DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “pair of rails within the first container”, “means to move the second container”, “expandable drive train”, and “ramp” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is not clearly understood because there are two “a means to move the second container”. Are these the same or are there two separate means to move the second container? The examiner believes these are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), and further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
Boltz, in reference to claim 1, discloses an extendable cargo space for a container comprising a first container (102), a second container (104), and a ramp (124), as shown in Figures 13-18. The first container (102) has a defined top (127), a defined bottom, and defined side walls (126), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The first container (102) has an opening to fill the container. The second container (104) first within the space of the first container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) has a defined top (129), a defined bottom, and defined sides (128), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The sidewalls of first container (102) are hollow such that they form rails to allow the sidewalls of the second container (104) to slide in and out, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) is movable, as shown in Figures 13-18. The rails guide the travel of the second container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) can be locked in place, as shown in Figures 31 and 32 and disclosed on line 59 of column 8 and line 3 of column 9.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 2, the means to move the container can be a hydraulic system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a hydraulic system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), and further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
Boltz, in reference to claim 1, discloses an extendable cargo space for a container comprising a first container (102), a second container (104), and a ramp (124), as shown in Figures 13-18. The first container (102) has a defined top (127), a defined bottom, and defined side walls (126), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The first container (102) has an opening to fill the container. The second container (104) first within the space of the first container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) has a defined top (129), a defined bottom, and defined sides (128), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The sidewalls of first container (102) are hollow such that they form rails to allow the sidewalls of the second container (104) to slide in and out, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) is movable, as shown in Figures 13-18. The rails guide the travel of the second container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) can be locked in place, as shown in Figures 31 and 32 and disclosed on line 59 of column 8 and line 3 of column 9.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 3, the means to move the container can be an electrical system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide an electrical system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), and further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
Boltz, in reference to claim 1, discloses an extendable cargo space for a container comprising a first container (102), a second container (104), and a ramp (124), as shown in Figures 13-18. The first container (102) has a defined top (127), a defined bottom, and defined side walls (126), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The first container (102) has an opening to fill the container. The second container (104) first within the space of the first container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) has a defined top (129), a defined bottom, and defined sides (128), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The sidewalls of first container (102) are hollow such that they form rails to allow the sidewalls of the second container (104) to slide in and out, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) is movable, as shown in Figures 13-18. The rails guide the travel of the second container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) can be locked in place, as shown in Figures 31 and 32 and disclosed on line 59 of column 8 and line 3 of column 9.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 4, the means to move the container can be a pneumatic system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a pneumatic system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Nick et al. (US 2004/0160073), and further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
Boltz, in reference to claim 1, discloses an extendable cargo space for a container comprising a first container (102), a second container (104), and a ramp (124), as shown in Figures 13-18. The first container (102) has a defined top (127), a defined bottom, and defined side walls (126), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The first container (102) has an opening to fill the container. The second container (104) first within the space of the first container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) has a defined top (129), a defined bottom, and defined sides (128), as shown in Figures 13-18. The bottom (not show) is inherent to store items within the trailer. The sidewalls of first container (102) are hollow such that they form rails to allow the sidewalls of the second container (104) to slide in and out, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) is movable, as shown in Figures 13-18. The rails guide the travel of the second container, as disclosed on lines 9-22 of column 4. The second container (104) can be locked in place, as shown in Figures 31 and 32 and disclosed on line 59 of column 8 and line 3 of column 9.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Nick. et al. teaches providing means to move a structure (101), as shown in Figures 5 and 6 and disclosed in paragraphs [0062] and [0063].
In reference to claim 5, the means to move the container can be a gear (125) and pulley (129) system, as shown in Figure 6.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a gear and pulley system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Nick et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
In reference to claim 6, an extendable cargo space for a flatbed comprising a flatbed (100) with a first planar bottom surface (114), defined sidewalls (122), and a second planar member (112) is positioned on top of the planar bottom surface of the flatbed, as shown in Figures 7-12. A pair of rails are secured to the first planar bottom surface (114). The rails are formed by the sidewalls (122), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) is secured to the rails (122) by sidewalls (121) such that the second planar member (112) can move, as shown in Figures 7-12. The pair of rails (122) guide the travel of the second planar member (112), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) can be locked in place, as disclosed on lines 38-49 of column 3. A ramp (124) is provided as shown in Figure 12.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 7, the means to move the container can be a hydraulic system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a hydraulic system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
In reference to claim 6, an extendable cargo space for a flatbed comprising a flatbed (100) with a first planar bottom surface (114), defined sidewalls (122), and a second planar member (112) is positioned on top of the planar bottom surface of the flatbed, as shown in Figures 7-12. A pair of rails are secured to the first planar bottom surface (114). The rails are formed by the sidewalls (122), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) is secured to the rails (122) by sidewalls (121) such that the second planar member (112) can move, as shown in Figures 7-12. The pair of rails (122) guide the travel of the second planar member (112), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) can be locked in place, as disclosed on lines 38-49 of column 3. A ramp (124) is provided as shown in Figure 12.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 8, the means to move the container can be an electrical system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide an electrical system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
In reference to claim 6, an extendable cargo space for a flatbed comprising a flatbed (100) with a first planar bottom surface (114), defined sidewalls (122), and a second planar member (112) is positioned on top of the planar bottom surface of the flatbed, as shown in Figures 7-12. A pair of rails are secured to the first planar bottom surface (114). The rails are formed by the sidewalls (122), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) is secured to the rails (122) by sidewalls (121) such that the second planar member (112) can move, as shown in Figures 7-12. The pair of rails (122) guide the travel of the second planar member (112), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) can be locked in place, as disclosed on lines 38-49 of column 3. A ramp (124) is provided as shown in Figure 12.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Hancock, Sr. et al. teaches providing means to move a container, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
In reference to claim 9, the means to move the container can be a pneumatic system, as disclosed on lines 9-12 of column 4.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a pneumatic system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Hancock, Sr. et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boltz (8,910,989) in view of Hancock, Sr. et al. (8,075,036), further in view of Glover (3,845,832).
In reference to claim 6, an extendable cargo space for a flatbed comprising a flatbed (100) with a first planar bottom surface (114), defined sidewalls (122), and a second planar member (112) is positioned on top of the planar bottom surface of the flatbed, as shown in Figures 7-12. A pair of rails are secured to the first planar bottom surface (114). The rails are formed by the sidewalls (122), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) is secured to the rails (122) by sidewalls (121) such that the second planar member (112) can move, as shown in Figures 7-12. The pair of rails (122) guide the travel of the second planar member (112), as shown in Figures 7-12. The second planar member (112) can be locked in place, as disclosed on lines 38-49 of column 3. A ramp (124) is provided as shown in Figure 12.
However, Boltz does not disclose the means to move the second container and the expandable drive train.
Nick. et al. teaches providing means to move a structure (101), as shown in Figures 5 and 6 and disclosed in paragraphs [0062] and [0063].
In reference to claim 10, the means to move the container can be a gear (125) and pulley (129) system, as shown in Figure 6.
Glover teaches providing an expandable drive train (17a,17b) to fit different lengths of attachments (12) to provide power from the driving tractor (10), as shown in Figure 3 and disclosed on line 64 of column 2 through line 1 of column 3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
provide a gear and pulley system to move the second container of Boltz, as taught by Nick et al., with a reasonable expectation for success to reduce the effort needed to extend and retract the second container; and,
provide an expandable drive train to the expandable cargo space of Boltz, as taught by Glover, with a reasonable expectation for success to provide additional drive means to provide better traction for driving the trailer.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 November 24, 2025