DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 17, 21, 25-26, 31, 36, 43, 57-58, 71-72, 77, 117-119, and 130, and C18DMDEG as the species of the first quaternary ammonium salt, hydroxyethyl cellulose as the species of the water-soluble polymer, and the election that the second quaternary ammonium salt is absent in the reply filed on 01/09/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 125 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention and claims 58 and 71 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species (elected that the second quaternary ammonium salt is absent), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 17, 21, 31, 36, 43, 57, 77, 117-119, and 130 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Severich et al. (US 2012/0015574 A1) in view of Jin et al. (CN 111849328 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 118-119 Severich discloses a polyurethane emulsion to coat textile fabrics which is produced by reacting polyols with diisocyanates in the presence of an antimicrobial agent [abstract] [0048]. Severich discloses the antimicrobial agent is preferably a quaternary ammonium salt with a functional group that is capable of addition to isocyanate, preferably an OH group [0053] [0254]. Severich discloses a quaternary ammonium-isocyanate adduct [0255] is added to a prepolymer of fatty polyols [0247]-[0252] [0112]-[0120] and the emulsion is then diluted with water [0253].
Severich does not disclose a water-soluble polymer.
Jin teaches a coating for fabrics (English translation, pg. 2) with isocyanate and hydroxyethyl cellulose (English translation, pg. 3, paragraph 10). Jin teaches that the aqueous polymer, such as hydroxyethyl cellulose, is easy to dissolve in water, and its crosslinking with isocyanate improves the stability of the material long-term (English translation, pg. 3, paragraph 10).
Since Severich generally teaches a coating for fabrics with isocyanate, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include hydroxyethyl cellulose, within the teachings of Severich, because Jin teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose crosslinked with isocyanate in a coating for fabrics. An ordinarily skilled artisan would be motivated to use hydroxyethyl cellulose, within the teachings of Severich to improve the stability of the material long-term (English translation, pg. 3, paragraph 10).
Regarding the limitations of “an oil-in-water emulsion”, “an oil phase”, and “an aqueous phase”, while Severich does not explicitly disclose these limitations, a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. MPEP 2112.01 II. Therefore, because the combined teachings of the prior art disclose an emulsion with the same components (quaternary ammonium-isocyanate added to fatty polyols; hydroxyethyl cellulose in water), the properties the applicant discloses and/or claims (“oil phase” and “aqueous phase”) are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been prima facie obvious to include hydroxyethyl cellulose, as taught by Jin, crosslinked to the adduct of Severich (contains the isocyanate), as previously discussed.
Claim 3 is rendered prima facie obvious because Severich discloses the antimicrobial agent is preferably a quaternary ammonium compound with at least one alkyl radical having a length equal to or greater than ten carbon atoms as well as a functional group that is capable of addition to isocyanate, preferably an OH group [0053]. The following quaternary ammonium salt is disclosed [0254].
While this quaternary ammonium salt differs from the elected compound (C18DMDEG) in that it does not contain an ether functional group and has a chloride instead of a bromide counter ion, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. See MPEP 2144.09. In the instant case, the compounds have close structural similarities (quaternary ammonium salt with same hydrophobic chain length and differ only in the ether functional group and counter anion) and have the same utility as an antimicrobial agent.
Claims 17 and 21 are rendered prima facie obvious because Severich discloses diisocyanates, such as hexamethylene diisocyanate [0154] [0133] [0252].
Claim 31 is rendered prima facie obvious because Severich discloses the quaternary ammonium-isocyanate-polymer emulsion is diluted with a diluent (water) [0253].
Claim 36 is rendered prima facie obvious because Severich discloses polyols such as polyether polyols [0120].
Claim 43 is rendered prima facie obvious because it would have been prima facie obvious to include hydroxyethyl cellulose, as taught by Jin, within the teachings of Severich, as previously discussed.
Regarding claims 57 and 77, the polymer network being produced from “random polymerization/crosslinking” is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation. Even though the product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, then the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In the instant case, the polymer network of the combined teachings of Severich (containing the adduct crosslinked to polyols [0247]-[0255]) and Jin (teaches hydroxyethyl cellulose crosslinked to isocyanate; English translation, pg. 3, paragraph 10), reads on the claimed polymer network. As such, the patentability of the instant claim does not depend on its method of production, and the Applicant' s limitation regarding the polymer network being produced from random polymerization is not patentable in view of Severich and Jin.
