DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments submitted on December 2, 2025 are entered into the file. Currently claims 1 and 7 are amended and claims 12-25 are withdrawn, resulting in claims 1-11 pending for examination.
Claim Objections
Claims objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yurchenko (US 2018/0023244)1 in view of Hong (US 2015/0210811).
With respect to claims 1-2, 5-8, and 10-11, Yurchenko teaches carbon fibers having an amine-functionalized polymer electro-grafted onto a surface thereof (paragraph [0001]) and reinforced composites comprising the amine functionalized fibers (paragraph [0007]). The carbon fibers have a diameter in the range of 0.5 to 30 microns, preferably from 2 to 20 microns, and more preferably from 2 to 15 microns (paragraph [0076]). The fiber lengths in the examples were approximately 30 meters (paragraph [0110]) resulting in length-to-width aspect ratio of at least 1000. The amine-functionalized polymer includes a plurality of pendant, terminal primary, secondary, or tertiary amino-groups (paragraph [0062]). The resin used in the fiber reinforced composite may be epoxy based resins (paragraph [0018], [0083]).
With respect to the surface-modified carbon fiber composition consisting of the carbon fiber and the amine-containing polymer bonded to the outer surface of the carbon fiber, Yurchenko teaches that the carbon fibers may be untreated prior to electro-grafting (paragraph [0077]), the fiber is not sized or is de-sized prior to attachment of the amine-functionalized polymer (paragraph [0078]), and after being drawn through the treatment bath the fiber is washed with deionized water and dried (paragraph [0059]). The bath solution includes the amine-functionalized polymer, is aqueous or non-aqueous, and may include one or more electrolytes (paragraph [0054]). As only the amine polymer is grafted to the carbon, the electrolyte solution and any excess amine polymer would be removed when the fiber is washed, and any remaining water would be removed during the drying step, a carbon fiber composite comprising the carbon fiber and the amine polymer grafted to the surface of the carbon fiber is provided.
Yurchenko teaches the claimed invention above but does not expressly teach the amine-functionalized polymer is in the form of a coating with a thickness of less than 2 microns (2000 nm) and up to 0.5 microns (500 nm). It is reasonable to presume that the coating specifications are inherent to Yurchenko. Support for said presumption is found in that Yurchenko teaches the same deposition process as the claimed invention.
Paragraph [0007] of the specification as filed describes applying the amine-containing polymer to the carbon fiber through an electrodeposition process wherein the uncoated (surface treated or untreated) carbon fiber is immersed in an electrolytic solution containing a dissolved amount of amine-containing polymer. After electrodeposition of the amine-containing polymer, the surface-modified carbon fiber is washed.
Similarly, Yurchenko discloses electro-grafting an amine-functionalize polymer onto a carbon fiber, wherein the carbon fiber is drawn through an electrolyte bath, washed, and dried (Yurchenko; paragraph [0059]). The bath solution comprises the amine-functionalized polymer and may include one or more electrolytes (Yurchenko; paragraph [0054]). The carbon fibers may be treated or untreated prior to electro-grafting (paragraph [0077]).
With respect to the thickness of the coating, the instant specification further discloses at paragraphs [0027]-[0028] that the thickness of the coating of the amine-containing polymer can be at least partly controlled by selection of the polymer concentration during the electrodeposition process, which ranges from 0.001-5 wt%. Paragraph [0029] of the instant specification further teaches that the thickness of the coating of the amine-containing polymer can also be controlled by selection of the period of time that the voltage is applied during the electrodeposition process, which can range from 5-120 s. Finally, paragraph [0030] of the instant specification describes that the thickness of the coating can also be controlled by selection of the electrical current applied during the electrodeposition process.
