DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed April 13, 2026, claims 1, 5, 8-9, 11-12, 16-21, 23-24, 29-31 and 33 have been amended. Claims 2-4, 6-7, 13-15, 22, 25-28 and 34-80 have been cancelled and no new claims have been added. Claims 1, 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed April 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 112b have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments. The rejection of claims 1, 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33 under 35 U.S.C 112b has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed April 13, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments that the claims do not recite an abstract idea, Examiner respectfully disagrees. The abstract ideas are identified as the steps of evaluating and determining. That is, as broadly and reasonably interpreted, the above recited steps of evaluating and determining are steps that can practically be performed in the mind or with the aid of pen/paper. A physician can perform the claimed step of evaluating by mentally looking at collected signals. The physician can then further determine a rehabilitative status mentally. Thus, the claims can be readily interpreted as being a mere application of a mental process on a computer. An improved abstract idea is still an abstract idea even if such an abstract idea results in more accurate results. Applicant refers to the tangible claim elements that are in addition to the abstract idea (i.e., the additional elements). Applicant argues that because the additional elements are tangible, the claims are not directed to an abstract idea. However, this is not the test for eligibility. “As the Supreme Court explained in Alice Corp., mere physical or tangible implementation of an exception does not guarantee eligibility.” MPEP 2106.04(d) I. citing Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 224, 110 USOQ2d 1976, 1983-84 (2014). Thus, applicant’s identification of the additional elements in the claims as not being abstract does not influence the eligibility analysis. Applicant should not conflate the abstract idea with the elements of the claim that are in addition to the abstract idea (i.e. additional elements).
In response to Applicant’s argument that the claims integrate the abstract idea into practical application, Examiner respectfully disagrees. An improvement to the technology cannot be in the abstract idea. MPEP 2106.05a. “[L]imitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application.” MPEP 2106.05(h). “[T]he additional element in Flook ... was not sufficient to make the claim eligible, because it was merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that did not alter or affect how the process steps of calculating the alarm limit value were performed.” Further, the data-gathering step of “receiving an input” does not add a meaningful limitation to the claims as they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Furthermore, the abstract idea amounts to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. The additional elements are identified in the 101 section below as being the elements that comprise a control circuit; a microphone; and a sensor package. When considered in combination, the additional elements (i.e. the generic computer functions and conventional equipment/steps) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed April 13, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim under 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Wiedenhoefer (US 20170143261 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33 are all within at least one of the four categories.
The independent claim 1 recites:
evaluating signals from the sensor package and/or the microphone; and
determine a rehabilitative status of a device wearer with respect to the orthopedic procedure based on the signals from the sensor package and/or the microphone.
The above claim limitations constitute an abstract idea that is part of the Mathematical Concepts and/or Mental Processes group identified in the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance published in the Federal Register (84 FR 50) on January 7, 2019. See footnotes 14 and 15.
“A mathematical relationship is a relationship between variables or numbers. A mathematical relationship may be expressed in words ….” October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility, II. A. i. “[T]here are instances where a formula or equation is written in text format that should also be considered as falling within this grouping.” Id. at II. A. ii. “[A] claim does not have to recite the word “calculating” in order to be considered a mathematical calculation.” Id. at II. A. iii. See for example, SAP Am., Inc. v. InvestPic, LLC, 898 F.3d 1161, 1163-65 (Fed. Cir. 2018) (performing a resampled statistical analysis to generate a resampled distribution).
The claimed steps of evaluating and determining can be practically performed in the human mind using mental steps or basic critical thinking, which are types of activities that have been found by the courts to represent abstract ideas.
Examples of ineligible claims that recite mental processes include:
a claim to “collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis,” where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind, Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, S.A.;
claims to “comparing BRCA sequences and determining the existence of alterations,” where the claims cover any way of comparing BRCA sequences such that the comparison steps can practically be performed in the human mind, University of Utah Research Foundation v. Ambry Genetics Corp.
a claim to collecting and comparing known information (claim 1), which are steps that can be practically performed in the human mind, Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC.
