DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, a comma should be added after “claim 1”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshida (JP 10-311214 A).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshida discloses a device (see Fig. 1) for detecting axial and/or radial magnetic fields acting relative to an axis, comprising: at least two magnetic switch components (elements MR1, MR2, Figs. 1 and 2) arranged adjacent to one another along the axis (see Figs. 2 and 3); and an evaluation circuit (element 9, Fig. 2) for combining signals of the at least two magnetic switch components to form an output signal representing a switch-on and switch-off process (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4), wherein an OR-operation of the signals of the at least two magnetic switch components is performed in the evaluation circuit (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4); and wherein the at least two magnetic switch components are arranged along the axis with such a spacing that, when a magnet (element 3, Fig. 2) moves past the at least two magnetic switch components along the axis, a continuous output signal (i.e., output signal g, Fig. 4g) results from a combination of the signals of the at least two magnetic switch components which is independent of an orientation of the magnetic field (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 4, Yoshida discloses a device (see Fig. 1) for detecting axial and/or radial magnetic fields acting relative to an axis, said device comprising: at least two magnetic switch components (elements MR1, MR2, Figs. 1 and 2) are arranged adjacent to one another along the axis (see Figs. 2 and 3) and an evaluation circuit (element 9, Fig. 2) for combining the signals of the magnetic switch components to form an output signal (i.e., output signal g, Fig. 4g) representing a switch-on and switch-off process (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4), wherein in the evaluation circuit, a switch-on process is concluded if two rising edges of the signals of the magnetic switch components are detected and in that a switch-off process is concluded if two falling edges of the signals of the magnetic switch components are detected, a continuous output signal results from a combination of the signals which is independent of an orientation of the magnetic field (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshida discloses a method for detecting axial and/or radial magnetic fields acting relative to an axis, said method comprising the following steps: arranging at least two magnetic switch components (elements MR1, MR2, Figs. 1 and 2) adjacent to one another along the axis, combining output signals of the at least two magnetic switch components with one another by way of an OR operation to form an output signal (i.e., output signal g, Fig. 4g) representing a switch-on and switch-off process, the combined signals result in an output signal that is independent of an orientation of the magnetic field (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4), choosing spacing along the axis such that a path of the output signal is continuous when a magnet moves past the at least two magnetic switch components along the axis (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Yoshida discloses a method, wherein the output signals of the at least two magnetic switch components are combined with one another in such a way that on identification of rising edges of the output signals of the at least two magnetic switch components, it is concluded that a switch-on process has occurred (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4) and that on detection of falling edges of the output signals of the at least two magnetic switch components, it is concluded that a switch-off process has occurred (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4), and an output signal representing this switch-on and switch-off process is output (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshida discloses a device, wherein the OR operation of the signals produces one switch-on point and one switch-off point resulting in one switching point for detecting a position (see par. [0026] and Figs. 1 and 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshida (JP 10-311214 A) in view of Shoji (US 2006/0202681).
Regarding claim 5, even assuming, arguendo without conceding, that Yoshida does not disclose increasing a width of the continuous output signal, more than two magnetic switch components are arranged along the axis, Shoji shows that this feature is well known in the art. Shoji discloses a device, wherein to increase a width of the continuous output signal, more than two magnetic switch components are arranged along the axis (see par. [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved resolution in position detection as taught by Shoji (see par. [0074]).
Regarding claim 9, even assuming, arguendo without conceding, that Yoshida does not disclose the output signal width being adjusted by arranging more than two magnetic switch components along the axis, Shoji shows that this feature is well known in the art. Shoji discloses a device, wherein the output signal width is adjusted by arranging more than two magnetic switch components along the axis (see par. [0074]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, such as improved resolution in position detection as taught by Shoji (see par. [0074]).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gleixner et al. (US 5,241,267) discloses a rotation detector using differential Hall sensor circuitry. Baker et al. (US 4,533,902) discloses a precision angle transducer using nonprecision rotors.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that “the Yoshida reference does not disclose a combined continuous signal from at least two magnetic switch components being independent of an orientation of the magnetic field”. The examiner respectfully disagrees. In the device of Yoshida, regardless of the orientation of the magnetic field generated by the magnet 3, the device will detect the magnetic flux density in the X-axis and Y-axis directions of the magnetic field. As shown in Figure 4 below, the OR operation in Yoshida produces switch-on and switch-off points based on reference voltages Vh and Vl. Consequently, as stated before, the device of Yoshida will perform these operations independent of the orientation of the magnetic field generated by the magnet 3.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/WALTER L LINDSAY JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/M.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
10/1/2026