DETAILED ACTION
REJECTIONS WITHDRAWN
All previous rejections have been withdrawn.
REJECTIONS REPEATED
There are no rejections repeated.
NEW REJECTIONS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 24 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same test conditions" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the same period of contact" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the coated paper-based tubular article" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the otherwise identical uncoated paper-based tubular article" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5 and 24 recite the phrase “the same test conditions” which is indefinite because the test conditions are not defined in the claims and limitations from the specification are not read into the claims (MPEP 2111.01(II)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hodson (US 7,172,814).
Hodson discloses a paper-based tubular article comprising a tubular wall formed from one or more cellulose-based paper strips or paper sheets as a substrate, which substrate is coated with, impregnated with, or both coated and impregnated with, a biodegradable and compostable zein or mixtures of zein (column 1, line 5 through column 2, line 14, column 5, lines 53-67, column 7, lines 37-40, column 8, lines 34-44, column 15, lines 18-24, column 16, lines 42-67, column 17, line 35 through column 18, line 16, column 19, lines 22-40, column 20, lines 45 through column 22, line 22).
Hodson discloses wherein the zein includes a (alpha), ß (beta), or both α
(alpha) and ß (beta) zein classes (since alpha is the major fraction in zein).
Hodson discloses wherein the paper has a weight range of approximately 0.1-2000 gsm (gram per square meter) (column 1, line 5 through column 2, line 14, column 5, lines 53-67, column 7, lines 37-40, column 8, lines 34-44, column 15, lines 18-24, column 16, lines 42-67, column 17, line 35 through column 18, line 16, column 19, lines 22-40, column 20, lines 45 through column 22, line 22).
With regard to claims 5 and 24, the wet-state firmness score and water uptake are inherent in Hodson since Hodson discloses a paper-based tubular article comprising a tubular wall formed from one or more cellulose-based paper strips or paper sheets as a substrate, which substrate is coated with, impregnated with, or both coated and impregnated with, a biodegradable and compostable zein or mixtures of zein as discussed above.
Hodson discloses claim 6 since seeds etc. are disclosed (column 21, lines 36-45).
Hodson discloses claim 8 since the paper straw can be used in drinks that contain nicotine, caffeine or cannabinoids.
Hodson discloses a paper tubular device in which the zein coating reduces migration of PFAS from the cellulose-based paper substrate into an aqueous liquid contacting the tubular article or a paper tubular device comprising one or more spherical carrier particles disposed within an interior of the tubular article and configured to capture PFAS from an aqueous liquid passing through the tubular article (from claim 8) since Hodson discloses a paper-based tubular article comprising a tubular wall formed from one or more cellulose-based paper strips or paper sheets as a substrate, which substrate is coated with, impregnated with, or both coated and impregnated with, a biodegradable and compostable zein or mixtures of zein as discussed above.
Claim 23 is disclosed by Hodson since paper straws are disclosed (column 1, line 5 through column 2, line 14, column 5, lines 53-67, column 7, lines 37-40, column 8, lines 34-44, column 15, lines 18-24, column 16, lines 42-67, column 17, line 35 through column 18, line 16, column 19, lines 22-40, column 20, lines 45 through column 22, line 22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodson (US 7,172,814) in view of Bowden et al. (2003/0216492).
Hodson discloses a paper straw (column 1, line 5 through column 2, line 14, column 5, lines 53-67, column 7, lines 37-40, column 8, lines 34-44, column 15, lines 18-24, column 16, lines 42-67, column 17, line 35 through column 18, line 16, column 19, lines 22-40, column 20, lines 45 through column 22, line 22).
Bowden does not disclose a biodegradable and compostable straw.
Bowden discloses a straw comprising a biodegradable and compostable substrate, which is coated with, impregnated with, or both coated and impregnated with, a biodegradable and compostable zein or mixtures of zein (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0032], [0041-0043], [0065-0066], [0080-0092], [0132-0133], [0145-0146], [0155-0156], [0161-0162], [0173-0178], [0191-0195]) for the purpose of providing a more environmentally friendly product.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided a biodegradable and compostable straw in Hodson in order to provide a more environmentally friendly product as taught or suggested by Bowden.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hodson (US 7,172,814).
Hodson does not specifically disclose wherein based on the total weight of the coated article 0.01-99 wt.% of paper based substrate and 0.01-99 wt.% zein or mixtures of zeins. However, it has been found that finding the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited weight percentages in order to provide improved resistance to liquids (see Hodson, column 1, lines 8-15).
ANSWERS TO APPLICANT’S ARGUMENTS
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
With regards to Hodson, a reference that clearly names the claimed species anticipates the claim no matter how many other species are named (MPEP 2132.02).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
September 7, 2026