See p. 7-8 of October 2019 Update: Subject Matter Eligibility.
With respect to the pending claims, for example, a physician can perform the claimed step of evaluating by mentally looking at collected signals. The physician can then further determine a rehabilitative status mentally. Thus, the claims can be readily interpreted as being a mere application of a mental process on a computer.
Regarding the dependent claims 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33, the dependent claims are directed to either 1) steps that are also abstract or 2) additional data output that is well-understood, routine and previously known to the industry. For example, dependent claims recite steps (e.g. evaluating, determining, detecting, changing, querying, sending and providing) that can be performed in the mind. Although the dependent claims are further limiting, they do not recite significantly more than the abstract idea. A narrow abstract idea is still an abstract idea and an abstract idea with additional well-known equipment/functions is not significantly more than the abstract idea.
This judicial exception (abstract idea) in claims 1, 5, 8-12, 16-21, 23-24 and 29-33is not integrated into a practical application because:
The abstract idea amounts to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. For example, the recitations regarding the generic computing components for evaluating, determining, detecting, changing, querying, sending and providing merely invoke a computer as a tool.
The data-gathering step (receiving an input) does not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity.
There is no improvement to a computer or other technology. “The McRO court indicated that it was the incorporation of the particular claimed rules in computer animation that "improved [the] existing technological process", unlike cases such as Alice where a computer was merely used as a tool to perform an existing process.” MPEP 2106.05(a) II. The claims recite a computer that is used as a tool for evaluating, determining, detecting, changing, querying, sending and providing.
The claims do not apply the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition. Rather, the abstract idea is utilized to determine a relationship among data to provide information about a rehabilitative status of a user.
The claims do not apply the abstract idea to a particular machine. “Integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method may provide significantly more, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b). II. “Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more.” MPEP 2106.05(b) III. The pending claims utilize a computer for evaluating, determining, detecting, changing, querying, sending and providing. The claims do not apply the obtained data to a particular machine. Rather, the data is merely output in an post-solution step.
The additional elements are identified as follows: a control circuit; a microphone; and a sensor package.
Those in the relevant field of art would recognize the above-identified additional elements as being well-understood, routine, and conventional means for data-gathering and computing, as demonstrated by:
Applicant's specification (p. 22, 30) which discloses that the control circuit, the microphone, and sensor package comprise generic computer components that are configured to perform the generic computer functions (e.g. evaluating, determining, detecting, changing, querying, sending and providing) that are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry; and
the non-patent literature previously cited herewith:
Ko, Wen H., et al. "Studies of MEMS acoustic sensors as implantable microphones for totally implantable hearing-aid systems." IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems 3.5 (2009): 277-285.
See Fig 1. and Section A: Requirements of Implantable Acoustic Sensor
Seong, Ki Woong, et al. "A vibro-acoustic hybrid implantable microphone for middle ear hearing aids and cochlear implants." Sensors 19.5 (2019): 1117.
See Fig. 1 and Section 2: Middle Ear Cavity Implantable Sensors
Thus, the claimed additional elements “are so well-known that they do not need to be described in detail in a patent application to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a).” Berkheimer Memorandum, III. A. 3.
Furthermore, the court decisions discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(d)(lI) note the well-understood, routine and conventional nature of such additional elements as those claimed. See option III. A. 2. in the Berkheimer memorandum.
