DETAILED ACTION
Application 18/373,492, “THERMAL RUNAWAY-PREVENTING BUSBAR DEVICE AND BATTERY SYSTEM”, was filed with the USPTO on 9/27/2023 and has a foreign priority document of KR10-2022-0122629 filed on 9/27/2022.
This office action is in response to communication filed on 9/21/2023.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 18/373,492, filed on 11/06/2023.
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, 16 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the first connector is” should read “the first connectors are”.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the second connector are” should read “the second connectors are”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 13 recite the limitation “both sides”. It’s not clear “both sides” refer to which feature in claims 1 and 13. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitations have been interpreted as “both sides of a holder”.
Claims 3 and 15 are indefinite because it’s not clear if “a longitudinal direction” and “a width direction” refer to the same “a longitudinal direction” and “a width direction” as in claims 1 and 13. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests changing “a” to “the”. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitations have been interpreted as “the longitudinal direction” and “the width direction”.
Claims 6 and 18 recite the limitations "the center" and “the outside”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitations have been interpreted as “a center” and “an outside”.
Claims 6 and 18 are indefinite because it’s not clear “the center” and “the outside” of which features of the invention. To overcome the rejection, the Examiner suggests clearly pointing out a center and a outside of which feature of the invention. For examination purposes, the aforementioned limitations have been interpreted as “the area between the pair of second busbars” and “an outside of the first body”.
Claims 2-20 are rejected as they depend from, and therefore incorporate the claimed subject matter from claims rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10, 13-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goldberg et al. (US 20240063511 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goldberg et al. teaches a thermal runaway-preventing busbar device (50/54/66/70, Figs 1 and 4), comprising:
a pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) disposed in parallel (interpreted as placed side-by-side, see Fig. 1), each first busbar (each 54, Fig. 1) of the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) including a first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) extending in a longitudinal direction (longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and first connectors (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) connected to both ends of the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a);
a pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) disposed on both sides (the two sides of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; 70 also see Figs 3 and 4; interpretation see 112(b) rejection above) in a width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c) with the pair of first busbars interposed therebetween (the pair of 54s is between the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b), each second busbar (each 50 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) of the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) including a second body (124, Fig. 5) extending parallel to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5), which bend (both second connector 1 and second connector 2 bend at both ends of 124, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) and extend in directions opposite (interpreted as “not towards, away from”) to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) at both ends of the second body (124, Fig. 5) (see extension part, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6; note: the extension part of second connector 1 bends downwards and in a direction away from 124, therefore away from first body);
a holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; structure of 70 see Figs 3 and 4) insertion-coupled to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and the second body (124, Fig. 5) (note: 124 insertion-couples to 70 via 100/108 of 70, see Fig. 5 and first body also insertion-couples onto 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) so that the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is spaced a regular interval (regular interval, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c) from the second body (124, Fig. 5); and
a frame (66, Fig. 1; structure of 66 see Figs 3 and 4; note: although no 66 shown at the location of 70 between the two 50s in circles in Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b, 66 is disposed between each 30, see [0040]) mounted within a separation space (the space where 30 is, see Fig. 2) provided between battery modules (between each of the six 30s in Fig. 2) and including an accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; note: “groove” interpreted as a hollow channel formed by 66) having an open upper surface (open upper surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; note: open upper surface opens to the bottom) to accommodate the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) therein (open upper surface fastens to 70 to accommodate the pair of 54s and the pair of 50s, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in a state (a state when 124 insertion-couples to 70 via 100/108 of 70, see Fig. 5 and first body also insertion-couples onto 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) in which the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) are insertion-coupled to the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; structure of 70 see Figs 3 and 4), the holder (70, Figs 3 and 4) is fastened in the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and then fixed in the frame (70 fastened and fixed to 66 via 86, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in a state in which the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) are fixed (both 54 and 50 electrically connect/couple to 30, [0038] and [0049]; “fixed” interpreted as connecting things together; note: 54 has the same function as connection with 50, see [0038]) in the frame (66, Fig. 1), the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and the second body (124, Fig. 5) are disposed (124 sits in 100 which is in wall of 70, see Fig. 5 and Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a structure (side walls of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1) extending in a longitudinal direction of the accommodation groove (a longitudinal direction of the accommodation groove is the same direction as longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) in (“in” interpreted same as the “in” of “in bed”) the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4), the first connectors (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) are disposed in a structure (sidewalls of 34 (in longitudinal direction), see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) extending outward from both ends of the frame (first end and second end of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a longitudinal direction (longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b), and the second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) are disposed in a structure (other sidewalls of 34 (in width direction), see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) extending outward from both sides of the frame first end and second end of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 5, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c and Fig. 4) is disposed above a bottom surface (bottom surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) in a state of being fastened (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) to the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c and Fig. 3) includes a plurality of insertion grooves (108/100s, Figs 3 and 5; note: total two 108/100s formed on each 70, see Fig. 3), the plurality of insertion grooves (108/100s, Figs 3 and 5) are spaced apart from each other in a width direction of the accommodation groove (width direction of the accommodation groove same as width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), and based on the width direction of the accommodation groove (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is inserted into the center (the area between the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b; interpretation of “the center” see 112(b) rejection above), and the second body (124, Fig. 5) is insertion-coupled thereto at the outside (outside of the first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b; interpretation of “the outside” see 112(b) rejection above).
