DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comment- Double Patenting
Examiner acknowledges the filing of the Terminal Disclaimer to obviate a double patenting rejection over all parent applications in the Continuity chain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2013/0002038) in view of Iwasaki (US 2016/0352155).
Regarding Claim 1, 3, 5, Lee discloses a wireless power transmitter, comprising: a converter related to transferring wireless power to a wireless power receiver; and a communicator/controller related to controlling the wireless power (Figure 2A; Paragraphs 0063-0089), wherein the wireless power transmitter is configured to: receive, from the wireless power receiver, an End Power Transfer (EPT) packet, wherein the EPT packet instructs the wireless power transmitter to remove a power signal; remove the power signal based on the EPT packet (Figures 19-20; Paragraph 0321). Examiner submits this is equivalent to a message transmitted by the electronic device 200, for instance, an end power transfer packet 5600 as illustrated in FIG. 20. The packet 5600 may include a header 5620 for notifying that it is an end power transfer packet and a message 5630 including an end power transfer code indicating the cause of the suspension.
Lee does not disclose restart ping phase after a predefined duration of time; and restart the ping phase after the predefined duration of the time. However, Iwasaki discloses restart ping phase after a predefined duration of time; and restart the ping phase after the predefined duration of the time (Paragraph 0103; Figures 2-3). Examiner submits this is equivalent to how after a predetermined time period elapses, the power transmission apparatus 200 may restart the operation from the analog ping phase or otherwise from the digital ping phase. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the power transmission apparatus and power transfer methodology of Lee so that the EPT packet of Lee incorporates restarting ping phase after a predefined duration of time, in order to conserve transmission power and since both Lee and Iwasaki identically disclose an End Power Transfer (EPT) packet being sent to the transmission apparatus so that the transmission power is suspended, disclosed in Paragraphs 0321 of Lee and Paragraph 0103 Iwasaki.
Regarding Claim 2, 4, 6, Lee discloses wherein the EPT packet includes a code of a reason for requesting to stop a power transfer (Paragraph 0321). The packet 5600 may include a header 5620 for notifying that it is an end power transfer packet and a message 5630 including an end power transfer code indicating the cause of the suspension. The end power transfer code may indicate any one of charge complete, internal fault, over temperature, over voltage, over current, battery failure, reconfigure, no response, and unknown error.
Conclusion
/ANKUR JAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649