When considered in combination, the additional elements (i.e. the generic computer functions and conventional equipment/steps) do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Looking at the claim limitations as a whole adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 8-9, 17-21, 23-24 and 29-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwinkel (US 20180317837 A1; previously cited by applicant) in view of Georgiou (US 20220386959 A1; previously cited) and Wiedenhoefer (US 20170143261 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Burwinkel teaches
An ear-wearable device (see paragraph 0034, hearing assistance device #302) comprising:
a control circuit (see paragraph 0034 and see Fig. 3, mother flexible circuit #303);
a microphone (see paragraph 0034 and see Fig. 3, microphone #306), wherein the microphone is in electrical communication with the control circuit (see paragraph 0034 and see Fig. 3, microphone #306 is electrically connected to mother flexible circuit #303); and
a sensor package (see paragraph 0034 and see Fig. 3, sensor arrangement #320), wherein the sensor package is in electrical communication with the control circuit (see paragraph 0034 and see Fig. 3, sensor arrangement #320 is electrically connected to mother flexible circuit #303);
wherein the control circuit is configured to
receive an input (see paragraph 0036, hearing assistance device can include a physical therapy engine #402 that implements multiplicity of different therapies and receives an input from selection engine #404 that allows selection of several different therapies; and see paragraph 0040, therapy can be any therapy that involves vestibular rehabilitation therapy to strength after surgery) […];
evaluate signals from the sensor package and/or the microphone (see paragraph 0027, an output of an electrical signal indicating successes or lack of successes of each or a series of specified bodily actions is transmitted; and see paragraph 0018, hearing assistance device typically include microphones; and see paragraph 0026, sensor arrangement senses movement of user and data produced by sensor arrangement is operated on by a processor) ; and
determine a rehabilitative status of a device wearer (see paragraph 0027, an output of an electrical signal indicating successes or lack of successes of each or a series of specified bodily actions is transmitted where the successes of lack of success is the rehabilitative status; and see paragraph 0026, sensor arrangement senses movement of user and data produced by sensor arrangement is operated on by a processor to determine if a specified action was successfully or unsuccessfully executed by user).
Burwinkel does not specifically disclose receiving an input regarding an occurrence of an orthopedic procedure and determining a rehabilitation status of a device wearer with respect to the orthopedic procedure based on signals from the sensor package and/or microphone.
Georgiou teaches receiving an input regarding an occurrence of an orthopedic procedure (see paragraph 0151 and 0191, input from clinician on a threshold for detecting risk of presence of infection after medical procedure such as a surgical implementation in form of joint replacement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to receive an input on the occurrence of an orthopedic procedure because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring signals from sensors to identify the risk of onset and/or presence of an infection (Georgiou: see [0149]) by generating a health status of a user (Georgiou: see [0151]).
Burwinkel and Georgiou do not teach determines a rehabilitation status of a device wearer with respect to the orthopedic procedure based on signals received from sensor package and/or microphone.
Wiedenhoefer teaches determining a rehabilitation status of a device wearer with respect to the orthopedic procedure based on signals received from sensor package (see paragraph 0046-0047 and 0066-0069: uses sensor data to assess progress in rehabilitation after orthopedic surgery).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel and Georgiou with the teachings of Wiedenhoefer to determine a rehabilitation status based on signals received because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring the healing process and monitoring the physical therapy of a user (Wiedenhoefer: [0046]) for patients post-surgery.
With respect to claim 5, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel does not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate signals from the sensor package and/or the microphone for indicia of pain.
Georgiou teaches wherein a control circuit is configured to evaluate signals from the sensor package and/or the microphone for indicia of pain (see paragraph 0095, ear wearable infection sensor device is configured to estimate at least one of pain and discomfort experienced by user based on data from sensor package and microphone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have evaluated pain because it would have resulted in the predictable result of estimating pain to normalize real time data (Georgiou: see [0182]).
With respect to claim 8, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel does not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to determine a post-procedural mobility value and compare the same with a pre- procedure mobility value.
Georgiou teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to determine a post-procedural mobility value and compare the same with a pre- procedure mobility value (see paragraph 0151, compare set of data received as signals from one or more sensors against stored data; and see paragraph 0154, movement data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have mobility values because it would have resulted in the predictable result of comparing and reflecting on a health status of a user and characterizing an infection status based on a change in the movement (Georgiou: see [0151]).
With respect to claim 9, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel does not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate a post-procedural gait parameter of the device wearer.