Regarding claim 10, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54, Fig. 1) has a longer length than the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 13, Goldberg et al. teaches a battery system (14, Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery case (62/34/68, Fig. 2) including a storage space (space between 66s, see Fig. 2);
a plurality of battery modules (30s, Fig. 2) arranged in a form of a grid (square shape of 30, see Fig. 2) within the storage space (space between 66s, see Fig. 2); and
a busbar device (50/54/66/70, Figs 1 and 4) mounted in a separation space provided between the plurality of battery modules and electrically connecting the plurality of battery modules,
wherein the busbar device (50/54/66/70, Figs 1 and 4) includes:
a pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) disposed in parallel (interpreted as placed side-by-side, see Fig. 1), each first busbar (each 54, Fig. 1) of the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) including a first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) extending in a longitudinal direction (longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and first connectors (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) connected to both ends of the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a);
a pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) disposed on both sides (the two sides of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; 70 also see Figs 3 and 4) in a width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c) with the pair of first busbars interposed therebetween (the pair of 54s is between the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b), each second busbar (each 50 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) of the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) including a second body (124, Fig. 5) extending parallel to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5), which bend (both second connector 1 and second connector 2 bend at both ends of 124, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) and extend in directions opposite (interpreted as “not towards, away from”) to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) at both ends of the second body (124, Fig. 5) (see extension part, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 6; note: the extension part of second connector 1 bends downwards and in a direction away from 124, therefore away from first body);
a holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; structure of 70 see Figs 3 and 4) insertion-coupled to the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and the second body (124, Fig. 5) (note: 124 insertion-couples to 70 via 100/108 of 70, see Fig. 5 and first body also insertion-couples onto 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) so that the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is spaced a regular interval (regular interval, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c) from the second body (124, Fig. 5); and
a frame (66, Fig. 1; structure of 66 see Figs 3 and 4; note: although no 66 shown at the location of 70 between the two 50s in circles in Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b, 66 is disposed between each 30, see [0040]) mounted within a separation space (the space where 30 is, see Fig. 2) provided between battery modules (between each of the six 30s in Fig. 2) and including an accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; note: “groove” interpreted as a hollow channel formed by 66) having an open upper surface (open upper surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4; note: open upper surface opens to the bottom) to accommodate the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) therein (open upper surface fastens to 70 to accommodate the pair of 54s and the pair of 50s, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in a state (a state when 124 insertion-couples to 70 via 100/108 of 70, see Fig. 5 and first body also insertion-couples onto 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) in which the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) are insertion-coupled to the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c; structure of 70 see Figs 3 and 4), the holder (70, Figs 3 and 4) is fastened in the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) and then fixed in the frame (70 fastened and fixed to 66 via 86, see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in a state in which the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) and the pair of second busbars (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) are fixed (both 54 and 50 electrically connect/couple to 30, [0038] and [0049]; “fixed” interpreted as connecting things together; note: 54 has the same function as connection with 50, see [0038]) in the frame (66, Fig. 1), the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) and the second body (124, Fig. 5) are disposed (124 sits in 100 which is in wall of 70, see Fig. 5 and Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a structure (side walls of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3-1) extending in a longitudinal direction of the accommodation groove (a longitudinal direction of the accommodation groove is the same direction as longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) in (“in” interpreted same as the “in” of “in bed”) the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4), the first connectors (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) are disposed in a structure (sidewalls of 34 (in longitudinal direction), see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) extending outward from both ends of the frame (first end and second end of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a longitudinal direction (longitudinal direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b), and the second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) are disposed in a structure (other sidewalls of 34 (in width direction), see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) extending outward from both sides of the frame first end and second end of 70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3) in a width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b).
