dimensional pattern matching of the image two-dimensionally captured by the imaging unit 18 based on the shape of the workpiece W… The coordinates and posture of the workpiece W are sent to the controller 14.” in ¶55)
As per Claim 5, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 2. Ono further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) approach the source container in steps c) and g) and/or the object (54) is gripped in steps d) and h) as a function of object information ascertained by the identification device (58). (as per “The controller 14 reads out the coordinates and posture data of the workpiece W to be taken out, among the workpieces W on the placement surface of the table-like body 13, and based on the data, the controller 14 controls the work extracting part 9 provided to the first hand part 5 so that the work extracting part 9 is located above the workpiece W. The controller 14 performs the acquisition operation (if it is the adsorption mechanism, an adsorption operation) of the workpiece W by the work extracting part 9.” in ¶57)
As per Claim 6, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 4. Ono further discloses wherein ascertaining the object information comprises one or more of the following steps:
ascertaining a geometry, including an outer shape, and/or position and orientation of one or more of the objects (54) arranged in the source container (52); (as per “imaging a placement surface of the workpiece in the table-like body by an imaging unit configured to image the placement surface two-dimensionally in a perpendicular direction to the placement surface, and recognizing a position of the workpiece by performing a two-dimensional pattern matching based on an image two-dimensionally captured by the imaging unit.” In ¶17, as per “The recognition part 22 reads out the shape data of the workpiece W stored beforehand, and performs the two-dimensional pattern matching of the image two-dimensionally captured by the imaging unit 18 based on the shape of the workpiece W… The coordinates and posture of the workpiece W are sent to the controller 14.” in ¶55)
ascertaining a gripping point on one or more of the objects (54) arranged in the source container (52). (as per “The controller 14 reads out the coordinates and posture data of the workpiece W to be taken out, among the workpieces W on the placement surface of the table-like body 13, and based on the data, the controller 14 controls the work extracting part 9 provided to the first hand part 5 so that the work extracting part 9 is located above the workpiece W. The controller 14 performs the acquisition operation (if it is the adsorption mechanism, an adsorption operation) of the workpiece W by the work extracting part 9.” in ¶57)
As per Claim 7, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono fails to expressly disclose wherein the identification device (58), including the target container detection unit (62), is designed to ascertain a deposit position in the target container (56), wherein the characterization of the target container (56) comprises ascertaining one or more deposit positions in the target container (56), including for the object (54) gripped by the robot (12).
See Claim 1 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses wherein the identification device (58), including the target container detection unit (62), is designed to ascertain a deposit position in the target container (56). (as per “the picking system includes a further 3D camera 12b ( Fig. 2 ), which is arranged above the target container 22 and detects the current stack configuration. The choice of storage location is made depending on the stack configuration found using suitable algorithms. The algorithms optimize in particular the sizing pattern or a packing density in the target container 22 and for this purpose indirectly or directly use the position of the lower edge and the data recorded by the camera and / or the master data stored dimensions, and an orientation taken from article 18.” in P5¶12) wherein the characterization of the target container (56) comprises ascertaining one or more deposit positions in the target container (56), including for the object (54) gripped by the robot (12). (as per “in which the article 18 is not thrown off but is completely deposited, with a weight sensor (not shown) integrated in the gripping arm 16 being able to detect when the deposit position has been reached. The gripping arm 16 is then slowly lowered over the last millimeters in order to enable a slow approach and a sufficiently quick stop when the deposit position is reached.” in P5¶11)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 8, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 2. Ono fails to expressly disclose wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) approach the target container (56) in steps c) and g) and/or the object (54) is deposited in steps d) and h) as a function of a deposit position, ascertained by the identification device (58), in the target container (56).
See Claim 2 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) approach the target container (56) in steps c) and g) (as per “As soon as the controller 14 has recognized that the article 18 has left the monitored level 32, the lifting process is aborted and the pivoting process for the horizontal movement of the article 18 is initiated” in P5¶6-¶8) and/or the object (54) is deposited in steps d) and h) as a function of a deposit position, ascertained by the identification device (58), in the target container (56). (as per “the picking system includes a further 3D camera 12b ( Fig. 2 ), which is arranged above the target container 22 and detects the current stack configuration. The choice of storage location is made depending on the stack configuration found using suitable algorithms. The algorithms optimize in particular the sizing pattern or a packing density in the target container 22 and for this purpose indirectly or directly use the position of the lower edge and the data recorded by the camera and / or the master data stored dimensions, and an orientation taken from article 18.” in P5¶12)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 9, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 7. Ono fails to expressly disclose wherein ascertaining the deposit position comprises selecting a deposit position from the plurality of identified deposit positions, including as a function of one or more of the following boundary conditions:
nature and/or geometry, including size and/or outer shape, of an object (54) held by the robot (12) at this time;
nature, geometry and/or position and orientation of the objects (54) already arranged in the target container (56) at this time.
