Amendments
In the reply filed 8/12/2026, Applicant has amended Claims 1 and 11, and cancelled Claims 7-8.
Claims 1-6, and 9-19 are under consideration.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 11, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow limitation that falls within the broad limitation (in the same claim) is considered indefinite, since the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 11 recites the broad recitation of “one or more copies” of the modified XPO1 gene, and the claim also recites “two copies” of the modified XPO1 gene which is the narrower statement of the limitation.
In regard to Claim 12, instant claim recites the limitation wherein the genetically modified cell is “of a cell type susceptible to infection with the virus or a precursor of a cell type susceptible to infection with the virus” in regard to the genetically modified cells of Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because Claim 1 is directed to cell type that is a hematopoietic stem cell, a myeloid progenitor cell, a lymphoid progenitor cell, a myeoblast, a monocyte, a macrophage, a dendritic cell, a small lymphocyte, a T cell, or an astrocyte. Appropriate correction is required.
Withdrawn 35 USC § 102
The prior rejection of Claims 1-3 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shida et al., (WO2005/103246, filed 4/20/2004, published 11/03/2005), as evidenced by NCBI Reference Sequence NM_053490.1 (Rattus norvegicus exportin 1 (Xpo1), first published 1999) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments of Claim 1 to limit the cell type to a hematopoietic stem cell, a myeloid progenitor cell, a lymphoid progenitor cell, a myeoblast, a monocyte, a macrophage, a dendritic cell, a small lymphocyte, a T cell, or an astrocyte, which is a limitation Shida does not anticipate. Specifically, Shida is directed to a genetically modified HeLa cell.
Withdrawn 35 USC § 103
The prior rejection of Claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mascarenhas et al. (US2019/0390241, filed 1/24/2018, published 12/26/2019), in view of Sherer et al., (PLoS Pathogens, 2001 (7)11:1-14, see IDS filed 10/16/2025) and Fleta-Soriano et al. (Microbial Cell Fact, 2014 (13)7:1-10) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments of Claim 1 to limit the cell type to a hematopoietic stem cell, a myeloid progenitor cell, a lymphoid progenitor cell, a myeoblast, a monocyte, a macrophage, a dendritic cell, a small lymphocyte, a T cell, or an astrocyte, which is a limitation Mascarenhas does not make obvious. Specifically, Mascarenhas is directed to a genetically modified HEK cell.
The prior rejection of Claims 1-6, and 12-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US2016/0168594, filed 12/16/2015, published 6/16/2016), in view of Mascarenhas et al. (US2019/0390241, filed 1/24/2018, published 12/26/2019), Sherer et al., (PLoS Pathogens, 2001 (7)11:1-14, see IDS filed 10/16/2025), and Fleta-Soriano et al. (Microbial Cell Fact, 2014 (13)7:1-10) is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments of Claim 1 to limit the cell type to a hematopoietic stem cell, a myeloid progenitor cell, a lymphoid progenitor cell, a myeoblast, a monocyte, a macrophage, a dendritic cell, a small lymphocyte, a T cell, or an astrocyte, which is a limitation Feng does not make obvious. Specifically, Feng is directed to a generic “host immune cell”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng et al. (US2016/0168594, filed 12/16/2015, published 6/16/2016, prior art of record), in view of Mascarenhas et al. (US2019/0390241, filed 1/24/2018, published 12/26/2019, prior art of record), Sherer et al., (PLoS Pathogens, 2001 (7)11:1-14, see IDS filed 10/16/2025), Fleta-Soriano et al. (Microbial Cell Fact, 2014 (13)7:1-10, prior art of record), and Perez et al. (Nat Biotech, 2008, 26:808-816, prior art of record)
In regard to claims 1 and 12, Feng et al. teaches compositions of cells genetically modified by CRISPR-Cas, and their methods of use for treating a variety of diseases including viral infections (Example 21, pgs. 77-78, Therapeutic application of CRISPR-Cas in HIV). Specifically, Feng teaches CRISPR-Cas allows for the generation of HIV-1 resistant sub-populations of cells for the maintenance and re-constitution of host immune activity [0743], wherein host immune cells are isolated, transduced with CRISPR-Cas to introduce a protective mutation, selected, and re-introduced into the host [0300, 0743, 0746, 0775].
However, in regard to claims 1 and 12, although Feng teaches gene modification of XPO1 [0511, 0516], they are silent to genetic modification of XPO1 to make a cell resistant to viral infection.