Regarding claim 17, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c and Fig. 4) is disposed above a bottom surface (bottom surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) of the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) in a state of being fastened (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) to the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 18, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the holder (70, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c and Fig. 3) includes a plurality of insertion grooves (108/100s, Figs 3 and 5; note: total two 108/100s formed on each 70, see Fig. 3), the plurality of insertion grooves (108/100s, Figs 3 and 5) are spaced apart from each other in a width direction of the accommodation groove (width direction of the accommodation groove same as width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), and based on the width direction of the accommodation groove (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is inserted into the center (the area between the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b; interpretation of “the center” see 112(b) rejection above), and the second body (124, Fig. 5) is insertion-coupled thereto at the outside (outside of the first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b; interpretation of “the outside” see 112(b) rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 20240063511 A1) in view of Kim (US 20170025663 A1) in view of Ju et al. (US 20230361379 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the first connector (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is connected to an external device (another part of the electrified vehicle such as array to header vehicle connectors, front/rear motors and inverters, fast chargers, etc., see [0038]), and the second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) are connected (the four black dots at the four corners of 30 are where 50 connects to 30, see Fig. 2, [0038] and [0049]) to the battery modules (30s, Fig. 2) disposed on both sides of the frame (66, Fig. 1) in the width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c).
Goldberg et al. does not teach the first connector is connected to a connector, which is connected to an external device,
the second connectors are connected to terminals of the battery modules.
Kim teaches the first connector (166, Fig. 4) is connected to a connector (160, Fig. 4), which is connected to an external device (input/output terminal of the vehicle, see [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the external connector and the converter taught by Kim between the first connectors and another part of the electrified vehicle taught by Goldberg et al. to step up the 12V voltage input during charging to 48V (see Kim [0049]) and to convert 12V voltage from battery via the external connector and the converter to 48V for the driving motor (see Kim [0050]).
However, Goldberg et al. in view of Kim does not teach the second connectors are connected to terminals of the battery modules.
Ju et al. teaches the second connectors (123, Fig. 11; note: 123 is connector of 120A) are connected to terminals (710, Fig. 11) of the battery modules (see [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the four black dots at the four corners of battery arrays (Fig. 2) taught by Goldberg et al. in view of Kim to be the external terminals taught by Ju et al. because it’s well known in the art that busbars connect to the external terminals of batteries to provide electrical connection between the busbars and the batteries.
Regarding claim 16, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the first connector (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is connected to an external device (another part of the electrified vehicle such as array to header vehicle connectors, front/rear motors and inverters, fast chargers, etc., see [0038]), and the second connectors (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) are connected (the four black dots at the four corners of 30 are where 50 connects to 30, see Fig. 2, [0038] and [0049]) to the battery modules (30s, Fig. 2) disposed on both sides of the frame (66, Fig. 1) in the width direction (width direction, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2c).
Goldberg et al. does not teach the first connector is connected to a connector, which is connected to an external device,
the second connectors are connected to terminals of the battery modules.
Kim teaches the first connector (166, Fig. 4) is connected to a connector (160, Fig. 4), which is connected to an external device (input/output terminal of the vehicle, see [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to add the external connector and the converter taught by Kim between the first connectors and another part of the electrified vehicle taught by Goldberg et al. to step up the 12V voltage input during charging to 48V (see Kim [0049]) and to convert 12V voltage from battery via the external connector and the converter to 48V for the driving motor (see Kim [0050]).
However, Goldberg et al. in view of Kim does not teach the second connectors are connected to terminals of the battery modules.
Ju et al. teaches the second connectors (123, Fig. 11; note: 123 is connector of 120A) are connected to terminals (710, Fig. 11) of the battery modules (see [0059]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the four black dots at the four corners of battery arrays (Fig. 2) taught by Goldberg et al. in view of Kim to be the external terminals taught by Ju et al. because it’s well known in the art that busbars connect to the external terminals of batteries to provide electrical connection between the busbars and the batteries.
Claims 7, 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 20240063511 A1) in view of Ryu et al. (US 20200044227 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in the frame (66, Fig. 1), a duct (148, Figs 7 and 8) is provided under (“under” in vertical, see Fig. 1) the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) (the part of 148 in 140 is considered as placed in 66, see Figs 1, 7 and 8).
Goldberg et al. does not teach air flows in a duct.
Ryu et al. teaches air (air, [0049]) flows in a duct (10, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the coolant hose taught by Goldberg et al. by adding air flows as taught by Ryu et al. to absorb the heat of the bus bar and transfer the heat to the air (see Ryu et al. [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the second body (124, Fig. 5) and the second connector (second connector 1 and second connector 2, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5) are formed of a single plate (single plate see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5), each second busbar (each 50 in circle, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) of the pair of second busbar (the two 50s in circles, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2b) is formed in a structure (108, Fig. 5) in which the second body and the second connector are integrally connected by bending the second connector at both ends of the second body (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 5).
