DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In virtue of the Response filed on 03/12/2026, in which claims 1, 8, and 158 are directly amended, claims 1-20 are presented for examination, wherein claims 1, 8, 15, are recited in independent form. The present claims priority to provisional Application 63/410,596 with a filing date of 09/27/2022.
Response to Arguments
Examiner notes amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15 change the scope of the claims and necessitate all changes in the rejections found herein. Examiner also explicitly notes that Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Firstly, Examiner notes Applicant presents incomplete analysis of the grounds of rejection and argues against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant does not address the grounds of rejection including d1 in view of d2 in view of d3. Applicant attacks d1 and d2 individually, and completely ignores d3 in the response. Therefore, Applicant response constitutes a piecemeal analysis of the references and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Examiner further, respectfully disagrees with the assertions of the Applicant made in the rejection. Applicant asserts “transmitting a capability message comprising a capability information element, let alone "a capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP"” is not taught, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Given a proper treatment of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 it is suggested that "a capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP” is provided (see d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102, 0104, 0111-0112; Fig. 7); d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 specifically discloses:
the UE 120 may be configured with a PCI for a serving cell for a CC (for example, the first PCI associated with the first TRP 705) and X PCIs for candidate non-serving cells for the CC (for example, the second PCI associated with the second TRP 710 and the third PCI associated with the third TRP 715). While the value of X is two in the examples described herein, other values of X are also contemplated, such as 1, 3, 4, or 7, among other examples. In some aspects, the value of X may be based at least in part on a capability of the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may transmit a capability report indicating one or more capabilities supported by the UE 120. For example, the UE 120 may transmit an indication of a quantity of candidate non-serving cells that can be configured for a single CC (for example, a supported value of X);
Representing to one of ordinary skill in the art a capability message comprising a capability information element (see d2 para. 0079, 0092).
Applicant also argues that it is not proper to combine the teachings of d2 with d1 because d1 teaches about capability for simultaneous uplink Tx switching (between component carriers) and SRS switching (between component carriers) and not about uplink transmissions to different TRPs. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to d2, which is known prior to filing of the present application, in order to include the known techniques regarding UL transmission to multiple TRPs in order to reduce a transmission time of one of the first uplink communication or the second uplink communication so as to mitigate or eliminate the at least partial overlap in the time domain (see d2 para. 0033). D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 including teaching regarding multi-TRP UL transmission to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved system performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, Examiner establishes proper reasons for combining the teaching.
Examiner further notes that Applicant fails to address any of the teaching of d1 in the context of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, which may also be particularly relevant to the limitations in question.
The Examiner has shown all the elements of the claims to be obvious from the disclosure of d1 in view of d2 in view of d3, therefore, the Examiner maintains the rejections below and makes them FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication US 20240080838 to Cao et al (hereinafter d1) in view of US Patent Application Publication US 20250048292 to Yuan et al (hereinafter d2) in view of US Patent Application Publication US 20250234347 to Guo et al (hereinafter d3).
Regarding claim 1, as to the limitations “A method comprising:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of wireless communication” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 1) comprising at least a base station (see Fig. 2 element 110) and a wireless device (see Fig. 2 element 120) wherein the device includes well known elements comprising at least one or more processors, memory (see d1 Fig. 2 elements associated with UE 120) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see d1 para. 0049);
As to the limitation “transmitting, by a wireless device, a capability message comprising a capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP” d1 discloses transmitting capability information which reflects capability of the UE to support simultaneous overlapping transmissions to a BS or TRP (see d1 Fig. 7, 705; para. 0107);
As to the limitation “receiving scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP” d1 discloses reception of configuration information (i.e. scheduling information) (see d1 Fig. 7, 710 para. 0108);
d1 may not explicitly disclose receiving scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols; and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP; although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses reception of scheduling information indicating radio resources for a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP (see d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102); and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols (see d2 para. 0104, 0111-0112); and simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on UE capability (see d2 Fig. 7);
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
D2 may not explicitly disclose and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, attention is directed to d3 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on a determination of a UE to support simultaneous UL transmission (see d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 2, as to the limitation “The method of claim 1, wherein the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP (see d1 Fig. 7; d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102, 0104-0105, 0111-0112; d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3, as to the limitation “The method of claim 1, wherein the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with the same cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, as to the limitation “The method of claim 1, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 5, as to the limitation “The method of claim 1, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests first TRP associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, as to the limitation “The method of claim 5, wherein: the transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, as to the limitation “The method of claim 5, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) and the second TRP is associated with a second TAG” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) and the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (see d2 para. 0032, 0086; d3 para. 0005, 0018-0020).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, as to the limitations “A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of wireless communication” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 1) comprising at least a base station (see Fig. 2 element 110) and a wireless device (see Fig. 2 element 120) wherein the device includes well known elements comprising at least one or more processors, memory (see d1 Fig. 2 elements associated with UE 120) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see d1 para. 0049);
As to the limitation “transmit a capability message comprising a capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP” d1 discloses transmitting capability information which reflects capability of the UE to support simultaneous overlapping transmissions to a BS or TRP (see d1 Fig. 7, 705; para. 0107);
