DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the Veronesi does not disclose “wherein a width of each of the projections of the winding wire supports of the first and second end caps corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film.” Examiner disagrees. Veronesi discloses in FIG. 5 that the projection widths correspond to about twice the thickness of the insulation film, which is what the limitation requires. Thus, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takimoto (US 2016/0111933 A1) in view of Veronesi et al. (US 2022/0352778 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Takimoto discloses a stator (30) having:
a stator core (31) which comprises a plurality of stator teeth (35) each having a first and a second front side (upper and lower side in FIG. 2 and 5),
at least a first end cap (70) and at least a second end cap (80) which each comprise a base (71, 81) and a winding wire support (73, 83), wherein the first end cap (70) is arranged on the first front side (upper side) of one of the stator teeth (35) and the second end cap (80) is arranged on the second front side (lower side) of the same stator tooth (35) so that the bases (71, 81) of the end caps (70, 80) are directed toward the front sides (upper and lower side in FIG. 5), and
a stator winding (50) having at least one winding wire (50) which is wound over the first end cap (70) and the second end cap (80) around the stator tooth (35),
wherein one of the front edges of the insulation film faces the first end cap (70), and the opposite front edge of the insulation film faces the second end cap (80; FIG. 5),
wherein the winding wire (50) extends over the end caps (70, 80) without applying any force action to the front edges of the insulation film (90; FIG. 5 discloses the end caps are spaced apart from the insulation film),
wherein a length of the insulation film is less than a spacing of the cutout portion (75, 85) the first and second end caps (70. 70; FIG. 5).
Takimoto does not disclose wherein the winding wire support of the first end cap has two projections which project at opposite sides over the base of the first end cap,
wherein the winding wire support of the second end cap has two projections which project at opposite sides over the base of the second end cap,
wherein the winding wire extends over the projections of the winding wire supports of the first and second end caps,
wherein an insulation film, which comprises front edges, extends in a planar manner between one of the projections of the winding wire support of the first end cap and the opposite projection of the winding wire support of the second end cap and is arranged between the winding wire and the stator tooth,
wherein a width of each of the projections of the winding wire supports of the first and second end caps corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film.
Veronesi discloses wherein the winding wire support (32) of the first end cap (30a) has two projections (35) which project at opposite sides over the base (36) of the first end cap (30a),
wherein the winding wire support (32) of the second end cap (30b) has two projections (35) which project at opposite sides over the base (36) of the second end cap (30b),
wherein the winding wire (50) extends over the projections of the winding wire support (32) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b; the winding wire goes over the projection between the grooves 34; ¶ [0038]),
wherein an insulation film (27a, 27b), which comprises front edges (28c), extends between one of the projections (35) of the winding wire support (32) of the first end cap (30a) and the opposite projection (35) of the winding wire support (32) of the second end cap (30b) and is arranged between the winding wire (24a, 24b) and the stator tooth (12; FIG 7),
wherein a width of each of the projections of the winding wire supports (32) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b) corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film (27a, 27b; the projections corresponds to twice the thickness of the insulation film).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Takimoto in view of Veronesi to disclose wherein the winding wire support of the first end cap has two projections which project at opposite sides over the base of the first end cap, wherein the winding wire support of the second end cap has two projections which project at opposite sides over the base of the second end cap, wherein the winding wire extends over the projections of the winding wire supports of the first and second end caps, wherein an insulation film, which comprises front edges, extends in a planar manner between one of the projections of the winding wire support of the first end cap and the opposite projection of the winding wire support of the second end cap and is arranged between the winding wire and the stator tooth, wherein a width of each of the projections of the winding wire supports of the first and second end caps corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film, for the advantages of a stronger coil assembly to withstand the tension applied during winding of copper wire, which allows cost effective manufacturing method.
Regarding claim 2/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the projection (35) extends at least along a portion of the front edge (28c) of the insulation film (27a, 27b), over which the winding wire (24a, 24b) extends (FIG 5).
Regarding claim 3/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends beyond the stator core (FIG 5 discloses the insulation film extending beyond the tooth) so that the insulation film (27a, 27b) and the bases (36) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b) overlap (FIG 5).
Regarding claim 4/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the projections (35), between which the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends, each have a stop (34a, 34b) which is constructed to stop an axial movement of the insulation film (27a, 27b), and wherein a width of the stop (34a, 34b) corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film (27a, 27b; FIG 5).
Regarding claim 5/4, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 4. Takimoto in view of Veronesi does not explicitly disclose wherein an overlap length of a portion of the insulation film which overlaps with the base corresponds to the current leakage path from the coil to the stator core. Veronesi does disclose in ¶ [0033] “to improve dramatically the dielectric insulation of the motor and its lifetime when subjected to high voltages,” indicating that the purpose of the invention is to improve current leakage prevention. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the insulation dimensions would correspond to the current leakage path.