Georgiou teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate a post-procedural gait parameter of the device wearer (see paragraph 0247, walking protocol).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have mobility values because it would have resulted in the predictable result comparing and reflecting on a health status of a user and characterizing an infection status based on a change in the movement (Georgiou: see [0151]).
With respect to claim 17, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel does not disclose wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate signals from the microphone to detect one or more phrases or utterances indicative of pain, stiffness, or other discomfort associated with the orthopedic procedure.
Georgiou teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate signals from the microphone to detect one or more phrases or utterances indicative of pain, stiffness, or other discomfort associated with the orthopedic procedure (see paragraph 0095, ear wearable infection sensor device is configured to estimate at least one of pain and discomfort experienced by user based on data from sensor package and microphone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have evaluated pain because it would have resulted in the predictable result of estimating pain to normalize real time data (Georgiou: see [0182]).
With respect to claim 18, all limitations of claim 17 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to detect a posture change or activity of the device wearer (see paragraph 0048, posture of user is determined based on sensor package data).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have detected posture because it would have resulted in the predictable result of providing insight into optical times to evaluate for the risk of the presence of infection as it can be advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171]).
With respect to claim 19, all limitations of claim 17 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to change a pain, stiffness, or other discomfort detection threshold value when the device wearer is detected to be sitting down, standing up, using stairs, or exercising (see paragraph 0095, ear wearable infection sensor device is configured to estimate at least one of pain and discomfort experienced by user based on data from sensor package and microphone; and see paragraph 0188, sitting or lying down).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have evaluated pain because it would have resulted in the predictable result of estimating pain to normalize real time data (Georgiou: see [0182]).
With respect to claim 20, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to detect a posture change or activity of the device wearer and detect a left-right weight distribution during the posture change or activity (see paragraph 0048, posture of user is determined based on sensor package data; and see paragraph 0171, posture change during movement such as lying down and detecting the direction of gravity).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have detected posture because it would have resulted in the predictable result of providing insight into optical times to evaluate for the risk of the presence of infection as it can be advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171]).
With respect to claim 21, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to query the device wearer regarding pain, stiffness, or other discomfort (see paragraph 0055, 0182 and 0200, ear wearable sensor device is configured to query user on how they feel and record response with respect to pain or discomfort).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to query a user as it can be used at part of the data set for determining whether an infection is present as added information (Georgiou: see [200]).
With respect to claim 23, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate signals from the sensor package to detect possible post-procedural infection (see paragraph 0053, determine infection status after medical procedure using data collected from sensor package).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to evaluate signals to detect infection because it would have resulted in the predictable result of being able to detect infection rapidly as typically ear wearable devices are worn all the time (Georgiou: see [0148]).
With respect to claim 24, all limitations of claim 23 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to send an alert to a care provider if a possible post-procedural infection is detected (see paragraph 0056 and 0153, ear wearable device is configured to issue an alert to clinician if risk of infection is detected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to send an alert to a clinician because it would have resulted in the predictable result of warning a medical care provider that an infection has been detected (Georgiou: see [0153]-[0154]) for early treatment.
With respect to claim 29, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to provide a reminder to the device wearer if a duration of a detected post-procedural activity crosses a threshold value (see paragraph 0090, detecting physical activity and gathering data on if activity falls below a threshold value; and see paragraph 0167, alert issued if physical activity is above a threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to send a reminder if activity crosses a threshold because it would have resulted in the predictable result of suspending operations related to detection infection if activity is above a threshold (Georgiou: see [0167]) as it is advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171]).