Similarly, Yurchenko teaches that the concentration of the amine-functionalized polymer in the bath may range from about 0.5 to 5 weight percent based on the total weight of the bath (Yurchenko; paragraph [0058]) and the exposure time of the carbon fiber in the bath preferably ranges from about 1 to 2 minutes, particularly about 1 minute (Yurchenko; paragraph [0060]). Yurchenko does not teach the electrical current applied, however Yurchenko does teach that the applied voltage typically ranges from about 0.1 to 10 volts with 0.5 to 5 volts being preferred (Yurchenko; paragraph [0061]). According to point 8 of the Declaration filed June 23, 2025, the volage applied in the present invention is typically very low (less than 20 volts).
Since Yurchenko teaches the same method of surface treating a carbon fiber with an amine-functionalized polymer, particularly the process parameters that are identified by the instant specification as controlling the thickness of the resulting coating, the surface-modified carbon fiber of Yurchenko is expected to have the claimed coating and coating thicknesses.
Yurchenko is silent as to the amine-containing polymer being selected from the group consisting of chitosan, polylysine, polyglycine, and poly(4-aminostyrene).
Hong teaches a carbon nanomaterial-polymer composite material (paragraph [0007]). The carbon nanomaterial may include a functionalized carbon fiber (paragraph [0012]) and the polymer matrix may include a thermosetting resin such as an epoxy resin (paragraph [0018]-[0019]). A functional molecule such as poly-4-aminostyrene may be attached to the surface of the carbon nanomaterial and is capable of coupling the polymer matrix and the carbon nanomaterial to smoothly transfer stress between the polymer matrix and the nanomaterial (paragraphs [0029], [0065]-[0066], [0079]-[0080]).
Since both Yurchenko and Hong teach carbon fibers modified by and amine-containing polymer to increase bonding between the carbon fiber and an epoxy resin matrix, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the amine-functionalized polymer of Yurchenko to be poly-4-aminostyrene in order to provide coupling between the carbon fibers and epoxy matrix which allows for the smooth transfer of stress between the materials.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yurchenko (US 2018/0023244)1 in view of Hong (US 2015/0210811) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Bowland (US 2019/0256672)2.
With respect to claim 3, Yurchenko in view of Hong teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above.
Yurchenko in view of Hong is silent as to the carbon fiber being a chopped segment of a continuous carbon fiber, wherein said chopped segment has a length of 0.1-10 cm.
Bowland teaches a carbon fiber composite material containing (i) a carbon fiber having an outer surface, a thickness of at least 1 micron, and a length-to-width aspect ratio of at least 1000; (ii) a sizing agent coated on the outer surface of the carbon fiber, and (iii) nanoparticles (paragraph [0006]). The sizing agent may be amine-containing sizing agents (paragraph [0017]) and Bowland acknowledges that a function of the sizing agent is to increase the interfacial strength between the fiber and a polymeric matrix in which the carbon fiber is incorporated (paragraph [0017]). The carbon fiber composite may be embedded within a polymer matrix (paragraph [0049]) such as epoxy (paragraph [0062]). Bowland further teaches that carbon fiber typically has an aspect ratio of at least or greater than 1000 (paragraph [0015]). Bowland further teaches the continuous carbon fiber may be chopped into pieces having a length of at least or greater than 0.1 cm and less than 10 cm (paragraph [0015]).
Since both Yurchenko in view of Hong and Bowland teach carbon fibers surface modified with amine polymers embedded in polymeric matrices, specifically epoxy matrices, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the carbon fibers of Yurchenko to be a chopped segment of continuous carbon fiber, where the chopped segment has a length of 0.1-10 cm because it is a typical size for carbon fibers and provides the predictable result of a carbon fiber coated with a sizing agent capable of being embedded in polymeric matrices. See MPEP 2143.
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments filed December 2, 2025 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references being used in the current rejection. Applicant's arguments are all with respect to Yurchenko (US 2018/0023244) not teaching the new claim amendments, specifically the newly added structural feature wherein the amine-containing polymer is selected from the group consisting of chitosan, polylysine, polyglycine, and poly(4-aminostyrene). The newly added reference Hong (US 2015/0210811) is used in combination with Yurchenko to address the newly added limitations. The Applicant's arguments are therefore moot as they do not address the combination of references used in the rejections of the amended claims presented above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Previously presented
2 previously presented