Regarding claim 6/5, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 5. Takimoto in view of Veronesi does not explicitly disclose wherein the overlap length of the portion of the insulation film which overlaps with the base is dependent on a predetermined leakage current resistance from the coil to the stator core so that the predetermined leakage current resistance is not exceeded. As discussed above in claim 5, it would be obvious to one of ordinary kill in the art the insulation dimensions would correspond to the current leakage path. Also, it would be obvious that improving current leakage prevention would also ensure that leakage current resistance is not exceeded, to prevent motor breakdown, ensuring long lifetime for the motor.
Regarding claim 7/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the insulation film (27a, 27b) is a first insulation film (27a) which extends along a first longitudinal side (left side in FIG 7) of the stator tooth (12), and wherein a second insulation film (27b) extends along a second longitudinal side (right side in FIG 7), which is opposite the first longitudinal side, of the stator tooth (12) and extends between one projection (35) of the projections (35) of the winding wire support (32) of the first end cap (30a) and the opposite one projection (35) of the projections (32) of the winding wire support (32) of the second end cap (30b) and is arranged between the winding wire (24a, 24b) and the stator tooth (12; FIG 5, 7).
Regarding claim 8/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the winding wire supports (32) of the first and/or second end cap (30a, 30b) have an external and an internal winding space delimitation (33a, 33b) which are radially spaced apart (FIG 10).
Regarding claim 9/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein each projection (35) of the winding wire supports (32) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b) has guiding grooves (34) in which the winding wire (24a, 24b) extends.
Regarding claim 10/9, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the guiding grooves (34) have rounded edges, the contour of which is in the form of a polynomial line (FIG 10).
Regarding claim 11/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. While Takimoto in view of Veronesi does not disclose “wherein the winding wire of the stator winding is wound with needles,” but the claim is a product-by-process claim. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. Also, a product in the prior art made by a different process can anticipate a product-by-process claim. Thus, Takimoto in view of Veronesi also discloses claim 11.
Regarding claim 12/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses a radially extending flow channel extends in the winding wire support (32).
Regarding claim 13/8, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses the external winding space delimitation (33a, 33b) is in the form of a wall or walls which project(s) axially over the winding wire support (32; FIG 10), and/or the internal winding space delimitation comprises two hollow support posts configured to be used as connection means.
Regarding claim 14/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the first and second end caps (30a, 30b) are included by a plurality of first end caps (30a) and a plurality of second end caps (30b), and wherein the plurality of first end caps (30a) and the plurality of second end caps (30b) are arranged on the first or second front sides of the plurality of stator teeth (12; ¶ [0019]).
Regarding claim 15/1, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 1. Veronesi further discloses wherein the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends along mutually facing longitudinal sides of two adjacent stator teeth (12).
Regarding claim 17/2, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 2. Veronesi further discloses wherein the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends beyond the stator core (FIG 5 discloses the insulation film extending beyond the tooth) so that the insulation film (27a, 27b) and the bases (36) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b) overlap (FIG 5).
Regarding claim 18/2, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 2. Veronesi further discloses wherein the projections (35) of the winding wire supports (32) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b), between which the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends, each have a stop (34a, 34b) which is constructed to stop an axial movement of the insulation film (27a, 27b), and wherein a width of the stop (34a, 34b) corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film (27a, 27b; FIG 5).
Regarding claim 19/3, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 3. Veronesi further discloses wherein the projections (35) of the winding wire supports (32) of the first and second end caps (30a, 30b), between which the insulation film (27a, 27b) extends, each have a stop (34a, 34b) which is constructed to stop an axial movement of the insulation film (27a, 27b), and wherein a width of the stop (34a, 34b) corresponds to a thickness of the insulation film (27a, 27b; FIG 5).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takimoto (US 2016/0111933 A1) in view of Veronesi et al. (US 2022/0352778 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lee (US 2017/0222513 A1).
Regarding claim 16/14, Takimoto in view of Veronesi was discussed above in claim 14. Takimoto in view of Veronesi does not disclose wherein the plurality of first end caps are in the form of an integral end disk and/or the plurality of second end caps are in the form of integral end disks, and/or
several of the plurality of first end caps are in the form of an integral end disk segment, and/or
several of the plurality of second end caps are in the form of an integral end disk segment.
Lee discloses wherein the plurality of first end caps (110) are in the form of an integral end disk (10) and/or the plurality of second end caps (110’) are in the form of integral end disks (10’), and/or
several of the plurality of first end caps (110) are in the form of an integral end disk segment (10), and/or
several of the plurality of second end caps (110’) are in the form of an integral end disk segment (10’; FIG 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Takimoto in view of Veronesi, further in view of Lee to disclose wherein the plurality of first end caps are in the form of an integral end disk and/or the plurality of second end caps are in the form of integral end disks, and/or several of the plurality of first end caps are in the form of an integral end disk segment, and/or several of the plurality of second end caps are in the form of an integral end disk segment, for the advantages of increasing the robustness of the stator insulator, preventing insulation failure during manufacture and operation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834