Mascarenhas teaches mammalian cells genetically engineered by CRISPR-Cas to be viral resistant, wherein the gene to be targeted is human XPO1 (alias exportin 1) (Abstract, Summary, [0006, 0083-0103], p. 3, Table A). In regard to claim 12, Mascarenhas teaches the UniPortKB for human XPO1 is O14980 (Table A), which is 99.7% identical to the human XPO1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:7 with the three exceptions being T411P, V412M, and S414F (see SCORE search 3/20/2026, rup.file, result #1, duplicates).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the genetically modified cell to be viral resistant for the maintenance and re-constitution of host immune activity as taught by Feng and choose gene modification of human XPO1 to make the cell viral resistant as taught by Mascarenhas with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so not only because Feng discloses the gene modification of XPO1, but Mascarenhas teaches human XPO1 is a gene to be modified because it is involved in the viral life-cycle in mammalian cells [0015].
However, although Mascarenhas suggests gene modifications such as substitutions in the target gene that lead to an altered protein [0018], they are silent to the gene modification of human XPO1 as comprising a T411, V412, and/or S414 substitutions.
Sherer demonstrates that human XPO1 exhibits species-specific activity compared to mouse XPO1 in enhancing HIV-1 particle production (p. 5, Results, 1st para.). Specifically, Sherer teaches a human-mouse chimera of XPO1, which was resistant to HIV-1 Rev function and that activity can be transferred from one to another by swapping the central domain (p. 7, Results, last para., p. 11, Discussion, 3rd para., see Figs. 6A & B). Sherer goes on to determine that a triple substitution of T411P/V412M/S414F corresponding to the human configuration of amino acids in the HEAT repeat helix of XPO1 were responsible for the specific-specific activity (p. 8-9, Results, see Fig. 6B). Thus, Sherer reasonably suggests a genetically modified human XPO1 gene that makes a cell resistant to HIV-1 comprising the mouse amino acids of T411, V412, and/or S414.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the genetically modified cell to be viral resistant by targeting human XPO1 as suggested by Feng in view of Mascarenhas, and choose a genetically modified human XPO1 gene comprising T411, V412, and/or S414 murine substitutions as taught by Sherer with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Sherer because murine cell lines have served as powerful tools for delineating important molecular attributes of species-specific HIV co-factors (Intro, 1st para.), and that differences between the mouse and human forms of the essential host protein CRM1 (alias XPO1) underlie murine cell-specific deficiencies in HIV-1 replication (Author Summary). Therefore, Sherer reasonably suggests a genetically modified human XPO1 gene comprising the mouse amino acids of T411, V412, S414 would make the cell viral resistant. In regard to the reasonable expectation of success in doing so, Sherer teaches that these three positions are responsible for Rev nuclear export signal (NES) binding to XPO1, which allows export of the viral RNA out of the nucleus of the host cells (p. 9, 3rd para.), and it was well known that blockers of the protein interaction of XPO1 with the Rev NES could inhibit the infection of HIV-1 (as well as other related viruses) (see Results and Discussion of Fleta-Soriano et al., 2014). Thus, there was a reasonable expectation of success that a genetically modified human XPO1 gene comprising the mouse amino acids of T411, V412, S414, thereby blocking the interaction with Rev NES would make the cell viral resistant.
However, Feng et al. are silent to the type of modified immune cell, and introducing the modified immune cell into a host.
Nevertheless, Feng cites the prior art of Perez et al. (2008) [01326]. In regard to instant claims, Perez teaches genetically modified autologous human CD4+ T cells that are HIV-1 resistant, and in regard to claims 18-19, Perez teaches that the cells are injected into a subject and recovered from the bloodstream (p. 813, Results, 2nd -4th para.).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to prepare the genetically modified human XPO1 T411, V412, and/or F414 immune cell to be HIV-1 resistant to be re-introduced into a host for the maintenance and re-constitution of host immune activity as suggested by Feng et al., and to choose human autologous CD4+ T cells as the immune cells to be injected into the bloodstream of the host as taught by Perez with a reasonable expectation of success. The ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so as taught by Perez because autologous human CD4+ T lymphocytes confer robust protection against HIV-1 infection and the adoptive transfer of genetically modified autologous CD4+ T cells to the bloodstream of HIV patients is an attractive approach for the treatment of HIV-1 infection (Abstract, Introduction).
In regard to claim 2, as stated supra, Feng et al. suggest the human XPO1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:7 comprising all three mutations of T411P, V412M, and S414F.
In regard to claims 3, 5 and 12, Feng teaches that CRISPR-Cas is capable of catalyzing the replacement of a mutant sequence in both alleles [0774], and Mascarenhas teaches that when the target gene is biallelic, both chromosome sequences are targeted [0018]. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to target both copies of the human XPO1 sequence to minimize HIV-1 replication (see Abstract & Discussion, 2nd para. of Perez).
