DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 are pending.
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 are rejected below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keller (U.S. PG Pub. 2014/0277806) in view of Schneider (U.S. Pat. 11,163,925).
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Keller a method for monitoring and controlling energy use in an industrial process, the method comprising: receiving, by a processing circuit, data describing energy use in the industrial process from one or more data sources[0020 the energy agents 12 may use the infrastructure provided by the energy management system 10 to exchange information and communicate with each other such that energy related to each industrial automation system device may be processed and analyzed. For instance, the energy agents 12 within devices such as industrial automation drives, motor starters, contactors, programmable controllers, switchgear, energy meters, robots, robot controllers, human machine interfaces]; contextualizing, by the processing circuit, the data describing the energy use in the industrial process[0025, 0028 provide energy objectives or goals for the energy management system 10. The grid 30 may include an electrical grid that may be coupled to the industrial automation system. In certain embodiments, the energy agents 12 may interact with the grid 30 to determine its energy output, capabilities, and the like. [T]he energy agents 12 in the energy management system 10 may provide an energy information backplane for the industrial automation system such that the new devices can virtually "plug" into the energy information backplane. That is, the energy agents 12 embedded within the new devices may provide other energy agents 12 with information such as actual energy used, device specifications, actual and predicted energy costs,]; generating, by the processing circuit, an energy data model based on the contextualized data[0023, 0029 he main controller 18 may be positioned at the top of a hierarchy of the energy management system 10. As such, the energy agent 12 embedded within the main controller 18 may propagate or send energy objectives and commands to each energy agent 12 that may correspond to a device downstream or in a lower level in the hierarchy of the energy management system 10. In this manner, the energy agents 12 may provide infrastructure, agent protocol, and modeling tools that may be directly applicable to dynamically managing the energy of the corresponding industrial automation system.]; executing, by the processing circuit, the energy data model to determine key performance indicators for the energy use in the industrial process[0055 – energy usage for example]; displaying, by the processing circuit, the key performance indicators to a user[0055 In certain embodiments, the visualization agent 40 of the electronic device 16 may display the energy data in a manner that may be most useful to the user of the electronic device 16. For instance, the visualization agent 40 of the electronic device 16 may display graphical representations of the energy being used by the drive 20 given its proximity to the drive.]; determining, by the processing circuit, if the key performance indicators are above one or more pre-determined thresholds[0056 outside of goals]; and taking a corrective action in response to the key performance indicators being above the one or more pre-determined thresholds [0056 ensure that goals are being met].
Keller teaches most of the claimed invention, but fails to teach all of the claimed invention, however, this is an obvious variation and is taught by Schneider as follows:
As to claims 1, 8 and 15, Schneider teaches wherein the energy data model is a graph-based model includes (i) a plurality of nodes representing entities associated with the energy use and one or more industrial assets associated with the industrial process and (ii) edges representing context-defined relationships among the entities, the one or more industrial assets, and the industrial process [abstract, col. 2 lines 25-45, col. 10 lines 25-40].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to include the teachings of Schneider into the system and methods of Keller. The motivation to combine is that Schneider teaches Using object-oriented programming to form optimization problems, where optimization constraints are successively inherited using class-inheritance (col. 8 lines 63-65).
As to claims 2, 9 and 16, Keller teaches wherein the one (only one is needed) or more data sources include an electric meter[0020], a non-electric meter, and a production sensor, and wherein the data describing the energy use includes an electricity consumption and demand, a water consumption and demand, a gas consumption and demand, and a number of produced units.
As to claims 4, 11 and 18, Keller teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, by the processing circuit, an extensible data model describing an organizational structure of an enterprise associated with the energy use; and extending, by the processing circuit, the extensible data model to include the energy data model[0059].
As to claims 5, 12 and 19, Keller teaches wherein the key performance indicators comprise at least one of an energy demand value, an energy consumption value [0055], a cost energy value, a carbon emissions value, and a production unit value.
As to claims 6 and 13, Keller teaches wherein the key performance indicators are generated on an on- demand basis [0055 as energy is used by the industrial process].
As to claims 7, 14 and 20, Keller teaches wherein the corrective action comprises implementing a control action for a piece of equipment to lower an energy usage amount for the industrial process[0041 – operating mode such as off or minimal energy usage].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of the response, filed 10-2-26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-16, 18-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Schneider (U.S. Pat. 11,163,925).
Conclusion
/NATHAN L LAUGHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119