Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs et al (US 20220310493 A1) in view of Wang et al (US 20220037955 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Downs teaches a cooling assembly for an electric drive system in a battery electric vehicle, comprising: an end cap fluid manifold assembly (fig. 26 end plate 290), configured to couple to a radial face of a stator of a rotating electrical machine (fig. 15 and paragraph 54 “The end plate 290 can include a plurality of phase lead bosses 292, which can accept phase leads 294 (FIG. 3) of the field windings 36”), having: an outer plate with an outer plate fluid guide (fig. 27, retaining 264); an inner plate with an inner plate fluid guide (see figure 27 marked below) and an end turn receiving portion that is configured to abut end turns of stator windings in the rotating electrical machine (see figure 27 marked below); a fluid channel, formed between the outer plate fluid guide and the inner plate fluid guide, configured to receive fluid and communicate the fluid over the end turns (paragraph 62 “the dielectric fluid is shown to flow through the annular gap 448, through the fins 282 in the heat sinks 262 and into passages 450 formed axially through the stator 32”).
Downs Figure 27
Downs does not teach “the inner plate selectively coupled to the outer plate.”
Wang teaches the inner plate selectively coupled to the outer plate (fig. 5, semi-arc separator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor cooling assembly of Downs with the selectively coupled outer plate of Wang in order to guide the cooling fluid to key components more in need of the cooling and to generate a cooling channel for said fluid to flow.
With respect to claim 2, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches the end cap fluid manifold assembly is positioned adjacent power electronics used to control the rotating electrical machine (fig. 27 and paragraph 62 “that dielectric fluid is introduced to the inverter 204, passes through fins 282 on heat sinks 262 that are electrically conductively coupled to power terminals of the MOSFET's 260 to thereby cool the inverter 204, and thereafter enters the passages 450 in the stator 32 to cool the stator 32 as is shown in FIG. 28.”).
With respect to claim 3, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches the fluid from the fluid channel is communicated to a stator fluid channel in a stator (fig. 27 and paragraph 62 “it will be appreciated that dielectric fluid is introduced to the inverter 204, passes through fins 282 on heat sinks 262 that are electrically conductively coupled to power terminals of the MOSFET's 260 to thereby cool the inverter 204, and thereafter enters the passages 450 in the stator 32 to cool the stator 32 as is shown in FIG. 28.”).
With respect to claim 4, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches end cap fluid manifold assembly is positioned concentrically relative to an output shaft of the rotating electrical machine (fig. 28 and 35 and throughout end plate 290 is concentric with shaft 38).
With respect to claim 5, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches baffles positioned within the fluid channel (see figure 50 marked below).
Downs Figure 50
With respect to claim 6, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches a corresponding receiving portion formed in the inner plate that radially locates the outer plate fluid guide relative to the inner plate fluid guide (see figures 27 and 50, end plate 290 radially located the inner and outer plates).
With respect to claim 8, Downs teaches a cooling assembly for an electric drive system in a battery electric vehicle, comprising: a gearbox fluid manifold assembly (fig. 29, worm track), configured to couple to a radial face of a stator of a rotating electrical machine (fig. 29, and paragraph 64 “the worm track 464 can have an outlet that can discharge the dielectric fluid into a bearing 470, which can support the differential case 472 for rotation relative to the housing assembly 12,”), having: an outer segmented guide, including a flange that forms part of a fluid channel (fig. 29, annular cavity 460 and figure 34 marked below), and a plurality of segments that connect at one or more circumferential locations (see fig. 29-30 fluid flows throughout the cavity and worm track at least partially circumferentially); an inner segmented guide, including a flange that forms another part of the fluid channel (figure 34 marked below), and a plurality of segments that connect at one or more circumferential locations, such that the inner segmented guide is configured to abut end turns of the rotating electrical machine (see figure 29, worm track 464 abuts the field windings 36); an outer ring that couples with the inner segmented guide and also configured to abut the end turns of the rotating electrical machine (fig. 34 marked below); and a retainer retaining ring that axially constrains the inner ring relative to the gearbox fluid manifold assembly end cap fluid manifold assembly (see at least figure 31, Examiner is interpreting the bolt hole to the top left of the figure as constricting worm track relative to the entire end plate).
Downs does not teach “an inner ring selectively coupled to the outer ring, forming a portion of the fluid channel”
Wang teaches an inner ring selectively coupled to the outer ring, forming a portion of the fluid channel (fig. 5, semi-arc separator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor cooling assembly of Downs with the selectively coupled outer plate of Wang in order to guide the cooling fluid to key components more in need of the cooling and to generate a cooling channel for said fluid to flow.
