DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8-10 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2924404 A1 (Van Minnen).
Regarding claim 8: Van Minnen teaches a sensing arrangement for a camera module comprising: one or more temperature sensors (at least thermocouple 26), each temperature sensor having a respective temperature-sensitive resistor (resistors 38, 40), a first temperature-sensing terminal (first terminal 30a), and a second temperature-sensing terminal (second terminal 30b); a driver chip communicably connected to each of the one or more temperature sensors, the driver chip having a first bias output connected to a first bias current source, a second bias output connected a second bias current source, and a set of inputs for receiving a voltage signal (I/O module 24a, “the I/O module 24a provides the bias current”, switch module 42); and a multiplexer configured to selectively connect a selected temperature sensor of the one or more temperature sensors to the driver chip, wherein: in response to the driver chip applying a control signal to the multiplexer indicating the selected temperature sensor, the first bias output and a first input of the set of inputs are connected to the first temperature-sensing terminal of the selected temperature sensor, and the second bias output and a second input of the set of inputs are connected to the second temperature-sensing terminal of the selected temperature sensor, such that the voltage signal received by the set of inputs is indicative of a temperature measured by the selected temperature sensor (industrial controller 12). Van Minnen states in the summary of the invention: "According to another embodiment of the invention, a module for use with an industrial controller and configured to be connected to a temperature sensor includes a first terminal, a second terminal, a switch, and a controller. The first terminal is configured to releasably receive a first lead of the temperature sensor, and the second terminal is configured to releasably receive a second lead of the temperature sensor. The temperature sensor is of a type to generate a voltage as a function of a measured temperature. The switch is configured to receive a control signal and to selectively provide either a first bias current or a second bias current to either the first or the second terminal as a function of the control signal. The controller is configured to generate the control signal for the switch and to receive a signal corresponding to a measured voltage present between the first terminal and the second terminal."
Regarding claim 9: Van Minnen teaches the sensing arrangement of claim 8 (see above), wherein the one or more temperature sensors comprises a plurality of temperature sensors (thermocouple leads 23).
Regarding claim 10: Van Minnen teaches the sensing arrangement of claim 8 (see above), wherein the selected temperature sensor is connected to ground through a resistor connected in series with the second bias output (“The second terminal 30b is connected to a ground potential such that a voltage divider circuit is established between one of the pair of resistors 38, 40 that is connected to the first terminal 30a and the thermocouple leads 23.”).
Regarding claim 12: Van Minnen teaches the sensing arrangement of claim 8 (see above), wherein the driver chip executes a selection logic to select a particular temperature sensor and send a control signal to the multiplexer to connect the first bias output and the first input to a first terminal of the particular temperature sensor and the second bias output and the second input to a second terminal of the particular temperature sensor (“A switch module 42 is provided to selectively connect the first terminal 30a to one of two voltage sources. The switch module 42 receives a control signal 43 to selectively control operation.”).
Regarding claim 13: Van Minnen teaches the sensing arrangement of claim 8 (see above), wherein the driver chip selectively adjusts a current provided by the first bias current source or the second bias current source, based on the voltage signal received by the set of inputs (“The switch module 42 receives a control signal 43 to selectively control operation”, “the operating mode is selected responsive to the control signal 43”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2924404 A1 (Van Minnen) in view of US 7860667 B2 (Vogel).
Regarding claim 11: Van Minnen teaches the sensing arrangement of claim 8 (see above), but does not directly teach that the temperature-sensitive resistor of at least one of the one or more temperature sensors is a negative temperature coefficient resistor.
However, Vogel teaches a probe where the resistance decreases with increasing temperature, and the device is called a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) thermistor.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the temperature sensor of Van Minnen with the negative temperature coefficient resistor of Vogel. This is because they both measure temperature via resistance. This is important in order to obtain accurate temperature measurements as the resistance changes with the temperature.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding independent claims 1 and 14: US 11768259 B1 teaches that position sensors and temperature sensors may be applications of multichannel sensors, a processor or controller (paragraph [0031]), and a multiplexed signal path 118. This teaches a multiplexed sensor with at least two channels and at least two sensors, wherein "Channels 109a, 109b can utilize sensing elements 108a, 108b that are of the same type or different types and sensing elements 108a, 108b can be positioned proximate to one another or can be spaced from each other, depending on the application." However, the sensors disclosed include "a Hall effect element, a magnetoresistance element, an inductive coil, or a magnetotransistor". While it does disclose that it may be sensors of a different type, all the types listed immediately after sense the same sort of values (related to magnetism), not for measuring different parameters entirely. The claimed invention differs in that both a position sensor and a temperature sensor are used, and that separate signals are given by the multiplexer to take the separate measurements of separate parameters. The Examiner does not believe that one of ordinary skill in the art, given the teaching of the prior art here, would arrive to the invention of the instant application. Therefore, the claimed inventions of independent claims 1 and 14 are novel and non-obvious.
Regarding dependent claims 2-7 and 15-20: These claims are dependent upon an allowable base claim, and are therefore allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
FR 3128052 A1 teaches an assembly of sensors for an inverter and at least one temperature sensor for an electric machine.
CN 112729582 B teaches a temperature sensor and a temperature measuring system for multi-dimensional directional measurement.
ES 2767680 T3 teaches a temperature measurement system comprising a plurality of grounded thermocouples, a multiplexer, an analog-to-digital converter, a processor, and a power supply.
US 20200149970 A1 teaches a device providing a temperature control and/or monitoring.
US 9939315 B2 teaches a sensor including housing containing a transducer, a temperature sensor with associated bias, a summing circuit, and a two-wire cable connector.
US 20180073933 A1 teaches a method for temperature monitoring comprising receiving temperature readings from a plurality of temperature sensors on a chip.
CN 107014514 A teaches a device flowing current across the voltage drop of a temperature sensor.
US 8996327 B2 teaches an I/O circuit for measuring temperatures uses multiple cold-junction compensation sensors permanently affixed near the terminals of the terminal block in order to compensate significant temperature variation across the terminals of the I/O module.
KR 101338756 B1 teaches a temperature measuring device using the RTD, supplying a constant current to the RTD sensor, and, receives the voltage and measure the temperature accordingly.
EP 2267417 A1 teaches a thermal anemometer that separates sensor heating from sensor temperature measurement through a switched sampling technique.
US 20070019707 A1 teaches a temperature measurement system that includes a first multiplexer coupled with at least one input from the sensor and including a plurality of selector lines.
DE 102005049804 A1 teaches a multiple zone temperature controller with input ports for receiving temperature signals from thermocouples, a multiplexer for selecting the temperature signals, and a processor for outputting a heater control signal.
/JULIA FITZPATRICK/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855