DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/25/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive to the extent that they apply to the current rejection. The examiner appreciates the applicant’s arguments as to the differences between the instant invention and Budge, however, applicant neglects the breadth of the current claim language. The examiner reminds applicant that the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation, see MPEP 2111. The applicant argues that the claims require a rotary head placed on the material application unit whereas Budge discloses a rotatable material application unit on a robotic arm. However, applicant provides no reasoning as to why the robot arm cannot be considered a material application unit (a broad and vague term) since it certainly operates to apply material in use and the rotatable unit located thereon be considered a rotary head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Budge (US 2019/0202121).
As to claim 1, Budge teaches a device for additively manufacturing a component, said device having a material application unit (10) which is movable along at least two axes and which has an extruder and a nozzle for applying a material strand (24, 26)[0022, Fig 2], the device comprising: a rotary head having a compressor (36) for compressing a material strand and having a heating device (18, phrased as a cure enhancer) for heating at least one material application area [0017, Fig 2], the rotary head being disposed on the material application unit and being rotatable around the nozzle [Fig 1, see the rotational arrow on the limb where 16 is attached], and a control device which is configured to control at least the rotary head [0020-0022] and the compressor [0010, 0020] and the heating device [0020]. The rotary head surrounds the nozzles as it is located all around it [Fig 2] as the compressor and heating device are on the rotary head they can be rotated or swiveled around the nozzle [0020-0022, 0017, Fig 2] the rotary head is rotatable during material application [0020-0022] and would be capable of being operated such that the compressor and heating device are aligned relative to the nozzle depending on the a path curve to be followed by the material application unit [0020-0022, Fig 2].
As to claim 2, Budge teaches the compressor has a compressor roll (38) which is rotatably mounted around a rotation axis (46), Fig 2.
As to claim 3, Budge teaches the compressor is coolable and/or heatable as it would be capable of being heated or cooled by any external device and likely receives some secondary heat from the extrudate and/or the cure enhancer [0020, 0017, Fig 2].
As to claim 4, Budge teaches the heating device has a heating module for a contactless heating process (ie a laser) [0017].
As to claim 6, Budge teaches a distance detecting element for determining the distance between at least one material strand that has already been applied and a nozzle outlet [0028].
As to claim 7, Budge teaches an extruder is configured to process granulate and/or filament [0015, 0016].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budge (US 2019/0202121) in view of Evans (US 2006/004881).
As to claim 5, Budge does not explicitly state that the temperature detecting element for detecting at least the temperature of a deposited material strand.
Evans teaches a 3d printing method [abstract] wherein a temperature detecting element for detecting at least the temperature of a deposited material strand is utilized in order to regulate the temperature of the nozzle and deposited material [0074]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Budge to have utilized a temperature detecting element for detecting at least the temperature of a deposited material strand, as suggested by Evans, in order to better regulate the temperature of the nozzle and the deposited material.
Claim 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budge (US 2019/0202121) in view of Mark (US 2015/0266243).
As to claim 8, Budge does not explicitly state a print table on which a printing plate can be disposed or which forms the printing plate, the print table being heatable and/or having a vacuum unit for fixing the printing plate on the print table.
Mark teaches a method of 3D printing fiber reinforced composite [Abstract] wherein the successive deposition occurs on print table phrased as build table (16) that forms the print plate which acts as substrate for the deposited material and can also be translated relative to the nozzle [0080, 0100, 0170, 204, Fig 1a-1c]. The print plate is heatable as it would be capable of being heated or cooled by any external device and likely receives some secondary heat from the extrudate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Budge and included a heatable build table/plate, as suggested by Mark, in order to create a substrate for the part being built and allow for translation of the part relative to the nozzle to aid in the printing process.
As to claim 11, Budge teaches control device is configured to control the rotating speed of the rotation of the rotary head around the nozzle in accordance with the movement speed of the material application unit in such a manner that the rotary head performs a full rotation around the nozzle as explained above but does not explicitly state while the material application unit traces a full winding around the component rotation axis ie the deposition is accomplished in a spiral or overlapping circle pattern.
Mark teaches a method of 3D printing fiber reinforced composite [Abstract] wherein the material application unit traces a full winding around the component rotation axis phrased as circular, oval loops or “Zamboni” pattern in order to deposit and iron the component [0129, 0163]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Budge and included the material application unit traces a full winding around the component rotation axis ie the deposition is accomplished in a spiral or overlapping circle pattern, as suggested by Mark, as this pattern had proven successful at compacting/ironing the part and depositing material within 3D printing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budge (US 2019/0202121) in view of Mark (US 2015/0266243), as applied to claims 8 and 11 above, and in further view of Collins (“What are fixed and floating bearings in the context of linear motion?”).
As to claim 9, The combination of Budge and Mark teach a translatable print table/plate as explained above but has a compensation unit for compensating thermally induced changes in dimension, the compensation unit having at least one fixed bearing and one floating bearing.
Collins teaches different configurations of fixed and floating bearings and notes a plate resting on linear guides and that the use of a mix of fixed and floating bearings prevents jerky movement of the plate when translated [second section] and additionally notes that floating bearing are used to compensate for thermal expansion in contrast to fixed bearing [first section]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Budge and utilized a compensation unit with at least one fixed bearing and one floating bearing, as suggested by Collins, in order to avoid jerky translation and compensate against thermal expansion.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budge (US 2019/0202121) in view of Burgess (US 2022/0078955).
As to claim 10, Budge does not explicitly state the manufacturing chamber which is sealed against the environment.
Burgess notes that 3D printing within a clean environment can “greatly reduce the time between design and use” when the application of the 3D printed part is also within a clean environment and printing within a clean environment also improves the parts recyclability [0060]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the invention of Budge and had the manufacturing chamber be sealed against the environment, ie in a clean room, as suggested by Burgess, as printing within a clean environment also improves the part’s recyclability and minimized downtime when the part was intended to be used in a clean application.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ARMAND MELENDEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759