With respect to claim 30, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to provide a reminder to the device wearer if a post-procedural activity that is not recommended is detected (see paragraph 0090, detecting physical activity and gathering data on if activity falls below a threshold value; and see paragraph 0167-0170, alert issued if physical activity is above or below a threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to provide a reminder if activity that is not recommended is detected because it would have resulted in the predictable result of suspending operations related to detection infection if activity is above a threshold (Georgiou: see [0167]) as it is advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171])
With respect to claim 31, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to provide reminders to the device wearer regarding recommended post-procedural activities (see paragraph 0090, detecting physical activity and gathering data on if activity falls below a threshold value; and see paragraph 0167-0170, alert issued if physical activity is above or below a threshold value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to provide a reminder on recommended activities because it would have resulted in the predictable result of suspending operations related to detection infection if activity is above a threshold (Georgiou: see [0167]) as it is advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171])
With respect to claim 32, all limitations of claim 31 apply in which the combination of Burwinkel and Georgiou further teaches the recommended post-procedural activities comprising stretching and/or exercises (Burwinkel: see paragraph 0027, an output of an electrical signal indicating successes or lack of successes of each or a series of specified bodily actions is transmitted; and see paragraph 0021, exercise routine or physical therapy).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to have an exercise be an activity because it would have resulted in the predictable result of measuring activity as it is advantageous to evaluate risk of infection when user is laying down or seated with limited physical activity (Georgiou: see [0171]).
With respect to claim 33, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Georgiou further teaches wherein the control circuit is configured to provide instructions to the device wearer regarding recommended post-procedural activities (see paragraph 0194, ear wearable sensor device can instruct user to move if an infection is detected).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel with the teachings of Georgiou to provide instructions because it would have resulted in the predictable result of using sound to determine whether or not an infection is present (Georgiou: see [0194]) and tell a user what to do if an infection is detected.
Claims 10-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Burwinkel in view of Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Burwinkel-2 (US 20180233018 A1; previously cited).
With respect to claim 10, all limitations of claim 9 apply in which Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer do not specifically teach wherein the gait parameter comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of gait velocity, step length, swing and stance phase, double support time, ground reaction forces, impulse, and propulsion during habitual walking.
Burwinkel-2 teaches gait parameters (see paragraph 0082, parameters including gait of user) that comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of gait velocity, step length, swing and stance phase, double support time, ground reaction forces, impulse, and propulsion during habitual walking (see paragraph 0082: walking speed, cadence, gait symmetry and variance, step clearance, sway, speed of postural transitioning (how long it takes to stand up or sit down), total number of steps per day, number of transitions each day, number of walks per day, distance or duration of each walk on average, total walking distance per day, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer with the teachings of Burwinkel-2 to have utilized gait parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring intrinsic factors of a user that contributes to their risk of falling (Burwinkel-2: see [0003]) to monitor post procedurally.
With respect to claim 11, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer do not specifically teach wherein the control circuit is configured to detect leg swinging associated with leg stiffness.
Burwinkel-2 teaches detecting leg swinging associated with leg stiffness (see paragraph 0082, parameters including gait of user that include cadence which is leg swinging and the inverse of cadence gives leg stiffness).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer with the teachings of Burwinkel-2 to have utilized gait parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring intrinsic factors of a user that contributes to their risk of falling (Burwinkel-2: see [0003]) to monitor post procedurally.
With respect to claim 12, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer do not specifically teach wherein the control circuit is configured to evaluate a gait parameter symmetry of the device wearer.
Burwinkel-2 teaches evaluating a gait parameter symmetry of the device wearer(see paragraph 0082, parameters including gait of user including gait symmetry and variance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer with the teachings of Burwinkel-2 to have utilized gait parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring intrinsic factors of a user that contributes to their risk of falling (Burwinkel-2: see [0003]) to monitor post procedurally.
With respect to claim 16, all limitations of claim 1 apply in which Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer do not specifically teach wherein the control circuit is configured to detect an asymmetrical leaning pattern of the device wearer during ambulation.
Burwinkel-2 teaches detecting an asymmetrical leaning pattern of the device wearer during ambulation (see paragraph 0082, parameters including gait of user including gait symmetry and variance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Burwinkel, Georgiou and Wiedenhoefer with the teachings of Burwinkel-2 to have utilized gait parameters because it would have resulted in the predictable result of monitoring intrinsic factors of a user that contributes to their risk of falling (Burwinkel-2: see [0003]) to monitor post procedurally.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.N.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791