Goldberg et al. does not teach busbar is made of copper.
Ryu et al. teaches busbar (200, Fig. 1) is made of copper (copper, [0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the bus bars taught by Goldberg et al. to be copper taught by Ryu et al. to have bus bars made of an electrically conductive metal material (see Ryu et al. [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein, in the frame (66, Fig. 1), a duct (148, Figs 7 and 8) is provided under (“under” in vertical, see Fig. 1) the accommodation groove (accommodation groove, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 4) (the part of 148 in 140 is considered as placed in 66, see Figs 1, 7 and 8).
Goldberg et al. does not teach air flows in a duct.
Ryu et al. teaches air (air, [0049]) flows in a duct (10, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the coolant hose taught by Goldberg et al. by adding air flows as taught by Ryu et al. to absorb the heat of the bus bar and transfer the heat to the air (see Ryu et al. [0049]).
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 20240063511 A1) in view of Burkman (US 9853435 B1).
Regarding claim 8, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), the first connector (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is formed of a single plate (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), and each first busbar (each 54, Fig. 1) of the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) is formed in a structure (L shape of 54, Fig. 1) in which the first connectors are connected (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) to both ends of the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a).
Goldberg et al. does not teach
the first body is formed by overlapping a plurality of thin copper plates,
the bus bar is made of copper,
by welding.
Burkman teaches the first body (84 and 88, Fig. 2) is formed by overlapping a plurality of thin copper plates (80, Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 34-35; copper see col. 6, lines 39-40),
the bus bar (60, Fig. 3) is made of copper (copper, col. 6, lines 39-40),
the first connectors (64 and 66, Fig. 2) are connected to the first body (84 and 88, Fig. 2) by welding (utilize welds, see col. 4, line 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to 1) modify the first body taught by Goldberg et al. to have a plurality of layers taught by Burkman to have exposed surfaces to facilitate thermal energy exchange with the surrounding environment to cool more quickly (see Burkman col. 5, lines 30-45); 2) modify the material of the first connectors taught by Goldberg et al. to be copper taught by Burkman to have an electrically conductive metal material (well-known in the art); 3) modify the connections between the first connectors and the first body taught by Goldberg et al. by utilizing welds taught by Burkman because utilizing welds is a well-known technology in the art (see Burkman col. 4, line 45).
Regarding claim 20, Goldberg et al. teaches wherein the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), the first connector (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) is formed of a single plate (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a), and each first busbar (each 54, Fig. 1) of the pair of first busbars (a pair of 54s, Fig. 1) is formed in a structure (L shape of 54, Fig. 1) in which the first connectors are connected (first connectors, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a) to both ends of the first body (first body, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2a).
Goldberg et al. does not teach
the first body is formed by overlapping a plurality of thin copper plates,
the bus bar is made of copper,
by welding.
Burkman teaches the first body (84 and 88, Fig. 2) is formed by overlapping a plurality of thin copper plates (80, Fig. 3; col. 4, lines 34-35; copper see col. 6, lines 39-40),
the bus bar (60, Fig. 3) is made of copper (copper, col. 6, lines 39-40),
the first connectors (64 and 66, Fig. 2) are connected to the first body (84 and 88, Fig. 2) by welding (utilize welds, see col. 4, line 45).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to 1) modify the first body taught by Goldberg et al. to have a plurality of layers taught by Burkman to have exposed surfaces to facilitate thermal energy exchange with the surrounding environment to cool more quickly (see Burkman col. 5, lines 30-45); 2) modify the material of the first connectors taught by Goldberg et al. to be copper taught by Burkman to have an electrically conductive metal material (well-known in the art); 3) modify the connections between the first connectors and the first body taught by Goldberg et al. by utilizing welds taught by Burkman because utilizing welds is a well-known technology in the art (see Burkman col. 4, line 45).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goldberg et al. (US 20240063511 A1) in view of Wang et al. (CN 109065774 A, citations see machine translation)
Regarding claim 11, Goldberg et al. does not teach further comprising a filler provided in the accommodation groove.
Wang et al. teaches further comprising a filler (7, Fig. 1) provided in the accommodation groove (4, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the accommodation groove taught by Goldberg et al. by adding the automatic fire extinguishing device taught by Wang et al. to have an automatic fire extinguishing device that automatically activates when a fire occurs to quickly and effectively extinguish any explosions or fires (see Wang et al. [0008], [0019] and [0051]).
Regarding claim 12, Goldberg et al. in view of Wang et al. teaches wherein a carbon dioxide capsule (liquid carbon dioxide, Wang et al. [0045]) is provided in the filler (7, Wang et al. Fig. 1).
Conclusion
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723