Claim 117 is rendered prima facie obvious because Severich discloses a composition of the polymer network discussed above [abstract] [0048] [0247]-[0255].
Regarding claim 130, the preparation method of the polymer network is interpreted as a product-by-process limitation, as discussed above. In the instant case, the polymer network of the combined teachings of Severich and Jin, containing a quaternary ammonium salt, isocyanate, polyols, and hydroxyethyl cellulose, reads on the claimed polymer network. As such, the patentability of the instant claim does not depend on its method of production, and the Applicant' s limitation regarding the process of preparation is not patentable, in view of Severich and Jin. Even so, Severich discloses a quaternary ammonium-isocyanate adduct is formed [0254]-[0255] is added to a prepolymer emulsion of polyols [0247]-[0252] [0112]-[0118] to form a reactive emulsion which can be diluted with water [0253]. It would have been prima facie obvious to include hydroxyethyl cellulose as previously discussed. Severich discloses the emulsion is applied to surfaces [0058]-[0059] and dried by heating (i.e., cured) to form a polymer network [0021].
Claims 3 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Severich et al. (US 2012/0015574 A1) in view of Jin et al. (CN 111849328 A) and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2011/0124772 A1).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Severich in view of Jin was previously discussed.
While claim 3 is prima facie obvious over Severich in view of Jin, as discussed above due to the close structural similarities between the quaternary ammonium salt taught by Severich and the elected compound C18DMDEG, in the interest of completeness of prosecution, purely arguendo, and for the purposes of this ground of rejection only, the claim will be interpreted as not being obvious because Severich does disclose the elected compound C18DMDEG.
Wang teaches an antimicrobial coating composition with a polymeric backbone and an antimicrobial active moiety [abstract] [0029]. The following is disclosed as an exemplary quaternary ammonium halide with antimicrobial activity where it is disclosed that m = 1-3, n=17, and X- is a bromide ion [0064] [0033].
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Severich generally taught antimicrobial quaternary ammonium salts, it is prima facie obvious to select that taught by Wang at [0064] for incorporation into the composition based on its recognized suitability for the intended use as an exemplary quaternary ammonium halide with antimicrobial activity, as taught by Wang.
Regarding claim 72, Severich does not disclose that the polymer network includes the claimed chain extenders.
Wang teaches that the polymer backbone includes polyols as chain extenders such as 1, 4-butanediol and ethylene glycol [0041].
Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07. In the instant case, since Severich generally taught an antimicrobial coating composition with polyols, it is prima facie obvious to include polyols such as 1, 4-butanediol and ethylene glycol based on their recognized suitability for the intended use as polyols in an antimicrobial coating composition as taught by Wang.
Further regarding claims 3 and 72, it is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods, to yield predictable results. In the instant case, all the claimed elements (e.g., quaternary ammonium salt; 1, 4-butanediol and ethylene glycol) were known in the prior art (e.g., Wang) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed (within the teachings of Severich and Jin) by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., an antimicrobial coating composition) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143.A.
Claims 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Severich et al. (US 2012/0015574 A1) in view of Jin et al. (CN 111849328 A) and further in view of Jana et al. (Polymers 2021, 13, 2875. https://doi.org/10.3390/polym13172875).
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Severich in view of Jin was previously discussed.
Regarding claims 25-26, Severich does not disclose that the reactive isocyanate functionality on the first adduct is protected with a blocking agent, where the blocking agent is selected from those recited in claim 26.
Jana teaches that blocking agents, such as phenyls, oximes, alcohols, and lactams, can be used in the preparation of polyurethanes from diisocyantes (abstract; pg. 2, first paragraph). Jana teaches that the blocking agents are used to reduce the hazards of diisocyantes and for operational simplicity (abstract; pg. 1-2).
Since Severich generally teaches reactions with diisocyantes, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a blocking agent, such as a phenyl, oxime, alcohol, or lactam, within the teachings of Severich, because Jana teaches that these blocking agents are used to reduce the hazards of diisocyantes and for operational simplicity (abstract; pg. 1-2).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 17, 21, 25-26, 31, 36, 43, 57, 72, 77, 117-119, and 130 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 18, 22, 39, 46, 61-62, 87, 105-106, 108-110, 184, 196-197, 203, and 208 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/373,683.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the species (antimicrobial composition) recited in the claims of the copending application falls within the genus (antimicrobial composition) recited in the claims of the instant application, and thus reads on the instant claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not been patented.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner , Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612