See Claim 7 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses wherein ascertaining the deposit position comprises selecting a deposit position from the plurality of identified deposit positions, (as per “the picking system includes a further 3D camera 12b ( Fig. 2 ), which is arranged above the target container 22 and detects the current stack configuration. The choice of storage location is made depending on the stack configuration found using suitable algorithms. The algorithms optimize in particular the sizing pattern or a packing density in the target container 22 and for this purpose indirectly or directly use the position of the lower edge and the data recorded by the camera and / or the master data stored dimensions, and an orientation taken from article 18.” in P5¶12) including as a function of one or more of the following boundary conditions:
nature and/or geometry, including size and/or outer shape, of an object (54) held by the robot (12) at this time; (as per “, the control is designed to calculate a height of the article from the detected position of the lower edge of the article and to control at least the depositing process as a function of the detected height of the article.” in P3¶13)
nature, geometry and/or position and orientation of the objects (54) already arranged in the target container (56) at this time. (as per “control is designed to use the position of the lower edge and the data captured by the camera and / or the dimensions stored in master data in order to recognize an orientation of gripped articles and to use them in the filing process to through a optimized sizing pattern to increase a packing density in the target container. The height of the article can be calculated from the position of the lower edge and it can be deduced from which of three orientations of a cuboid article the suction gripper has gripped the article, i.e. whether it is hanging lengthways or crossways on the suction gripper. Depending on the orientation identified in this way, the article can be placed in a suitable location and in a suitable orientation to optimize the packing density, whereby the article can be rotated about a longitudinal axis of a gripper in order to or close the side edges parallel to articles already placed in the target container to align the container turns, or can also be tilted if necessary.” in P3¶5)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 10, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein respective end effectors (14-1, 14-2) are each connected via a coupling device (42-1, 42-2) to a corresponding robot arm (20-1, 20-2) in such a way that the respective end effector (14-1, 14-2) is pivotable about a respective pivot axis (44-1, 44-2) relative to the robot arm (20-1, 20-2), (as per “The attachment member 51 is formed in a bar shape extending horizontally, and is attached to a rotational shaft of the actuator 34 of the first arm 3 (i.e., the joint shaft A3) at a central part thereof in the longitudinal directions. The attachment member 51 is constructed rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the horizontal surface by the actuator 34 comprised of an electric motor etc.” in ¶37)
Ono fails to expressly disclose wherein before an object (54) is gripped from the source container (52) and/or before an object (54) is deposited into the target container (56), the corresponding end effector (14-1, 14-2) is pivoted about the respective pivot axis (44-1, 44-2), including as a function of object information, or a deposit position, previously ascertained by the identification device (58).
See Claim 1 for teachings of Zrenner. Zrenner further discloses wherein before an object (54) is gripped from the source container (52) and/or before an object (54) is deposited into the target container (56), the corresponding end effector (14-1, 14-2) is pivoted about the respective pivot axis (44-1, 44-2), (as per “As soon as the controller 14 has recognized that the article 18 has left the monitored level 32, the lifting process is aborted and the pivoting process for the horizontal movement of the article 18 is initiated” in P5¶8, as per “which is designed to control the gripping arm (16) in this way as a function of the image data captured by the camera (12a) control that the gripping arm (16) grips the article (18), lifts it in a lifting process, guides it over the target container (22) and deposits it in the target container (22) in a deposit process” in Abstract) including as a function of object information, or a deposit position, previously ascertained by the identification device (58). (as per “the control is designed to calculate a height of the article from the detected position of the lower edge of the article and to control at least the depositing process as a function of the detected height of the article. As a result, if the dimensions of the article are known from the master data, an orientation of the article on the robot gripper can be recognized” in P2¶13)
In this way, Zrenner operates to improve a generic order-picking system (P2). Like Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Zrenner is concerned with pick and place systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the picking system as taught by Zrenner to enable another standard means of identifying source and target containers (as per Fig. 2, Abstract).