In regard to claim 4, Sherer also teaches the single mutation of T411P (Fig. 6B), which evolutionarily branched in rodents and away from primates as far as HIV-1 infection (p. 10, Results, last para.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to try the T411 (mouse) mutation in the background of the human M412 and F414 in the human XPO1 sequence of SEQ ID NO:7.
In regard to claims 6, 9-17, as stated supra, Feng teaches generic host immune cells, while Perez makes obvious autologous human CD4+ T cells because of their clinical potential for treating humans with HIV infection. Furthermore, autologous human host cells are advantageous because they would not elicit a graft-vs-host response when re-introduced into the human host.
Hence, the claimed invention as a whole was prima facie obvious in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/12/2026 are acknowledged.
First, Applicant argues that although Sherer teaches that residues 411, 412, and /or 414 of human XPO1 confer HIV-1 susceptibility to mouse cells, the effects of the murine XPO residues T411, V412, and/or F414 in a human T cell were unknown based on the prior art.
Second, Applicant argues that mouse fibroblasts are different from human T cells, and a pathway that is critical for HIV-1 infection in mouse fibroblasts may not be critical in T cells due to the possibility of redundant pathways in T cells. Furthermore, Applicant argues that Sherer teaches that HIV-1 susceptibility or resistance can vary greatly from cell type to cell type and from species to species, which mice and rodents being notable examples of exhibiting multiple cellular deficiencies requiring efficient HIV-1 replication. In fact, Applicant notes that Sherer had to also transfection mouse cells with the gag-pol construct as a pretext for testing the effects of human XPO1. Thus, the functional effects of gene modification of XPO1 in mouse fibroblasts would not predict the functional effects in human T cells.
Finally, Applicant argues that although the Examiner has applied the prior art of Feta-Soreiano to teach that pharmacological blockers of the interaction between the Rev NES and XPO1 could inhibit HIV-1 infection, the cited prior art fails to establish that binding of the Rev NES to XPO1 would have been necessary for HIV-1 infection in human T cells, and that disrupting binding of the Rev NES to XPO1 would have inhibited HIV-1 infection in T cells. Applicant argues the ordinary artisan would have appreciated from Sherer et al. that human T cells could contain redundant pathways to the REV NES/XPO1 pathway for supporting HIV-1 infection.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to Applicant’s first argument, none of the claims require that the genetically modified cell exhibits a decrease in the susceptibility of human or primate immunodeficiency viral infection. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The court explained that “reading a claim in light of the specification, to thereby interpret limitations explicitly recited in the claim, is a quite different thing from ‘reading limitations of the specification into a claim,’ to thereby narrow the scope of the claim by implicitly adding disclosed limitations which have no express basis in the claim.” The court found that applicant was advocating the latter, i.e., the impermissible importation of subject matter from the specification into the claim.). See also In re Morris, 127 F.3d 1048, 1054-55, 44 USPQ2d 1023, 1027-28 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The court held that the PTO is not required, in the course of prosecution, to interpret claims in applications in the same manner as a court would interpret claims in an infringement suit. Rather, the “PTO applies to verbiage of the proposed claims the broadest reasonable meaning of the words in their ordinary usage as they would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, taking into account whatever enlightenment by way of definitions or otherwise that may be afforded by the written description contained in applicant’s specification.”). See MPEP 2111]
In regard to Applicant’s second arguments with respect to cell type, as a first matter, arguments of counsel regarding potential other redundant pathways for HIV-1 infection that would mask the effects of replacing three (3) amino acids in the HIV susceptible human XPO1 protein with the insusceptible XPO1 murine protein cannot take the place of factually supported objective evidence in the record. See In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 500, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965), In re Huang, 100 F.3d 135, 139-40, 40 USPQ2d 1685, 1689 (Fed. Cir. 1996); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Thus, the Attorney statements regarding the possibility of other pathways being used by HIV-1 when expressing mouse XPO1 mutations in a human T cell are not supported by any evidence.
Furthermore, in regard to the predictability of mouse fibroblasts for human T cells, it must be noted that the prior art of record by Shida et al. (WO2005/103246), whose rejection was just withdrawn in light of the cell-type amendment of claim 1, demonstrated that the human XPO1 protein could confer HIV-1 susceptibility to rat cells. Thus, it was not just mouse fibroblasts that could demonstrate the effects of genetic modification of XPO1 but according to Shida could be any rodent cell including rat cells such as “ER-1, Nb2, C58, Rat2, and mouse cells such as NIH3T3, EL4” (p. 4, 1st para. of translation). In fact, Sherer goes on to explain that the HIV-1 susceptibility of higher primates is due to the evolution of the HEAT domain in XPO1, and tracts the conservation of the residues in the domain among lineages (see Fig. 7A & B). Thus, Sherer indicates that the changes in XPO1 are not unique to mouse fibroblasts, but could be extended to any species that carried these critical residues in the HEAT 9A domain.
