DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The following action is in response to the applicant’s Amendment dated 12/19/2025, that was in response to the Office action dated 11/17/2025. Claims 1-4 and 27-50 are pending, claim(s) 1-3 and 31 has/have been amended, while claim(s) 47-50 are presented as new.
Response to Arguments
The claim 1 objection is withdrawn based on Applicant’s amendment.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 regarding claims 1, 30, 31, 34, 35 and 46 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The reasons for Applicant’s remarks not being persuasive are given below.
Applicant’s arguments, see 9-14, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to claims 2-4, 27-29, 32-33, 36-45 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The previous 103(a) rejections of the claims have been withdrawn.
Applicant respectfully submits, that Neumeier does not teach or suggest the fluid directing structure recited in amended claim 1, 30-31, 34-35 and 46. The fluid directing structures direct the premixed mixture radially inward from the interior space to the central passage such that mixture converges towards the centerline in a direction extending towards the second end of the inner tube. The inner tube is identified as element 130, and slot 132 as acknowledged by the applicant directs the incoming premixture into the void 117, which is at the centerline and toward the second end [see FIGs 2A-2B which shows radially inward flow]. It is agreed that the fluid directing structure does not have a downstream/longitudinal directing component, but this is not claimed. It is also reiterated that Scribano and O’Donnell are not relied upon to teach the structure of the fluid directing structure. For these reasons, the applicant’s remarks regarding claims 1, 30-31, 34-35 and 46 are not persuasive, and the previous grounds of rejection will be maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Neumeier [20150153041].
With respect to claim 1, Neumeier discloses: A combustor, comprising: an outer tube (112) having an interior space (136) extending between first and second openings [paragraph 0032]; and an inner tube (130) within the interior space extending along a centerline from a first end to a second end and defining a central passage, the first end being closed by an end wall (134) in a fluid-tight manner, the interior space being supplied with a mixture of air and combustible fuel pre-mixed upstream of the inner tube [paragraph 0027], the inner tube having fluid directing structures (132) for directing the pre-mixed mixture radially inward from the interior space to the central passage such that the pre-mixed mixture converges towards the central axis in a direction extending towards the second end of the inner tube [see FIG 1c reproduced below, paragraph 0028].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumeier [20150153041], further in view of O’Donnell [20190128516].
With respect to claims 30, Neumeier discloses the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the further details of the heating appliance.
O’Donnell makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 30} A heating appliance including the combustor of claim 1 [paragraph 0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Neumeier to include the fluid directing as taught by O’Donnell because O’Donnell provides a known structure that allows for complete mixing to ensure efficient use of the combustor.
Claim(s) 31, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumeier [20150153041], further in view of Scribano et al [20100291495].
With respect to claim 31, Neumeier discloses: A combustor, comprising: an outer tube (112) defining an interior space extending between first and second openings; an inner tube (130) within the interior space extending along a centerline from a first end to a second end and defining a central passage, the interior space being supplied with a mixture of air and combustible fuel pre-mixed upstream of the inner tube [paragraph 0027], the inner tube having fluid directing structures (132) for directing the pre-mixed mixture radially inward from the interior space to the central passage such that the pre-mixed mixture converges towards the central axis in a direction extending towards the second end of the inner tube [paragraph 0028]; an end wall (134) for securing the first end of the inner tube in a fluid- tight manner such that the fluid directing structures on the inner tube provides a fluid path from the interior space to the central passage [see FIG 1c]; and a flange (114) for securing the second end of the inner tube to the outer tube in a fluid- tight manner [see FIG 1c, paragraph 0027].
Neumeier however does not show the end wall being secured to the outer wall.
Scribano makes up for these deficiencies by teaching
{cl. 31, cont’d} an end wall (8) for securing the first end of the inner tube to the outer tube in a fluid- tight manner such that the fluid directing structures (apertures in shell 9, paragraph 0021) on the inner tube provides a fluid path from the interior space to the central passage [see FIG 3, paragraph 0021-0024, 0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Neumeier to include the end wall as taught by Scribano because Scribano provided the end wall to seal the combustion chamber and provide stable support of the inner tube.
With respect to claim 35, Neumeier discloses: A combustor for an appliance, comprising: an inner tube (130) extending along a central axis and defining a central passage and including fluid directing structures (132) arranged circumferentially about the inner tube; an outer tube (112) extending along the central axis and defining a central passage for receiving the inner tube, a fluid passage (136) being defined between the inner and outer tubes [paragraph 0027]; a partition dividing (144) the central passage of the inner tube into a first section and a second section [paragraph 0027]; an end wall (134) for closing the fluid passage at the first ends of the inner tube [see FIG 3 reproduced below]; wherein the first end of the inner tube receives a pre-mixed mixture of air and combustible fuel such that the pre-mixed mixture flows radially outward through the fluid directing structures into the fluid passage and then radially inward into the second section of the central passage downstream of the partition for ignition by an igniter [see FIG 3 reproduced below, paragraph 0028, 0032].
Neumeier however does not show the end wall being secured to the outer wall.
Scribano makes up for these deficiencies by teaching a burner (1) having an outer tube (4) an inner tube (4), an inner space (5) therein, where the burner combusts a pre-mixed air-fuel flow [see abstract] and;
{cl. 35, continued} an end wall (8) for closing the fluid passage at the first ends of the inner and outer tubes [see FIG 3, paragraph 0021-0024, 0026].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Neumeier to include the end wall as taught by Scribano because Scribano provided the end wall to seal the combustion chamber and provide stable support of the inner tube.
Claim(s) 34, 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumeier [20150153041], in view of Scribano et al [20100291495], further in view of O’Donnell [20190128516].
With respect to claims 34 and 46, Neumeier shows the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the further details of the fluid directing structures.
O’Donnell makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 34} A heating appliance including the combustor of claim 31 [paragraph 0018].
{cl. 46} A heating appliance including the combustor of claim 35 [paragraph 0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify Neumeier to include the fluid directing as taught by O’Donnell because O’Donnell provides a known structure that allows for complete mixing to ensure all combustion reactants are burnt during use of the appliance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 32-33 and 36-49 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The features of the converging conduit and the different directions of flow are not found in the art and would require impermissible hindsight reasoning to modify. Claim 50 is considered allowable as the flow region claimed without swirl is not shown in the art.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
3/9/2026