As per Claim 13, Ono further discloses a control device for controlling the handling system (10) configured to carry out the method according to claim 1. (as per “The robot 1 includes a controller 14 which controls each of the first arm 3 and the second arm 4” in ¶40, as per “The controller 14 also performs controls of the work extracting parts 9, the work feeding parts 21, and the imaging units 18. Further, the controller 14 also functions as a recognition part 22 which recognizes the position of the workpiece W on the placement surface by performing the two-dimensional pattern matching based on the image two-dimensionally captured by the imaging unit 18” in ¶45)
As per Claim 14, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Ono further discloses wherein the robot (12) comprises a first SCARA robot unit (66-1) providing the first robot arm (20-1), and a second SCARA robot unit (66-2) providing the second robot arm (20-2). (as per “As illustrated in FIGS. 1 and 2, a robot 1 of this embodiment is constructed as a dual-arm robot in which two arms (a first arm 3 and a second arm 4) are provided to a pedestal 2” in ¶31, as per Fig. 1)
As per Claim 15, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Ono further discloses wherein the robot (12) has a robot base (18), wherein the first robot arm (20-1) and the second robot arm (20-2) are fastened to the robot base (18) so as to pivot about the common main axis (29). (as per “Each of the first arm and the second arm may be arranged coaxially with an axis perpendicular to the pedestal, and may be constructed rotatable about the axis independently from the pedestal. Since base parts of the two arms are arranged coaxially, the two arms can be controlled with high precision without a delay, by setting the origin of a robot coordinate system at the position along the common axis” in ¶13, as per Fig. 1)
As per Claim 16, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Ono further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) each have a spindle (34-1, 34-2), wherein the end effector (14-1, 14-2) of a respective robot arm (20-1, 20-2) is arranged on the spindle (34-1, 34-2) of this robot arm (20-1, 20-2), including wherein the respective spindle (34-1, 34-2) is designed to drive a translational and/or a rotational actuating movement with respect to a respective spindle axis (36-1, 36-2) parallel to the common main axis (29). (as per “An actuator 34 comprised of an electric motor etc. for rotating the joint shaft A3 is provided to a tip-end part of the hoisting part 33” in ¶35, as per “a work extracting part 9 which takes out one of the at least one workpiece W placed on the table-like body 13 is attached to the first hand part 5. The work extracting part 9 is provided between the joint shaft A3 of the attachment member 51 and the first acting part 7.” in ¶41, as per “A tip-end part of the second member 32 is provided with the hoisting part 33 which moves the first hand part 5 in height directions (axial directions of the rotational shaft C)” in ¶35)
As per Claim 17, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) each have three successively arranged limbs (22-1, 22-2, 24-1, 24-2, 26-1, 26-2), wherein a respective first limb (22-1, 22-2) is pivotable about a first axis (28) corresponding to the common main axis (29) (as per “The joint shaft A1 is constructed as a shaft perpendicular to an upper surface of the pedestal 2, and the first aim 3 is constructed rotatable around the joint shaft A1. The joint shaft B1 is also constructed as a shaft perpendicular to the upper surface (horizontal surface) of the pedestal 2, and the second arm 4 is constructed rotatable around the joint shaft B1.” in ¶) including mounted on a robot base (18),) wherein a respective second limb (24-1, 24-2) is connected to the first limb (22-1, 22-2) so as to pivot about a respective second axis (32-1, 32-2), (as per “The first arm 3 includes a first member 31 provided between the joint shaft A1 and the joint shaft A2, and a second member 32 provided between the joint shaft A2 and the joint shaft A3” in ¶35) wherein a respective third limb (26-1, 26-2) is formed by the respective spindle (34-1, 34-2), wherein the spindle (34-1, 34-2) is connected to the second limb (24-1, 24-2) so as to rotate about the spindle axis (36-1, 36-2). (as per “The work extracting part 9 is provided between the joint shaft A3 of the attachment member 51 and the first acting part 7. The work extracting part 9 is, for example, an adsorption mechanism in which an adsorption part is provided at a position extended downwardly from the attachment member 51” in ¶41)
As per Claim 18, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Ono further discloses wherein axes (29, 32-1, 32-2, 36-1, 36-2) of the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) run parallel to one another, including vertically. (as per Fig. 1)
As per Claim 19, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 13. Ono further discloses wherein the end effectors (14-1, 14-2) are each connected via a coupling device (42-1, 42-2) to the corresponding robot arm (20-1, 20-2), including the respective spindle (34-1, 34-2), in such a way that the respective end effector (14-1, 14-2) is pivotable about a respective pivot axis (44-1, 44-2) relative to the robot arm (20-1, 20-2), including the spindle (34-1, 34-2). (as per “The attachment member 51 is formed in a bar shape extending horizontally, and is attached to a rotational shaft of the actuator 34 of the first arm 3 (i.e., the joint shaft A3) at a central part thereof in the longitudinal directions. The attachment member 51 is constructed rotatable about an axis perpendicular to the horizontal surface by the actuator 34… The first acting part 7 is attached to one end part of the attachment member 51 in the longitudinal directions.” in ¶37, as per “a second acting part 8 is attached to one end part of the attachment member 61 in the longitudinal directions” in ¶38)
Claim(s) 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ono (US Pub. No. 20180215035) in view of Zrenner (EP Pub. No. 3838806) in view of Ahn (NPL Title: Coordination of two robotic manipulators for object retrieval in clutter, Year 2022) in view of Waddell (NPL Title: Berkeley’s two-armed robot hints at a new future for warehouses, Year: 2019) in view of AEL Automation Ltd (NPL Title: Kawasaki Robot - DuAro Project, Year: 2016) in further view of Mori (US Pub. No. 20030202872).
