DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is response to communication filed on 04/01/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this action.
This Action is final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S Patent No. 6,434, 313 B1 to Clapp, Jr. et al. (hereafter “Clapp”) in view of U.S Patent No. 6,438,310 B1 to Lance et al. (hereinafter “Lance”).
Regarding claim 1, Clapp teaches an apparatus comprising: an outer housing (Fig.1 and column 3, lines 29-35; please see an outer housing 39); a tray assembly is configured to removably couple to the outer housing and comprising; a sliding tray configured to receive one or more cables routed within the outer house (Fig.1 and column 3, lines 10-54; housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17. The remaining express fibers 47 in express buffer tube 43 may be routed into optical fiber storage tray 29, where they are contained within the tray for subsequent use) and a tray insert secured to the sliding tray to form the tray assembly and configured to receive the one or more cables from the sliding tray (Fig.1 and column 3, lines 10-35; optical fiber storage tray 29 is located in a plane that is generally parallel with the plane of the platform defined by main splice tray 17. The tray insert 29 secured to the sliding tray 17 to form the tray assembly).
However, Clapp does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert of the sliding tray.
In the same field of endeavor, Lance discloses wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert of the sliding tray (column 5, lines 11-25 and column 6, lines 38-51; Cable enters tray 118 at one of points 130, and is wound around spool 126 an appropriate number of times).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Clapp’s teaching with a feature of wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert of the sliding tray as taught by Lance in order to provide improve cable organization, reduce cable breaking, and provide cable bend radius management within the enclosure (column 1, lines 22-28; Lance).
Regarding claim 2, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a sliding tray seal configured to seal an inside of the outer housing when the tray insert is pressed against the outer housing; and a cable grommet seal of the sliding tray (Fig.3 and column 3, lines 36-58; cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 3, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the outer housing comprises an open end configured to receive the tray assembly (column 3, lines 29-35; a housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 4, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the outer housing comprises a first fastening member structured to secure the tray assembly to the outer housing (column 3, lines 29-35; a housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 5, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sliding tray comprises a second fastening member structured to secure the tray assembly to the outer housing in conjunction with a first fastening member of the outer housing (Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 41-56; main splice tray 17 may have any convenient configuration. Two forward end brackets 19 extend from side plates 15 for fastening an end cap 21 to the frame 13. End cap 21 is a cylindrical member having a plurality of apertures 23 for receiving fiber optic cables (not shown) in a sealed arrangement with end cap 21).
Regarding claim 6, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sliding tray comprises a flange configured to demarcate an interior portion of the tray assembly from an exterior portion of the tray assembly (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; drop cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 7, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the sliding tray comprises a sliding tray seal positioned at a proximal end of an interior portion of the tray assembly (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; drop cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 8, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tray insert comprises a splice retainer and a coupler retainer (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; Frame 13 has a fastener 35 along one or both of the side plates 15 for retaining conventional splice trays (not shown) in a known manner. Fingers 37 at the rearward end of each side plate 15 serve to retain various fiber optic cables extending to and from end cap 21. A housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 9, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tray insert comprises an attachment member configured to secure the tray insert to the sliding tray (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; Frame 13 has a fastener 35 along one or both of the side plates 15 for retaining conventional splice trays (not shown) in a known manner. Fingers 37 at the rearward end of each side plate 15 serve to retain various fiber optic cables extending to and from end cap 21. A housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 10, Clapp teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the tray insert comprises an end retainer configured to secure cabling in conjunction with a perimeter wall of the tray insert (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; Frame 13 has a fastener 35 along one or both of the side plates 15 for retaining conventional splice trays (not shown) in a known manner. Fingers 37 at the rearward end of each side plate 15 serve to retain various fiber optic cables extending to and from end cap 21. A housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 11, Clapp teaches a system forming a network interface device (Fig.1) comprising:
a splice sleeve (Abstract, Fig. 1 and column 3, lines 10-35; main splice tray 17)
a coupler (Abstract and column 3, lines 1-11; please see coupler);
an outer housing (Fig.1 and column 3, lines 29-35; housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17); and
a tray assembly secured to the splice sleeve and the coupler, the tray assembly configured to removably couple to the outer housing and comprising: a sliding tray configured to receive one or more cables routed within the outer housing; and a tray insert secured to the sliding tray to form the tray assembly and configured to receive the one of more cables from the sliding tray (Fig.1 and column 3, lines 10-35; optical fiber storage tray 29 is located in a plane that is generally parallel with the plane of the platform defined by main splice tray 17. The tray insert 29 secured to the sliding tray 17 to form the tray assembly);
the tray insert secured to the sliding tray to form the tray assembly; and the sliding tray configured to receive one or more cables routed within the outer housing with the tray insert (Fig. 3 and column 3, lines 36-58; Express cable 41 contains a plurality of buffer or express tubes, each normally holding six to twelve individual optical fibers. Express buffer tube 43, which is one of the buffer tubes of express cable 41, will have at least one optical fiber 45 connected to one of the splice holders at splice organizer 25).
