DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) FILLIN "Pluralize claim, if necessary, and then insert the claim number(s) which is/are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1 -20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaidyanathan et al., US2023/0370832 A1 (hereinafter, “Vaid”) , and further in view of Chen et al., US2021/0021986 A1 . Regarding claim 1, Vaid teaches A method (Fig. 6) comprising: receiving, using control circuitry, a virtual SIM profile at a target device ( par. 0039; the wireless device 102 receives, from the second network-based server, a SIM installation response message that indicates the fully functional cellular wireless SIM profile installed in the wireless device 102 is eligible to be used by the wireless device 102 . ) ; and initiating, using control circuitry, a temporary virtual SIM use session of the virtual SIM profile at the target device ( par. 0035; The flexible SIM activation policy allows the wireless device 102 to be setup (i.e., interpreted as initiated) without a fully functional cellular wireless capability enabled and restricts wireless capability to non-cellular wireless access connectivity, such as via a wireless local area network (WLAN) or wireless personal area network (WPAN) until a fully functional cellular wireless SIM profile is installed and activated in the wireless device 102 . ). Vaid fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Chen teaches managing, using control circuitry, the virtual SIM profile at the target device by disabling use of the virtual SIM profile at the target device in response to receiving an indication to end the temporary virtual SIM use session (par. 0062; when the SIM card required to be disabled is a physical SIM card or an e-SIM card loaded into the modem 50 , the card manager 23 is instructed to call the card physical interface 24 to cause the card physical interface 24 to call the modem physical SIM card driver 252 to disable the SIM card required to be disabled and release hardware resources of the modem, such that the user may load the SIM card arranged on the non-modem side into the modem 50 . ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Vaid’s teachings with Chen’s teachings for the purpose of managing and scheduling SIM card resource (Chen, par. 0005). Regarding claims 2 and 12, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the method further comprises managing the virtual SIM profile at a primary device by: suspending the virtual SIM profile at the primary device prior to the initiating of the virtual SIM use session at the target device, and activating the virtual SIM profile at the primary device after use of the virtual SIM profile is disabled at the target device (par. 0028) . Regarding claims 3 and 13, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the method further comprises, at a primary device, prior to the target device receiving the virtual SIM profile, sending a signal indicating at least one of: a request for use of the virtual SIM profile at the target device, authorization of use of the virtual SIM profile at the target device, a low battery status of the primary device, or multiple failed attempts to unlock the primary device occurring (par. 0047) . Regarding claims 4 and 14, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the method further comprises receiving data associated with the virtual SIM profile, and wherein the data comprises at least one of: contacts, call history, application data associated with a primary device, user data associated with the user of a primary device, or operating system settings associated with a primary device (par. 0028) . Regarding claims 5 and 15, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the indication to end the virtual SIM use session is based on at least one of: an expiry of a predefined time period, a received request to end the current virtual SIM use session, a number of calls made using the virtual SIM profile at the target device, an incoming call, an incoming text message, or an incoming notification (par. 0038) . Regarding claims 6 and 16, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, at the target device, a plurality of virtual SIM profiles associated with a plurality of devices (par. 0039) ; and selecting, from among the plurality of virtual SIM profiles, a virtual SIM profile to use during the virtual SIM use session at the target device (par. 0023) . Regarding claims 7 and 17, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 6 and 16. Vaid further teaches wherein the virtual SIM profile is selected based on at least one of: consistency of coverage of network carriers associated with the virtual SIM profiles relative to a location of the target device, a strength of coverage of network carriers associated with the virtual SIM profiles relative to a location of the target device, a data plan associated with the virtual SIM profiles, or a length of a current journey of the target device (par. 0023) . Regarding claims 8 and 18, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 6 and 16. Vaid further teaches wherein when a further virtual SIM profile is selected to use during a virtual SIM use session at the target device, the method further comprises notifying a streaming service of the target device currently in use of an upcoming change in virtual SIM profile (par. 0038) . Regarding claims 9 and 19, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the method further comprises initiating a Wi-Fi hotspot based on the virtual SIM profile (par. 0026) . Regarding claims 10 and 20, Vaid and Chen teach all the limitations in claims 1 and 11. Vaid further teaches wherein the target device is at least one of: a vehicle, a smartphone, a tablet, a smart watch, a drone, or a device configured to operate as a Wi-Fi hotspot (par. 0025) . Regarding claim 11, Vaid teaches A system comprising control circuitry (Fig. 1 item 100; a system 100 having a processor 104 ) configured to: receive a virtual SIM profile at a target device ( par. 0039; the wireless device 102 receives, from the second network-based server, a SIM installation response message that indicates the fully functional cellular wireless SIM profile installed in the wireless device 102 is eligible to be used by the wireless device 102 . ) ; and initiate a temporary virtual SIM use session of the virtual SIM profile at the target device ( par. 0035; The flexible SIM activation policy allows the wireless device 102 to be setup (i.e., interpreted as initiated) without a fully functional cellular wireless capability enabled and restricts wireless capability to non-cellular wireless access connectivity, such as via a wireless local area network (WLAN) or wireless personal area network (WPAN) until a fully functional cellular wireless SIM profile is installed and activated in the wireless device 102 . ). Vaid fails to teach the following recited limitation. However, Chen teaches manage the virtual SIM profile at the target device by disabling use of the virtual SIM profile at the target device in response to receiving an indication to end the temporary virtual SIM use session (par. 0062; when the SIM card required to be disabled is a physical SIM card or an e-SIM card loaded into the modem 50 , the card manager 23 is instructed to call the card physical interface 24 to cause the card physical interface 24 to call the modem physical SIM card driver 252 to disable the SIM card required to be disabled and release hardware resources of the modem, such that the user may load the SIM card arranged on the non-modem side into the modem 50 . ) . Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Vaid’s teachings with Chen’s teachings for the purpose of managing and scheduling SIM card resource (Chen, par. 0005). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-7983 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday - Friday, 7:00am-3:30pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Yuwen Pan can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-7855 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AYODEJI O AYOTUNDE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649