As per Claim 11, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) each have three successively arranged limbs (22-1, 22-2, 24-1, 24-2, 26-1, 26-2), wherein a respective first limb (22-1, 22-2) is pivotable about the common main axis (29). (as per Fig. 1, as per “The first arm 3 includes a first member 31 provided between the joint shaft A1 and the joint shaft A2, and a second member 32 provided between the joint shaft A2 and the joint shaft A3. A tip-end part of the second member 32 is provided with the hoisting part 33 which moves the first hand part 5 in height directions (axial directions of the rotational shaft C)” in ¶35)
Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd fails to expressly disclose wherein a pivoting movement of first limbs (22-1, 22-2) about the common main axis (29) is synchronized in such a way that an angle (a) enclosed between the respective first limb (22-1) of the first robot arm (20-1) and a corresponding first limb (22-2) of the second robot arm (20-2) around the common main axis (29) is not less than 120°.
Mori discloses of a robot arm mechanism, wherein a pivoting movement of first limbs (22-1, 22-2) about the common main axis (29) is synchronized in such a way that an angle (a) enclosed between the respective first limb (22-1) of the first robot arm (20-1) and a corresponding first limb (22-2) of the second robot arm (20-2) around the common main axis (29) is not less than 120°. (as per “The robot arm mechanism 110 further comprises an angle keeping mechanism 180 for keeping substantially fixed the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link 152 of the second robot arm 110 b and the central line of the second arm link 142 of the first robot arm 110 a as one of the first arm links 131 and 132 of the first and second robot arms 110 a and 110 b is angularly moved with respect to the other of the first arm links 131 and 132 of the first and second robot arms 110 a and 110 b.” in ¶46C, as per “the second arm link being inclined with respect to the second arm link of the first robot arm at a preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm… and an angle keeping mechanism for keeping substantially fixed the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm as one of the first arm links of the first and second robot arms is angularly moved with respect to the other of the first arm links of the first and second robot arms.” in Abstract), as per Fig. 1)
In this way, Mori operates to provide a robot arm mechanism and a robot apparatus which can enhance the reliability of the operation of the robot arm to ensure that the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm is kept substantially fixed (¶19). Like Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Mori is concerned with robotic systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the robot arm mechanism of Mori to enable another standard means of ensuring that the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm is kept substantially fixed while the first and second driving shafts are respectively pivoted clockwise and counterclockwise around the pivotal axis (¶19).
As per Claim 20, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono further discloses wherein the robot arms (20-1, 20-2) each have three successively arranged limbs (22-1, 22-2, 24-1, 24-2, 26-1, 26-2), wherein a respective first limb (22-1, 22-2) is pivotable about the common main axis (29). (as per Fig. 1, as per “The first arm 3 includes a first member 31 provided between the joint shaft A1 and the joint shaft A2, and a second member 32 provided between the joint shaft A2 and the joint shaft A3. A tip-end part of the second member 32 is provided with the hoisting part 33 which moves the first hand part 5 in height directions (axial directions of the rotational shaft C)” in ¶35)
Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd fails to expressly disclose wherein a pivoting movement of first limbs (22-1, 22-2) about the common main axis (29) is synchronized in such a way that an angle (a) enclosed between the respective first limb (22-1) of the first robot arm (20-1) and a corresponding first limb (22-2) of the second robot arm (20-2) around the common main axis (29) is not less than a selected one of the following angles 140°, or 160°, or 170° or 175°.