Moreover, in regard to having to modify rodent cells with a gag-pol construct, in order to complete the art of record and to rebut Applicant's arguments, Applicant is directed to the prior art of Elinav et al. (J Virol, 2012, (22)12053-12068, see IDS filed 10/16/2025), which is cited by Applicant’s specification as establishing that it was well known that mouse XPO1 interacts poorly with the Rev complex, but also establishes that that well before the time of filling of the invention it was known that when using murine cells to study HIV-1 infection, it was routine and convention to transfect a gag-pol construct (Results, 1st para.). Nevertheless, the inclusion of this step when using murine cells so as to detect sufficient viral RNA did not diminish the conclusion of either Elinav nor Sherer that the interaction between the Rev NES and XPO1 was a critical part of HIV replication.
In regard to the reasonable expectation of success of inhibiting HIV-1 infection in T cells by blocking the interaction of the Rev NES to the modified XPO1 protein, as stated supra, Sherer identifies the residues in mouse XPO1 that confer resistance to HIV-1 infection, and demonstrates the gain-of-function for HIV-1 infection in mouse cells using those residues from human XPO1, wherein the human residues from XPO1 allow Rev NES binding and the mouse residues from XPO1 block Rev NES binding. In regard to the necessity of this pathway for governing HIV-1 infection, Sherer explicitly states that the HIV Rev protein is “a factor necessary to transport viral RNAs to the cytoplasm” (Author Summary). Similarly, Feta-Soriano states that a functional Rev-XPO1 cooperation “is critical for HIV replication” (Introduction 2nd para.). Finally, Feta-Soriano demonstrates in human T cell line (i.e., MT-2 cells) that pharmacologically blocking the interaction between Rev NES and XPO1 inhibited HIV production (Fig. 3). Thus, based on what was indicated as the stated of the art by the prior art Sherer and Feta-Soraino, based on the gain-of-function studies by Sherer using the human residues of XPO1, and based on the experiments of Feta-Soriano describing the functional effects of inhibiting the interaction between Rev NES and human XPO1 in a human T cell line, it would have been understood by one of ordinary skill that the interaction between Rev NES and human XPO1 was necessary for HIV-1 infection of T cells.
It would have been therefore predictably obvious to make and use a human T cell comprising the mouse residues of XPO to block Rev NES binding and reduce HIV-1 susceptibility when following the direction of Feng et al. In re O’Farrell, 853 F.2d 894, 903, 7 USPQ2d 1673, 1681 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (citations omitted) (The court held the claimed method would have been obvious over the prior art relied upon because one reference contained a detailed enabling methodology, a suggestion to modify the prior art to produce the claimed invention, and evidence suggesting the modification would be successful.). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential option of expressing a human XPO1 protein with mouse T411P, V412M, and S414F mutations in a human T cell with a reasonable expectation of success. This reasonable expectation of success is supported by: (1) the reference of Feng and Macarenhas et al. contained a detailed enabling methodology for the genetic modification of the human XPO1 gene for viral resistance that could have easily be applied to a T cell, (2) Sherer provides a suggestion to apply the taught methods to modify the human XPO1 protein with mouse T411P, V412M, and S414F mutations to confer HIV-1 resistance and block Rev NES binding to XPO1, and (3) the success of inhibiting HIV-1 infection by pharmacologically blocking Rev NES binding to XPO1 as taught by Fleta-Soraino suggest modification of the method of Feng to modify a T cell comprising human XPO1 protein with mouse T411P, V412M, and S414F mutations to confer HIV-1 resistance would have been successful.
Applicant is reminded, any conclusions of unpredictability have to be made in the context of the claimed invention (i.e, genetically modifying a T cell in vitro). Furthermore, absolute predictability is not a necessary prerequisite to a case of obviousness. Rather, a degree of predictability that one of ordinary skill would have found to be reasonable is sufficient. The Federal Circuit have concluded that Applicant’s “[g]ood science and useful contributions do not necessarily result in patentability.” Id. at 1364, 83 USPQ2d at 1304.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 8/12/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,845,958 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Withdrawn Double Patenting
The prior rejection of Claims 1-6, and 9-19 on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 11,845,958 (Sherer et al., Patented 12/19/2023) is withdrawn in light of the terminal disclaimer filed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/ARTHUR S LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 1631