As to the limitation “receive scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP” d1 discloses reception of configuration information (i.e. scheduling information) (see d1 Fig. 7, 710 para. 0108);
d1 may not explicitly disclose receiving scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols; and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP; although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses reception of scheduling information indicating radio resources for a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP (see d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102); and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols (see d2 para. 0104, 0111-0112); and simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on UE capability (see d2 Fig. 7);
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
D2 may not explicitly disclose and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, attention is directed to d3 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on a determination of a UE to support simultaneous UL transmission (see d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP (see d1 Fig. 7; d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102, 0104-0105, 0111-0112; d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with the same cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 11, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 8, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests first TRP associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 13, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 12, wherein: the transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 14, as to the limitation “The wireless device of claim 12, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) and the second TRP is associated with a second TAG” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests first TRP is associated with a first timing advance group (TAG) and the second TRP is associated with a second TAG (see d2 para. 0032, 0086; d3 para. 0005, 0018-0020).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 15, as to the limitations “A system comprising: a base station; and a wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to:” d1 discloses techniques in the field of wireless communication” d1 discloses a system (see d1 Fig. 1) comprising at least a base station (see Fig. 2 element 110) and a wireless device (see Fig. 2 element 120) wherein the device includes well known elements comprising at least one or more processors, memory (see d1 Fig. 2 elements associated with UE 120) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see d1 para. 0049);
As to the limitation “transmitting, by a wireless device, a capability message comprising a capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first transmission reception point (TRP) and a second TRP” d1 discloses transmitting capability information which reflects capability of the UE to support simultaneous overlapping transmissions to a BS or TRP (see d1 Fig. 7, 705; para. 0107);
As to the limitation “receiving scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP” d1 discloses reception of configuration information (i.e. scheduling information) (see d1 Fig. 7, 710 para. 0108);
d1 may not explicitly disclose receiving scheduling information indicating radio resources for: a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols; and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP; although the disclosure of d1 is particularly relevant to the limitation and may meet the requirements under a broadest reasonable interpretation, in order to provide the most complete and effective examination, attention is directed to d2 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses reception of scheduling information indicating radio resources for a first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP (see d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102); and a second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, wherein the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission overlap in one or more symbols (see d2 para. 0104, 0111-0112); and simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on UE capability (see d2 Fig. 7);
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
D2 may not explicitly disclose and based on the scheduling information: transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP; and transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP, attention is directed to d3 which, in a similar field of endeavor of wireless communication discloses simultaneous transmission to a plurality of TRP based on a determination of a UE to support simultaneous UL transmission (see d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 16, as to the limitation “The system of claim 15, wherein the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 discloses the overlap between the first scheduled uplink transmission and the second scheduled uplink transmission is based on the capability information element indicating that the wireless device supports overlapping uplink transmissions to a first TRP and a second TRP (see d1 Fig. 7; d2 para. 0033-0034, 0087-0088, 0102, 0104-0105, 0111-0112; d3 para. 0150-0152, 0222-0223, 0297-0298).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 17, as to the limitation “The system of claim 15, wherein the first TRP and the second TRP are associated with the same cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 18, as to the limitation “The system of claim 15, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first cell and the second TRP is associated with a second cell” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests implementations including both TRP in the same cell and different (see d2 para. 0005, 0031) which are one of a select number of choices that would be obvious to try given the disclosure of d1, d2 and d3 in combination.
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 19, as to the limitation “The system of claim 15, wherein the first TRP is associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests first TRP associated with a first timing advance and the second TRP is associated with a second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 20, as to the limitation “The system of claim 19, wherein: the transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance” d1 in view of d2 in view of d3 suggests transmitting the first scheduled uplink transmission to the first TRP is based on the first timing advance; and the transmitting the second scheduled uplink transmission to the second TRP is based on the second timing advance (see d2 para. 0004, 0031, 0048, 0058).
Regarding motivation to combine d2 and d1, D2 also contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d2 to arrive at the claimed invention including to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034), as disclosed by d2. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1 and/or d2, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d2 in order to achieve the stated advantages to improve a performance or resource utilization of the UE (see d2 para. 0034). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission based on UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding motivation to combine d3 with d1, d3 contains ample teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference of d1 by combining it with the disclosure of d3 including improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250), to arrive at the claimed invention. Wherein the teaching, suggestion, and/or motivation, is evident in references d1, d2 and/or d3, as well as being found squarely within the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would look to modify d1 with the teaching of d3 in order to achieve the stated advantages of improved communication reliability, reduced latency, improved user experience related to reduced processing, reduced power consumption, more efficient utilization of communication resources, improved coordination between devices, longer battery life, and improved utilization of processing capability (see d3 para. 0250). Furthermore, the techniques are employed in the same field of endeavor (Wireless Communication) in a similar manner (TRP transmission, UE capability) for similar purposes (improved performance) which would yield a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/NATHAN S TAYLOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643