However, Clapp does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert inside of the sliding tray.
In the same field of endeavor, Lance discloses wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert inside of the sliding tray (column 5, lines 11-25 and column 6, lines 38-51; Cable enters tray 118 at one of points 130, and is wound around spool 126 an appropriate number of times).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Clapp’s teaching with a feature of wherein the one or more cables wrap around the tray insert inside of the sliding tray as taught by Lance in order to provide improve cable organization, reduce cable breaking, and provide cable bend radius management within the enclosure (column 1, lines 22-28; Lance).
Regarding claim 12, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising: a sliding tray seal configured to seal an inside of the outer housing when the tray insert is pressed against the outer housing; and a cable grommet seal (Fig.3 and column 3, lines 36-58; cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 13, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the outer housing comprises an open end configured to receive the tray assembly (column 3, lines 29-35; a housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 14, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the outer housing comprises a first fastening member, structured to secure the tray assembly to the outer housing (column 3, lines 29-35; a housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 15, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the sliding tray comprises a second fastening member structured to secure the tray assembly to the outer housing in conjunction with a first fastening member of the outer housing (Fig. 1 and column 2, lines 41-56; main splice tray 17 may have any convenient configuration. Two forward end brackets 19 extend from side plates 15 for fastening an end cap 21 to the frame 13. End cap 21 is a cylindrical member having a plurality of apertures 23 for receiving fiber optic cables (not shown) in a sealed arrangement with end cap 21).
Regarding claim 16, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, further comprising: the sliding tray comprises a flange configured an interior portion of the tray assembly from an exterior portion of the tray assembly (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; drop cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 17, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the sliding tray comprises a sliding tray seal positioned at a proximal end of an interior portion of the tray assembly (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; drop cable 57 is sealed with end cap 21 and exits the splice closure 11 through one of the apertures 23 of end cap 21. There may be additional unused drop cable fibers 59, which also may be stored in optical fiber storage tray 29).
Regarding claim 18, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the tray insert comprises a splice retainer and a coupler retainer (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; Frame 13 has a fastener 35 along one or both of the side plates 15 for retaining conventional splice trays (not shown) in a known manner. Fingers 37 at the rearward end of each side plate 15 serve to retain various fiber optic cables extending to and from end cap 21. A housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 19, Clapp teaches the system of claim 11, wherein the tray insert comprises an attachment member configured to secure the tray insert to the sliding tray (Abstract, column 3, lines 10-58; Frame 13 has a fastener 35 along one or both of the side plates 15 for retaining conventional splice trays (not shown) in a known manner. Fingers 37 at the rearward end of each side plate 15 serve to retain various fiber optic cables extending to and from end cap 21. A housing 39 will slide over frame 13 and fasten to end cap 21, thereby enclosing main splice tray 17).
Regarding claim 20, Clapp teaches a method comprising:
securing a cable to a tray insert in a sliding tray of a tray assembly, wherein the tray assembly is configured to removably couple to the outer housing and comprises: the sliding tray configured to receive one or more cables routed within the outer housing and a tray insert secured to the sliding tray to form the tray assembly and configured to receive one or more cables from the slide tray (Fig. 3 and column 3, lines 36-58; Express cable 41 contains a plurality of buffer or express tubes, each normally holding six to twelve individual optical fibers. Express buffer tube 43, which is one of the buffer tubes of express cable 41, will have at least one optical fiber 45 connected to one of the splice holders at splice organizer 25).
However, Clapp does not explicitly teach wrapping the cable around the tray insert within the sliding tray of the tray assembly; and securing the tray assembly to the outer housing.
In the same field of endeavor, Lance discloses wrapping the cable around the tray insert within the sliding tray of the tray assembly; and securing the tray assembly to the outer housing (column 5, lines 11-25 and column 6, lines 38-51; Cable enters tray 118 at one of points 130, and is wound around spool 126 an appropriate number of times).
At the time of the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to modify Clapp’s teaching with a feature of wrapping the cable around the tray insert within the sliding tray of the tray assembly; and securing the tray assembly to the outer housing as taught by Lance in order to provide improve cable organization, reduce cable breaking, and provide cable bend radius management within the enclosure (column 1, lines 22-28; Lance).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Pub. No. 2020/0103608 A1 to Hill et al. discloses a sealed terminal has a housing, a cover, a splice tray, an adapter plate, and a splice chip. The cover is connected to the housing to close an interior compartment and has input ports for receiving one or more cables and an output adapter module having a plurality of distribution ports. The splice tray is positioned in the interior compartment and has one or more cable retainers configured to route the one or more cables within the interior compartment. The adapter plate is connected to the splice tray and has a plurality of adapters for connecting the one or more cables to the distribution ports. The splice chip is connected to the splice tray and has a plurality of slots for receiving and routing the one or more cables. The housing includes a radiused wall for routing the cables within the interior compartment without bending the cables (Abstract).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AKELAW TESHALE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2694
/AKELAW TESHALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2694