Downs Figure 34
With respect to claim 9, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches the gearbox fluid manifold assembly is positioned in between a stator of the rotating electrical machine and a gearbox assembly (see figure 34, and paragraph 64 “the worm track 464 can have an outlet that can discharge the dielectric fluid into a bearing 470, which can support the differential case 472 for rotation relative to the housing assembly 12,”).
With respect to claim 10, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches wherein the fluid from the fluid channel is communicated to the gearbox assembly (see figure 29, fluid comes to the worm trace from stator passages 450).
With respect to claim 11, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches the gearbox fluid manifold assembly is positioned concentrically relative to an output shaft of the rotating electrical machine (fig. 1 input differential 70 is concentric with the shaft of the motor).
With respect to claim 12, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations. Downs further teaches baffles positioned within the fluid channel (see figure 29 marked below).
Downs Figure 29
With respect to claim 14, Downs discloses the inner segmented guide is a unitary structure (fig. 47 above, inner segmented guide is unitary) and is formed in situ (fig. 47 above, inner segmented guide is formed in situ).
With respect to claim 15, Downs teaches cooling assembly for an electric drive system in a battery electric vehicle, comprising: an end cap fluid manifold assembly (fig. 26 end plate 290), coupled a gearbox fluid manifold assembly (fig. 29, worm track), configured to couple to a radial face of a stator of a rotating electrical machine (fig. 15 and paragraph 54 “The end plate 290 can include a plurality of phase lead bosses 292, which can accept phase leads 294 (FIG. 3) of the field windings 36”), having: an outer plate with an outer plate fluid guide (fig. 27, retaining 264); an inner plate with an inner plate fluid guide (see figure 27 marked above) and an end turn receiving portion that abuts end turns of stator windings in the rotating electrical machine (see figure 27 marked above); a fluid channel, formed between the outer plate fluid guide and the inner plate fluid guide, configured to receive fluid and communicate the fluid over the end turns (paragraph 62 “the dielectric fluid is shown to flow through the annular gap 448, through the fins 282 in the heat sinks 262 and into passages 450 formed axially through the stator 32”), wherein the fluid channel is in fluid communication with a stator fluid channel in a stator (see figure 27, fluid flows from end plate 290 to stator passages 450); a gearbox fluid assembly an end cap fluid manifold assembly, coupled to another radial face of the stator of the rotating electrical machine (fig. 29, and paragraph 64 “the worm track 464 can have an outlet that can discharge the dielectric fluid into a bearing 470, which can support the differential case 472 for rotation relative to the housing assembly 12,”), having: an outer segmented guide, including a flange that forms part of a fluid channel (fig. 29, annular cavity 460 and figure 34 marked above), and a plurality of segments that connect at one or more circumferential locations (see fig. 29-30 fluid flows throughout the cavity and worm track at least partially circumferentially), wherein the fluid channel receives fluid from the stator fluid channel (see figure 29, fluid comes to the worm trace from stator passages 450); an inner segmented guide, including a flange that forms another part of the fluid channel (figure 34 marked above), and a plurality of segments that connect at one or more circumferential locations, such that the inner segmented guide abuts end turns of the rotating electrical machine (see figure 29, worm track 464 abuts the field windings 36); an outer ring that couples with the inner segmented guide and also abuts end turns of the rotating electrical machine (figure 34 marked above); and a retainer that axially constrains the inner ring relative to the end cap fluid manifold assembly (see at least figure 31, Examiner is interpreting the bolt hole to the top left of the figure as constricting worm track relative to the entire end plate).
Downs does not teach “The inner plate selectively coupled to the outer plate; and an inner ring selectively coupled to the outer ring, forming a portion of the fluid channel.”
Wang teaches an inner ring selectively coupled to the outer plate, and an inner ring selectively coupled to the outer ring, forming a portion of the fluid channel (fig. 5, semi-arc separator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed, to combine the motor cooling assembly of Downs with the selectively coupled outer plate of Wang in order to guide the cooling fluid to key components more in need of the cooling and to generate a cooling channel for said fluid to flow.
Claims 7 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Downs in view of Wang in view of VanLuik et al (US 20080042502 A1).
With respect to claims 7 and 13, Downs in view of Wang teaches the above-mentioned limitations but does not teach “the end turns are encapsulated in potting compound.”
VanLuik teaches the end turns are encapsulated in potting compound (paragraph 35 “An electrically insulating silicone potting compound 14 (see FIG. 5) is poured into the pocket formed by the canister seal 11, the winding coils 13, and the laminated iron core 12.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art at the time the invention was filed,
to combine the motor cooling assembly of Downs with the selectively coupled ring of Wang with the encapsulated in potting compound stator coil ends of VanLuik in order to further protect the coil ends from unwanted ingress or egress from fluid, particulate or electrical currents, thereby increasing the motor lifespan due to the protective effect of the compound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.O.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834