DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the application’s status as a continuation of JP2021-007703
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection in view of Suzuki (US 20210133987 A1)
Claim Status
Claims 4 and 6-10 are interpreted under 112(f).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 20120214606 A1).
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“An image generating unit configured to…” in claim 4
“A control unit configured to…” in claim 4
“The image generating unit…” in claim 6
“The image generating unit…” in claim 7
“The control unit…” in claim 8
“The image generating unit…” in claim 9
“The control unit…” in claim 10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suzuki (US 20210133987 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Suzuki discloses An image processing device comprising: (¶31 “the analysis apparatus 30 can be realized by a computer that executes a software program stored in a storage apparatus with a processor”)
an image generating unit configured to generate a trajectory image representing a trajectory of a club head of a golf club during a swing of the golf club (Fig. 8 and ¶43 “The display processing unit 35 displays, on a screen, a trajectory line that is a line tracing a trajectory of the head”) and a group of a plurality of face images each representing a face of the club head during the swing; and (¶51 “the analysis apparatus 30 superimposes and displays a first marker that indicates the position of the head at the specific time point, a second marker that indicates the position of the head in each image frame,”)
a control unit configured to display the trajectory image (¶43 “The display processing unit 35 displays, on a screen, a trajectory line that is a line tracing a trajectory of the head”) and the group of face images. (¶51 “the analysis apparatus 30 superimposes and displays a first marker that indicates the position of the head at the specific time point, a second marker that indicates the position of the head in each image frame,”)
wherein the image generating unit generates: (¶29 “The model generation apparatus 10 is an apparatus which performs learning by deep learning using a video of a swing motion performed by a person”)
an image of a line along the trajectory of the club head as the trajectory image; (¶43 “The display processing unit 35 displays, on a screen, a trajectory line that is a line tracing a trajectory of the head”)
images that represent the face of the club head as line segments as the plurality of face images; and (Fig. 8 disclose the trajectory of the golf club head as points and line segments.)
an image in which the image of the line as the trajectory image and the plurality of images that represent the face of the club head as line segments are overlapped, and (Fig. 8 disclose the trajectory of the golf club head as points and line segments. ¶51 discloses points representing the head of the golf club throughout the swing of a golf club. ¶43 discloses a line depicting the trajectory of the golf club head)
wherein the control unit displays the image in which the image of the line as the trajectory image and the plurality of images that represent the face of the club head as line segments are overlapped. (Fig. 8 disclose the trajectory of the golf club head as points and line segments. ¶51 discloses points representing the head of the golf club throughout the swing of a golf club. ¶43 discloses a line depicting the trajectory of the golf club head)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hagiwara (US 20170120123 A1) discloses an electronic apparatus includes a presentation portion that presents a ratio between a length of a trajectory of a predetermined portion of an exercise equipment and a length of a portion of the trajectory included in a predetermined region in a predetermined period of a swing, or presents a ratio between the predetermined period of the swing and time for which the predetermined portion of the exercise equipment is included in the predetermined region in the predetermined period.
Gollub (US 20210331056 A1) discloses systems and methods for a golf training aid which is designed to orient the player initially to have a correct backswing of the club and then follow through with a fairly natural downswing to produce the desired ball flight characteristics. In an embodiment, there is provided a device that encourages a user to practice a golf swing having a sufficiently steep angle for the plane of the swing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL KIM MAIDEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2665
/Stephen R Koziol/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2665