Mori discloses of a robot arm mechanism, wherein a pivoting movement of first limbs (22-1, 22-2) about the common main axis (29) is synchronized in such a way that an angle (a) enclosed between the respective first limb (22-1) of the first robot arm (20-1) and a corresponding first limb (22-2) of the second robot arm (20-2) around the common main axis (29) is not less than a selected one of the following angles 140°, or 160°, or 170° or 175°.(as per “The robot arm mechanism 110 further comprises an angle keeping mechanism 180 for keeping substantially fixed the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link 152 of the second robot arm 110 b and the central line of the second arm link 142 of the first robot arm 110 a as one of the first arm links 131 and 132 of the first and second robot arms 110 a and 110 b is angularly moved with respect to the other of the first arm links 131 and 132 of the first and second robot arms 110 a and 110 b.” in ¶46C, as per “the second arm link being inclined with respect to the second arm link of the first robot arm at a preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm… and an angle keeping mechanism for keeping substantially fixed the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm as one of the first arm links of the first and second robot arms is angularly moved with respect to the other of the first arm links of the first and second robot arms.” in Abstract), as per Fig. 1)
In this way, Mori operates to provide a robot arm mechanism and a robot apparatus which can enhance the reliability of the operation of the robot arm to ensure that the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm is kept substantially fixed (¶19). Like Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Mori is concerned with robotic systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the robot arm mechanism of Mori to enable another standard means of ensuring that the preset angle defined between the central line of the second arm link of the first robot arm and the central line of the second arm link of the second robot arm is kept substantially fixed while the first and second driving shafts are
respectively pivoted clockwise and counterclockwise around the pivotal axis (¶19).
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Ono (US Pub. No. 20180215035) in view of Zrenner (EP Pub. No. 3838806) in view of Ahn (NPL Title: Coordination of two robotic manipulators for object retrieval in clutter, Year 2022) in view of Waddell (NPL Title: Berkeley’s two-armed robot hints at a new future for warehouses, Year: 2019) in view of AEL Automation Ltd (NPL Title: Kawasaki Robot - DuAro Project, Year: 2016) in further view of Huang (US Pub. No. 20200331709).
As per Claim 12, the combination of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd teaches or suggests all limitations of Claim 1. Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd fail to expressly disclose wherein the identification device (58) comprises further detection units (64-1, 64-2), including further cameras, wherein one of the further detection units (64-1, 64-2) is arranged on each robot arm (20-1, 20-2), wherein, when the object (54) is held on an end effector (14-1, 14-2) of a robot arm (20-1, 20-2), this object (54), including its position and orientation on the end effector (14-1, 14-2), is monitored by means of a further detection unit (64-1, 64-2) arranged on this robot arm (20-1, 20-2).
Huang discloses of an object grasp system, wherein the identification device (58) comprises further detection units (64-1, 64-2), including further cameras, wherein one of the further detection units (64-1, 64-2) is arranged on each robot arm (20-1, 20-2), (as per Fig. 1) wherein, when the object (54) is held on an end effector (14-1, 14-2) of a robot arm (20-1, 20-2), (as per “When the object 118 is disposed between the gripping jaws of the gripper 114, the jaws are made to close and thus engage the object 118 therebetween” in ¶30) this object (54), including its position and orientation on the end effector (14-1, 14-2), is monitored by means of a further detection unit (64-1, 64-2) arranged on this robot arm (20-1, 20-2). (as per Fig. 1, as per “Similar to the fixed camera, a mounted camera 132 (FIG. 1) can provide filtered images of the object at different instances, such that the positional and orientational consistency of the object relative to the gripper can be evaluated and monitored. Performance indexes based on this information can include qualitative indexes for securing, translating, rotating, or slipping of the object, and also an inferred proximity of the grasped portion of the object relative to its center of gravity” in ¶42, as per “the sensor signals indicate to the controller 106 the position, shape and orientation of the object 118” in ¶27, as per “the object is grasped by the gripper at 304, and the quality of the grasp is determined at 306. Various sensors can be used to effect these operations. For example, a tactile sensor can be used to detect physical proximity of the object to the gripper for grasping, and a force-toque sensor can be used to measure gravitational and inertial forces in both translational and orientation coordinate frames. The tactile sensor can detect the object motion relative to the gripper, which may include vibrations, object shifts/dislocations, or impacts.” in ¶44)
In this way, Mori operates to improve the object-picking performance of a picking tool, such as a gripper disposed on a distal or working end of a robotic arm, based on acquisition and processing of signals provided from a plurality of sensors associated with the robot (¶14). Like Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd, Huang is concerned with robotic systems.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the system(s) of Ono, Zrenner, Ahn, Waddell, and AEL Automation Ltd with the object grasp system of Huang to enable another standard means of monitoring an object’s position and orientation when the object is held on the end effector (¶44).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.R.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3658
/TRUC M DO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658