DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Claim s 1-2 objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, “characterized by: comprising” in line 1 should be changed to –comprising-- in order to correct the typographical error by removing the redundant language. In claim 1, “fascia ball body (101). The fascia ball body (101)” in line 3 should be changed to –fascia ball body (101) , wherein the fascia ball body ( 101)-- in order to correct the typographical error. In claim 2, “the massage core (102). The scraping” in line 3 should be changed to -- the massage core (102) , wherein t he scraping-- in order to correct the typographical error. In claim 2, “the connecting base (107). There are locking blocks” in line 5 should be changed to --the connecting base (107) , there are locking blocks-- in order to correct the typographical error. In claim 2, “to the locking blocks. There is a first locking” in line 8 should be changed to -- to the locking blocks , the locking blocks including a first locking-- . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.— The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitations “the inner side of the upper fascia ball cover” in lines 5-6, “the surface of the connecting base near the bottom” in lines 7-8, “the inner side of the lower fascia ball cover” in lines 9, and “the surface of the connecting base near the top” in lines 10-11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for th e s e limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connors (US 9,962,309 ) in view of Choi (KR 200441321). Regarding claim 1, Connors discloses (Fig. 1 -5) a multifunctional fascia ball (ball 100 that is multifunctional due to being able to provide at least three ways to massage a user, Abstract) , comprising a fascia ball body ( body 10 5 ), with a massage core ( rod 405 that provides heat massage and shaped ends for other massage, Col. 4 lines 31-38) positioned inside the fascia ball body ( see Fig. 5 ) , t he fascia ball body is divided into an upper fascia ball cover ( top hemisphere 101 ) and a lower fascia ball cover ( bottom hemisphere 102 ) . Connors does not disclose scraping massage blocks located at the bottom of the massage core and acupressure blocks located at the top of the massage core. However, Choi teaches (Fig. 1-4) a multifunctional massage device having a massage core (body 10) having scraping massage blocks (facial acupressure parts 40, which are capable of providing a scraping function) located at the bottom of the massage core (see Fig. 2) and acupressure blocks (acupressure blocks 20) located at the top of the massage core (see Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage core of Connors such that scraping massage blocks located at the bottom of the massage core and acupressure blocks located at the top of the massage core, as taught by Choi, for the purpose of allowing for the core to be capable of providing different massage functions for different parts of the body, thereby improving multifunctional ability of the device. Regarding claim 4, modified Connors discloses the lower fascia ball cover serves as a cervical spine massage block ( lower fascia ball cover 102 provides massage to user, Col. 4 lines 1-11 Connors, and made of a material such as plastic, metal, wood or other material, Col. 4 lines 9-11 Connors, and thus would be capable of providing spine massage and thus comprehends the claim limitation) . Claim s 2 -3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Connors (US 9,962,309) in view of Choi (KR 200441321), and further in view of Chen (US 2018/0161235). Regarding claim 2, modified Connors discloses there is a connecting base ( tubular body 406 of Connors ) positioned in the middle of the massage core ( see Fig. 2 and 3 Connors ) , and t he scraping massage blocks and acupressure blocks are respectively positioned at the top and bottom of the connecting base ( scraping and acupressure blocks 20,40 of Choi positioned on top and bottom of connecting base 10 of Choi, see Fig. 1 Choi ) . Modified Connors does not disclose t here are locking blocks on the inner side of the upper fascia ball cove r , and there are matching locking slots on the surface of the connecting base near the bottom, which correspond to the locking blocks ; and t here is a first locking block on the inner side of the lower fascia ball cover, and there is a first locking slot on the surface of the connecting base near the top, which corresponds to the first locking block. However, Chen teaches (Fig. 1-6) a massage ball comprising locking blocks (threads 24) on the inner side of the upper fascia ball cover (top cover 20) , and there are matching locking slots on the surface of the connecting base near the bottom (matches with grooves of threads 31 of connecting base 30) , which correspond to the locking blocks (paragraph [0027]) ; and there is a first locking block on the inner side of the lower fascia ball cover (threaded member 14) , and there is a first locking slot on the surface of the connecting base near the top (matches with grooves of threads 31 of connecting base 30) , which corresponds to the first locking block (paragraph [0027]) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage ball of modified Connors to include locking blocks on the inner side of the upper fascia ball cover, and there are matching locking slots on the surface of the connecting base near the bottom, which correspond to the locking blocks; and there is a first locking block on the inner side of the lower fascia ball cover, and there is a first locking slot on the surface of the connecting base near the top, which corresponds to the first locking block, as taught by Chen , for the purpose of providing a reversible, secure connection between the covers and the connecting base so that all components remain connected during use but detachable when user wishes to access the core. Furthermore, it has been held that simple substitution of one well-known connecting structure ( O-ring connection of Connors ) with another well-known connecting structure ( threading and grooves of Chen ) would provide the expected result providing secure but reversible connection between the covers and core (see rationale for obviousness of a simple substitution of a well-known structure in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See also MPEP 2143(I)(B)). Regarding claim 3 , modified Connors does not disclose there are operation blocks positioned near the top on the front and rear ends of the lower fascia ball cover. However, Chen teaches (Fig. 1-6) a massage ball comprising a lower cover (10) having operation blocks (threads of threading 14) positioned near the top on the front and rear ends of the lower fascia ball cover (see Fig. 4 and 6 Chen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the massage ball of modified Connors to include operation blocks positioned near the top on the front and rear ends of the lower fascia ball cover, as taught by Chen, for the purpose of providing a reversible, secure connection between the covers and the connecting base so that all components remain connected during use but detachable when user wishes to access the core. Furthermore, it has been held that simple substitution of one well-known connecting structure ( O-ring connection of Connors ) with another well-known connecting structure ( threading and grooves of Chen ) would provide the expected result providing secure but reversible connection between the covers and core (see rationale for obviousness of a simple substitution of a well-known structure in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). See also MPEP 2143(I)(B)). Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Wilson (US 2021/0022953) discloses a massage device that stores a core that is also a massage device. Morris (US 2020/0214928) discloses a massage device that stores a core that is also a massage device. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW R MOON whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-2554 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday-Thursday 7:30am-5:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Timothy Stanis can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-5139 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW R MOON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785 /TIMOTHY A STANIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785