DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the demarcation of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is not considered invoking a means plus function for anchoring means since the claim further recites releasable clamping mechanism which is considered sufficient structure. Claim 1 is not considered invoking a means plus function for hook means, since the claim recites a seat portion which is considered sufficient structure.
Claim 3 is considered invoking a means plus function since “retaining means” is modified by functional language “suitable for reversibly retaining the clamping element in said closed position” and is not modified by sufficient structure. Therefore, the generic placeholder is considered invoking a means plus function. Paragraph 67 of the specification teaches a tab element as sufficient structure for the generic placeholder.
Claim 4 depends on claim 3 and does not recite sufficient structure for “retaining means” and therefore claim 4 is considered invoking a means plus function for the generic placeholder.
Claim 4 recites “resilient retaining means” which is modified by functional language “configured so that the movement of the clamping element from the closed position to the open position, and vice versa, is achieved by applying an opening/closing force that exceeds a frictional force” and is not modified by sufficient structure. Therefore, the generic placeholder is considered invoking a means plus function. Paragraph 72 teaches of the specification teaches harmonic steel as sufficient structure for the generic placeholder.
Claim 5 is not considered invoking a means plus function for “attachment means” and “releasable snap attachment means” since the claims are not modified by functional language.
Claims 6, 7, and 8 are not considered invoking a means plus function for “first rotatable connection means” and “second rotatable connection means” since they are not modified by functional language.
Claim 9 recites “abutment means” and is modified by functional language “suitable for cooperating with a portion of the clamping element” and is not modified by sufficient structure. Therefore, the generic placeholder is considered invoking a means plus function. Paragraph 101 of the specification teaches a projecting element protruding from an upper surface of the hook means as sufficient structure.
Claim 10 is considered the invoking a means plus function since “demarcation means” is modified by functional language “suitable or providing a user with information on reaching the closed position of the clamping element” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure. Paragraph 108 of the specification teaches graphic symbols as sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosaka (U.S. Patent 3,958,968).
Regarding claim 1, Hosaka teaches a Mixing and/or scraping assembly (figures1-5 show a scraping assembly, column 1 lines 25-26 teaches scraping) for a mixing apparatus for food, pharmaceutical or cosmetic products (the material being worked upon is considered intended use, however column 1 line 14-15 teaches ice cream), including a mixing arm assembly comprising a first mixing arm (figure 2 item 8) and a second mixing arm (figure 2 second item 8), the mixing assembly being operatively suitable for rotating about an assembly axis of rotation (axis of rotation is a vertical axis that goes through shaft item 3), and at least one mixing/and or scraping element that is removably connectable to the mixing arm assembly (scraper member 11), the mixing and/or scraping element is removably couplable with at least the first mixing arm and the second mixing arm by respective first anchoring means and second anchoring means (item 11 is anchored via items 12 and 13 at one end, and by item 14 and 15 at a second end), wherein at least one of the anchoring means includes a releasable clamping mechanism provided on the mixing and/or scraping element (lower link item 15 is considered reading on a releasable clamping mechanism for securing item 11), the releasable clamping mechanism comprising: a seat portion configured to receive at least one part of the respective mixing arm through a receiving opening portion (item 14), a clamping element movable between a closed position wherein it is suitable for at least partially engaging the receiving opening portion so as to prevent insertion in and extraction from the seat portion of the respective part of the mixing arm (the closed position is when item 11 is attached to items 14 and 15 to prevent extraction of item 14 from item 11) and an opening position wherein it is suitable for disengaging at least partially the receiving opening portion so as to allow the insertion in and extraction from the seat portion of the respective part of the mixing arm (when item 14 is removed, item 14 can be removed from item 11). Regarding claim 1, Hosaka is silent to the clamping mechanism shape being a hook means. Regarding claim 1, absent any unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the shape of the clamping mechanism in order to provide a more secure fit since it is well settled that it is an obvious matter of design choice to change the general shape or size of a known element in the absence of a disclosed non-obvious advantage associated with the change. Gardner vs. TEC Systems Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 1349-50 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 555 (CCPA 1975); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 672 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 5, Hosaka teaches wherein the clamping element is attachable removably to the mixing and/or scraping element by releasable attachment means (item 11 is removable from items 14 and 15 by removal of item 14).
Regarding claim 11, Hosaka teaches a mixing apparatus for food comprising a rotary drive assembly (column 3 line 60 teaches an electric motor), configured to connect to and to rotate a mixing and/or scraping assembly according to claim 1 to cause the latter to rotate about an assembly axis of rotation (see column 3 lines 59-65 teaches a motor to drive the blade assembly).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the mixer and/or scraping assembly with the hook configuration and the rotatable clamping element configuration.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the mixer and/or scraping assembly with the hook configuration and the reversible clamping element configuration.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the mixing and/or scraping assembly with the two rotatably connection means configurations.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the combination of the mixing and/or scraping assembly with the clamping mechanism comprising a demarcation configuration.
Conclusion
/ANSHU BHATIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774